Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Things Returning to Normal

Whatever normal is these days. It has been a strange time. This isn’t going to be a long post, not a lot has been happening around here.

Travelling and Strange Side Effects

I’ve been home for just over two weeks now and I have to say it was such a great adventure.  I coast-8998really enjoyed travelling around parts of the USA. I saw some amazing things and I intend to do a wrap up post at some stage. I was surprised at well I seemed to adapt to everything and it never seemed a problem. I just went with it. It was all good until I got home.

Home has been another story and one of the things that I’ve found difficult is the depression, I guess that is the word for it, that I have felt since arriving back. I had an amazing experience and now it is almost like it never happened. I’ve been told by many people that it is a very common thing. I had no idea about it and it seems to be something that people don’t talk about until you are experiencing it yourself. Having the magazine to come back to has been good.

Dynamic Range

It has been funny working on it again. We didn’t plan it, or intend it to be like this, but it seems the next issue is going to have a bit of a travel flavour. Not all the articles are about travel, but coast-8850-3hpmabout half. Don’t get me wrong the other articles are still very interesting.

We are still finding our way with the magazine. We have a new editor, so there are three now. It is nice to see the team growing. I’m also learning InDesign so I can help or do the layout if necessary.

Not everything has been great and there are definitely parts that I haven’t enjoyed. I suppose it will be like that with lots of things. I had to deal with something that was not pleasant and got blamed for something that was beyond my control, however, it is sorted now.

It is still on track to be published early in November.

Merrell Shoes

I purchased some new shoes from Merrell today. It is a sign I think, of what I will be doing a lot of this summer, or hope to. The shoes are the women’s Maipo waterpro shoes. You can walk in coast-8832-3hpmthe water with them so will be perfect for taking photos down at the beach to take photos. I won’t have to worry about my shoes getting wet. I am really looking forward to trying them out and with the weather we’ve been having I won’t have to wait long.

Photos

Today’s photos were taken almost two years ago on a special day when some visitors from the US were here and I took them out to see some of our coastline. We had a great day and it seemed appropriate to look back on those now. As we head into summer, and now that I have my new shoes, I will be visiting many of the places in these images again.

72 Comments
  1. I understand how you feel..whenever i return from travel i feel down not long after..i think the freedom and new things is so exhilarating and you return to humdrum..which is really normally okay but after such an experience it seems too bland and colourless..it passes and then the urge to get travelling again kicks in and you feel down again..life is always a balance and not always balanced on the exciting side sadly..hugs Bev x

    October 13, 2015
    • Yes, a friend said something similar, you are on a high while away and then you come down when you return. I’m not liking that balance right now, I’m sure I will get past it. Thankfully I can’t afford to travel, so I should be fine, thank you Bev.

      October 13, 2015
      • Good sweets..i am itching to run away myself Broome is calling me i can hear it 🙂

        October 13, 2015
      • Oh I want to go there too, been talking about it for a long time. 🙂

        October 13, 2015
      • 🙂 🙂

        October 13, 2015
      • 😀

        October 13, 2015
  2. I hope, that you will find yourself again fast Leanne and wow for your photos: -D

    October 13, 2015
  3. Yes returns after an exciting trip can be a bit of a downer, although I suspect what you are faced with once home also contributes to this!

    Interested in the Merrell water shoes, and followed the link, co’s they would be rather handy on the boat, but can’t see any Women’s Maipo!

    October 13, 2015
    • Yes, you could be right about that, that has been sorted, the major one, and now things are settling down, I hope.

      Yeah, I rechecked the box of mine, and they are definitely womens. I got mine from the Collins Street Merrell story. I’m looking forward to trying them out down at Jan Juc, expecially where the rocks are on the point.

      October 13, 2015
  4. Awesome Shots! Really beautiful

    October 13, 2015
  5. I hope you are feeling better soon. I suspect its a bit of an empty feeling as for the last few months you have been preoccupied with planning and now you dont have that to do as its all done. We felt that way after each of our Europe trips as it took 1.5 years of planning different places and hotels etc and then afterwards we didnt have that to look forward to … so you need a new challenge as in the magazine which is great to keep you preoccupied but find another challenge that may be a little way away, something to look forward to again and that might help… like Sydney 2016 photomeet. We may have a few people interested but since its October now it might have to be late winter or spring next year… what do you think ? 🙂

    October 13, 2015
    • Thanks Karen, I think it is that, and coming down from the high of the trip, a few things probably. Yes, the Magazine has been great to get me going. Haha, oh yes, Sydney, I’m looking forward to that. I don’t know, when, I guess when everyone can. 🙂

      October 13, 2015
  6. This is lovely. The photos are great. Thanks for sharing.

    October 13, 2015
  7. Leanbe,
    Depression is a lifelong struggle for me. I have noticed after a vacation those feelings being stronger. Dont be hard on yourself. Ok. Your friend vis the blig workd here in Seattle-Alesia

    October 13, 2015
    • It is funny how it happens after a holiday, I was also surprised to realize that no one really talks about it, I’m slowly getting out of it, and my work here is helping with that. Thank you.

      October 13, 2015
  8. Interestingly, I just wrote a post for a friend’s blog about depression and how I had a touch of it after getting home. I didn’t want to start work again. Glad you’re enjoying the mag. I love it! Can’t wait for the new issue. The photos today are gorgeous. I love the reeeeeeally ling pier the most.

    October 13, 2015
    • Yes, that’s it exactly, I didn’t want to either, but had to, finding it hard to get back into it. I am, it is nice to have it to work on. Thank you so much. You’ve seen that pier haven’t you.

      October 13, 2015
      • Yes, I have seen that pier! You’ve made it look like it goes on foever.

        October 14, 2015
      • It is a very long pier, so that helps I think.

        October 14, 2015
  9. It is amazing that once you get home from a trip it feels like you imagined the entire experience. I think sensory overload keeps us on a bit of a high, especially if it is somewhere we’ve never been before. I think that’s why I take so many pictures. To prove to myself I was somewhere. 🙂 You have so many beautiful shots to take you back to places you visited.

    October 13, 2015
    • Yes, another friend described it the same way. My sister in law took lots of photos of me to prove to my daughters that I really was there. LOL. I do have lots of photos, which is fantastic, thank you Marie.

      October 13, 2015
  10. I know that feeling and hate it so much. I could always use short trips or camping to help me through the big gap in my heart after such an extraordinary journey. I own Merrell shoes, too. Running and trekking pairs. I love them much. Great shots of photos, by the way!

    October 13, 2015
    • That is a nice idea, I’m trying to replace the trip with other things now. That’s wonderful, they are amazing shoes, I’ve only just started wearing them this year, so happy to have discovered them. Thanks.

      October 13, 2015
  11. I often have a down period after travels, Leanne. I also have them after completing big projects. I feel a bit lost and it takes a while to regain my focus. On your recommendation I bought a pair of Merrell shoes before we traveled a few weeks ago and I really love them. Thanks for the recommendation! Hang in there, your balance will return. xx

    October 13, 2015
    • You’re welcome ardysez, they are great shoes, I couldn’t be without them now. It does seem to be a common thing, the down time, it just never occurred to me that it would happen. I’m sure I will get over it, thank you.

      October 13, 2015
  12. I know InDesign well, used it for about 10 years. I used it professionally and still do when making layouts for the Linnaean Society of NY’s Schedule of Events brochure. You may ask me questions if you like.

    October 13, 2015
    • I will remember that Sherry, I have a program to teach me, but if I get into trouble, you will hear from me. Thank you.

      October 14, 2015
  13. I’ve experience this post travel feeling you describe and it is unsettling for a bit. I can’t wait to see the new issue of the magazine! Sounds fun and insightful. Your images for today are all stunning, as usual. 🙂

    October 13, 2015
    • Thank you Robyn, I’m looking forward to going back to those places with my new shoes, will be good not having to worry about the water getting close. It has been a bit disconcerting, I think because I really wasn’t expecting it, but I’m sure I will work through it, the magazine has been great for that. The next issue is looking great so far. It is on track we hope.

      October 14, 2015
  14. Beautiful images Leanne.
    Hopefully you will have another opportunity to visit the US.

    October 13, 2015
    • Thank you Colline, it would be nice, though would love to get up to Canada as well.

      October 14, 2015
  15. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Nobody can fully understand how you feel but I hear a lot of love here for you. There are imbalances in the body’s natural chemicals from the excitement that should return to normal in time. Talking about it is good; maybe you could do an article on that to let others know about it. I once went to California a few years ago for an 8-day training; I experienced depression after I got home for a time but never knew what it was.

    I hope you are back to your old self soon, but until then, put yourself first and give yourself time. You must have a zillion images you can work on for the blog and magazine and everything else until you are back to 100%.

    ((((((((((HUGS))))))))))

    October 13, 2015
    • Thank you so much Jackie for those lovely words, they mean a lot and it is so good to hear them. I think you are so right, none of us are prepared for it, especially when it hits for the first time. I’ve been talking to quite a few people and it has been amazing how many people have felt exactly the same way. It is a kind of depression, the high is over, and maybe, as you said a chemical imbalance as well.
      I’m sure I will be, it is starting to fade and I think having the magazine to focus on has been incredible. Oh yes, the images, I do think it is time to see what else I can do with them. Just put one up, so I might have to do some more.

      October 14, 2015
  16. What a shame we get the flat feeling after being so high for a while, hey? Keep busy and I’m sure you’ll be back to normal before you know it 😊

    October 13, 2015
    • It is a shame, though I wished I’d known it was going to happen, it would have helped, but if I ever travel again, I will expect it when I get back. Keeping busy has been fantastic and I have a lot of work to do, so that has been really good. Thank you.

      October 14, 2015
  17. Took us a month to recover from jet lag after a month in Colorado; takes awhile for the body clock to adjust, I guess …!

    October 13, 2015
    • I am okay with the time zone and not having any trouble sleeping, but it is a feeling of melancholy that I have, it seems strange. I’m sure it will go and things will resume here. Thank you Nexi.

      October 14, 2015
  18. Your reaction to being back seems a standard for me. When I travel there is an infusion of sensibilities that are heightened. Energy soars and the unknown becomes known. Give yourself time to re-enter your world. I am thrilled for you that you got to experience our great cities and take back a glorious feeling of the depth and breath of our culture, history and cuisine. Your memories are rich repositories of your experiences–and of course your marvelous archive of images.

    October 13, 2015
    • Thank you Sally, it is the first time I have ever travelled, so I guess I was not expecting the fallout when I got home, I have to say I feel a lot better now that I have talked to so many people about it. I am so glad for the photos, I’ve started working on them more, and I know that will help me.

      October 14, 2015
  19. I definitely experienced similar blues after my 4 months of traveling came to an end very summer. It got worse when I graduated from school, started working, and could only get 2 weeks per year. Some of us are just a bit more restless than others, I believe. We need to be out there, challenging the unexpected.

    October 14, 2015
    • I don’t know if it is that, but there is a mundaneness to being here now, like what now, I am sure it will go soon. Thank you.

      October 14, 2015
  20. Sorry to hear you were a bit down upon your return to home…well, maybe not home as much as it is the everyday…coming off a nice adventure where each day was something new, it maybe stressful and depressing to get back to the routine. I’m sure you will find your center and be back to your normal self in short order – especially with summer coming, there will be plenty to do with a lot of distractions.

    October 14, 2015
    • That’s it the every day, the normality of it all. The magazine is helping a lot, I have to admit, keeping me distracted. I don’t like summer and it is roaring in here, with it getting so hot already, and temperature records being broken already probably means it is going to be a long hot summer by the looks of it. I will have to spend time indoors writing I think. Thanks Robert.

      October 14, 2015
  21. Love the moody skies over the pier!

    October 14, 2015
  22. I love your lighthouse images and hey, I’m still suffering. You are not alone! I’m so burnt out that I have not been posting a lot and behind in reading posts!! It will pick up again I’m sure though winter is always a low time for me.

    October 14, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, it is a bugger isn’t it, it is hard to get going, almost need a pill for it. I really hope your winter is wonderful for you and you get lots of snow and sunny days. I will send you sunshine, we will get plenty to share.

      October 14, 2015
      • I will listen to Vivaldi’s Four seasons and sit by my pretty but fake fireplace with a hot toddy!! If I hadn’t spent all my money I’d head down to Mexico this winter! yes let’s package up cooling rains and sunbeams for exchange!

        October 14, 2015
      • Sounds like a good plan Cybele, I will be sitting by the air conditioner wishing it would rain, it would cooler then. Yes let’s do that.

        October 14, 2015
      • 😀

        October 15, 2015
  23. Cracking photos Leanne 🙂 And well done for producing a magazine, I was just looking at your website, the ‘Dynamic Range Magazine’ looks really good 🙂

    October 14, 2015
    • Thank you, the magazine has been great, and a steep learning curve, but it is a lot fun too.

      October 14, 2015
  24. equinoxio21 #

    Portuguese would call it “Saudade”? (many Brazilian songs about it). a sort of nostalgia, rememberance of good times – and places – past. People too of course. No worry. I get hit every time I come back from traveling. I think that is the reason for the wanderlust that affects the human race: the urge to go see what’s beyond the horizon. And when you’re there, you miss home. And when you’re back, well, ditto. No fear. It is just a motivation for the next trip.
    Be good
    Brian

    October 14, 2015
    • I like that, a nice way of putting it. You are probably right. A great way of putting it, yes I think you might be right Brian, it probably is.

      October 14, 2015
      • equinoxio21 #

        (Think about the next trip)

        October 15, 2015
      • Yes, I might have to do that, plan some trips.

        October 15, 2015
      • equinoxio21 #

        Always a good remedy. 😉

        October 16, 2015
      • Yes, 🙂

        October 16, 2015
  25. quite a few bits and bobs…nice gallery!!!

    October 15, 2015
    • Yes, more than I thought there would be, thank you.

      October 15, 2015

Comments are closed.

