Skip to content

MM 2-28: Monochrome Madness

This week snuck up on me. I suddenly realized I didn’t have a photo for it and while I wasn’t worried, I always find something, I knew that I better get working. I wonder if you have that problem.

The next Themed MM is 2-31, November the 4th,  and it is clouds. You can send your images in now if you have them, I don’t mind.

melbourne-city-empty-monochrome

I was in the city this morning with a friend and while she was at a meeting I headed to the Bourke Street Mall to try out my Formatt Hitech Firecrest 16 stop filter.  I’ve been wanting to try this for a while and today seemed the perfect time. I’ve never really seen the Mall this empty and it doesn’t matter when you go there there are always people there. I like the empty look.

Don’t forget all the instructions on how to enter your own images are at the bottom of the post.  If you have entered an image then please remember to check your image in the gallery, scroll down and see if anyone has left you any comments.

Don’t forget all the instructions on how to enter your own images are at the bottom of the post.  If you have entered an image then please remember to check your image in the gallery, scroll down and see if anyone has left you any comments.

Monochrome Madness each week and if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be low res, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it’s before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it’s after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.
  • Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it. Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.

43 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    MM 2-28: Monochrome Madness
    written by Leanne Cole

    October 14, 2015
  2. Thanks for including my photograph.

    October 14, 2015
  3. The empty look of your street photograph, put it in the category of must-have. 🙂

    October 14, 2015
    • Thank you David, I really want to do more of these. 🙂

      October 14, 2015
  4. equinoxio21 #

    And you say you didn’t have photos for this week? OMG. Regardless, that was a great selection. (And don’t worry: I still haven’t sorted all of my 2014 photos) 🙂

    October 14, 2015
    • Oh I meant just for me, that I don’t always know what I’m going to do. It was a great week and some really good photos. good to know I’m not the only one. 🙂

      October 14, 2015
  5. just got back from a 9 day road trip, storm clouds most the time…… I will look for a NEAT B/W cloud shot. Love your shot, reminds me of the street photography I did in my youth (70’s). Streets could be empty, specially at night or rainy days. Been chasing clouds since then too!!!! Creative shooting everyone!

    October 14, 2015
    • That would be great Peter, look forward to seeing it. Thank you, I love empty streets, they don’t seem natural.

      October 14, 2015
  6. Some really great captures here!!

    October 14, 2015
    • There are Julie, great to see.

      October 14, 2015
  7. superbe ambiance

    October 14, 2015
  8. and I totally missed it!! arggh! But what gorgeous and compelling submissions this week!

    October 14, 2015
    • I knew I should have sent you an email, I was thinking you hadn’t sent one.

      October 14, 2015
      • next week clouds!!! I’m usually up in them anyway!! 🙂

        October 15, 2015
      • Clouds are for the first MM in November Cybele. I’m sure you will be able to get some great ones.

        October 15, 2015
      • hope hope!! 🙂 If we don’t just have grey days!!

        October 16, 2015
      • Oh yes, grey days are the worse, I hate lots of those too, you need to see the sun. 🙂

        October 16, 2015
  9. Mono madness .. Such a great part of the week 😃

    October 14, 2015
    • It is, isn’t it, nice to see that people still enjoy it.

      October 14, 2015
  10. All stunning!

    October 14, 2015
  11. Love that photo of yours! The emptiness makes you wonder…

    October 15, 2015
    • Thank you, it is quite eerie if you know the place, it always has people.

      October 15, 2015
  12. Wonderful images Leanne … I so enjoy MM!

    October 15, 2015
    • That’s great Julie, that’s lovely to hear.

      October 15, 2015
  13. I have been inspired to make some B&W images again. Thanks for keeping the ball rolling with your own, Leeanne.

    October 16, 2015
    • You’re welcome Jeni, does that mean you will be sending one in for the next one?

      October 16, 2015
      • I will think about it after I get over jetlag, haha! Thanks for the invite, Leanne.

        October 16, 2015
      • I’m sure it will still be going then, 🙂

        October 17, 2015
  14. What a great turnout for this theme. These are ALL EXCEPTIONAL images, and that one from Road Trip Photographs reminds me of the original Rock Biter from the film The Neverending Story (I understand that remake is already underway for that fantasy epic, and artist concepts for the Rock Biter change the character up considerably).

    October 19, 2015
    • That is wonderful, so glad you enjoyed the post. They are remaking that movie as well, are there no more original ideas left anymore, lol. Should be interesting.

      October 19, 2015
  15. Following the theme of my blog this week, I can clearly see a face in the rocks next to the waterfall (6th photograph I think). The face looks quite Egyptian with a big hat on? Can anyone else see it too?

    October 21, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Monochrome Madness 2-28 | Drawing with Light
  2. Courtyard | Half a photograph
  3. Monochrome Madness 2-28 | MyBlog - solaner
  4. Brotherhood | The Shady Tree
  5. Spring.. | Captivate Me
  6. Monochrome Madness 2 28/52 Mono Lake Tufas | Circadianreflections Blog
  7. Monochrome Madness: Lucky Shot | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?
  8. The Farm Dog | Eyes to Heart

Comments are closed.

