Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Saying Goodbye to New York

new-york-central-riverside-parks-8268

It is hard to believe that this trip was in the planning for over a year, but here we are at the end of the end of it. This will be my last blog post from New York, or from the USA. I have met some amazing people and had such a great time. I have seen so many wonderful things, and well, I’m looking forward to getting home and looking at the over 8000 photos that I have taken on my large computer screen.

My last day started early as we were going to go somewhere, but I had to take the sunrise from the balcony, as I have done nearly every morning I’ve been here.

We were up early with plans for a trip to Riverside Park to do some long exposures that I found when out with Robert last Saturday. The plan was to do some long exposusres, and it was nice to try the filters while here.

Back home for breakfast before heading to the subway.

My last trip on the subway. I am not sure I will miss this aspect of the trip.

We then headed to Central Park one last time to just look around and relax. We met up with another WordPress blogger, Sherry.

It was a lovely way to spend time on my last full day here.

I have enjoyed the experience of travelling here, and I do really need to thank so many people. First of all my sponsor who made the whole trip possible, then the friends that allowed me to stay with them while I was here. It has been so good to get to know them so much more.

I also have to thank Merrell for my walking shoes, they really helped me out and they were so good to wear here.

Tamron Australia for lending me the two lens. I found the 28-300mm a great all round lens and really was the first choice of lens in nearly every situation. The 15-30mm was great for architecture and some big city landscapes.

Lowepro bags, that bag, the Pro Runner AW II, was comfortable to use and seemed to carry so much gear, it was a great asset on this trip.

Joby Gorillapod and Camera strap, well I didn’t use the gorillapod as much as I thought, but it was great in some situations. I might have to get one I think. The camera strap was on the camera the whole time, and was comfortable to use and never pulled out my hair, bit bonus. It will be something I will continue using.

Lastly I have to thank Nikon Australia for lending me the D750 and the 35mm lens. I haven’t used the lens as much as I thought I might, but nearly every photo I have taken here, around 7000, probably more, were taken with the D750. I finally got the wifi working and being able to download photos from the camera to my phone meant I could use great photos for social media like Instagram. I am really going to miss that when the camera is returned to Nikon next week.

My bags are packed, well almost, just a couple of last minute things to get in the bags. I’m checked in and all set to head home tomorrow. It is going to be a long trip, but I hope it will be much better than the trip getting here, I really want to sleep this time.

I would also like to thank you for following me along on my trip. I have loved hearing from you and I hope when I get back to Australia you will enjoy following me on my trip there. ย I will talk to you when I get back home.

83 Comments
  1. Until next time my friend! Safe travels! XX

    September 25, 2015
    • Oh yes, I really hope there is another one and thank you for making me feel so welcome. Thanks Robyn.

      September 25, 2015
  2. So great enjoying this trip with you, Leanne! Safe travels!

    September 25, 2015
    • That is fantastic Jodi, I have enjoyed hearing from you, and I hope you won’t be a stranger when I get back to Australia. Thank you.

      September 25, 2015
  3. Have a safe trip back to Australia! Take care, my friend! ๐Ÿ™‚

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you Fabio, I’m looking forward to getting home. ๐Ÿ™‚

      September 25, 2015
  4. Leanne, you are a celebrity now. There will be many more trips. Brace yourself. Safe travel.

    September 25, 2015
    • Well I don’t know about that, but the trip has been great. I hope so, I liked the experience of photographing other parts. Thank you Noel.

      September 25, 2015
      • Leanne, you are a very humble person. Regardless, you have got to claim your spot in this business. Your work gives that right.you.

        September 25, 2015
      • I think that is something I’m not very good at it, I think it was way I was raised, but I should work on it, thanks for the confidence in me Noel.

        September 25, 2015
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    USA Wanderings: Saying Goodbye to New York
    written by Leanne Cole

    September 25, 2015
  6. I’ve really enjoyed following your trip Leanne, wishing you some good sleep while aloft. Looking forward to your posts from home. Safe travels!

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you John, that is so good to hear. I hope so too, it would be nice to arrive back home having some sleep.

      September 25, 2015
  7. Sandra #

    It sounds as if it has been a great experience for you Leanne, and I have enjoyed following your journey. And seeing the photos has been wonderful. See you soon

    September 25, 2015
    • It has been Sandra, can’t wait to tell you all about it. See you at the airport on Sunday morning.

      September 25, 2015
  8. I am so happy you had a wonderful adventure in the US, Leanne. I loved your images and stories and the places you visited on the west and east coast are favorites of mine. Glad you had a rewarding and fun trip! Safe travels home.

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, it has been a great experience, and I’ve really enjoyed it so much. I am looking forward to being home and seeing what I can do with the scenes there, now that I have been here.

      September 25, 2015
  9. Very nice images, I really enjoyed them.

    September 25, 2015
    • That’s great, thank you.

      September 25, 2015
  10. Safe travels! It’s been fun to follow your journey!

    September 25, 2015
    • That’s great, thank you.

      September 25, 2015
  11. lmarea3070 #

    That’s it?! You’re going home? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    September 25, 2015
    • It had to happen sometime, and yes it is over Lisa.

      September 25, 2015
  12. Safe trip and may the wind be at your back and clear sailing. I’ll look forward to more of the images taken in the U.S.

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you Tim, I have a lot more images that I haven’t shown Tim, so you will see a lot more yet, I think.

      September 25, 2015
  13. Victoria #

    Have a safe trip back home ! Good luck!

    September 25, 2015
  14. Some fantastic water shots here Leanne at sunrise? New York looks almost safe in your images!! You will notice a calmer Australia when you return even though most of the old culprits are still running the country.

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you Denis, I have to say, it felt safe while I was here as well. I’m looking forward to getting back to my home and what is familiar. Yes, I see we have a new Prime Minister, but also heard that it is much the same, nothing really has changed.

      September 25, 2015
  15. Have a safe trip back home sweetie! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    September 25, 2015
  16. Wow love the pics! Especially from the subway!

    September 25, 2015
  17. I enjoyed following your journey and it was really nice to meet you yesterday. Hope you had a safe journey and even more success as a photographer. Your work is marvelous. I love the Nikon D750 too.

    September 25, 2015
    • It was lovely meeting you too Sherry, thank you, it has been quite an adventure. Not bad the D750, I love the wifi on it.

      September 25, 2015
  18. Glad to hear you enjoyed every moment. Safe trip home, Leanne.
    Regards, Ken

    September 25, 2015
  19. Great photos, great trip, Leanne. Safe travels!

    September 25, 2015
  20. Goodbye and farewellโ€ฆsafe journey home.

    September 25, 2015
    • Thank you Robert, I hope we will meet again.

      September 25, 2015
      • I have every hope that this will happenโ€ฆeither back here, in your country or on a tour of Pripyat ๐Ÿ™‚

        September 25, 2015
      • That would be fantastic, maybe all three. ๐Ÿ˜€

        September 25, 2015
  21. Now when I return to NYC I will have to find some of the places you captured. It is a wonderful city isn’t it? And I love that Tamron 15-30 lens.

    September 25, 2015
    • It was great, and it has been so good seeing it, I like that lens, though I have the Nikon 14-24mm at home, so both great lenses. I love how wide it goes. Thank you.

      September 25, 2015
  22. It has been great to follow you along on your trip. Have fun editing all of those photos.

    September 26, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it, and yes, I think I will have a lot of fun editing them, have to make room for them on my computer first.

      September 27, 2015
  23. More than 8000. You have beaten my Arizona record of 6000. Of course, I’m going to AZ again in January, so who knows? I might outdo both of us ๐Ÿ™‚

    I hope, though the time sped by so fast, that you had a very good time. I think you chose your locations well. I wish we had had the time to meet in person. Maybe someday.

    September 26, 2015
    • Yes, who knows, it is very easy to do. I did have a good time, and it was quite an experience, a really good one I think. It would have been nice, but you never know, I might come back one day. ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks Marilyn.

      September 27, 2015
  24. Wonderful trip Leanne and there is nothing better then a photography tour of some very special places seen through your lens. Glad you enjoyed your trip here – safe travels to home.

    September 26, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say Mary, thank you so much, I did enjoy it, and it was great to see others enjoying it as well.

      September 27, 2015
  25. UK next? Maybe? Go on, you know you wanna! ๐Ÿ™‚

    September 26, 2015
    • I do actually, it is most definitely on the list of places I want to go. ๐Ÿ™‚

      September 27, 2015
      • See you when you get here ๐Ÿ˜‰

        September 28, 2015
      • LOL, don’t know when it will be. ๐Ÿ™‚

        September 28, 2015
  26. Great to meet you at last, Leanne. Safe journey home.

    September 26, 2015
    • Likewise Robin, and thank you, home now, and it is nice to be back.

      September 27, 2015
  27. Safe travels home! I was so happy to see your posts here as you travelled through my home town! Even though I live in Paris – I am a tried and true New “Yawker”! Thank you for your visions and some great memories for myself!

    September 26, 2015
    • Thank you Debby I finally got here a few hours ago. I hope you think I did your hometown justice.

      September 27, 2015
      • Yes Leanne your shots are as always just fabulous!

        September 27, 2015
      • Thank you Debby, though not always, I just don’t show the bad ones.

        September 28, 2015
  28. The U.S. feels a bit lonelier now that you’re not here, Leanne ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It was such a delight to follow your travels and especially get to meet you and play a part in your New York City adventures ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the fun and the laughs and all the wonderful moments in between. And, of course, for sharing your wonderful images. I look forward to some day touring Melbourne with you (sooner rather than later!) โค๏ธ

    September 26, 2015
    • Ooohhhh, thank you Stacy, It is sad that our time has gone. I had such a great time with you too, laughed a lot, that is always a good sign. I really look forward to that as well, I would love to show you around Melbourne. I hope sooner too. ๐Ÿ˜€

      September 27, 2015
  29. Have a safe trip back home. You made memories and captured plenty. Can’t wait to see all your posts once you get back home๐Ÿ˜Š

    September 26, 2015
    • Thanks, I’ve arrived home safely and in one piece. Yes, will take me a while to get through them all.

      September 27, 2015
      • You may need another vacation to spend time to go through the pictures and reflect๐Ÿ˜Š. Glad you got home safely.

        September 28, 2015
      • Wouldn’t that be nice, though too much work to do now, unfortunately.

        September 28, 2015
      • Totally understand. Later is better than never:)

        September 29, 2015
      • That is so true, it is.

        September 29, 2015
  30. What captures man… Superb post…

    September 27, 2015
  31. It has been fun following your trip and seeing your beautiful pictures Leanne. Have fun working through those 8000(!) photos and reliving the memories. ๐Ÿ™‚

    September 27, 2015
    • Yes, it is going to be quite a job, but I am looking forward to seeing them on a larger screen, my laptop is quite small. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed following my trip, would be nice to do more. Thanks Katie. ๐Ÿ™‚

      September 27, 2015
  32. …No one typically misses the subway when they leave here lol. Great photos, glad you enjoyed.

    September 28, 2015
    • LOL, I think I know exactly what you mean, though I loved how you didn’t have to wait too long for a train. Thank you Violet, I did.

      September 28, 2015
  33. Great pics!

    September 29, 2015
  34. I have been following your blog for quite some time and admire your photography. You always post amazing photos. Your US trip has been an eye opener for me. Not only do you create amazing photos, you produce so many of them, each one of them a masterpiece. I struggle to find one photo for my Facebook page ErichPhotoDaily every day – and you mass produce them! In awe.

    October 3, 2015
    • I’m sure you are being hard on yourself, I just go for it, really, I do take a lot of photos. I think the biggest day I had in the states in took over 1000 photos in a day, so it makes it easier to find more images, but thank you for what you said.

      October 3, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. USA Wanderings: Saying Goodbye to Newย York | City To Country Magazine

Comments are closed.

