Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Starting at Grand Central

new-york-grand-central-station-5497

Yesterday was an exciting day for me. It was a day that we have been planning for a long time and yesterday morning I met some WordPress bloggers, ones that I think of as friends now. First of all I met up with Stacy from Visual Venturing. We traveled on the subway to Grand Central Station where we were meeting InfraredRobert and Robyn Graham.

It was to be the start of a major day, and I mean that we walked and walked. In fact we walked over 8 miles in the end, which is 13 kms. No wonder my feet were sore at the end of the day. I was wearing my Merrell Hiking Shoes, but I’m not used to that much walkng.

It was a great day, and I took over 800 photos, but really haven’t had time to go through them yet. I thought I would start with the photos from Grand Central Station.

new-york-grand-central-station-

A really beautiful building. I loved it, and it was so nice to just walk around and take photos and not worry about anything else. There were so many people there, but it is hardly surprising when you consider that it is a busy train station.

It was a great place to meet and take photos of.

I have a lot of comments to get through, and will attempt to get to them today. I have a fairly free weekend so I will tell you a lot more about my trip then. Today I will just leave you with the photos from the Grand Central Train Station. I think I need to rest my feet some more.

85 Comments
  1. Very good photos Leanne, hope your feet are better today 😉

    September 19, 2015
    • Thanks Irene, my feet are slowly recovering.

      September 20, 2015
      • It sounded like a tough day Leanne 😉

        September 20, 2015
      • It was Irene, but I really enjoyed it, thanks Irene. 🙂

        September 21, 2015
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    USA Wanderings: Starting at Grand Central By Leanne Cole

    September 19, 2015
  3. With all your travels, I wish I was closer so I could say hi. I am from New England but live now in Florida. Glad you are having a good visit. So big a country, so much to see, so little time. Much like I felt visiting your country last year.

    September 19, 2015
    • That would have been great Sue, oh yes, Florida is a long way from all the places I’ve stayed here. I am, it has been very eye opening and really enjoyable. Oh yes, I can understand that. Thanks Sue.

      September 21, 2015
  4. Joe #

    Awesome images of one of my favorite places in NYC Leanne. When I met up with Stacy and Patti the last time I was in Manhattan we walked a lot too (I lost 3 lbs that day) and that was including hydrating with cold beers all day, LOL.

    September 19, 2015
    • I love the way you see the place Joe, hydrating with beers sounds good. I love Grand Central, it was so beautiful and so big. Thanks Joe.

      September 21, 2015
  5. I used many of the same views of Grand Central for one of my blogs earlier this year. It is one of my favorite places in NYC…and there are a lot of them!

    September 19, 2015
    • Oh I am sure I have photographed it like everyone else, lol, it is a beautiful place, I really liked it. Shame it was so hot. I loved the public library as well. Thanks Robert.

      September 21, 2015
      • Today’s weather is much more normal. The library is indeed a great place as well. Glad you are enjoying the city!

        September 21, 2015
      • I am liking today, it is very nice, shame I am stuck inside, but that is good too. Thanks Robert.

        September 21, 2015
  6. I once caught a train from there but it was in 1963 so I am pleased to see the place again.

    September 19, 2015
    • Has it changed much Tootlepedal?

      September 21, 2015
      • I can’t remember that far back!

        September 21, 2015
      • You sound like my husband.

        September 21, 2015
  7. Oh Leanne! Though I cannot be with you, I was just there a month or so ago, and feel a shared experience. I, too, had walked for miles and miles! Enjoy your time and cherish these special moments! 🙂

    September 19, 2015
    • That is a great way of thinking about it Jodi, I wonder if I will go to different places than you. I will, I’m sure I will have a lot to remember. Thank you.

      September 21, 2015
  8. The engineering and architecture is fascinating. I have led a tours of Grand Central. One of my favorite places. Glad you got to enjoy it. Pity they tore down the old Penn Station.

    September 19, 2015
    • I have lots about Penn Station and so many people have mentioned it with regret in their voice that it was torn down. I must see if I can find some old photos. We have suffered from some similar things in Melbourne too.I did love Grand Central Station and it was definitely on my list of places to visit. Thanks Sherry.

      September 21, 2015
  9. Your photos are so crisp, clear, and interesting. I love them. 🙂

    September 19, 2015
  10. Such a beautiful and historic NY icon. Great captures, Leanne.

    September 19, 2015
    • One I was very glad I got to see Jane. Thank you.

      September 21, 2015
  11. Leanne, what a fun and amazing trip you are on. I’m in Seattle and if you’re ever in my neighborhood, I’d love to show you the sites around here. New York!!..it’s amazing and, oh yes!, the walking. I always lose some weight when I’m in New York! But, I hear ya on the aching feet, too. No doubt the body adjusts for those who live there. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!! New York is an incredible city!! 🙂

    September 19, 2015
    • I would love to get up to that part of the country, but it will have to be on another trip now. I think I’ve been losing weight too from all the walking, way too much. I am sure my feet will, they are feeling better now, thank goodness. Thanks Shari.

      September 21, 2015
  12. Heartafire #

    magnificent photography!

    September 19, 2015
  13. Such great shots Leanne! I can’t thank you enough for the fabulously fun day! It was great to meet you in person! Can’t wait to do it again some day! XO

    September 19, 2015
    • Thank you for coming in to meet me and help show me around, I love meeting you. That would be fantastic, thanks again.

      September 21, 2015
  14. beautiful!! how fun Leanne to get to meet with blogging WP friends and see sights with them! 13K is ALOT of walking 🙂

    September 19, 2015
    • It was a lot of walking, but the sore feet were worth it, I had such a great day with my friends and we saw so much, it was great. Thanks Debi.

      September 21, 2015
  15. Wonderful photos, Leanne. It really is a grand place. The ceiling gets me every time! Plus the fact it is such a rabbit warren of areas to explore.

    September 19, 2015
    • The ceiling was incredible, so subtle, but perfect. Oh I know what you mean about the rabbit warren, lol. Thank you.

      September 21, 2015
  16. I know what you mean about “passion for photography”! I’ve juggled much for this weekend’s outing to NAS (Naval Air Station) Oceana Airshow in Virginia Beach. Taking my 16 year old son, a good friend, three Canon DSLR bodies, and almost a dozen lenses! So excited I can’t sleep!!

    September 19, 2015
    • Haha, I hope you get some great shots, it can be hard to know what to take sometimes, thankfully a plane and limits on luggage meant I had to scale down. Thank you.

      September 21, 2015
  17. fantastic shots!

    September 19, 2015
  18. Those clock images…stella Leanne…you really captured a sense of time and i mean that in a etheral sense..so happy you have done this and i bet you are itching to get to work on your computer..and meeting blog friends…well icing on the cake…which you will need for stamina..awesome!

    September 19, 2015
    • Thank you Bev, I loved the clock, it was pretty cool. It has been a great experience. I am you know me so well, can’t wait to get to my tablet and big screen. I loved meeting the guys it was fantastic. Thanks again Bev.

      September 21, 2015
      • Awesome i bet you will have a lot of work to do when you get home..at least you can pop your feet up! 🙂

        September 23, 2015
      • I think so too, thankfully I will be able to do it all while sitting on my bum, and my feet can take a break LOL 😉

        September 24, 2015
      • And i oddly am in pain sitting..so i can;t do anything much either hahaaa 🙂

        September 25, 2015
      • I will give you a call when I get back, I’ve been seeing bits and pieces, but haven’t been able to work it out. 😀 Take care.

        September 25, 2015
      • All good sweets just some sciatica too much sitting and driving 🙂 plus other stuff..safe travels sweets 🙂 you take care too!

        September 25, 2015
      • I get that too, very painful, you take care. Sit up properly and don’t slouch, lol. 😀

        September 25, 2015
      • Yes mum 🙂 🙂 hahaahha maybe it’s a;; the leaning back looking at towers..??? hahaahah 🙂

        September 25, 2015
      • Oh yes, that much be it, hahahahaha

        September 25, 2015
  19. Wow Grand Centeal Station is gorgeous!! That is cool you get to meet some of your blog friends!! Have a wonderful rest of your trip! Get a massage for those tired feet!! Hugs Lisa and Bear

    September 19, 2015
    • It is really gorgeous Lisa, I thought it was great. I loved meeting the WP friends, thank you, my feet are slowly recovering.

      September 21, 2015
  20. So glad you got to expolore Grand Central Station! The architecture is truely magnificant! Great shots!

    September 19, 2015
    • I was glad too Debby, it was most definitely on my list of places I wanted to visit. I love the architecture, thank you.

      September 21, 2015
  21. Hoping that you get to the “countryside”, too!

    September 19, 2015
    • I am not sure I will this trip Tom, but I still have a lot to explore here in New York. Thanks

      September 21, 2015
  22. Grand Central- a great place to photograph. I’m glad you had a great day.

    September 19, 2015
    • It was Tim, I love photographing it, and I did have a great day, it was wonderful, thank you.

      September 21, 2015
  23. Hi, Leanne: Sorry I couldn’t be there for the Grand Central portion of the meet-up, it looks like you found some interesting spots for shooting. I haven’t downloaded my take from the Brooklyn Bridge area yet but it was fun working with you, Stacy, and Robert.

    September 19, 2015
    • I understand Robin, not always possible. It was good meeting you. We had a great time walking around seeing what we could see. Thanks Robin for coming to meet us, it was great.

      September 21, 2015
  24. Grand Central Terminal is an amazing building. I would love to do what you’ve done and spend some time taking photographs there. I’m always rushed and harried because of the kids wandering off in the crowds. You’ve really captured the quality of light in the building and I like all of the details you’ve focused on.

    September 20, 2015
    • It will happen Laura, one day your kids will grow up and you will be able to do that. I had to wait for that, now I can leave them home and travel to other countries. Thank you Laura.

      September 21, 2015
  25. Fantastic shots and have your legs have fully recover from walk.

    September 20, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, and yes, they are slowly recovering, which is good.

      September 21, 2015
  26. Ah, Leanne, your photos bring back all the wonderful memories of that day (sore feet and all 😜)! It’s a treat to see what you shot; I especially love the view through the forbidden door (LOL). Thanks for your adventurous spirit, for being such a great sport about all the walking, and for your shout out! Wishing I was still there with you …

    September 20, 2015
    • Thank you Stacy, how did your photos come out? I had such a great time and it will be one of the best days I spent in New York for sure. I always knew that I would have to walk a lot, so that wasn’t a big deal, just had to go with it, and oh, complain a lot, haha. I wish you were still here too.

      September 21, 2015
      • Aw, that’s so nice to hear, Leanne!! As for my pictures, I haven’t had a chance to look at them 😦 I managed to get them off the cards, but now on the road again without my laptop. So I’ll have a lot to do once I get home.

        Have you been able to rest up a bit? I hear from Robert you made it to Riverside Park 😃 Check another movie site off your list! Sending hugs from the beach!

        September 21, 2015
      • On the road again, what a busy lady you are. I don’t know that I could live without my laptop, haha.
        I have, I haven’t done anything today, I just sat around, so my feet and me will be good to go tomorrow. We did, I didn’t see the place where they filmed it, but to be honest, I saw lots of other stuff that I liked more. Sending hugs from a cooler NYC. 😀

        September 21, 2015
  27. Some very famous photographs taken there including one by Alfred Eisenstadt that is among my all-time favorites. Enjoy New York, my home town!

    September 20, 2015
    • I can understand why it would be a place of inspiration, it is quite a building, I really liked it. I think if I lived here I would visit it often. Thanks Marilyn.

      September 21, 2015
  28. Welcome!! Hope you had or are having a wonderful stay. Next time branch out into Brooklyn a little. Though these days it’s starting to look a lot like Manhattan, especially downtown:)

    September 20, 2015
    • I having a wonderful stay, it has been quite an adventure. I don’t know if I will be back this way again, but I will keep that in mind. I did get over the bridge and to Brooklyn Park. does that count?
      Thanks.

      September 21, 2015
      • Yes. Bet you got some awesome pics there.:)

        September 22, 2015
      • I don’t know, I hope people think they are nice.

        September 23, 2015
  29. Before your trip to the U.S. I felt you were an EXTRAordinary, famous, popular, talented photographer from the other side of the world that was so out of reach, but that I truly admired. Through this journey of yours and brief commenting chats, I feel I’ve made a friend and a connection. So grateful for that! 🙂

    September 21, 2015
    • What a beautiful thing to say Jodi, I feel the same way, we are now friends, I have made so many friends through WordPress it has been fantastic. 😀

      September 21, 2015
  30. Very beautiful

    September 21, 2015
  31. What a wonderful day out! I find it so inspiring meeting other creatives in new space. Thanks for sharing! X

    September 21, 2015
    • You’re welcome, it was a great day, and it was wonderful to see the place, thank you.

      September 21, 2015
  32. Amazing photos.

    September 27, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A Corner in the New York City Public Library | Robyn Graham Photography
  2. USA WAnderings: Walking and Viewing the Brooklyn Bridge | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Comments are closed.

