Skip to content

Flatiron in Situ

flatiron-new-york-architecture-usa-1-5

It has been crazy since I got back, and I am trying to get the magazine ready to be published at the end of this month, or early next.  On top of that, family dramas, not much sleep and working, it is all getting on top of me. I also have quite a few articles I have to write for dPS, and one of them I need to get done straight away.

As I was thinking about that article and what to do I remembered the morning I had gone to the Flatiron building. When I was there I tried to take photos at different angles and to give it a sense of place, or to show it in situ. I used different lenses to help get that. I also wanted to remember the detail so I took some close ups of it. I might never get to go back and I want to remember how it was.

I used the 35mm lens from Nikon, then I put the camera on the Joby Gorillapod with the Tamron 15-30mm lens, and finally used the Tamron 28-300mm for the detail. The 15-30mm gives some weird angles, but I remember a lecturer at uni saying something about the nature of the thing you were working with. The odd leaning is definitely an element of that very wide lens and I’ve decided I should just go with it.

I am going to leave you with a gallery now, I hope it helps you to understand how the flatiron is and what it looks like in its surroundings.

79 Comments
  1. I like the added oddness created here, from something familiar, to something a little different! What a wonderful building, your photographs of NYC have me itching to visit…

    October 2, 2015
    • It is a little odd, through the lens and really the general shape of the building, I quite like that. It is a wonderful building, early morning is good to see it. I hope you do visit, it is quite a city, thank you.

      October 2, 2015
  2. Great post Leanne! Of course the images are fabulous, but I also appreciate your review of the lenses. Thank you!

    October 2, 2015
    • Thank you Robyn, glad you liked the reviews, great building, I envy you being able to go and photograph whenever you want.

      October 2, 2015
  3. Joe #

    Very interesting angles on some of your shots Leanne 🙂 The Flatiron building is a NY icon and when I visit Manhattan that’s where I eventually end up (one of my favorite places to eat is right across from Madison Square Park in the Flatiron area is called Eataly).

    October 2, 2015
    • I’ve heard of that place, someone else was telling me about that place to eat. Thanks Joe, I think the building itself has very interesting angles as well, so it was good to get them in the photos.

      October 2, 2015
  4. Fabulous photos, Leanne. The flatiron is one of my favourite NYC buildings and you’ve really captured what makes it most unique.

    I’m sorry you are overwhelmed with professional and personal matters. I hope you are able to tackle each thing one by one and get through it.

    October 2, 2015
    • I think it is one of my favourites too Laura. Thank you.
      It is a crazy time, hopefully I will find some time to get everything done. I think I keep trying to escape.

      October 2, 2015
  5. Superb angles and views Leanne. You really did capture so many vantage points. My favorite is either the straight on, center shot and the one looking up where it towers skyward like it will never end. So impressive. I am sure you were having a great time with this building. Your touch is in each of these images. Lovely!

    October 2, 2015
    • Thank you Carrie, I tried to see what I could get, I might never see it again. I like your favourites. I was, it was fun everywhere, but I did try to take in as much as I could here, I think if I lived in New York I would try to photograph it as much as possible.

      October 2, 2015
  6. Brilliant shots, Leanne! Such a treat to view them! Thanks ~

    October 2, 2015
  7. I don’t know what amazes me more, the architecture or your photography.

    October 2, 2015
    • I’m sure it is the photography Joseph, it is a great building. Thanks.

      October 2, 2015
  8. Great shots! I work right in that area. 😄

    October 2, 2015
    • I am so jealous, how wonderful to be able to see it all the time. Thank you.

      October 2, 2015
  9. The flatiron is an interesting building and you did a great job showcasing it from all those angles in its environment. The details are beautifully captured as well.

    October 2, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, I really wanted to capture some of those details, they are all over the building.

      October 2, 2015
  10. great shots Leanne! hope things settle down for you! cherish the moments! 🙂

    October 2, 2015
    • Thank you Jodi, I do too, I need to buckle under and get some work done. 🙂

      October 2, 2015
      • so hard after a trip – especially like what you got to experience and flipping your time zones and all!! You’ll get there – I have no doubt! 🙂

        October 2, 2015
      • Thank you Jodi, I’m sure I will too, I’m looking forward to feeling normal again. 🙂

        October 3, 2015
  11. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Flatiron in Situ
    written by Leanne Cole

    October 2, 2015
  12. Deb #

    Wow what an interesting building, great shots. I believe you accomplished your goal at wanting to convey the architecture of the building. Thanks for sharing!

    October 2, 2015
    • Thank you Deb, oh that is great to hear that you think I achieved that.

      October 2, 2015
  13. A very nice series.

    October 2, 2015
  14. dalleninabq #

    I love the Flatiron Building! Thank you for sharing your vision : )

    October 2, 2015
    • I do too, and you’re welcome, thanks. 🙂

      October 2, 2015
  15. OMG, your feature photo is stunning. I love it, love the light and the clarity. Gorgeous, Leanne, and great technical review. I’m sorry to hear about the family drama and being behind on all that writing. Wish you could just relax. Hang in there.

    October 2, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, I played around some more in Photoshop with these, so nice to be able to use it again. Oh yes the family dramas, well hopefully they will clear up at some point. I am hoping to go to the beach for the weekend, so that will be nice. Thanks

      October 2, 2015
  16. Beautiful wide angles and detail shots of this NY icon, Leanne. Happy you had a fruitful trip!

    October 2, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, it was great to see them altogether like this.

      October 2, 2015
  17. Very ornate! 🙂

    October 2, 2015
  18. Lovely photos with good light. Nearby, on 23 Street, is Eataly, a great place to look at and grab a bite.

    October 2, 2015
    • Thank you Sherry, oh yes, someone else mentioned that, maybe the next time I’m in New York.

      October 2, 2015
  19. Congratulations on your shots of the Flatiron – one of my favourite buildings actually. Like your varied approaches – all worth while. Des.

    October 2, 2015
    • Thank you Des, I think it will always be one of my favourites as well.

      October 2, 2015
  20. looks like you’ve had the best fun with converging verticals! Lovely collection. 🙂

    October 2, 2015
    • I did, it was nice to see all the angles and where it was. thank you Linda. 🙂

      October 2, 2015
  21. poppytump #

    I guess this has got to be a favourite building with many visitors Leanne .. it’s just SO ..
    Super shots and fantastic details form way up there at the top with that lens !

    October 2, 2015
    • I think so Poppytump, it is a very special building. Exactly, it’s just SO
      Thanks.

      October 2, 2015
  22. Great shots Leanne of a true NYC landmark! I like how you shot it with different lenses as well as angles – views.

    October 3, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, not something I do often, but think it is something I might have to try more.

      October 3, 2015
  23. One of my favourite buildings in New York 😊

    October 3, 2015
    • One of mine as well Mark, I think I love it. Thanks

      October 3, 2015
  24. Special shout out to you and your work today on my blog at josephebird.com

    October 3, 2015
    • Thank you Joseph, I saw it, sorry was going to comment as well, but time is getting away from me.

      October 3, 2015
  25. I’ve seen lots of photos of this building since I’ve been blogging but never get over how bizarre it is!

    October 3, 2015
    • It is quite weird, but so cool to take photos of, thanks Gypsy.

      October 3, 2015
  26. Superb photos and hope you have settle down and back to routine again.

    October 3, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, I’m sure it will soon. 🙂

      October 3, 2015
  27. fantastic angles and facade!! Like it’s been folded up and ready to be mailed lol!!

    October 3, 2015
    • I like your description, thanks Cybele.

      October 3, 2015
  28. Wow Leanne .. I just love the angles and perspectives. What a great building!

    October 4, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, I loved photographing this beautiful, it was incredible.

      October 4, 2015
  29. this is my favorite building in the world… i used to work right across the street from it… beautiful shots

    October 4, 2015
    • How lucky for you, did you take lots of photos? You would have seen it in so many different lights, that would have been amazing.

      October 5, 2015
      • yes…. all in the days of film.
        the light of the seasons really was a treat the way it played with the shadows

        October 7, 2015
      • Have you scanned the negatives, it would be so amazing.
        I bet, it is something I should do more of, photographing things and seeing them through the different seasons.

        October 7, 2015
      • that’s a very large project indeed

        October 14, 2015
      • I’m sure you are up to it, it is nice to scan some of your negative, I scanned a heap a couple of years ago.

        October 14, 2015
  30. Wonderful images and perspectives of this great subject!
    It’s one thing to have the great subject that is the Flatiron Building, but it’s quite another to know what to do with it.

    October 5, 2015
    • Thank you, oh, I just tried to do lots of things with it, see what I could get.

      October 5, 2015
  31. What fabulous shots, Leanne! The second one is by far my favorite – love the angle of the shot. The perspectives are just great!

    October 6, 2015
    • I think that one has been popular, it is quite a building to photograph. Thanks again.

      October 6, 2015
  32. Wonder if I walked by while you were taking this. have a hard time waiting for everyone else to clear out when taking this? This building has been a fave subject for me as of late. Also great shots!

    October 7, 2015
    • We were there so early, so there weren’t too many people about, which was nice. I can imagine why it would be a favourite, one of mine too now, I think. I wonder if I will ever see it again. Thank you.

      October 7, 2015
      • Ah yeah that would be the best time. You actually gave me some new ideas in capturing it. Look for it soon on my blog.

        October 7, 2015
      • That’s great to hear.

        October 7, 2015
  33. omtrips #

    Love the details ❤️

    October 11, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Flatiron in Situ | GREG NEWINGTON
  2. Flatiron in Situ | Zara's Blogs

Comments are closed.

