Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Roosevelt Island

roosevelt-island-bridge-freedom-park-7942

Today we had a fairly easy day. We got ready at a leisurely pace and then headed to the subway and caught a couple of trains to Roosevelt Island.

This is a lovely place in the middle of the river between Manhattan and Queens. The first thing I saw was the Ed Koch bridge and I spent a lot of time taking photos of it. We also walked to the end to the new Freedom Garden, I think it was called. It was a great place to get some photos of Manhattan. It was a lovely way to spend some time. When we were done we caught the tram back to Manhattan.

Once we were back we went and had Pizza at Patsy’s, I think it was called, it was really nice. Then we went to Bloomingdale’s so I could get some more presents. Not a great place to shop, the staff were very snooty and I certainly wouldn’t go back, even if I lived here.

It was a very relaxing day and we enjoyed it a lot. I have some photos for you now, I hope you enjoy them.

25 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    USA Wanderings: Roosevelt Island
    written by Leanne Cole

    September 24, 2015
  2. Thanks for the ground view of this is island, only seen it on Google Earth. Sorry these folks were rude to you. My experience with these people has almost always been negative, even with my New York native neighbor here. I doubt that all New Yorkers are rude of course.

    September 24, 2015
    • I don’t think so either John, they were just a bit up themselves and it didn’t help that we didn’t look posh, crap, very pretentious really. Oh well, I can tell everyone not to go to Bloomingdale’s. Glad you enjoyed the ground view, it is an interesting place. I will remember it as being very relaxing. Thanks John.

      September 24, 2015
  3. Ah you were in my neck of the woods. I live right near the bridge to Roosevelt Island (that’s how the cars get over there). It is an interesting place with a weird yet intriguing history. The park is beautiful indeed. I have a hard time calling it the Ed Koch bridge lol. For me it will always be the 59th Street Bridge or the Feelin’ Groovy Bridge! 🙂

    September 24, 2015
    • Oh cool, Robert, I hope you waved when we went past. I agree, it would be good to spend more time exploring it. Oh well, there is only so much time. One of the people I was with said the same thing about the bridge. Thanks Robert.

      September 24, 2015
  4. Great photos all with nice handling of perspective and scale. I’ve never been to Roosevelt Island and really ought to go since FDR is my favourite president (I have been to Hyde Park, further up the Hudson). Sorry you had a crappy experience in Bloomingdales. I’ve never been in that store. I do go into the NYC Macy’s just to ride the antique wooden escalators. Did you do that yet?

    September 24, 2015
    • Yes, you should go Laura, I think your boys would love it as well. No, we were thinking of going there, but didn’t make it. Time is running out, unfortunately. Thanks Laura.

      September 24, 2015
  5. Happy you had at least one relaxing day! Great photos of the bridge, and Manhattan. Enjoy the remaining time and have a good trip back home.

    September 24, 2015
    • It was lovely, though I did have some other days when I did nothing, they were nice too. Thanks Tiny, I’m all packed now and will be leaving for the airport soon.

      September 25, 2015
  6. fantastic shots.

    September 24, 2015
  7. Nelson #

    I especially love the one taken ubder the bridge

    September 24, 2015
    • I love photos under bridges, thanks Nelson.

      September 25, 2015
  8. wasn’t it gorgeous yesterday?! Our weather here has been SO PERFECT for you! I’m so glad :0

    September 24, 2015
    • I have been very lucky the weather has been fantastic, well except for a few day of very hot weather and high humidity, well high for me, we dont’ get humidity much in Melbourne. Thank Jodi.

      September 25, 2015
      • You are very FORTUNATE for NO humidity! Someday I hope to see and experience that part of the world!!! 🙂

        September 25, 2015
      • I don’t know that we get no humidity, but it doesn’t feel like we do, it has been hard here with it. I hope so too Jodi, I would love to show you around. 😀

        September 25, 2015
  9. Great shots! (and I completely agree about Bloomingdales)

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you, no one there weren’t many people in there.

      September 25, 2015
  10. More highly enjoyable perspectives.
    Bloomingdales should be told their PR is stinky.

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you Colonialist.
      I agree, it was one place in New York that wasn’t crowded with people.

      September 25, 2015
  11. Beautiful perspectives on the bridges!

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you. I do love bridges.

      September 25, 2015
  12. Lovely travel with you Leanne! Thanks for taking us on a ride… Lol…

    Great captures as usual…

    September 27, 2015
    • You’re welcome, glad you enjoyed it, thank you.

      September 27, 2015

Comments are closed.

