Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Playing with Photoshop

sanfrancisco-salt-ponds-heat-usa-1-2

One of the things that I really missed while I was away was my 27 inch monitor and Photoshop. I am sure I’ve told you before how much I wanted to process some photos with Photoshop and there is one group of images that I was excited about, but wasn’t quite sure what I would do with them until I got them on my computer here.

sanfrancisco-salt-ponds-heat-usa-1-5

On the day I went out with my brother in law to go sailing we also went somewhere else before hand. He took me to some of the salt ponds near San Francisco. They were amazing, though I had seen some from the air when I was flying into the city. We don’t have anything like these here, well not that I am aware of. Β They are evaporation ponds, so they put salt water into them and wait for the water to evaporate and then collect the salt that is left behind.

It was hot there, there was no shade and we did a lot of walking, so when it came time to do something with the photos I wanted to see if I could show that in them.

sanfrancisco-salt-ponds-heat-usa-1-8

Summer can be such a horrible time to get out and take photos, but I’ve been thinking for quite a few years that there has to be a way of doing it. Just recently I watched the movie Erin Brockovich, and they did it quite well so I tried to imitate that in my photos. Blow out the highlights a bit, and almost desaturate the colours. I am trying to remember what the landscape looks like on really hot days.

I quite like where these are going and think I will experiment more, with other photos I took there and future ones. Summer is just around the corner here, so I will have no excuse not to get out and take photos. I especially want to do it with some photos of where my mum is. I think it would work really well up there.

So here are some of my first attempts at putting that heat and how I was feeling when I took these images. Β They were all taken with the Nikon D750, with the first three using the Tamron 28-300mm lens, the remainder were taken with the Nikon 24-70mm lens.

54 Comments
  1. j9tigger #

    I’ve been to these ponds, and I think you captured the feel of the place quite well.

    September 29, 2015
    • Aren’t they incredible, thank you, so glad you thought that.

      September 29, 2015
  2. When I first saw the second photo, I didn’t realise it was two objects being reflected. I thought it was two objects not in water that you took a poto of.

    Easily my favourite of this lot.

    With that being said, they are all excellent.

    September 29, 2015
    • I know what you mean, they look weird. I’m glad you like it, thank you.

      September 29, 2015
  3. it is always hard to be away from home, and wait to process images. I travel with a laptop, but it isn’t quite the same as having the 27″! great images.

    September 29, 2015
    • I travelled with a laptop, but it was very small and you really couldn’t see well, nice to be back to a big monitor. Thank you Janice.

      September 29, 2015
  4. I think you captured that feeling very well. They look great 😊

    September 29, 2015
    • Thank you Karen, that’s great to hear.

      September 29, 2015
  5. There is nothing like being home with your editing software and a big monitor I love mine too lol. I hate using my laptop because it does not have my big monitor. Love the pics great job I can feel the heat.

    September 29, 2015
    • Oh yes, Sonya, exactly, it has been great and I keep getting distracted and I should be writing some articles. I am the same with my laptop, it is too small. Thank you.

      September 29, 2015
  6. beautiful Leanne! Love what you’ve done with them!

    September 29, 2015
    • Thank you Jodi, nice to play with some photos.

      September 29, 2015
  7. I think you’ve definitely provided a sense of heat and muzziness.

    September 29, 2015
    • That’s great Laura, still some other things to try, but I like that idea. Thank you.

      September 29, 2015
  8. Interesting thoughts and great photos

    September 29, 2015
  9. Superb captures… what a delight to visit your blog…

    September 29, 2015
    • Thank you, that is wonderful to hear.

      September 29, 2015
  10. Great set of images Leanne – the bleached out colours work perfectly – making me thirsty just looking at them!

    September 29, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, glad you like them. I was hoping for that effect.

      September 29, 2015
      • Looks like you had a wonderful trip, hope you have time to draw breath before diving into work again, but I imagine not! πŸ™‚

        September 29, 2015
      • I did, it was great, I’m happy to be home again, but it was great seeing another place, very different, yet very similar. No not a lot of time, I have a heap of writing that I need to get done. Oh well, my holiday is over now. πŸ™‚

        September 30, 2015
  11. Love the starkness in some of these Leanne. Fabulous work!

    September 29, 2015
    • Thank you Desley, I liked that too, it was really like that.

      September 29, 2015
  12. I think you nailed the feeling with the last image in the gallery…just looking at it makes me thirsty.

    September 29, 2015
    • That’s great Robert, good to know that it had that effect, might have to try doing more. Thank you.

      September 29, 2015
  13. It worked! Cool pics – or should I say hot πŸ˜‰

    September 29, 2015
    • LOL, yes, that is fantastic, thank you. πŸ™‚

      September 29, 2015
  14. Great job capturing the feeling of the salt ponds.

    September 29, 2015
    • Thank you, that’s wonderful.

      September 29, 2015
  15. poppytump #

    The shimmering haze of sultry heat … I can feel my eyes squinting for details … I think you achieved your aim Leanne πŸ™‚
    What a fabulous trip you’ve had in the States , I bet that computer of yours is being challenged big time with all your processing !

    September 29, 2015
    • That’s fantastic Poppytump, good that people got that from them.
      I did, and I see you’ve been travelling too. Haha, it is coping okay, but I did have to remove quite a few things from it first, lol.
      Lovely to hear from you Poppytump.

      September 29, 2015
      • poppytump #

        Oh yes .. I hate that kind of computer housekeeping malarky , but if I don’t keep on top of it Photoshop comes to a grinding halt . Not calmest of scenarios πŸ™‚
        Yes … and now inbetween travels I’m enjoying catching up – thanks Leanne x
        Look forward to some of your pictures from the Mallee then in this style .

        September 29, 2015
      • It was a bit of a pain, but I really should keep up with more, that’s my program, I leave it too long. My computer does the same, so slow.
        That’s good that you are getting in lots of travelling, I suspect, this might be my last trip for a while, well, except for small trips around Australia.
        Oh yes, I must get up there, I was up there recently but didn’t feel like I had any time to take photos, so will have to get up there again.

        September 30, 2015
  16. Your processing of the light and haze depicts summer heat perfectly.

    September 29, 2015
    • Thank you Sherry, I was hoping for that.

      September 30, 2015
  17. Interesting landscape

    September 29, 2015
    • Very different, I liked it, wouldn’t have minded going there at a different time, oh well, too late now. Thanks

      September 30, 2015
  18. Hi Leanne. Forth picture down made me laugh. Please see this short clip. http://youtu.be/JMJXvsCLu6s

    September 30, 2015
    • That was a great clip, had to show it to my husband, very funny, goes with the image well. Thanks.

      September 30, 2015
  19. I’ve been to those salt ponds; my brother lives nearby and I’ve run the overlooking hills with him.

    September 30, 2015
    • They are so amazing, I can’t believe you can just walk around them, I found some here, but don’t think you can walk around them. I hope you’ve taken photos too Jay.

      October 1, 2015
  20. Great processing of these images, Leanne! Love the highlights and the mild desaturation.

    September 30, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, all experimental, but I quite liked the results.

      October 1, 2015
  21. Hi Nicole, beautiful images. I would like to imitate this summer effect you used on some images, plus it will be nice to learn a new trick.

    September 30, 2015
    • It is a process I’m still working on, not sure what I am doing, but I hope to perfect it over the next few months, especially as we are coming into summer. Thanks.

      October 1, 2015
  22. Amazing landscapes πŸ™‚

    September 30, 2015
    • Amazing place for them, quite different, thanks.

      October 1, 2015
  23. Beautiful Leanne πŸ™‚

    October 4, 2015
  24. You definitely captured that almost shimmering heat of summer! I like the way these look, Leanne. You captured the atmosphere along with the landscape πŸ™‚

    October 6, 2015
    • Thank you Kirsten, it is something new for me, I would like to try more like this though. πŸ™‚

      October 6, 2015

Comments are closed.

