Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Home and Back to Reality

It really is over now. I’m sitting here writing this blog where so many others have been written. It is a little sad, but it is also good to be home. Now I have to get back to work, so many things to do, but I thought I would tell you about my trip home, and let you know I had arrived safely.

My trip was fairly uneventful, that was until I got almost home, nothing bad, but it took longer than expected. I left New York on Friday and caught a plane to Indianapolis, though I really only got to see the airport. I hung around there for two hours before boarding my flight to LA or LAX for the final part of my journey.

While flying to LA I saw a beautiful sunrise and because we were travelling back in time, I don’t know how else to explain it as we were going through a different time zone, I saw the longest sunset I’ve ever seen in my life. It lasted for almost three hours. I took some photos of it with my phone. I have a couple of photos of it for you.

They are the only photos for today, sorry.

At LAX I was met by Pam, and we had a brief meeting and catch up. I wasn’t sure how long it would take me to get through security, and so we didn’t spend much time together. I am so sad that we didn’t, as it turned out I got through rather quickly and got to the gate wishing I had spent more time with her instead. Sorry Pam.

My QANTAS flight took off a little late, but without incident. I ate and then tried to sleep for the next 8 or so hours. I got more sleep than I did when I went there, which was good, but not enough. I hoped it was enough to get me through the first day back. The food was good, and I did enjoy that, but I seemed to be asleep for the snacks when they came around so around 3 or 4 in in the morning I was starving and it seemed to take them forever to serve breakfast.

Just before hitting Australia we were told that there was fog at the Melbourne Airport and we were going to have to stop in Sydney to refuel, great, add 45 to 60 minutes to the trip. Once up in the air we flew to Melbourne, landed on the tarmac and stayed there, for another 45 or so minutes. Apparently the fog had thrown everything into chaos and we couldn’t get to a gate. Being a Airbus 380, there are only so many gates to park at. There was one plane leaving and we were waiting for them to depart so we could get to the gate, but of course they found some problems with the gate, so we had to wait longer. Β We finally left the plane just over 2 hours longer than we were meant to.

Once off the plane going through border security was a nightmare. There were so many people and no one seemed to know what was going on. It was confusing and so annoying. Fair dinkum Melbourne Airport, you really need to employ more people and get a better system in place, compared to the US it was a nightmare. Customs was fine and had no trouble there, finally got out of the airport just after 11 am. My friend met me and we went out for breakfast. It was so nice.

I got home just after lunch and my daughters were waiting for their presents. They loved everything I gave them, which was a relief. My husband liked all the lollies I got him, but I think he rather liked the Batman tshirt, cape and all, a lot too.

Tiddles was a bit funny, but he keeps coming to me for cuddles, which is really nice.

Last night I slept for 12 hours and feel okay today. Now I’m trying to make room on my computer for all the photos. I have two One on One’s this week, I have an article to write for dPS, and have to get moving on the magazine, so everything is happening here. I am going to be very busy.

I will continue writing about the US in the next few days, so final thoughts and such, and then I will start getting everything, well nearly everything, back to normal.

75 Comments
  1. Love the pics πŸ™‚ I always love watching the clouds, sunsets or sunrises from the plane. Enjoy getting back to “normal” πŸ™‚

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you, it was wonderful to watch, though the wing was in the way a bit. I will I am sure. πŸ™‚

      September 28, 2015
  2. Love it. Wing shots are my fave. Always try to request that se always try to request that seat at. 😊✈️

    September 28, 2015
    • They can really give you a sense of place, thank you. I try to as well, though more so I don’t feel so closed in.

      September 28, 2015
  3. Uhg, travel woes! My wife travels to Europe as part of her job, some airports have it together, others are in constant panic mode. Glad you made it home safely Leanne. The Yanks treated you well I hope! πŸ™‚

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you John, yes, Melbourne airport was terrible. It was all good really.

      September 28, 2015
  4. So glad you’re home and that you had a good 12 hr sleep! The U.S. will be missing you! Sounds like you have a busy schedule ahead…don’t add any more to it, is what I’d suggest! Give your head and heart all the time it can eek out to take in all that you have seen and done, and the people you’ve met here. No need to reply, Leanne! Rest and daydream!!! ❀ Mary

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, I’m still a little tired, but sure I will get over that. I do have a busy one, lots to do. I will do that, I need to get my head around everything, I’m looking forward to looking at my photos on the computer here. I must email you too. Great advice.

      September 28, 2015
  5. Sandra #

    Welcome home Leanne

    September 28, 2015
  6. Totally love those long sunsets when you get a westward flight at the right time and a window seat!

    September 28, 2015
    • They are fantastic, I’ve never really seen one before, but I did enjoy seeing it for so long. Thank you.

      September 28, 2015
  7. Glad that you had an uneventful trip and that you are already at home! Take it easy. Cheers to you and to your family! Take care! πŸ™‚

    September 28, 2015
    • I don’t know that I would say uneventful, the last 5 or 6 hours were annoying, but I am glad to be home now Thank you Fabio. πŸ™‚

      September 28, 2015
  8. I am glad that you enjoyed your US visit. I always thought that Australia would be a wonderful place to visit.

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you, I did enjoy it, and yes, I think Australia is a great place to visit, but then again I live here.

      September 28, 2015
  9. glad to know you made it home sweet home – albeit a bit late. Thanks for “checking in” with us! Look forward to continuing the journey! Here or there or anywhere! πŸ™‚

    September 28, 2015
    • Oh yes, got here eventually, and very glad. You’re welcome, I wanted to let you know. Thank you Jodi, I am about to start loading the photos onto my computer so it will be good to see them here. πŸ™‚

      September 28, 2015
  10. I still cant get the image out of my head of hubby in the Batman cape and t-shirt!! πŸ˜‰ Glad you’re back safe and sound xx

    September 28, 2015
    • Hahaha, he loves it, which is so nice. Thanks Karen, I’m happy to be back.

      September 28, 2015
  11. lensaddiction #

    Welcome back, Im a bit delayed on my article – 2/3 written, I should have it sorted by tomorrow or Wed at the latest πŸ™‚ Looking forward to some great pix from your travels. I have never flown backwards into a sunrise, sounds amazing, I have flown into sunsets which seemed to last for ages, similar concept I think πŸ™‚

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you Stacey, don’t stress too much on the article, I know I can rely on you. It is a great thing, such long sunsets. Same concept exactly. πŸ™‚

      September 28, 2015
  12. Glad everyone liked their presents:) That is certainly important! Pictures can wait, right? —- not for me…I can’t wait to see them. Keep calm and carry on. No rush. I understand, long trips are very tiring and your other responsibilities need attention.

    September 28, 2015
    • It is, so nice too, yes, they can, but I am looking forward to seeing them.Thank you, I am taking it easy, well today anyway. Thank you.

      September 28, 2015
  13. I am glad you had a great visit and took plenty of pictures. Sounds like everyone was glad to see you get back. I am sure you will be caught up in no time. I can’t wait to see more pics.

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you Sonya, I certainly did those. I don’t know if they were happy to see me or the presents, lol. I am hoping to show more, need to get them all on my computer.

      September 28, 2015
  14. Reblogged this on sharongreenaway and commented:
    I don’t envy Leanne’s work schedule after her overseas trip. When we got back from London last year I was cactus for nearly a week!

    September 28, 2015
    • It is rather tiring, I have to say, but hopefully it won’t take me long to recover.

      September 28, 2015
  15. great to hear you’re back safe and sound Leanne! It IS, a very long flight.

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, it is that’s for sure.

      September 28, 2015
      • take it easy, and rest! πŸ™‚

        September 30, 2015
      • I am trying to Debi, but so many things need to be done, lol.

        October 1, 2015
      • pesky, annoying things! tell them to wait a minute… πŸ™‚ that is the one problem with taking a nice long holiday, everything has just accumulated!

        October 1, 2015
      • I’m trying to do that, hopefully, soon things will settle down, I think I finally caught up on the sleep, so hopefully that will help things a lot more. πŸ™‚

        October 2, 2015
      • πŸ™‚

        October 4, 2015
  16. lmarea3070 #

    Glad you got home safe. I can’t wait to see more pictures!

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you Lisa, I was just showing the photos on the blog to my daughter and realized there are so many I haven’t shown. So lots more to come I think.

      September 28, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        Esspecially since you took about 8000!

        September 29, 2015
      • Haha, exactly.

        September 29, 2015
  17. I know you are glad to be home even if it took a little extra time. Sleep as very good. Take a deeeeeeeeeep breather and then go for it.

    September 28, 2015
  18. Welcome back home, sweet home, Leanne.

    September 28, 2015
  19. Glad your travels home were safe, even if extended. Flight delays and confused airport personnel can really make one cranky. I’m sure you’ll be back in your normal rhythm in no time.

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you, they were, and it is nice to be back. Oh it can, especially when you have been travelling for a day already. I hope so, got so much to do really.

      September 28, 2015
  20. Welcome home dear Leanne Cole, I am so glad to hear your travel ended in safe… I loved your photographs and you know always I enjoy and love your photography. Tiddles, should be so happy to see you dear Leanne, don’t you bring something to her too πŸ™‚ Thank you, have a nice autumn days, love, nia

    September 28, 2015
    • Thank you Nia, it was great, and glad to be home. He was happy and has left me alone much which is nice.

      September 29, 2015
  21. Hope you recover fast from the long trip back. My husband would prefer a Ferrari or MV shirt to Batman πŸ™‚

    September 28, 2015
    • I do too Sherry, though it is proving to be hard, my husband doesn’t like cars, so it wouldn’t have been good for him, Batman worked well. πŸ™‚

      September 29, 2015
  22. Love the photo of the wing — which is one of those twists of the mind, for when in a jet I cannot bear to look at the wings in an effort to keep the flying panic attack at bay, yet I find them so aesthetically pleasing. The same holds true for bridges. The journey continues.

    September 28, 2015
    • I know what you mean, I’m like that with water, don’t like being under it, but like looking at photos of it. Thanks.

      September 29, 2015
  23. Hope we made a favorable impression on you. Nice Tiddles isn’t treating you like a stranger. πŸ™‚

    September 29, 2015
    • You did David, it was great, and yes, Tiddles has been a bit clingy, which is nice in some ways. πŸ™‚

      September 29, 2015
  24. Welcome back home, Leanne, I am so glad you had a safe trip. I really enjoyed following all your blogposts during your travels around the US, and am soo impressed at how many photos you managed to take and how many places you visited and people you saw – and that you always found time to blog!

    Your trip looks so exciting and stimulating and fascinating and adventurous! I hope you get through the jetlag quick-quick and I look forward to seeing more of your images.

    September 29, 2015
    • Thank you Reggie. That is great to hear, glad you enjoyed it. I tried to, it wasn’t always easy, but it was nice to do it, I thought.
      I hope I do too, I have so much to do. Though other things are making it hard.

      September 29, 2015
  25. Getting home from a long trip alwasys feels “wrong” at first. At least you had a safe flight home πŸ™‚

    September 29, 2015
    • That’s true, it was long, but safe, it has been confusing to be home really, which is weird. Thanks.

      September 29, 2015
  26. I hope you enjoyed your time in our country!

    September 29, 2015
  27. Welcome home Leanne. I bet you had a ball! Aren’t airports fun .. take care

    September 29, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, I did, and OMG Melbourne is the worse, by a long way. LOL

      September 29, 2015
  28. Ah, home at last…the minor bumps will fade and as time goes on you will only have your fun memories. Glad you are home safe. Looking forward to the images you come up with to post.

    September 29, 2015
    • Oh yes, home at last, it is very nice to be back. I like the way you put it Robert. Thanks, yes so many to come really.

      September 29, 2015
  29. Welcome back, Leanne!

    September 29, 2015
  30. Welcome Home, Leanne! I’m so glad you had a wonderful time. I can’t believe that you didn’t get me a Batgirl Cape 😦 lol

    September 29, 2015
    • Thank you Kirsten, I was just thinking about you. I did have a good time, and sorry I didn’t see a batgirl cape, haha.

      September 29, 2015
  31. what a wonderful travel in time – beautiful sunset! Take care Leanne, rest up!!

    September 29, 2015
    • I wish I could say it was fantastic, but the sunset was great. Thanks Cybele, trying to get that, not always easy. LOL

      September 29, 2015
      • I’m sure you are happy to be back in your own bed too!!

        September 30, 2015
      • Oh yes, I’ve been sleeping very solidly, which is nice, getting lots of sleep.

        September 30, 2015
  32. Love it! I also had a similar opportunity once, flying in an everlasting sunset… Magical πŸ™‚

    October 10, 2015
    • It is magical, that’s for sure. Thanks.

      October 10, 2015

Comments are closed.

