Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Looking Around Central Park

central-park-new-york-6596

Yesterday I got to spend some more time with Stacy before she left New York for her home. I felt very lucky that I got to spend a second day with her. She also understood that my feet were not the best and whatever we did had to be easy, so we decided to take it easy and stroll around Central Park.

central-park-new-york-

Of course most people have heard of Central Park, and I’m sure it gets lots and lots of visitors each year, but it was my first time there and I thought it was fantastic. There are so many different parts to it, and each one very different to the last.

As you can see we went to see the Alice in Wonderland sculpture. I was very surprised by how many people were climbing over it, apparently it is the way the artist wanted it, but it made it very hard to get photos.

We had coffee at the boat house which was nice. One thing that I’ve been trying to do is to find places that I know have been in movies that I have seen. One of those places is in Central Park, the Bow Bridge.

central-park-new-york-6611Beautiful bridge that was featured in the movie Highlander. I know it was made 30 years ago, but I love it and have watched it many times since then. I really wanted to find the bridge and take photos of it.

central-park-new-york-6734

We went to the memorial for John Lennon and saw this.

We left the park at this point and headed out to find somewhere to eat for lunch before having to say good bye. It is so sad doing that. I will go home at the end of next week and I might never see her again, but I encouraged her to come to Australia to visit, I thought that would be really nice.

I shall leave you with more of the images I took in the Park.

71 Comments
  1. Beautiful photos of the park, Leanne. So glad that you are having a great trip here. 🙂

    September 20, 2015
    • Thank you John, the park was stunning, I loved it, might have to see if I can get back.

      September 21, 2015
  2. Love the photos, especially that one of Bow Bridge. I have never been to Central Park and would love to….perhaps one day, but it’s such a long way from Oz!

    September 20, 2015
    • Thank you Barb, I know what you mean, it is a place I never thought I would ever see, so maybe one day you will. It is a very long way, I travel back there next week, sadly.

      September 21, 2015
  3. You certainly are seeing the sights.

    September 20, 2015
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    USA Wanderings: Looking Around Central Park
    written by Leanne Cole

    September 20, 2015
  5. Wonderful! Looks like you’re having a great time!

    September 20, 2015
    • I am Desley it has been rather amazing. Thank you.

      September 21, 2015
  6. Dormis Aeternitas #

    check out bethesda fountain central park if you haven’t yet.

    September 20, 2015
    • I saw it, but I didn’t like my photos of it so didn’t include them.

      September 21, 2015
  7. Joe #

    Great shots Leanne 🙂 I see you really are enjoying all that NYC has to offer. Hopefully you got a chance to see the Dakota building which is right by the west exit by Strawberry Fields and I hope you got a chance to see the Fountain of Bethesda in Central Park which was also featured in a lot of movies.

    September 20, 2015
    • Thank you Joe, I am enjoying it, so much to see, I never know what to show next. We saw the Dakota building, we think, it was covered in scaffolding though. I did see that fountain, the water lily was at the bottom of it. 🙂

      September 21, 2015
  8. Glad you had another wonderful day with Stacy…especially in my favorite park! You captured it beautifully, Leanne! It is a magical place – so much to see, do and observe. Hooray for all of your adventures!

    September 20, 2015
    • I don’t think my feet are liking it, haha. I did have another great day with her, it was really good, and another chance to get to know her more. We had a great time strolling around, seeing what we could find. Thanks again Robyn.

      September 21, 2015
  9. Such lovely images Leanne. So glad you are able to spend time the US.

    September 20, 2015
    • Thank you, I have been so lucky to be about to travel around.

      September 21, 2015
  10. Lots of fun. Take at easy on the feet. Use the subway and busses – a great way to get around.

    September 20, 2015
    • I am taking today off Tim, letting them rest properly, I don’t want to hate the rest of the trip because my feet hurt. Thanks

      September 21, 2015
  11. Wow Leanne I love your photos. The bow bridge looks so graceful the way you shot that and I love the Imagine memorial. Beautiful. It’s wonderful to see New York through your eyes.

    September 20, 2015
    • I think that bridge is wonderful, so glad I got to see it. I thought the memorial was very tasteful, and yes, beautiful. Thank you, I hope you continue to enjoy it.

      September 21, 2015
  12. I love to run around the reservoir in the park. Great shots, Leanne.

    September 20, 2015
    • I can understand why you would enjoy that, it would be a great place to run. Thanks

      September 21, 2015
  13. I am really glad you had a great wander in Central Park. We love it there. It’s an oasis in the city. My boys love the Alice statue. I’m amazed and impressed that you managed to get a person-free image of it. It’s always been sprawling with people when I’ve been there – not just my kids. I love wandering around all the sculptures in the park. I’m trying to introduce my kids to a few each time we visit. I find the Imagine mosaic very poignant given its proximity to the Dakota but it’s a pleasing memorial in its simplicity and message. Did you visit the Angel of Bethesda? That’s my favourite Central Park fountain.

    September 20, 2015
    • I did have to wait for the people free image, wasn’t easy. As soon as one person walked away another would come. I was enjoying the sculptures and I took lots of photos of them as well. Yes, I guess it was a better place to put it than in front of the Dakota. The fountain, yes we did see it, loved it. Thanks Laura.

      September 21, 2015
  14. great shots!

    September 20, 2015
  15. All the birders, including me, go to the Ramble. Most of my photos come from there.

    September 20, 2015
    • We had trouble finding that, might have to try again.

      September 21, 2015
      • Be happy to show you.

        September 21, 2015
      • We might have to organise it Sherry, I’m trying to work out what to do on my last 4 days.

        September 21, 2015
      • I know how time flies.

        September 24, 2015
      • It really does, can’t believe how quickly the time has gone.
        I sent you an email as well, I hope you got it.

        September 24, 2015
  16. Great shots of superb art! 🙂

    September 20, 2015
  17. You are really getting to see so much of New York! Beautiful photos Leanne! The weather looks just perfect for your visit as well!

    September 20, 2015
    • I hope so Debby, I do want to see a few things, and I am running out of time. Thank you. The weather has been hot, I haven’t liked that, hot and humid.

      September 21, 2015
  18. Gud pics

    September 20, 2015
  19. Hi Leanne! Welcome to New York! Hope you have an exciting stay.

    September 20, 2015
    • Thank you Phil, I am so far, it has been good, but going too quickly.

      September 21, 2015
  20. You’ve taken some gorgeous photos! love the lily and the bridge railing especially. I feel for you on the ‘feet’ issue; I can’t walk far or fast anymore…just slow 🙂

    September 20, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, I love that lily too. Feet can be so annoying, I wish I could explain to them how they can rest next week. 🙂

      September 21, 2015
      • I swear, they’re like 2 year olds! its all about Me, and Now! LOL. Have fun Leanne 🙂

        September 21, 2015
      • I know what you mean, so moody, really, get over it. LOL

        September 21, 2015
      • chuckling over here 🙂

        September 22, 2015
      • 🙂

        September 23, 2015
  21. One day I hope to go there.

    September 20, 2015
    • I hope you do too, it is a great city.

      September 21, 2015
  22. Very beautiful place Leanne 😀

    September 20, 2015
    • It is Irene, I loved it, thank you. 🙂

      September 21, 2015
  23. Wow! I’ve been in the northeast my entire life, but never been to Central Park! After seeing these, I feel much more motivated to check it out! haha.
    I really love your work, and I would love if someone with your creative eye (i.e. you) would check out my blog! I actually took all the header pictures in Egypt; I’m not much of a photographer but it’s so beautiful there that didn’t even matter.

    September 21, 2015
    • You should see if you can get there, it is a lovely park.
      I’m sorry, but I don’t feel comfortable doing that, I don’t like commenting like that.

      September 21, 2015
  24. Sandra #

    Love the photos of Central Park Leanne.

    September 21, 2015
  25. Fabulous!

    September 21, 2015
  26. You are so clever! 😀

    September 21, 2015
    • I don’t know about that, but thank you Julie.

      September 21, 2015
  27. Great photos

    September 21, 2015
  28. I know you had to work fast to get the alice in the park…but you did it.

    September 23, 2015
    • Thanks Robert, it was a challenge, but glad I got it.

      September 24, 2015
  29. I’ve never been up to “Yankee territory,” but it does look serene.

    September 24, 2015
    • It is very serene, well some parts of it, and other parts are very chaotic.

      September 24, 2015
  30. Stunning shots! Love them all!!

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you, that is wonderful.

      September 28, 2015
  31. Leanne, I don’t know how I missed this post! I’ve read your post twice and poured over your wonderful pictures, having so much fun reliving our day in the park 😃 I LOVE your Bow Bridge photo – beautiful perspective – and had to laugh at the boaters through the tree branches remembering the dead end we hit 😂 And how you EVER caught the Alice statue with no one in the frame is a mystery to me (picture me scratching my head)!

    I’m still working through my images and haven’t gotten through day 1 yet, but I’ve been laid low with a horrible cold that hit me at the beach on Wednesday. Ugh. I figured I picked it up in NYC. Glad you missed THAT experience 😜

    September 28, 2015
    • It was a great day Stacy, I loved it, and will be one of my favourite days there. Oh yes, that dead end, that was funny, the images turned out well I thought. I did have to get rid of someone on the side, but sshh, don’t let anyone know.
      Oh sorry to hear you got a cold, I thought I was getting one, but I got past it, thankfully. I am glad I missed it, so very glad. Thanks Stacy and thank you so much for spending the day with me there.

      September 28, 2015

Comments are closed.

