Skip to content

USA Wanderings: New York Public Library

new-york-public-library-architecture-5708

On the day I spent with Stacy, Robert and Robyn we also went to the New York Public Library. It was one building that was most definitely on my list. I have wanted to see it ever since I saw the movie Day After Tomorrow. I know that probably makes me a sad person, but I do love a good disaster movie, and Stacy really understood why I wanted to go there.

new-york-public-library-architecture--2

Such an imposing building from the outside. It certainly has something that says it is important. Libraries can be so beautiful. The one here is gorgeous as well. Such grandeur.

new-york-public-library-architecture-5677

The interior was just as stunning. I really wanted to take some photos from this spot as they ran up to here in the building to see the water coming in. If you look through the middle window, that is the road or street the water came rushing down.

new-york-public-library-architecture-5674

You can sort of see where we were standing there up on the right. Look at the detail inside this building. It was so amazing.

Of course I look at many of these photos and wish I had changed something, or did something different and now I can’t go back and re-shoot them. It is one of the benefits of making where you live or places close by your subject matter, then you can keep going back until you get the shots as you want them. I will have to start making more trips to some of my favourite Melbourne buildings.

As we left we turned back and you could see the Chrysler Building in distance.

new-york-public-library-architecture-5794

Out the back of the library is a really popular garden, or park, it is called Bryant Park, I believe. It was lovely to just sit there and watch the people.

We decided at this stage that we need to get food so we headed to a pizza place that Robyn knew and look what we walked through.

new-york-public-library-architecture-5797

Yes, Times Square. It was my only visit to it. I know lots of people think you have to go at night, but from what I’ve heard it really wasn’t for me. I don’t like lots of people and crowds. It was good to see it, but this was enough.

It was all part of an extraordinary day and one I know I will remember for a very long time. I am going to leave you with a gallery now. I hope you are having a lovely weekend. We’ve had a thunderstorm and some rain, very nice.

84 Comments
  1. I also love the library. You got some wonderful shots of the library. The first time I took my kids to NYC, they also wanted to visit the library because of ‘The Day After Tomorrow’. My kids and I love disaster movies. I hope you were aware of the best thing about Bryant Park: clean public restrooms!

    October 11, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, it is an amazing building. I think libraries in all cities should be visited really. It is great that a movie made your boys want to visit it. Same for me. Great to find another lover of disaster movies. I didn’t know that about the park, we used the ones in the library before we left.

      October 11, 2015
      • Yes that library and the one further down the street have nice restrooms but, of course, can only be accessed when the libraries are open. I’m a bit obsessed with mapping clean toilets wherever I am because I’m so squeamish about public conveniences. I wish someone would invent an app that showed where the nearest public lavatories were and rated them for cleanliness.

        October 11, 2015
      • I know what you mean. Thankfully there are lots and lots of public toilets in Melbourne and they generally very clean, or reasonably. I was really surprised at the lack of them in New York, explains why some of the streets smell really bad. I think there is an app for public toilets, but don’t think it will tell you if they are clean. LOL

        October 11, 2015
  2. The funny thing is I went to New York multiple times but I suppose my eye was not as good as your eye. You captured some beautiful shots and it actually makes me want to go back and visit now. My husband has been trying to get us to go back and visit and I was like I have no desire to visit there for a while. Now I want to go! LoL I will tell him to thank you and these great pictures.

    October 11, 2015
    • Thank you Charde, that is great that I have inspired you. I love architecture and I think you can see that in the photos, though there are some things that others got, that I didn’t, and I wish I could go back, so when you and your husband go, get those shots for me will you?

      October 11, 2015
      • Oh I most definitely will but they wont be as good yours.

        October 12, 2015
      • I’m sure they will be, just go for it.

        October 12, 2015
  3. I love libraries and grand architecture. Beautiful shots.

    October 11, 2015
    • They always seem to work well together don’t you think Michael? Thank you.

      October 11, 2015
  4. Such wonderful images Leanne! I have been to Bryant Park a few times but always in the winter and at night. I realize that I have never stepped into the public library. Wow, it looks like I need to visit!

    October 11, 2015
    • I think you do need to visit, such a gorgeous building. The park was fantastic too, but it was a bit too hot to explore it that day a lot. I think you have the right idea, I can imagine it would be gorgeous in winter. Thank you.

      October 11, 2015
      • Bryant Park gets transformed into an ice skating rink in the winter

        October 12, 2015
      • Oh nice, that would have been nice to see.

        October 12, 2015
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Bryant Park is popular; we hear about it often on the news. There is always something fun going on in the parks there. The New York Public Library is amazing to behold. That is one of the places I wanted to see and never got to. Your images are stunning.

    I was wondering if you had time to hit Chinatown while you were there?

    October 11, 2015
    • I hope you hear about it in a good way Jackie. It seemed like a great place for people to meet or just to hang out. I think that is one thing that is bad about Melbourne, not enough greenery in the city centre. I hope you can get there one day Jackie most definitely worth it.
      Yes, we got to Chinatown and had a walk around. Had some dim sum.

      October 11, 2015
      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

        Bryant Park news is usually good news but I doubt there is any place in NY that has not had some bad news. Here in Jersey where I am, it’s about an hour away and we get NY local news. On the weekends they tell about celebrations and activities around the parks and Bryant is one of those. I love NY and all the wonderful things it has, I wish I were better able to get around there.

        Chinatown is amazing to see and enjoy a meal – glad you were able to go there.

        October 12, 2015
      • That is great, I mean that it is usually good news.
        Yes, it is a little different to our Chinatown. Ours is spread out into different places.

        October 12, 2015
  6. Loved this post! Such a fabulous building (and equally fabulous images) and if I was in New York, I’d be there like a flash for similar reasons to you – I watched Day After Tomorrow four times at the cinema. Now that’s sad!

    October 11, 2015
    • Haha, I would hate to count how many times I’ve watched it since, glad to see other people want to visit places because they were in films. I got to see a few. Thank you Haylee.

      October 11, 2015
  7. Reblogged this on My Choice and commented:
    An Aussie in the New York Public Library and it’s not Crocodile Dundee

    October 11, 2015
    • Haha, no not croc dundee. Thanks Herman.

      October 11, 2015
  8. Hey Leanne, excellent post as usual. What wide angle lens and settings did you use to capture those pictures?

    October 11, 2015
    • Thank you Noel, I was using my Nikon 24-70mm lens. I have no idea what settings I used, a high ISO as it was dark, probably around f9.

      October 11, 2015
  9. Very nice blog! I especially loved this post. The US is really full of possibilities. πŸ™‚

    October 11, 2015
  10. Joe #

    Wonderful images of one of the most beautiful buildings in NYC Leanne πŸ™‚

    October 11, 2015
    • For me there were three Joe, this one, Grand Central and the Flatiron. Thank you Joe. πŸ™‚

      October 11, 2015
  11. Lovely series Leanne

    October 11, 2015
  12. Oh my gosh what a gorgeous building! I would love to see that too! Hug Lisa

    October 11, 2015
    • Thank you Lisa, it is a great one, if you get to New York you should see it, I loved it, just a shame I might never see it again.

      October 11, 2015
  13. Good movie(!), great building – beautiful photographs!

    October 11, 2015
  14. This library is certainly a magic building in exterior and interior. When I went 4 years ago I was stunned. I had posted on my blog about this library in Year 2012, if you feel like visiting it. Great pictures of your. Have a great weekend

    October 11, 2015
    • It is an amazing building, it is lovely when get great ones like that, we have some too, and our library is quite amazing too. Send me the link Cornelia and I will take a look. Thanks.

      October 11, 2015
      • Thank you Leanne for your interest, on my site the post is from July 10th, 2012

        October 12, 2015
      • I will see if I can find it.

        October 12, 2015
  15. Stunning photos. Loved reading your post.

    October 11, 2015
  16. Yes, a fun day with a lot of beautiful sights and good company. You are right about Times Square…way too crowded…in a crowded city. Only the photographer would be unhappy or second guessing these shots – they capture the place perfectly.

    October 11, 2015
    • Oh yes, a very crowded city. I think you are right there, thank you Robert it was such a great day and one I will always remember.

      October 11, 2015
  17. Always wanted to visit New York. Your images inspire me.

    October 11, 2015
    • That’s great Dorothy, I’m sure you would love it too.

      October 12, 2015
  18. Beautiful pictures…absolutely gorgeous. Buildings like these are massive and have so much to say to us.

    October 12, 2015
    • I think so too, it is so beautiful and lovely to see that they are still here and enjoyed. Thank you.

      October 12, 2015
  19. Hey Leanne I loved your comment about the movie … πŸ˜ƒ that library looks amazing, so very grand inside. I have never seen a shot like that of a Time Sq ..ever! That’s a massive wow from me πŸ˜ƒ

    October 12, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, it is very grand inside. Times Square was quite empty when we walked through it.

      October 12, 2015
  20. That is one of my favorite movies. It is cool to see where the water came rushing in. I think they should have used some of your pictures in the movie. I didn’t realize how beautiful it was until I looked at your shots. Did you have to get permission to shoot inside or do they just let you shoot away?

    October 12, 2015
    • One of mine too Kirsten, so I had to see the library. Haha, well I only took my photos a few weeks ago. No, you can just go in and take photos. Lots of people do it. Thanks

      October 12, 2015
      • I’m never sure of the proper etiquette for public places. I figure the best bet is to just ask. The worst they can do is say, “No.” πŸ™‚

        October 13, 2015
      • It is hard to know, usually they put up signs if you aren’t allowed to take photos, or someone will tell you to stop.

        October 13, 2015
  21. Growing up, that was one of my favorite places in the world, along with the Metropolitan Museum of Art. My home town. Sometimes, I really miss it.

    October 12, 2015
    • I can see why it would have been one of your favourite places Marilyn. I would love to spend a lot of there.

      October 12, 2015
  22. I could never tire taking photos of this place or NYC for that matter. Will be so thrilled when I am up to returning.

    October 12, 2015
    • That’s great to hear, I hope you have a lot of fun.

      October 12, 2015
  23. fantastic photos! the textures and patterns are amazing. love that park too. interestingly, your photos may have swayed my mind about ever going to NYC. I don’t like mega crowds/chaos/hustle. But you’ve shown a softer side to it. πŸ™‚

    October 12, 2015
    • There are places where there are lots of people, mainly the top tourist places, like the top of the Empire State Building, but many of other places are not too bad. It isn’t wall to wall people. I don’t like big crowds either, but I am glad I went.
      Thanks Debi.

      October 12, 2015
      • that is really good to know; maybe its like Sydney… sort of. I can do Sydney!

        October 12, 2015
      • Yes, maybe I haven’t been to Sydney for a while, though the city streets of Melbourne was very similar to the number of people on the streets in NYC.

        October 12, 2015
      • maybe NYC isn’t really as bad as what I’ve imagined. lol

        October 13, 2015
      • I think you would be surprised Debi, and I have to say I never felt unsafe either.

        October 13, 2015
      • hmm, I’ll keep that in mind too πŸ™‚

        October 14, 2015
      • πŸ˜€

        October 14, 2015
  24. A belated welcome to America!

    October 12, 2015
  25. It looks as if you had a fantastic day. That is indeed one glorious old building — it reminds me a bit of the British Museum.

    October 12, 2015
    • I had a great day, and it was a great building, I love old buildings like this. Thank you.

      October 12, 2015
  26. wow these are some of my fav’s so far from your USA trip! beautiful

    October 13, 2015
  27. Oh, these are so beautiful, Leanne! You did a great job. I know what you mean about it being better to go back again and again. I’m finding I enjoy that. You’ve helped highlight what is different about travel photography.

    October 13, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, it is a great thing to be able to do, but some times you can’t do it. That is definitely what is different. Might have to go back.

      October 13, 2015
      • That would be great.

        October 13, 2015
      • LOL, will have to save my pennies, oh no, I gave them away. πŸ˜‰

        October 13, 2015
      • LOL

        October 14, 2015
      • πŸ˜€

        October 14, 2015
  28. Reblogged this on Travel, Photography, Pets and Cooking and commented:
    Fantastic photos!

    October 13, 2015
  29. What fantastic shots you took, Leanne! You’ve captured the majesty of this lovely building, despite not being able to get into the Main Reading Room. It was definitely fun to trace the scenes from the movie with you πŸ™‚

    I have yet to work on the photos I took here – now you’ve given me inspiration πŸ˜„

    October 15, 2015
    • The Main Reading Room was definitely disappointing, but the rest of the building was not, what a beauty it was. I loved that too, seeing where they did the movie.
      I’m working more on some, seeing what I can do to them, I should be writing, maybe playing with the photos will have to be my reward for working. LOL
      Thanks Stacy.

      October 15, 2015

Comments are closed.

