Skip to content

USA WAnderings: Walking and Viewing the Brooklyn Bridge

brooklyn-bridge-park-new-york-6268

There are things in life that you know you will get to do and then others that you often feel are just out of the realms of possibilites. This whole trip to the USA has been the latter and I’ve been very fortunate. I do love bridges and it has been great to explore bridges here and one bridge that you can’t miss out in New York is the Brooklyn Bridge.

brooklyn-bridge-park-new-york-5944

My first glimpse of the Brooklyn Bridge as we were approaching it so we could walk over it.

This is from the same day that I spent with Stacy, Robert and Robyn, though by this stage Robyn had had to leave. So over the bridge Stacy, Robert and I went. It was as we started walking over it that I realized how sore my feet were.

brooklyn-bridge-park-new-york-5983

It would have to be one of the most photographed bridges in the world I think and trying to come up with an original way to photograph itis a hard task. In the end I decided to just take photos for myself and not worry about that. It was also hard to get photos without people.

brooklyn-bridge-park-new-york-6001

I got my first glimpse of the Statue of Liberty as well. She was a long way away, but it still counts.

brooklyn-bridge-park-new-york-6073

Once we got to Brooklyn we went and took some photos of the Manhattan bridge, the iconic ones down this road. It was here that we were joined by another blogger, Robin Kent.

We wandered a little more around the water before heading to the Brooklyn Park with the intention of photographing the sunset and Manhattan. Unfortunately there were no clouds for the sunset, so while there was a little colour, there wasn’t much else.

brooklyn-bridge-park-new-york-6178

I could see the State of Liberty there as well. Though it was still too far away. It will be good to get up close to it, which could happen tomorrow, I hope.

brooklyn-bridge-park-new-york--2

We stuck around until it was dark to do some night shots as well. A few more clouds in the sky might have helped, but you get what you get. I wasn’t really disappointed. I enjoyed taking photos here. I guess there will always be a certain amount of regret that I didn’t get what I had in my mind and I may never get another chance to get that. I have to keep reminding myself that I have been so very lucky to have been given this opportunity and there can be no regrets.

It is sad that I only have four more days here and then I will be on my way home. Though I have to admit I’m looking forward to getting home to my computer, the large monitor and my Wacom tablet so I can really start working on some photos. I also miss my family and Tiddles, the cat. I’ve never been away from them all for this long before and it is a little strange.

I shall leave you now with a gallery of some of my favourite images from our walk over the bridge and then the night shots.

79 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    USA WAnderings: Walking and Viewing the Brooklyn Bridge
    written by Leanne Cole

    September 21, 2015
  2. lensaddiction #

    Love the shot of the Manhattan bridge framed by the buildings and the road with the iconic cab in the foreground πŸ™‚ Great shots and must be AMAZING to really be there πŸ™‚

    September 21, 2015
    • Thanks Stacey, great spot to photograph the Manhattan Bridge, and yes, it is really amazing, can’t quite believe it sometimes. πŸ™‚

      September 21, 2015
  3. Did anyone try to sell you the bridge?

    September 21, 2015
    • No, damn, I wouldn’t mind owning it, lol.

      September 21, 2015
  4. Leanne, you mentioned Rob and Robyn in your post. Are the two wife and husband? I am thinking Rob and Robyn from Photo Concentrate.
    I am happy you are still enjoying yourself, even though home sickness is setting.

    September 21, 2015
    • No, they are not married, I don’t think they had met before.
      Thank you, I am, but yes, I am starting to feel a little homesick.

      September 21, 2015
  5. Lovely pictures.

    September 21, 2015
  6. You have a unique POV.

    September 21, 2015
    • I’m not about that, but thank you Joanne.

      September 21, 2015
  7. Awesome shots and I have the same feeling, when you travel for a few months, I miss my big computer and most of all the family members and pet at home. Yet, try to see everything and go everywhere as worry if don’t do now not sure when still have a chance to visit the beautiful country .again.

    September 21, 2015
    • I will do that Cattan, we have some very busy days ahead, so I will definitely make the most of the time I have left. Thanks.

      September 21, 2015
      • Enjoy and make full use of the last few days to squeeze as much as you can see so as not to regret later. Ha!!!!

        September 21, 2015
      • Thanks Cattan, I think after today I will have seen everything I wanted to see, and the rest will be icing on the cake.

        September 21, 2015
  8. You are now one of my favorite photographers.

    September 21, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say Joseph, thank you so much.

      September 21, 2015
  9. Hi Leanne, I’m so happy for you that you’ve had such an amazing visit to the U.S. I commented on several of your photos in this post. Really, really nice work!
    If you have a chance, try to get to the Flatiron building. It’s a photographer’s dream. I shot it once, but only because a light had turned red and I had about 20 seconds to step out of the car and fire away! There were all sorts of obstacles in my view – people, wires, signs, intersection lights, cars, etc. I hope to get back to spend some time near it and try again. One of my favorite photos is Edward Steichen’s Flatiron photo. Here’s a link to it:

    I think you’ll love the photo. He achieved in 1904 the look that I think that appeals to you in photography.
    Enjoy your remaining time in the States!

    September 21, 2015
    • Funny you should mention, we are planning on going there tomorrow, it was definitely on my list of places to go. I love the photo you sent the link of too as well.
      Thanks Mary, I have some very busy days ahead as I plan to fit everything in.

      September 21, 2015
  10. Lovely photographs. I think you are right to photograph what pleases you rather than worrying about appealing to other people. I’m pretty sure most of the time you will find there is a great deal of crossover.

    I’ve yet to walk across the Brooklyn Bridge. I’ve also still to do the High Line. Hopefully I can do it soon.

    September 21, 2015
    • Thanks Laura, it is a good thing to do, I think as well. I had fun when I stopped thinking about that.
      I hope you get to do it, I’m sure your boys would love it as well.

      September 21, 2015
  11. Karen #

    I am glad you are having such a wonderful time, and you are taking some great shots too. There is always a certain amount of regret and disappointment with photography. I always try to have the attitude of having a good time when we go out, and if I get some good shots, then all the better.

    September 21, 2015
    • I agree, there is, you do what you can, but it doesn’t always work the way you hope it will. I like your attitude and I think mine is very similar, thanks Karen.

      September 21, 2015
  12. Remarkable photos. The capturing of the man-made bridge with God’s glorious blue sky as a backdrop. Amazing pictures from any POV.

    September 21, 2015
  13. Great shots of the bridge. The night shots are the best. Not often seen. I hope your feet are better. I carry my tablet with me. I’ve come to a point I can’t use the touch pad on my Mac well enough. Something to consider carrying in the future.
    Hang in there. Think how much your family will enjoy the photos you’ve taken and will continue to take. Skype is good even if the hours between New York and Australia can be strange to figure out. It is for me when I’m in Taiwan.

    September 21, 2015
    • Thank you Tim, it was great at night, I do love night shots. My feet at much better, they didn’t li all that walking. I didn’t want to bring the tablet with me, it was more space and I couldn’t carry anymore. I will be happy when I get home. I don’t if they will enjoy my photos, they never seem to. I’ve been skyping with my family, but I can’t hug the cat here, lol. I have all worked out now, I have kept my laptop on australian time, so I always know what time it is there. That helps.

      September 21, 2015
      • It’s good your feet are better. No solution on the hugs for the cat. Yes, on keeping laptop on Australian time. There are many who do appreciate your photos, including myself.

        September 22, 2015
      • I guess the best solution is to get home to him, I do miss him. Thank you Tim, that is really nice to hear.

        September 23, 2015
  14. Leanne, thanx for sharing your images from your visit to the US. It is great to see these locations (some o which I know well) through your eyes. Lovely., compelling images.

    September 21, 2015
    • Thank you, I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to get any good image, it is hard sometimes, a lot of pressure.

      September 21, 2015
  15. mikew66 #

    Fantastic Leanne love following your trip brining back lots of memories

    September 21, 2015
    • That’s great to hear, thank you Mike.

      September 21, 2015
  16. Tremendous photos of the bridge, well done.

    September 21, 2015
  17. Love those evening shots – classic and beautifully done πŸ™‚

    September 21, 2015
    • Thank you, I love those too, it was nice to get there for them. πŸ™‚

      September 21, 2015
  18. Amazing sunsets Leanne. Love the pic of the statue

    September 21, 2015
    • A few more clouds would have been nice, but you get what you get, thanks Julie.

      September 21, 2015
  19. I actually like the little pop of people on the bridge..i guess when iconic is shot ,painted,written about and immortalised in song it is hard to capture your view..but never is a moment the same..from nano second to nano second..so all you can do is show what you see the way you feel at that moment..you come through in your images and i loved them…keep walking woman! πŸ™‚

    September 21, 2015
    • I will Bev, my feet aren’t liking it, but they can relax next week. Thank you, I love what you have said.

      September 21, 2015
      • You are welcome πŸ™‚ and i bet your feet are not pleased πŸ˜‰

        September 22, 2015
      • No not at all, especially after what I put them through yesterday. 😦

        September 23, 2015
      • Yikes..you sound like Forrest Gump and his running shoes πŸ™‚

        September 23, 2015
      • LOL it was a bit like that. πŸ™‚

        September 24, 2015
      • Hahahahaah πŸ™‚

        September 25, 2015
      • πŸ˜€

        September 25, 2015
  20. Great photos as usual Leanne. Seems as if you’re having a wonderful time; I’ve been looking on Facebook as well as your blog, so the photos are getting around to everyone now! All the buildings and bridges look so huge compared to things I see around me in a little village. Quite daunting to be there in some ways, but what a wonderful opportunity. Enjoy your last few days. x

    September 21, 2015
    • I am having a great time Chris, and seeing so much. They are huge, on anyone’s scale I think. I am glad when I go out I have people with me, otherwise I think it would be like that for me, almost suffocating at times. Thanks Chris.

      September 21, 2015
  21. Such a great location to shot!

    September 21, 2015
  22. Great shoots sans all those people…I’m glad you enjoyed the day as much as I did. Good to get away, but home always calls you back.

    September 21, 2015
    • Thanks Robert, I did enjoy it, and catching up with you and Stacy, oh yes and Robyn. I know, it has been nice to be away, but I’m looking forward to getting home.

      September 21, 2015
  23. Amazing views & captures…

    September 21, 2015
  24. Great shots.

    September 21, 2015
  25. Awesome bridge shots Leanne! Love your photo journey of this fantastic trip.

    September 22, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, that’s good to hear, I hope it isn’t getting boring.

      September 22, 2015
      • Not at all, I’m revisiting places that I love through your eyes ~ doesn’t get any better.

        September 22, 2015
      • Thank you Mary, what a lovely thing to say.

        September 23, 2015
  26. Amy #

    I love these bridge shots, Leanne! It’s a great place to photo. Time goes so fast when you travel. πŸ™‚ Thank you for taking me along!

    September 22, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, I think bridges are great to take photos of, so interesting. It does go fast, can’t believe it is almost over. You’re welcome, I hope you have enjoyed the trip too.

      September 23, 2015
      • Amy #

        Thank you, Leanne for sharing your photos while you are traveling.

        September 23, 2015
      • I have loved doing it Amy, it has been really good. It has been nice to see how many people have enjoyed the photos. Thanks.

        September 24, 2015
  27. I have felt the same way when photographing a famous and oft’ photographed spot! But, there is a reason that people want to photograph amazing places and you know, its not done until you do it yourself!!! And, I’ve thought the same thing, how to find an angle unique and my own of such a place. Best thing is be you, follow your own amazement and the pictures will be beautiful. Thanks for sharing your journey as you have. I was born in New York but have never seen the Brooklyn Bridge. Well maybe as a baby I might have, hmm will ask? Was born in a Naval Hospital in St Albans…not far I don’t think?

    September 22, 2015
    • I like your advice Judy, that is a good way of looking at it. I hope you really get to see it one day, thank you.

      September 23, 2015
  28. Fabulous pixs and so creative. You are amazing.

    September 22, 2015
  29. Great pics of the bridges, love the portal view to the Statue of Liberty!

    September 22, 2015
    • Thank you, my first view, it was exciting.

      September 23, 2015
  30. Great shots Leanne, I never got to see the Brooklyn Bridge or if I did I wasnt as fascinated as I am now with a photographers eye. Enjoy your last few days and snap to the very end!!

    September 22, 2015
    • It is funny how much you change what you want to see when you start photography, πŸ™‚ Thanks, I will do that.

      September 23, 2015
  31. I love the shot of Liberty framed by the bridge, Leanne – we know where it is, but it’s not standard view!

    September 22, 2015
    • I like your observation Sukie, thank you.

      September 23, 2015
  32. These are all fabulous Leanne! BUT – I just love love love you shot with the Statue of Liberty! It is just magical to the eye!

    September 24, 2015
    • Thank you, that is amazing, quite a few people have also liked that one too.

      September 24, 2015
  33. Great images!

    September 24, 2015

Comments are closed.

