Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Kinglake and Back

kinglake-banyule-flats-spring-sunset-7510

On Friday I had another One on One Photography Session and this time we decided to do some landscape photography. First we headed out to Kinglake to see what we could see.

It has been nice to see the countryside here again, especially as spring is happening all around. The weather has been warm, and that also means the snakes are going to be waking up, so care has to be taken as well.

kinglake-banyule-flats-spring-sunset-7474

We were looking at lighting and how it can make your images more interesting. It was getting late in the day and we were able to get some great shots of back lit trees. Also trees that are blossoming with the season.

kinglake-banyule-flats-spring-sunset-7538

With spring are also flowers and they were everywhere. Lots of wild ones, well they were growing out in the wild, so I assume they are. They are small, most of the ones we saw, and very beautiful.

kinglake-banyule-flats-spring-sunset-7559

We were also looking at how the light was hitting certain things. Breaks through the trees and then the light hits some things singling them out. I love light like that and look for it when I can.

kinglake-banyule-flats-spring-sunset-7615

My client also wanted to see Banyule Flats and to do the sunset there. Unfortunately, we didn’t get much of a sunset, but before it set we looked around some of the other places and got the late afternoon sun shining on the trees over the other side. It was so peaceful there and nice to see it in the late afternoon, I don’t tend to go there at that time very often.

I’m out today, escaping to the coast to get some photos. The weather here is getting warm and summer is definitely on the way, unfortunately. I miss winter already, hopefully there will still be some cooler weather. Still I’m looking forward to spending the day with my friend and seeing what we can find to photograph around the coast.

Here are some more photos from Friday. All the photos in this post were processed in Lightroom CC. I hope you are having a good weekend, and you will be going out to take photos as well.

65 Comments
  1. I love to go out onto the trails here at New Jersey, USA. Especially at Spring and Autumn!

    October 4, 2015
    • It is a great thing to do, I love it as well, though we have to be careful about snakes, yuck. Thank you.

      October 4, 2015
      • Yes, they crawl under the leaves. Spotted a small one yesterday!
        And Bears, two weeks ago a mother bear and 2 cubs trying to cross a major road. I was walking my bicycle with groceries. Thank goodness a car turned around and scared them away!

        October 5, 2015
      • I like to think the bears would be cute, but I guess when you face them like that, not so much.
        Most of our snakes very venomous, and they can kill you, so we don’t want to see any.

        October 5, 2015
      • Wow! so dangerous!

        October 5, 2015
      • We have some of the most poisonous snakes in the world, unfortunately, it makes summer photography a bit hard.

        October 5, 2015
      • I would say so, telescopic lenses required

        October 6, 2015
      • Oh yes, or go where you won’t see any, like the coast. πŸ˜‰

        October 6, 2015
  2. So many beautiful sights.

    October 4, 2015
  3. Such beautiful photos Leanne. Spring definitely is a lovely season with all the flowers out in full force.

    October 4, 2015
    • Thank you Colline, it is very lovely and so colourful. My garden is full of them, I must get out there this week to get some photos.

      October 4, 2015
  4. How wonderful with spring …. that fern image … so delicate Stunningly beautiful surroundings. You are a magician with your camera.

    October 4, 2015
    • Thank you Viveka, I don’t know about that, but sometimes things just stand out in front of you.

      October 4, 2015
      • Leanne, I know .. exactly what you mean … we say up here … that we can see the forest for all the trees.
        Beautiful images … sorry, to be like an old record again.

        October 5, 2015
      • No problem at all, I completely understand.

        October 5, 2015
  5. Very beautiful photos Leanne πŸ™‚

    October 4, 2015
  6. The fern images is extra good in this series…yeah, not break for you from the heat…yet to get our first frost here, but the heat went on for the first time today…

    October 4, 2015
    • Thank you Robert, it was lovely how it was highlighted like that. You are turning your heat on and we are turning our air conditioning on. the seasons are changing.

      October 4, 2015
  7. so beautiful! I wish summer was coming up here….. We’ve got a long wait as it has just ended…. πŸ™‚

    October 4, 2015
    • I wish it was too, I don’t like summer, I much prefer winter here, better photography weather. Thanks Jodi. πŸ™‚

      October 4, 2015
  8. Lovely light.

    October 4, 2015
  9. Superb!!! Proof that you were missing your neck of the woods… Best to you and your family! πŸ™‚

    October 4, 2015
    • I have been rather, it’s been nice to explore it again. Thanks Fabio. πŸ™‚

      October 4, 2015
  10. Lovely to see the contrasts of Spring greening the countryside to the autumnal hues I’ve been photographing πŸ™‚ I love the pale greens of budding leaves! A walker stopped today to say “these stepping stones must be the most photographed thing in Surrey!”. I think she was annoyed that I asked her if she would mind waiting for a moment while my long exposure finished. I just said that I didn’t think it was! The thing is that scenes and settings change not just by the season but daily. Revisiting places always brings me a new aspect to the environment which is what I love most about landscape photography πŸ™‚

    October 4, 2015
    • They would be interesting contrasts. I agree, the seasons, and so many other things do change a scene. I feel the same way Sarah, it is always interesting to see what you will find. Thanks Sarah πŸ™‚

      October 4, 2015
  11. Nice to see spring through your eyes now that we have fall and winter coming

    October 4, 2015
    • Thank you Nora, I will have to see if I can get more photos.

      October 4, 2015
  12. Wonderful images Leanne πŸ˜„

    October 4, 2015
  13. lovely photos – love the muddy dam with its reflections and the orchard shot as well; the light in all these is so very moody, love them!

    October 4, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, we haven’t quite lost the nice light during the day, but soon it will be gone and replaced with very harsh light.

      October 4, 2015
      • you’re welcome Leanne πŸ™‚ and I hear you! summer light in Perth, unless its right at the crack of dawn, is not so nice. I didn’t think Melbourne area would be as bad though!

        October 4, 2015
      • Oh the light here is horrible in summer, very bright and zaps the colour from everything. πŸ™‚

        October 5, 2015
      • sounds like Perth, plus I bet its too hot there to really go out in the daytime to get the shots anyway. (But, YOU do brilliant night time photos!) πŸ™‚

        October 5, 2015
      • Yes, it is exactly like that, it can suffocating sometimes, the heat. Thank you. πŸ˜€

        October 5, 2015
      • a big … yuk. Enjoy spring while we can!!

        October 6, 2015
      • Absolutely, we have been getting above average temperatures, thankfully it is cooler today, have you been getting the same over there? It is going to be a long hot summer. VEry big YUK.

        October 7, 2015
      • it had been ok, pleasant. now.. heating up. 😦

        October 7, 2015
      • You are lucky, it is nice here now. πŸ™‚

        October 7, 2015
      • good for you, at least you can get out and about when its reasonable temps.

        October 8, 2015
      • Oh yes, it is good that we get the cool days as well. I would hate it if it was hot all the time.

        October 8, 2015
      • over here, once December comes – there is no relief. its relentlessly too hot. until autumn πŸ™‚

        October 9, 2015
      • It can be like that here, but we usually get some relief, though, we are heading into an el nino and it doesn’t look good. Looks like a very long hot summer ahead. I think we are about to get break records for hottest October on record. 😦

        October 9, 2015
      • hopefully, you have central air con, a pool, or plenty of ice! πŸ™‚ the central air con worked a treat for when we lived in Texas. I miss it.

        October 10, 2015
      • We do, but we also have one of those split systems, our Central air con can be very disappointing at times.

        October 10, 2015
      • I read in the US they sell, vests filled with ice packs. I really did give it a thought πŸ™‚

        October 10, 2015
      • You can get them here too, I used to see people with them at cycling events when it was really hot. You can also get things that go around your neck, but you freeze them first.
        http://www.icevests.com.au/

        October 10, 2015
      • excellent, may have to invest in one.

        October 10, 2015
      • I’ve heard they are very good.

        October 10, 2015
  14. Beautiful photoset Leanne – your work is always inspiring…

    October 4, 2015
    • Thank you James, I don’t know about that, but I do try.

      October 5, 2015
  15. Beautiful place and gorgeous photos, Leanne and have a wonderful Sunday.

    October 4, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, I’m a little behind, it’s Monday now.

      October 5, 2015
  16. Love the lighting! All the snakes awaking almost made me jump! lol My mom doesn’t do snakes, so it’s a good thing they will be hibernating when we come πŸ™‚

    October 6, 2015
    • Oh yes, they make me jump too, I hate them. thanks Kirsten.

      October 6, 2015
  17. Beautiful shots, Leanne. I especially love the one in the gallery just before the ferns.

    October 6, 2015
    • Thank you Elen, new growth on trees, I love how they are red.

      October 6, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings: Kinglake andΒ Back | City To Country Magazine

Comments are closed.

