Skip to content

My Melbourne – Things Returning to Normal

melbourne-docklands-night-yarra-water--6

Yesterday I had my first One on One Photography Session since returning and I guess it means the holiday really is over. In some ways it was nice that everything is getting back to normal, but then again I feel like I’m in a strange place as well, in my head that is. I don’t know how to explain it, but I think having my client being someone from the US was really good. We talked about my experiences there and she talked about her experiences here. It is always different to see your country through the eyes of a visitor, the good, and the bad.

melbourne-docklands-night-yarra-water-9944

We met under the clocks at Flinders Street Station, a very iconic meeting place, and then caught a train to Southern Cross Station to take photos around Docklands. I think that is a place that visitors hear bad things about and might not go to, so I thought it would be a great place to start.

melbourne-docklands-night-yarra-water-9983

We walked around there and eventually ended up at the Yarra River where we decided to stop for an early dinner. The point of this One on One was do some night photography, so we ate early and got ready for the sunset.

melbourne-docklands-night-yarra-water--5

It wasn’t a spectacular one, but it was nice to see what we could get something where we were.

melbourne-docklands-night-yarra-water--4

As more and more lights came on we started our journey back towards Flinders Street Station, stopping along the way to see what images we could get. The Yarra River is a great subject for reflections for night photography.

melbourne-docklands-night-yarra-water--2

We tried to get as many reflections as well, however the water wasn’t as smooth as it could have been. Still, I know I can go back and do this again, anytime I want to.

melbourne-docklands-night-yarra-water--7

We finished off near Flinders Street Station. I had a great time, and I hope she did as well. She seemed very happy with the night shots that she took. I am looking forward to seeing the shots she gets when she gets back to the States, though I think her husband might be upset with me when he realizes she might want a new tripod.

Quite a few of these are HDR’s that I’ve processed in Lightroom, actually nearly all the sunset, and all the night ones are. I think I like HDR’s for night photography, and I do think they come out better. I’ve been experimenting with the HDR photo merge in Lightroom, but should compare it with Photomatix at some stage, but at this point I think it does a pretty good job. I do have to go and change some of the settings, but it is good that you can do that.

I have more photos from the afternoon. It was nice photographing something familiar again. Some things have changed since I was in this area last, but much is the same. I do love Melbourne, so it was nice to be back in it, it seemed like it had been a long time since I was there last.

61 Comments
  1. The night shots are really nice. I’m looking at them on my iPhone 6 they even look great there.

    October 1, 2015
    • Thank you Tim, I’m quite surprised at how well Lightroom does them.

      October 1, 2015
      • I’ve been using it since it came out in LR CC. It doesn’t have all the controls that are available in Photoshop. At least I’m not aware of how to get to them if it does.

        October 1, 2015
      • I haven’t used it in PS, but I do change quite a few of the settings as I feel it does overexpose them and doesn’t put in enough black, among other things.

        October 2, 2015
      • I’ll have to look more closely at the options in Lr CC for HDR. I know there seems to be more in PS CC.

        October 2, 2015
      • Like I said Tim, I haven’t looked at PS, but maybe I should. I started there a few years ago, but I’ve heard it has got a lot better.

        October 2, 2015
  2. vacations are so much fun but there is no place like home and being in your own bed! my dream is to one day visit your country! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    October 1, 2015
    • that is so true, oh yes you always sleep best in your own bed. I hope your dream comes true Lisa. Thanks.

      October 1, 2015
  3. The good feeling of being at home … priceless! Bravo, Leanne! πŸ™‚

    October 1, 2015
    • It certainly is Fabio, thank you.

      October 1, 2015
  4. Welcome back. You’ve timed it well for the weather at least!

    October 1, 2015
    • Yes, it seems to be warming up, not sure about it yet, thanks Saxon.

      October 1, 2015
      • Was that your first trip to the US? I’ve done some of each coast but nothing in the middle. Might need to scribe down a US Roadtrip on the ‘Must Do’ list I think. Did you have a fav spot from your trip?

        October 1, 2015
      • Yes, it was my first trip there. I only got to do around San Francisco and New York. It would have been nice to explore more, maybe another time. I think my absolute favourite was Yosemite and I would have loved to have spent more time there.

        October 2, 2015
      • Love San Fran & NYC. Nice combo πŸ™‚

        October 2, 2015
      • Yes, I think it worked out well as well. πŸ™‚

        October 2, 2015
  5. Great pictures! I love Melbourne. She’s such a beautiful city.

    October 1, 2015
    • I think so too, I love photographing it, thank you.

      October 1, 2015
  6. Wonderful photos. I envy your clients … πŸ™‚

    October 1, 2015
    • Thank you, it is nice to get out and meet people. πŸ™‚

      October 2, 2015
  7. Amy #

    The night light images are incredibly beautiful! Great captures, Leanne! πŸ™‚

    October 1, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, I love night photography, so amazing what you can get. πŸ™‚

      October 2, 2015
  8. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    My Melbourne – Things Returning to Normal
    written by Leanne Cole

    October 1, 2015
  9. Weclome back to Oz. The reflections on the Yarra, awesome.

    October 1, 2015
    • Thank you, it’s nice to be back and thank you, I love those reflections.

      October 2, 2015
  10. The Nights of Leanne Cole…the name of the book you should publish featuring your spectacular photography of great cities at night.

    October 1, 2015
    • Interesting idea Joseph, hadn’t really thought about a book of night shots. Thank you.

      October 2, 2015
  11. superb photos Leanne! love the night shots with the deep darks and gorgeous colours glittering in the water! also the 2nd shot with the walkway tunnel, metal framework…. I really liked that!

    October 1, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, I think I like the same things, and possibly why I love photographing at night.

      October 2, 2015
  12. Your urban photography is always stellar. I love the shapes and colours in the nighttime reflection images. Those are superb.

    October 1, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, lovely of you to say. Night time really offers some different views, it can be quite amazing.

      October 2, 2015
  13. beautiful photos and a great way to be welcomed back home sweet home.

    October 1, 2015
    • It was Jodi, lovely to be photographing the familiar again. Thank you.

      October 2, 2015
  14. Great pics! Thank you for sharing!

    October 1, 2015
    • You’re welcome Serena, and thank you.

      October 2, 2015
  15. Beautiful images, Leanne.

    October 1, 2015
  16. Interesting observations on your travels…PhotoMatix is my go-to for HDR – it works for me and the way I shoot…I do tend to stay with one or two of the customized tone maps, but I like the results and the versatility of the program.

    October 2, 2015
    • Yes, I usually use it too, but while I was away I didn’t have it on my laptop, so thought I would try Lightroom, I was really surprised and didn’t mind the results. I should try comparing them, and when I get some time I might do that. I found Lightroom good in that I could go into it and make it how I wanted, that was nice. Thanks Robert.

      October 2, 2015
  17. Beautiful work Leanne..sitting in Atlanta feeling a little homesick!

    October 2, 2015
    • Thanks Greg, I think I know what you mean about being homesick.

      October 2, 2015
  18. Glad you had such a wonderful time on your travels, and the photos you’ve taken are lovely. You will have such memories always.

    October 2, 2015
    • I did Chris, it was great, but it is nice to be home. Thank you.

      October 2, 2015
  19. Wow, gorgeous work. Amazing how different Melbourne is from New York. Gritty versus pretty.

    October 2, 2015
    • They are different, in many ways, it was nice photographing New York, but nicer to be back in my home town. Thanks

      October 2, 2015
  20. Love the colors in the night shots. Your town is lovely. Love to see it in person someday.

    October 2, 2015
    • Thanks Sherry, I think so too, I do love Melbourne. I hope you do, I could show you around.

      October 2, 2015
  21. What a great series. You have showcased the interesting architecture wonderfully. Love them.

    October 3, 2015
    • Thank you Maxine, it was nice to be back taking photos here.

      October 3, 2015
  22. Stunning pics – especially those of the Docklands – my hometown for the past 3 years. I just love how you have captured the beauty and energy of it.

    October 4, 2015
    • Thank you, it is a great city, I love Melbourne so much, I’ve been here for almost 30 years.

      October 4, 2015
  23. Melbourne is gorgeous! The daytime shots are wonderful, but I’m rather partial to the nighttime reflection shots! I love all the colors and how they reflect on the water’s surface. It sounds like a fun time for both of you.

    October 6, 2015
    • Yes, the reflections are quite amazing, I love night photography like that. It was a nice evening, I really enjoyed it. Thanks Kirsten.

      October 6, 2015
  24. WOW – on the lights & reflections!

    October 6, 2015
  25. I’ve had my copy of Lightroom for 2 years now. Due to an outdated computer which could not cope with having both Lightroom and Photoshop on it at the same time, and taking time out for travelling I have only just got round to using it. It’s great! So annoyed I didn’t realise what a useful tool it was sooner. I didn’t realise I could do HDR in Lightroom too (I’m a click and play rather than read the instructions person). I will have to check it out πŸ™‚

    October 10, 2015
    • I don’t know if yours will be able to do Lightroom, I think it has only been available in the latest version. I could be wrong. I’m a bit like that too. I love Lr as well, such a great program. Thanks.

      October 10, 2015

Comments are closed.

