Skip to content

Getting Back into Things

My recent trip was the first time I’d ever done anything like that and one of the side effects that has taken me by surprise has been the trouble I’ve had getting back into normal life. It isn’t because I want to be away again, but I think I enjoyed doing nothing but planning photography trips for just over three weeks.

royal-botanical-gardens-macro-lens-119I’ve been trying to get back into it, and it is happening slowly, but please forgive me if I am a bit behind.

Monochrome Madness

I’ve been getting lots of emails, but I have struggled to reply to any, so I’m sorry, if I find time I will try and answer them all.

If you haven’t sent in your image there is very little time left, and remember the theme is country.

Digital Photography School

I have had another article published on Digital Photography School. This one is about Using royal-botanical-gardens-macro-lens-109Photography for Social Change and here is the linkΒ Using Your Photography to Create Social Change. It would be great if you could share it. Thanks.

Dynamic Range

I’ve been busy working on the next issue for the magazine. We have some of the same writers and some new ones. It seems writing for the magazine isn’t as easy as people thought and it has been interesting working with people.

I can’t say I find it easy, but I am enjoying it. I do really enjoy writing about photography, thoughroyal-botanical-gardens-macro-lens-118 I have to remember to keep reading photography magazines to get better at it. I remember being told that when I was at Uni, that if you want to write in a particular style then you should readΒ material in it.

Photos

One of the things I enjoy about doing these posts is looking back on the photos I took a year or two again. Today I found some that I took of the Royal Botanical almost a year ago. I love the botanical Β gardens and with a macro lens it is even better.

I hope you are having a good day, and I have a gallery for you now of some macro images from the botanical gardens.

52 Comments
  1. Love the macros, and good luck with starting your work again with dynamic range πŸ™‚ I am looking into your article about social change

    October 6, 2015
    • Thank you Anders, it is happening slowly, we are at the editing stage. I hope you enjoy the article. πŸ™‚

      October 6, 2015
      • Really nice actually, i like ur perspective that photos can make a change to protect local environment πŸ™‚ good luck on ur quest to save your marshes from harm i will try to spread the word πŸ™‚

        October 6, 2015
      • I like to think it is possible, so hopefully it can be. Thank you.

        October 6, 2015
  2. It appears that you are moving a head with returning to normal.
    What a pleasant surprise to see the landscape nestled in the middle of the beautiful flowers.
    Best in using your forthcoming book to help preserve Banyule Flats.

    October 6, 2015
    • Yes, getting there slowly, but it has been hard.
      Oh yes, I like that you can see the city from the gardens.
      Thank you Tim, I hope it helps.

      October 6, 2015
  3. Very beautiful post Leanne and great with challenges πŸ˜€

    October 6, 2015
  4. Gorgeous gorgeous images Leanne. You are back to busy again πŸ˜ƒ

    October 6, 2015
    • I think I am trying to hold things at bay, but yes, I am getting busy again. Thanks Julie.

      October 6, 2015
  5. Post holiday daze, it takes a while to get back to normal!

    October 6, 2015
    • Yes, that is it exactly, thanks Gypsy, hopefully I will get past it soon.

      October 6, 2015
  6. Great article on DPS. Hopefully, your passion for this beautiful and interesting place will save it. I really like that you are including the community. Great shots. Very best of luck.

    October 6, 2015
    • Thank you Maxine, I hope so, I like to think it will help. I think it is good to do that as well.

      October 6, 2015
  7. I very much enjoyed your article for the Digital Photography School, Leanne, and I hope that your book about the flats will have the desired impact, so that the freeway is not built through this amazing area of natural beauty.

    Your macro images in this post are just gorgeous… wow…

    October 6, 2015
    • Thank you Reggie, that is great to hear. I hope so too, it would be nice if it had some impact.

      October 6, 2015
  8. Good to hear you are safely back, Leanne. From your blog posts about your trip, it sounded like each and every day in the States you were going out, packing in as much as you can. Sounds like you are still used to the routine and slower pace here back home πŸ™‚ I’m guessing you have tons of photos you took of your trip you haven’t even sorted that, and that will be fun πŸ˜€ Love these photos you took at the Botanical Gardens. They certainly have a cheery vibe around them.

    October 6, 2015
    • I am Mabel, back and trying to get back into things. I went out most days, I did have some that I stayed in, which was fine too. I do have lots of photos and have been working through them slowly. Thank you, spring is good for that. πŸ™‚

      October 6, 2015
  9. I can relate to the difficulty in getting back to ‘normal’ after a major event in your life. You need time to adjust, reflect on what you’ve experienced and reficus in the here and niw- no rush! I have just looked at your seties of posts on hour US trip which I missed while I was away. Your images are breathtaking. And I have read your DPS article on photography for an important cause… Very well written and great images to illustrate your own special project that matters. You are very talented my friend!

    October 6, 2015
    • Oops – lots of typos but you get my meaning!😊

      October 6, 2015
      • Yep, I gotcha, no problems there.

        October 6, 2015
    • I am trying to do that where I can Chris, it is good to take it easy, but some things can’t wait. Thank you for taking a look, at both my images and the article. You are too kind, I’m sure.

      October 6, 2015
  10. These are awesome! You will get back on the swing. Give yourself time. ☺️

    October 6, 2015
    • Thank you Jodi, I am sure I will too, things are slowly getting done.

      October 6, 2015
  11. lovely photos, Leanne. it is challenging to return to ‘normal’ after being away, especially when things keep snowballing and it seems it all has to get done… right NOW. at least, photography is good for the soul! πŸ™‚

    October 6, 2015
    • It has been, it is an unexpected side effect I think, I wasn’t expecting it. It is most definitely good for the soul, I am glad I’ve been out here a couple of times now, it has really helped. Thanks Debi.

      October 7, 2015
      • you’re welcome Leanne. I can relate to traveling, and getting home with More Stuff to do!

        October 7, 2015
      • It is crazy, I’m slowly getting through it.

        October 7, 2015
      • thats good to hear, jet lag…. takes awhile. another week and you’ll be good as new! well, … Most Likely πŸ™‚

        October 8, 2015
      • Oh yes, the jetlag, I am starting to feel a lot better, thank goodness. πŸ™‚

        October 8, 2015
      • that’s good news πŸ™‚ it helps!

        October 9, 2015
      • It is, and yes, so much better. πŸ™‚

        October 9, 2015
  12. Your macro images are fabulous! And I like the flowers you’ve selected for the composition in your blog. Welcome back.

    October 6, 2015
    • Thank you, I like doing macro, so it is good to see that people like what I do.

      October 7, 2015
  13. Hi there! Your use of available lighting is tremendous. Especially in a lot of the landscapes and floral closeups. I often struggle with lighting, unless I get luck and happen to be wandering around at the right time of day, and stumble upon the ideally lit scene. Most of the time I just have to play the hand I am dealt. Your photographs are beautiful and inspiring. I am heading to New York City this weekend, and hope to capture a ton of new images (even though this will be about my 20th time to the city, I never get tired of it. There’s always something new to photograph, it seems). Then I’m off to Tucson Arizona, for an altogether different photographic experience. I have not had the opportunity to review the archives on your blog, but if you haven’t already done so, could you perhaps do a post or two on lighting techniques that have worked for you in the field?
    Thanks. HF http://www.roadtripphotographs.com

    October 6, 2015
    • It isn’t always easy to predict lighting and the same thing happens to me as well, though different times of the day produce different lighting. I think it is also about looking, see what you find. Thank you. How lucky for you to be travelling there. Sounds like you have some great trips organized. I will have to keep that in mind about about light effects, think about it, thank you.

      October 7, 2015
  14. Hi leanne,
    I know the feeling, I feel a sense of ‘loss’ of where I have been and people I have been with

    October 7, 2015
  15. … and people I have been there with every time I return from a long travel. I suppose its human nature, having enjoyed the places and with the people you were with.
    What is the green plant under the ‘dynamic range’ section? Very nice photo you took of it.
    Regards, Ken

    October 7, 2015
    • It is funny, strange, it seems unbelievable that I had that time away and now I’m back and it is like it never happened.
      I don’t know, it is a big plant, I love it. Thanks Ken.

      October 7, 2015
  16. Di' #

    I wish I could meet you when you were in NY, Leanne. I love going around NY. I’m glad you could spend wonderful time in US.

    October 10, 2015
    • That would have been great, it is a shame we couldn’t. You never know I might come back. I’m glad too, thanks Di’

      October 10, 2015
      • Di' #

        Perhaps one day you might consider visiting New England states where I live. It’s beautiful in the fall and winter.

        October 11, 2015
      • I would like to Di’, but time will tell if I get there. I would love to experience fall and winter there. Would be so different to what happens here.

        October 11, 2015
      • Di' #

        Hope you’ll have that chance,Leanne.

        October 14, 2015
      • So do I. πŸ˜€

        October 14, 2015

Comments are closed.

