Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Being a Tourist in New York City

new-york-city-tourist--3

Yesterday I spent the day in New York being a tourist. It was a long day and as many of the things that I wanted to see were still on the list it became a day for ticking them off. Slowly we worked our way around the city.

Of course, you know that I went to take photos of the Flat Iron Building first thing in the morning.

Flat Iron Building  – Tick

new-york-city-tourist-7054

We went to Chinatown for Dim Sum, or Yum Cha as we call it in Australia. It was down a little side street and apparently a place that has been there for a very long time. It was an interesting yum cha, and the dumplings and such were similar and yet some were very different.

We saw the arch above on the way, and when we were coming back we went a bit closer. It is the entrance or start of the Manhattan Bridge. You can walk over it as well, but we had a lot to see so we moved on.

new-york-city-tourist-7147

We made our way to the Staten Island Ferry so I could see the Statue of Liberty. Many people have said it is the best way, and I think they might be right, plus the ferry is free. You can see some great things on the ferry, not just the statue, but also views of the city and some great bridges.

Staten Island Ferry – Tick

Statue of Liberty – Tick

new-york-city-tourist-7438

We stopped at Battery Park to look around and while there I saw this statue of an eagle. It was part of a memorial for the men, and I guess women, who have lost their lives in the US Navy.

new-york-city-tourist-7587

As we left there and made out way to the 9/11 Memorial, I was fascinated by the building above and how everything was reflected into it. When the clouds were reflecting in it the building almost disappeared. As we got closer to the memorial you could see the Freedom Tower being reflected as well. It seemed to be a time for reflections.

new-york-city-tourist-7696

I noticed this at the 9/11 Memorial, the Reflections pools, this is the North one, and the Freedom Tower reflected into it. It was a almost a quiet place, though one has to wonder about the number of people laughing and taking selfies there. I found that quite odd. It is a memorial and the people having their portraits taken there, or getting the selfie sticks out seemed a little insensitive.  Would they do that a cemetery?

9/11 Memorial – Tick

new-york-city-tourist-After enjoying some Greek food we headed to the Empire State Building. We bought tickets from a person outside, not sure I would ever do that again, as we really didn’t get what we thought we were going to get. We were told we would get access to two floors, and that wasn’t the case. We were ripped off. Be careful with the people outside, you might not get what you think you are getting. If you come across Kevin make sure he doesn’t fast talk you.

The views were great and we still had a great time, but even after 9pm the place was still packed with people. We were able to get to the edge to take some photos. It is like a rabbit warren up there, barriers everywhere so you we could be herded like cattle. Oh well, you only have to do it once in your life I guess.

Empire State Building – Tick

My feet were killing me again by the end of the day, but it was worth it in the end. I got the remainder of the things that I wanted to see off the list, but I have to say, I don’t think I like being a tourist. I really don’t like the crowds of people, and in the end you are just seeing the same things that everyone sees. I think I like the idea of experiencing a place and not doing those other things. I have done them now, and I am happy with what I have done here in New York.

I have more photos to show you from throughout the day. My time here is coming to an end and I only have a couple of days left before I have to head home. It has all happened so quickly.

112 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    USA Wanderings: Being a Tourist in New York City
    written by Leanne Cole

    September 23, 2015
  2. Hi Leanne!

    Right now, I am also being a tourist in New York for the first time. A truly amazing city! Check out the High Line urban garden walkway – an amazing place for photos!!!

    September 23, 2015
    • Oh wow Jacqueline, how funny both of us doing it. I was going to High Line, but don’t think my feet could take it, they have taken the city by storm. LOL. I’ve done so much, how long are you here for? I leave on Friday.

      September 24, 2015
      • I am here until Tuesday. I have been so inspired looking at your photos after a brief “Ufff, I can’t do that!” blue mood (made better by a coffee and cupcake at Molly’s). Now I am ready again to go out and see the city in a different way. How are your feet?? Safe trip home!!!

        September 27, 2015
      • That’s great to hear, lots of time to go and see what you can do. Just photograph everything, that’s my motto. My feet are feeling better now that we are home, but I will be taking it easy the next few days. Thanks.

        September 27, 2015
  3. Fabulous set of images! And I am so enjoying watching you “tick” your way through NYC! Wonderful!

    September 23, 2015
    • Thanks Robyn, it has been great and you helped me tick some of those places as well. I feel like I have seen a lot and photographed a lot, it has been fantastic.

      September 24, 2015
  4. You did good touristing. Sorry about your sore feet.

    September 23, 2015
    • I think so too, thanks, and the feet can recover next week when I’m home.

      September 24, 2015
  5. Sounds like one amazing day!

    September 23, 2015
    • It was Jo, a long day, but so worth it. Thanks.

      September 24, 2015
  6. I love the fact that even though the places you went to were crowded you were able to capture images without people.
    I know last year when I went to London there were people everywhere!

    September 23, 2015
    • It took some different thinking, but I really tried hard to see what I could get. I had to wait sometimes, but I usually got the shot I wanted.
      I don’t know about all these people, don’t think I like it.
      Thanks Sharon.

      September 24, 2015
  7. You are managing to pack quite a bit into your trip. I quite enjoy being a tourist and doing the obvious things but I like to balance it out by doing more obscure things or getting away from the crowds. I do love to visit NYC but I don’t think I could live there. After over a decade of living in a remote area, I think I have lost my ability to cope with urban environments for very long. Heck, I am still adjusting to suburbia. So, yes, crowds are exhausting. I really am dumbfounded by the behaviour you witnessed at the 9/11 Memorial. When I have been there it has almost been eerily quiet and definitely reverential. I cannot believe your travels are almost over already.

    September 23, 2015
    • I think the people drive me crazy and all those people with their selfie sticks and such, gets too much at times. The people can be very inappropriate at times, it is such an odd place to do portraits of any kind. I know they are almost over, the day after tomorrow I will be leaving. I can’t believe it is almost over now. Thanks Laura.

      September 24, 2015
      • I saw some people taking “I was there” type selfies and perhaps they were there commemorating a loved one or just wanting to show they had paid their respects. Not something I would do but more understandable perhaps as a record of an important milestone in, for instance, someone’s journey through grief. I certainly didn’t see anyone grinning and smiling or posing, however. I did once witness such callous behavior at Peggy’s Cove in Canada at a memorial to victims of an air crash. It really was shockingly inappropriate so see people grinning and goofing around where a tragedy is commemorated.

        Selfie sticks and iPads as cameras bug me in busy places generally. It’s difficult for me to see something if there’s a wall of screens in the way and it’s impossible for my kids. I hope some etiquette for such devices evolves.

        September 24, 2015
      • Oh I saw them grinning and smiling, it was a look I was here photo, and didn’t pay much attention to the memorial.I think the same, even if it doesn’t mean anything to you, you should still be respectful of the place and those around you.

        They bug me too, so intrusive. I agree, though many places are starting to ban the selfie stick which is nice.

        September 24, 2015
      • I was there on an evening in March so there were no crowds. I’m sure I would have witnessed gruesome touristy behavior like that had it been busier.

        September 24, 2015
      • That would have been nice, it was very busy when we were there, I think because of it being September there might have been a lot more people there.

        September 24, 2015
  8. I really like how you see my home. Being a tourist anywhere seeing the “supposed to” is exhausting, way more than anything else. It seems to suck the life out of the moment, of a city, a place, a memory that is alive and buzzing. Thanks for coming, we’ll welcome you back, with a different view, when you’re ready.

    September 23, 2015
    • I think I have enjoyed just seeing other parts of the city and how people live, that is what I’ve enjoyed the most. What a lovely thing to say Teri, thank you so much.

      September 24, 2015
  9. Wonderful and the reflections are stunningly beautiful..i think we can all stand some time to reflect ..safe travels sweets 🙂

    September 23, 2015
    • thank you Bev, it is a good thing I think. 🙂 see you soon.

      September 24, 2015
  10. Thank you for taking and sharing this images.

    September 23, 2015
    • You’re welcome, thanks for taking a look at them.

      September 24, 2015
  11. Some great shots Leanne, especially the night view of Manhattan. The fascination with selfies especially in sensitive memorials like the 9/11 one perhaps reflects more on the desensitising of the generations reared on the banalities of social media.

    September 23, 2015
    • Thank you Denis. I think you are totally right there, they are so focused on themselves, which is a little scary.

      September 24, 2015
  12. I am sorry you got ripped off and hoped you enjoyed New York! The same happened to our guests with tickets for Ellis Island last week. Beautiful photo of reflections at the 9/11 memorial. And beautiful photos from the ESB.

    September 23, 2015
    • It was disappointing, but we still enjoyed going up there and doing it, glad I did that. Thank you Anne.

      September 24, 2015
  13. You should go to Katz’ Deli before you leave for corned beef sandwiches and a look at a world through another living lens of life that hasn’t changed in decades and decades. I’m sure if you do, you’ll get some magnificent shots.

    September 23, 2015
    • I went 2nd Avenue Deli and had a corned beef and pastrami sandwich that was really good, I’m told that place is better than Katz’ now, I don’t know.
      Thanks

      September 24, 2015
      • I am impressed. You’re a bona fide New Yorker now, though you do know that that’s not the original 2nd Ave Deli location…But still, mazel.

        September 24, 2015
      • Yep, had it, and I did know that, I was told it had moved, it was a great spot. So much food.

        September 24, 2015
      • Awesome!

        September 24, 2015
      • Thank you.

        September 24, 2015
  14. lmarea3070 #

    Are you tired yet? I liked reading your view of the city. NY is a city you do have to experience once in your lifetime. 🙂

    September 23, 2015
    • Hahaha, funny you should ask that, I am getting that way, hopefully I will sleep on the way home. I am glad I came and think I saw a lot, but not sure I would come back to, I liked California more I think. Thank you Lisa.

      September 24, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        I went to CA when I was 3. I would like to go back one day. You better get some sleep/rest before you go home! I’m sure the time change itself was exhausting.

        September 24, 2015
      • Oh yes, it was great there, I really enjoyed it. I’m hoping to get some sleep on the plane going home, hopefully, the time difference is weird, but the night will be very long, I think. Thanks Lisa.

        September 24, 2015
  15. Beautiful images! Love seeing NY…I’ve never been there…thank you for sharing:)

    September 23, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope you get there soon too, great city to visit.

      September 24, 2015
  16. That is quite a trip in NYC. So many things you saw and places you went. These are some marvelous shots, and I really liked how you captured the reflections – they look so crisp and clear. Who doesn’t like dumplings, I’m sure they tasted great though some were different 😀

    I don’t like crowds either. Don’t do crowds and don’t go headlong into them unless I absolutely have to, especially if it’s a once in a lifetime thing. Glad to hear you enjoyed your trip. It sounded like a lot of fun 🙂

    September 23, 2015
    • It has been quite a trip Mabel, it has been amazing. I love dumplings, love yum cha, It was good to get reflections and I’ve found that I’ve been able to get a lot here.

      I’m with you on the crowds, I always try to avoid them, so annoying. thanks again Mabel, it has been great, but I’m looking forward to getting home. 🙂

      September 24, 2015
  17. Thank you for the quick trip, Leanne. And thank you for warning about fast talking Kevins —tick.

    September 23, 2015
    • Anytime, you have to watch out for them. Thanks.

      September 24, 2015
  18. Was wonderful to see my adopted hometown through your lens. Made me very homesick. The reflective photos absolutely took my breath away! And those shots from the top of the Empire State. Wow!
    I wish I had been your tour guide to keep you from the likes of Kevin!

    September 23, 2015
    • Oh thank you so much Lisa, that is so nice of you to say, I’ve really enjoyed my time here and the sights. Oh yes, we all need protecting from the Kevin’s out there. maybe another time. Thanks

      September 24, 2015
  19. thanks for touring us with you in New York!

    September 23, 2015
    • You’re welcome Cybele, glad you enjoyed it.

      September 24, 2015
  20. I love New York, it is such a vibrant, alive place to be…great photos.

    September 23, 2015
    • I think so too Debra, it is quite an eye opener. thank you.

      September 24, 2015
  21. I hope I could also go to these places.

    September 23, 2015
    • I’m sure if you come here you will be able to go to them as well, thank you.

      September 24, 2015
  22. Being a tourist with time constraints can make it a challenge. What to see and how long can you take to see it before having to move on.

    I whole-heartedly agree about the selfie takers. There is something that just doesn’t feel right about it. I felt the same way at the Pearl Harbor Memorial.

    September 23, 2015
    • that’s very true.
      It is too weird, you think you are there to pay your respects and these people are just being self absorbed, I didn’t like it. Thanks.

      September 24, 2015
  23. Stunning Leanne .. Brilliant seeing NY through your lens .. Hope those feels are ok 😀

    September 23, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, I’m sure they will be, especially when I get home and won’t be using them as much. lol.

      September 24, 2015
  24. Wow beautiful

    September 23, 2015
  25. Nice photos of NYC – I know it’s difficult to get those shots when you’re in a place packed with people, but you did a great job!

    September 23, 2015
    • Thank you Krysten, it is hard, but then it becomes part of the challenge. You get to be patient.

      September 24, 2015
  26. Enjoyed your tour and perspective on the tourist attractions in NYC! What a great experience you are having! Sore feet and all 🙂

    September 23, 2015
    • That’s great Jodi, glad you enjoyed it, It has been an amazing experience, I am very thankful for this trip. Yes, sore and all, I won’t let them stop me from going out. 🙂 Thanks Jodi.

      September 24, 2015
      • Are you missing home yet? I’m so happy for you Leanne!

        September 24, 2015
      • I am a little, looking forward to getting home, though it is a bit sad that it is over as well. Thanks Jodi.

        September 24, 2015
  27. Great images, as usual, Leanne. I must say I am impressed by your ability to pack so much of NYC into a single day.

    September 23, 2015
    • I think I feel time is running out, so I have to do as much as possible, though today was nicer and easier, tomorrow should be another day like that I hope and then start the trip home on Friday. Thanks Robin.

      September 24, 2015
  28. What another wonderful day, Leanne! I love that you’ve seen and done so much. I admit I’m a bit envious that you got to Chinatown – that’s still very much on my bucket list 🙂 Great photos, all, and I especially love those of the 9/11 Memorial. I didn’t know you could walk across the Manhattan Bridge – I’ll have to try that out too the next time 🙂 I love seeing NYC thru your lens!

    Safe travels Friday. I hope you don’t have difficulty getting to the airport with all the security surrounding the Pope’s visit!

    September 23, 2015
    • It was Stacy, it has been great to see so much. You must go to Chinatown then, come to Melbourne and I will take you to some great places there. Thank you, the 9/11 memorial was not what I was expecting, it is very beautiful though. Yes, there did seem to be a walkway, which was nice, if you do it you will have to let me see the photos.
      I have booked a car that will pick me up 4 hours before my flight, so I shouldn’t have any problems getting there, I hope. Thanks again Stacy, hope to see you in Australia some time. 😀

      September 24, 2015
  29. Nice post! Glad you are enjoying exploring NYC! We had the same reaction to the 9/11 Memorial when we visited last year. Loved your pictures with the reflections as well. Here is how we saw it. http://exploretheworldwithyourkids.com/2014/08/11/september-11-memorial-family-travel-kids/

    September 23, 2015
    • Thank you, it is an interesting place, you got some nice photos, I love that building, and I see you got lots of shots of it too.

      September 24, 2015
  30. Beautiful images, Leanne.

    September 24, 2015
  31. You could spend a lifetime in New York and not see all of it. My home town and the 30 years spent there were barely sufficiently to see half of Manhattan. And I was dedicated to seeing everything that could be reached by subway … which is almost everything.

    Americans are rather insensitive about photographs. Always were. That’s probably where the whole “ugly American” image began. Japanese tourists have similar bad habits. Too many cameras?

    Your pictures are gorgeous and I expected nothing less!

    September 24, 2015
    • I think most cities are like that, I am still finding things in Melbourne that I never knew where there before. I have seen a lot, and I’m happy to say for this visit I’ve seen what I wanted to see. It’s been great really.
      Cameras and young people I think, the age of the selfie and the selfie sticks, not good, they really just need a wall of photos that they could pose in front of, they don’t really see it.
      Thank you Marily.

      September 24, 2015
  32. Leanne, great pics! I know what you mean about being a “tourist” and not wanting to be where everyone is. We just got back from New York and one day went over to Strawberry Fields in Central Park to see where the Imagine plaque is that honors John Lennon. There were soo many people there taking photos that I didn’t get want to squeeze in to try and get a shot. Instead, I just sat on a bench, put my earbuds in and listened to some Beatles tunes on my iPod, trying to drown out all the peoples noise. And as far as people taking selfies at the 9/11 memorial, yes, those people would to the same thing at a cemetery. Disrespectful, I say.

    September 24, 2015
    • I wonder if we were at the Strawberry Fields Imagine plaque at the same time, I saw it as well. Hard to get a photo with no one in it. I like how you handled it. It is very disrespectful, I just don’t get it. Thank you.

      September 24, 2015
  33. And I wanted to add that, I think to really experience a new place, not as a tourist, you have to return to it several times and you will see new things each time. I’ve been to NYC quite a few times and each time, it feels more and more like my 2nd home. 🙂

    September 24, 2015
    • I think living in a place is great too, we lived in Copenhagen for 7 months and we experienced something very different to people who are there for a short visit. it was really amazing.

      September 24, 2015
  34. I’ve done the whole tourist experience, but not so much in New York. I enjoy a visit to Ellis Island, the Lincoln Center and I took a tour in a small bus out of Manhattan that was one of the most interesting things. It was quite a while ago, though.

    September 24, 2015
    • I didn’t do Ellis Island, but we are staying near the Lincoln Center, I’m not disappointed with what I did, but it has helped me realize that perhaps if I travel I want to do different sorts of shots. Thank you Olga.

      September 24, 2015
  35. Sounds (and looks) like a great New York experience!

    September 24, 2015
    • It has been Debby, thank you.

      September 24, 2015
  36. Good to see that you are getting to well seen places. Feet – ouch!!! Hang in there.

    September 24, 2015
    • I will Tim, I’ve seen pretty much everything I wanted to see, so I am happy about that, only one day left. Thanks

      September 24, 2015
  37. Yes you have stumbled upon one of this country’s many weaknesses. Peoples lack of respect and lack of proper behavior in public places. And yes they do that in cemeteries. I’ve seen it at Arlington even. Fortunately some people will speak up to some offenders. Not that I don’t think laughter is a wonderful thing. It can get you through great difficulties, but it has its place. You have only seen a small bit though of the beauty of this huge country. But as always, where ever you are, you captured wonderful images. Thank you for sharing them.

    September 24, 2015
    • It’s good that people will do that, it is terrible how people do it, I mean they could be in front of a photo for all they really care about for where they are. I agree about laughter and as you said there is always a time and a place for it. Yes, a small part, but some beautiful parts too, made me think more about Australia and what I want to do there. thank you so much Mike.

      September 24, 2015
  38. You even got some flowers!

    September 24, 2015
    • I did, I’ve been trying to get flowers whenever I see them.

      September 24, 2015
  39. Seems like just a short while ago we first spoke of you actually making it to the States for a visit…and now, almost over.You came, you saw nd you conquered your list…and that will have to do for now.

    September 24, 2015
    • I know, the planning took so much longer, and sadly it is almost over, soon it will just be photos and memories. It will, thank you Robert.

      September 24, 2015
  40. Great work Leanne! My favourites are the reflections in reflections. Making me eager to step into your footsteps and visit NY myself!

    September 24, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, oh yes, do, see what you can come up with as well.

      September 24, 2015
      • Exactly! Great inspiration

        September 24, 2015
      • I look forward to seeing how you go and your photos.

        September 25, 2015
  41. I’ve truly enjoyed watching your wanderings through the States – sometimes we forget what’s in our own backyards!

    September 24, 2015
    • I know what you mean, that’s great to hear that you have enjoyed it, I hope people will continue to enjoy them when I am showing Australia again. Thanks Jay.

      September 24, 2015
  42. Sandra #

    You need time to do both Leanne – see the iconic sites and experience the place – the best of both worlds. I have enjoyed your photos of your trip. See you soon.

    September 24, 2015
    • Maybe Sandra, I’m glad I saw them, but they were so crowded and too many people, so it was hard to enjoy some of them. Thank you, see you Sunday.

      September 24, 2015
  43. You did a full day’s work! Fantastic pictures too and so many tick marks 🙂

    September 24, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, it was a full day and I did sleep well that night. I was happy to get those ticks. 🙂

      September 25, 2015
  44. Those night shots from the Empire State are breathtaking. Looks like you have had a wonderful visit. Safe travels home.

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you Andrew, I did what I could with a tripod, and with lots of people there. I did have a great trip, and thanks again, I leave today.

      September 25, 2015
  45. Fantastic photos, Leanne. 🙂 I love travel, I love cities (NYC especially has a special place in my heart), and I love your photography!

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you, this is my first time travelling, and it has been an amazing experience. New York is quite a city.

      September 25, 2015
  46. Amazing photographs. I think you’re very successful Leanne 🙂

    September 26, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope that is true.

      September 27, 2015
  47. Awesome shot. This is one city I would like to visit. Glad you are having fun in the USA

    September 28, 2015
    • Thanks Luis, it is great city to visit, just be ready for lots of walking.

      September 29, 2015
  48. Reblogged this on PenneyVanderbilt.

    September 30, 2015

Comments are closed.

