Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Spring Morning in the Bellarine Peninsula

bellarine-peninsula-coast-morning-piers-7966

When I wrote the title to this post I almost said summer morning because it seems like summer here. It has certainly arrived very early. Apparently we are going into an El Nino which is the opposite in the Southern Hemisphere. It will bring hot temperatures and no rain, at least for the next few months. Early October has broken more records with days around 35°C or 95°F.  I’m not looking forward to summer at all. It is going to be too hot to do anything. For those of you that live near snow, lots of photos will be greatly appreciated.

Another change is how I take photos has to change again, so it will mean lots of early mornings and late afternoons. I will have to get used to getting up very early in the morning to drive to places. Last weekend was the first time I did it since I got back. Though we didn’t try to get anywhere for the sunrise, but still we arrived at Queenscliff quite early.

bellarine-peninsula-coast-morning-piers-7690

It was a very clear sky and the day was going to be warm, so we knew that there wouldn’t be a really magnificent sunrise, so opted  not to try for it. Queenscliff was lovely and so peaceful at that time of the day. The water was calm, though it is inside the heads of Port Phillip Bay which is part of the reason for that.

bellarine-peninsula-coast-morning-piers-7807

The water was also quite clear and I enjoyed watching the seaweed that clung to the leg of the pier dancing around in the water.

I took the Tamron 28-300mm lens with me which has become my go to lens at the moment. It doesn’t leave my camera very often. It is such a great length or range. The 28mm gives you some wide angle, not always as wide as I would like, but a great compromise, and the 300mm means I can zoom in quite a bit. No lens is ever going to give you the best length, but hey, I think this one is pretty good. It is one I would definitely recommend. I know I will miss it a lot when I have to return it to Tamron Australia.

bellarine-peninsula-coast-morning-piers-7855

The tide was out so we walked around the cliff and saw some unusual man made structures. I think left over from the WWII when we were terrified of being invaded, though nothing happened this far south, well except something about a German cargo ship that wasn’t allowed to enter. Fair enough really. Still, we were ready for it. One thing about being so far away from the rest of the world is that our distance does tend to protect us from what is going, most of the time.

bellarine-peninsula-coast-morning-piers-7936

After breakfast at Belsize & Co in Queenscliff we decided to drive around the coast to St Leonards. Here we found another pier, and possibly my favourite of the day. It was getting warm and towards midday when we got here so people were everywhere. You can’t see it in this photo but there were lots of people swimming and doing the summery type things you expect for a warm day.

bellarine-peninsula-coast-morning-piers-7948

It was certainly a pier with a lot of character and one I would love to go back to at some stage. There was a lot to photograph around it. It also had some many different elements. Yes, a return visit at a better ‘photography’ time of the day is needed.

We did go on to Port Arlington but you will have to wait for those photos another day. We knew the light was going to be harsh and we wouldn’t get good photos so we decided that it was going to have to be a scouting day. We found a few places that we want to go back to so now we just need to organize when.

I’m going to leave it there, I’ve talked enough today and will leave you with a gallery of more photos. It is Saturday here and we are expecting a storm, apparently, it was meant to happen yesterday, so who knows if it will rain or not. I hope you are having lovely ‘photography’ weather where you are. Take care.

54 Comments
  1. Living near the mountains means lots of snow (soon) for us, so I enjoy your warm sunny day photographs, even if that’s not the best for you as a photographer! The water does look inviting…

    October 10, 2015
    • I will take photos of hot days, to warm you up, and you can take photos of snow to cool me down, deal?? The water was inviting, and many people were in it and enjoying it. Thanks.

      October 10, 2015
  2. equinoxio21 #

    Very nice photographs that perfectly convey the idea of vurrrry cold water.:)

    October 10, 2015
    • I wonder if the water was really cold, I wasn’t going to go swimming in it, though lots of people were. Thank you.

      October 10, 2015
      • equinoxio21 #

        Don’t mention it. 😉

        October 12, 2015
      • 🙂

        October 12, 2015
  3. Stunning, stunning work as always, Laura! Bless you for sharing these amazing slices of your life with all of us.

    October 10, 2015
    • Thank you, though my name is Leanne, You’re welcome, glad you liked them.

      October 10, 2015
      • My sincerest apologies, Leanne! Trying to convince myself I’m a fast typist… maybe slower isn’t such a bad think?

        October 11, 2015
      • Haha, no that is okay, it actually happens a lot, I used to have a boss that would call me Lorraine all the time, or Leonie. All starting with L.

        October 11, 2015
      • Perhaps people get ‘flummoxed’ by the spelling? Leonie though??? That’s unusual!

        October 11, 2015
      • Haha, maybe, who knows. It is funny though.

        October 11, 2015
  4. lovely, and the seaweed next to the pier is great!

    October 10, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, it is nice to just wander and see what you find.

      October 10, 2015
  5. Wow great photos! I really love these beautiful shots of the bay and they do look so peaceful.

    October 10, 2015
    • Thank you, it was a very peaceful morning, one of the reasons I love mornings.

      October 10, 2015
  6. Great shots , early or late when the tide is out would be great lots of good shots yet to be take 🙂

    October 10, 2015
    • I agree, we are going to have to organize it I think. Would be lovely to see what we could get. 🙂

      October 10, 2015
  7. Beautiful Leanne .. I hear we are in for a hot dry summer .. Phew

    October 10, 2015
    • You and us, it is not going to be good, hopefully it won’t mean a lot of fires.

      October 10, 2015
  8. Love the structure of the shots! Like a masterclass in composition! 🙂

    October 10, 2015
    • Thank you, I like looking at lines and things. 🙂

      October 10, 2015
  9. I like the light on that pier on the one taken from the side. It has a warm golden glow. I like the rail shadows leading up to it in the other photo. And I like the seaweed one! All the ones showing that clear water are so nice. Interesting about World War II.

    October 10, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, great to hear which ones you like, I love the clear water too, always seems so serene or something.

      October 10, 2015
  10. I really enjoyed these.

    October 10, 2015
    • That’s great to hear Sherry, I enjoyed taking them and visiting the area. Thanks.

      October 10, 2015
  11. great location…

    October 10, 2015
    • Thank you, it is a great spot for photos.

      October 10, 2015
  12. Great pictures Leanne. I think as photographers no matter what the reach of our lens is we always want more. When I use my 400 mm I find myself wanting 800 mm lol.

    October 10, 2015
    • I think you might be right about that, though I do find the 28-300mm a good compromise I think. I dream of using a 800mm, I wonder if it will ever happen. Thanks Sonya.

      October 11, 2015
      • Oh how I dream of that 10 – $12,000.00 lens. I would never spend that much on a lens but I might rent one someday.

        October 12, 2015
      • Wouldn’t it be amazing, don’t think I will ever get it though, I don’t make that much money, no where near it.

        October 12, 2015
      • It would be amazing to have the kind of money to buy that lens. Oh well I would feel so very guilty doing that I could not enjoy it lol.

        October 13, 2015
      • It is such a heavy lens I think I would end up not wanting to drag it out, then I would feel guilty, really guilty, so maybe even if I could afford it it might be a waste of money, that’s my logic, lol.

        October 13, 2015
      • Maybe we will convince ourselves we would not use it for that reason good thinking lol.

        October 13, 2015
      • Yes, that’s what I think, lol.

        October 14, 2015
  13. Great shots! So crisp and love them colours, too. How I admire Australian beaches.. they are just beyond wonderful. Thanks for sharing them with us. Oh! Thanks for dropping by, too!

    October 10, 2015
    • I admire them too and the colours are amazing as well, I love the greens and blues. You’re welcome, on both counts, and thank you as well.

      October 11, 2015
  14. We too live near the mountains. Normally there is snow on the mountain tops starting in early September. We haven’t had any frost yet, also very unusual. And now a heat wave in Australia, global warming must be on everybody’s mind. As always, I liked your photos, Leanne.

    October 10, 2015
    • I think it is Peter, we are most definitely noticing it around here now. There are too many changes. We are in for a hot one, and I hope you do get those frosts and some snow as well. I look forward to seeing your images as well Peter. Thanks.

      October 11, 2015
  15. Your pictures are lovely! I wish I lived near somewhere so picturesque

    October 11, 2015
    • I am sure you do, I think we often don’t think we live anywhere special, but it is special other people who don’t live where you are. You need to find the story there. I had a similar problem with where I live, then I started trying to see it through visitors eyes. Thank you Camillia.

      October 11, 2015
      • That’s actually very true and great advice. I will keep my eyes peeled 🙂

        October 11, 2015
      • That’s great, good luck. 🙂

        October 11, 2015
  16. Ron #

    Hello Leanne, to think that I have been to Queenscliffe a number of times and yet have not wandered around on the beach thus not seeing those structures. You may be pleasantly surprised if you travel the ferry trip to Sorrento and back at the right time of day of course as a passenger Sorrento has a lot of possibilities to photograph. I liked the seaweed photo you were lucky to have the water so clear.

    October 11, 2015
    • You will have to do it Ron, it is lovely around there. There are a couple of piers. I’ve been on the ferry a couple of times, but not for taking photos. I have been to Sorrento on many occasions to take photos though, it is beautiful down there. Thanks Ron.

      October 11, 2015
  17. mostly rain here on the west coast Leanne- probably all winter!! Great gallery! Hope you have air conditioning!

    October 12, 2015
    • Rain is good to, yes, we have had some over the last couple of days, it may be the last rain we see for some time. Yes, we have air con, life is horrible without it.

      October 12, 2015
      • I bet!! We will have a wet season now I think! I get a bit depressed this time of year unless it snows and that lifts my spirit like Christmas lights. But mostly a bit melancholy till spring!!

        October 12, 2015
      • Do you think, I hope you get lots of snow, I get a bit that way because of the heat, I find it really suffocating and it means I can’t do as much. Let’s hope we can lift each other’s spirits.

        October 12, 2015
      • indeed!! 🙂

        October 14, 2015
      • 😀

        October 14, 2015
  18. I really like the rock pictures from Queenscliff. The textures are amazing.

    October 12, 2015
    • Pretty cool cliff face, and yes, great textures. Thanks Kirsten.

      October 12, 2015

Comments are closed.

