Skip to content

USA Wanderings: From This to That

new-york-skyline-night-9854

Today is very busy and not a lot of time for a post, but I really wanted to show you a couple of photos that I’ve taken recently, so here is a quick post.

The first was a night shot taken from the balcony. I noticed the clouds were moving really fast so decided to do a long exposure. I think it was about 3 minutes. I love how the clouds came out, they are going in all different directions. I used the Tamron 15-30mm on this image with my D800. I needed to use the intervalometer so I had to use the D800 for this.

The other photo is from this morning. We got up early and jumped on the train to go downtown to see if we could get some morning shots of the Flat Iron Building. There was a little colour in the sky and it really helped make the building stand out I think. I used the Nikon D750 for the image with the 35mm lens. I got the wifi working and transferred one image to my phone in Starbucks, which was great to finally get it to work.

I will put them both into a gallery for you now, two images taken at different ends of the day. They are among my favourites so far.

26 Comments
  1. That’s very dangerous, jumping on a train. You could slip, fall, and damage the camera, lens or both.

    Much safer to wait for the train to stop, doors to open, and carefully board.

    Beautiful photos, by the way.

    September 22, 2015
    • Haha that’s great love it disperser, thank you .

      September 23, 2015
  2. Although I have no plans to go back to the States where I lived and worked for six years your posts have had me pull out my albums, all monochrome processed from a to z by me, and happily walk through memory lane. Many thanks.

    September 22, 2015
    • That is lovely, glad to have taken you for that walk, you’re welcome and thank you too.

      September 23, 2015
  3. Awesome photos! I’m hoping to branch out from macro in order to learn some long exposure techniques soon!

    September 22, 2015
    • That’s an interesting way of learning long exposures, I haven’t seen that before, good luck with it.

      September 23, 2015
  4. Great photos! The Flatiron building is such a classic. I shoot it every time I’m in the city. Looks like you are enjoying your time in North America πŸ™‚

    September 22, 2015
    • It is rather, how lovely that you get more than one opportunity, I wish we had something like it in Melbourne. I am and it has been an incredibly interesting experience. Thank you. πŸ™‚

      September 23, 2015
  5. amazing the city overview, that is a real cool image πŸ™‚

    September 22, 2015
    • Thank you, loved the clouds, knew I had to try a long exposure. πŸ™‚

      September 23, 2015
  6. Spectacular photographs – I’ve really enjoyed your US travels!

    September 22, 2015
    • That’s great to hear, I’m glad thank you.

      September 23, 2015
  7. mikew66 #

    Great photos Leanne

    September 22, 2015
  8. These are really beautiful images, Leanne! I am so glad you are enjoying your visit to the USA. I live in the state of Arizona. Next door to Arizona is the most beautiful southwestern state, New Mexico. If you have a chance to get there, it is unique and amazing. It is known as the Land of Enchantment, and the name is very fitting. I appreciate all of your work! – Jo

    September 22, 2015
    • I would love to explore Arizona, but I’m afraid not this time, it is on the list however. Thank you Jo.

      September 23, 2015
  9. Very excellent shot of the flatiron building.

    Glad you’re enjoying yourself, but I’m sure you’re eager to head home as well. Don’t be surprise if Tiddles thinks you’re a stranger. Continued safe travels.

    September 23, 2015
    • Thank you David, great building to photograph. So happy with what I got.

      I’m sure Tiddles won’t have forgotten me yet, apparently he keeps looking for me, haha. I’m looking forward to some cuddles from him.

      September 24, 2015
  10. That night shot is spectacular. What an amazing sky. I am very envious of your flatiron building. It is one of my favourite buildings and yet I have never once managed to get a remotely decent photograph of it and you not only got a great shot but also a wonderful sunrise to boot.

    September 23, 2015
    • I was very lucky with that sky, haven’t seen clouds like it since, so glad I decided to just do it. I love the flatiron too, and I am so glad we got up early for the photo, the sunrise really made it for me. Thank you Laura.

      September 24, 2015
  11. Incredible Flat Iron building shot. I used to work across the street from it for 11 years so I know how good that shot is.

    September 24, 2015
    • Oh thank you Lisa, I love the colours and how it came out. Must have been nice to see it all the time.

      September 25, 2015
  12. I love both pictures. New York is one of my favourite places – looking out from hotel rooms (if you get a decent view!) is breathtaking sometimes. And the Flatiron is just beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

    September 25, 2015
    • I am lucky that we were on the 23rd floor so we got some great views, I loved looking out from the balcony. I loved that building, and so glad we went early morning. Thank you.

      September 25, 2015
  13. Hi
    I love these two photos, I think the view from the balcony is my favourite. Thanks for posting them

    September 29, 2015
    • I think they are possibly two of my favourite photos from New York. Thank you.

      September 29, 2015

Comments are closed.

