Skip to content

Monochrome Madness Returning

half-dome-yosemite-monochrome-antique

Just a short post today to remind those that want to do it that Monochrome Madness will return next week. It is a themed week and the theme is to be Country.

Not many entries have been coming in, so I don’t know if people have forgotten about it, or don’t want to do it anymore, but to get into the spirit of it I thought I would put an image for you.

half-dome-yosemite-monochrome-antique

An image from Yosemite. It seemed a perfect idea to do one of these in monochrome. I’m sure Ansel Adams would have done a much better job, but I wanted to see what I could get from my first view of these famous mountains.

Below are the details if you want to send in an image.

Don’t forget all the instructions on how to enter your own images are at the bottom of the post.  If you have entered an image then please remember to check your image in the gallery, scroll down and see if anyone has left you any comments.

Monochrome Madness each week and if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be low res, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it’s before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it’s after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.
  • Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it. Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.

44 Comments
  1. Great image!

    September 30, 2015
  2. Thanks Leanne. I had forgotten the theme so appreciate the reminder. Can’t wait to start MM again. As soon as i saw your image I thought Ansel Adams and then read your post. He would have been proud! Welcome back! 😊

    September 30, 2015
    • Yes, I had almost forgotten it too, haha. I have to find something now. That’s great to hear, seems some have missed it I got a heap of emails this morning, hahaha. Thank you, what a lovely comment, but I’m sure he would have done it better, still I have some others I might try playing with. Thanks it is good to be back.

      September 30, 2015
  3. Thank you for starting up Monochrome Madness again,Leanne! I am eager to participate.

    September 30, 2015
    • That’s great to hear Peter, and I have your email, so you are all set.

      September 30, 2015
  4. I definitely want to do it – I have my photo at the ready! I was waiting til the weekend to send in my photo – is that ok/too late?

    September 30, 2015
    • No that’s fine, no worried, as long as I get it before Monday is good.

      September 30, 2015
  5. Welcome home. I always look forward to seeing some MM even if I never contribute.

    September 30, 2015
    • Thank you, that is good, it is nice to know that people still like seeing it.

      September 30, 2015
  6. Thanks for the reminder! I’ve been intending to participate and simply lost track! 🙂

    September 30, 2015
    • You’re welcome. That’s great to hear. Thanks. 🙂

      October 1, 2015
  7. That looks beautiful, Leanne.

    September 30, 2015
  8. Welcome back, Leanne, and hurrah for the return of MM as well! 🙂

    September 30, 2015
    • Thank you Anita, it is nice to be back, and yes, good to have MM return as well. 🙂

      October 1, 2015
  9. Great for having you back, Leanne. I really missed Monochrome Madness.
    Although, I really enjoyed your stories and photos from the US. A huge thank you for that.

    September 30, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear, and seems lots of people are happy it is back.
      Thank you, well the trip is over now, though I think there are still more photos and stories to be told yet.

      October 1, 2015
      • I think so and I’m looking forward to hear them 🙂

        October 1, 2015
      • That’s great, it has been good to see that people didn’t get bored with them. 🙂

        October 2, 2015
      • 🙂

        October 2, 2015
  10. I like looking too!! 🙂

    September 30, 2015
  11. So nice

    September 30, 2015
  12. Gorgeous shot.

    September 30, 2015
  13. Love the mountain shot, i will send a contribution to MM this evening 🙂

    September 30, 2015
    • Sounds good, I look forward to getting it, thank you Anders. 🙂

      October 1, 2015
  14. Thank you Leanne for this reminder. Beautiful Shot.

    September 30, 2015
    • You’re welcome and thank you.

      October 1, 2015
  15. Beautiful shot! I am so happy for the return of MM – hope to have something “country”! I missed MM! Welcome back!

    October 1, 2015
    • Thanks Debby, seems it has been missed, which is really nice. I hope you have something.

      October 1, 2015
  16. poppytump #

    I bet you felt all kind of emotions seeing this scene right there infront of you Leanne ! A lovely feeling to it 🙂

    October 2, 2015
    • I did, it was quite incredible, walking where legends had walked and photographed. Thank you. 🙂

      October 2, 2015
  17. I beg to differ…I think Ansel Adams would be quite impressed! It is a beautiful shot of the mountains, Leanne!

    October 6, 2015
    • You can only hope, who knows, thank you Kirsten.

      October 6, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Monochrome Madness Returning | cavalierzee
  2. Writing life, getting organized | Nicci Carrera, contemporary romance
  3. Country | Wild Daffodil
  4. MM 2-27. A Little Bit of Country. | Michelle Lunato Photography
  5. Overcoming work overwhelm | Nicci Carrera

Comments are closed.

