Skip to content

Working on Photos

bodie-california-interior-ghost-town

The other day I finally decided it was time to start looking at my photos from the states and playing with them. I wasn’t sure where to start, but when I thought about it I think the ones that I was most disappointed about were the ones from Bodie. I had no idea what I was going to do with them. I just played around to see what I could do with the images.

When I was away I just took photos, did some quick processing in Lightroom. It has been great since I got home to use my large monitor with Photoshop to see what is possible. I hope you like them.

I’m just going to leave you with two of the images today.

74 Comments
  1. Fantastic! I wish that I had a darkroom and be able to take photos with a real camera!

    October 15, 2015
    • I don’t use a darkroom, haven’t for many years, really didn’t like it and the chemicals were a nightmare to get rid, not to mention environmentally unfriendly, so very happy to be using digital now. Thank you.

      October 15, 2015
  2. They look fantastic Leanne.. Looking forward to seeing more..

    October 15, 2015
    • Thank you Livonne, I’m really enjoying playing with them, lovely to playing.

      October 15, 2015
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Working on Photos
    written by Leanne Cole
    The cabin looks as if the occupants left suddenly decades ago.

    October 15, 2015
    • I think they did Jackie, many years ago, though I think this might have been set up a little. Thank you.

      October 15, 2015
  4. Stunning works with perfect lighting and composition

    October 15, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, I like playing with the light.

      October 15, 2015
  5. Both photos are very engaging. I like the darkness of them.

    October 15, 2015
    • Thank you Laci, I like dark images.

      October 15, 2015
  6. These are fantastic images, Leanne. I’ve been to Rhyolite, a ghost town in Nevada, but I’ve never been to Bodie despite visiting California a few times. Your photos make me want to make it a priority next time I’m on the west coast.

    October 15, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, I was a bit disappointed with Bodie, it is looked after now and you can’t enter many of the buildings, so have to look through the glass.

      October 15, 2015
      • That’s a shame. I can understand the desire for preservation since it has so much footfall as a tourist destination but not being allowed in buildings is pretty distancing.

        October 15, 2015
      • Yes, it is and you would think they could at least clean the windows as well. I suspect that eventually they might do it so you can do in a lot more, but right now there are only a few buildings where you can do that.

        October 16, 2015
    • Sue #

      Is Rhyolite looked after like Bodie? Or can you see more….

      October 15, 2015
      • When I was there, back in 2000 though, it was barely looked after. A volunteer custodian was on site living out of an RV but we were free to wander as we chose. Rhyolite’s buildings were deconstructed and moved on to the next “rush” site to be re-erected there, however, so only the most substantial buildings – like the bank – survive along with a house made from glass bottles.

        October 15, 2015
      • Sue #

        Oh, OK, thanks!

        October 16, 2015
      • We were just at Rhylotite a few weeks ago. Rhyolite is pretty much just ruins of buildings. There are a couple almost complete buildings but they are closed off so you can’t enter them.

        October 15, 2015
      • Sue #

        Ah, no photo ops there, then!

        October 16, 2015
      • It is still a really cool place. Depends on what kind of photos you want.

        October 16, 2015
      • Sue #

        Well, that’s true!!

        October 17, 2015
  7. These are strikingly beautiful!

    October 15, 2015
  8. I love this series and the processing you have used. Its surreal almost and eerie seeing a cup and saucer sitting on a table waiting for the person to come and have their tea and they never turned up. πŸ™‚

    October 15, 2015
    • Thank you Karen, it has been fun to play around with the photos, I’ve really been enjoying it, though I’m not getting of my work done. I agree, I love things like this, like they just left and never returned. πŸ™‚

      October 15, 2015
  9. Love spooky atmosphere in these Leanne. Have you seen http://artinentropy.com/? I love his work. These remind me of some of his. I love old places and ruins.

    October 15, 2015
    • Thanks Sherry, Yes, I know his work, I did an introduction on him a few months ago, great work.

      October 15, 2015
  10. great work, Leanne! your edit perfectly fits to the subject in the photos.

    October 15, 2015
  11. Like to share a story. Back in 1953 my mother and I (age 5) went to The Bucket of Blood Saloon in the Virginia City ghost town, south of near Reno Nevada (my mother was there for a divorce) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virginia_City,_Nevada . The piano player played me a song called Sherry. I was thrilled. I found an old horse shoe there.

    October 15, 2015
    • What a lovely story Sherry, sounds like it was a lot of fun, I think there was talk of us going there at some point, but then we went to Bodie instead.

      October 15, 2015
  12. Sorry Leanne. One more thing… http://www.ghosttowngallery.com/ has terrific pictures and info on US ghost towns from the gold rush era.

    October 15, 2015
    • Looks like a great site Sherry, will have fun exploring it.

      October 15, 2015
  13. Wow you’ve really captures mood and drama in these shots. Absolutely beautiful.

    October 15, 2015
    • So glad you think so Desley, it was nice to work out something to do with them. Thank you.

      October 15, 2015
  14. Golly, Leanne…you’ve redecorated the place. I like the feature photo of the small table. Subtle color. Good composition…and a personality of its own.

    October 15, 2015
    • Haha, I have Eric, do you like it? My daughter likes the same one, according to her it is her photo. Thanks Eric.

      October 16, 2015
      • I like the website. I didn’t know your daughter’s also a photographer. πŸ™‚

        October 17, 2015
      • Thanks, my daughter isn’t, I took the photo, but she wants it to put on her wall. πŸ™‚

        October 17, 2015
  15. These are great Leanne – I a

    October 15, 2015
  16. -rats! pressed the wrong button again – sorry! – was just saying I always love your landscapes/seascapes but it’s great to see these other aspects of your work – wonderful atmosphere in both images!

    October 15, 2015
    • Gotta hate it when that happens. Thank you, seems I’ve been hearing from a lot of people who have been enjoying my architecture, who knew.

      October 16, 2015
      • It’s great – do MORE!! πŸ˜€

        October 16, 2015
      • I might have to spend more time in the city this summer it looks like, good thing as there are no snakes in there. πŸ˜€

        October 16, 2015
      • Definitely a plus! πŸ˜€

        October 16, 2015
      • Thank you Jane πŸ˜€

        October 16, 2015
  17. Love the mood you’ve created.

    October 16, 2015
    • Thank you Elen, nice to try something new.

      October 16, 2015
  18. They look like movie sets. Moody, broody images that hint at strange things πŸ™‚

    October 16, 2015
    • Yes, I was thinking that too, I like that though. I hope that means you approve Marilyn. πŸ™‚

      October 16, 2015
  19. They are great of course Leanne, but just two how teasy of you!

    October 16, 2015
    • Haha, I have only just started working on them Gypsy, so I am sure there will be lots more. Thanks.

      October 16, 2015
  20. The one of the cabin, you turned the photo into a painting. Very, very nice.

    October 16, 2015
    • Thank you David, that is really good to hear.

      October 16, 2015
  21. See, everything worked out just fine…I do like them both as they are moody, but still loaded with detail.

    October 16, 2015
    • Oh yes, it did, I just needed to spend some thinking about them and then playing. Thanks Robert.

      October 16, 2015
  22. Beautiful processing, Leanne.

    October 16, 2015
  23. You may be disappointed with the images Leanne but I love them.

    October 16, 2015
    • I was disappointed with the originals, but I am really happy how they have come here Colline, and I’m glad you like them too, thank you.

      October 16, 2015
  24. Rich Proctor #

    I like them both, very much!!

    October 16, 2015
    • That’s wonderful to hear, thank you Rich.

      October 16, 2015
  25. you made magic! They are wonderful and moody!

    October 16, 2015
    • I was trying very hard too Cybele, so that is great to hear you think I did. Thank you.

      October 16, 2015
  26. Stanwizzle #

    if you could check on my blog that would be great! awkostacos.wordpress.com

    October 16, 2015
    • Sorry, I don’t do that, I get asked a lot and if I do it then I never have time for other things. I’m sure it is fine.

      October 16, 2015
  27. You went to Bodie! Great! I had a strange feeling walking across this town; as if I wasn’t really alone… yes I’m weird…
    Cy the way did you go to cerro gordo near Lone Pine? Great ghost town too with a guy still living there explaining a lot of stuff about it…

    October 17, 2015
    • I did, I knew I wasn’t, there were people everywhere.
      No, this was the only ghost town I got to. It would have been good to visit others. That one sounds incredible.

      October 17, 2015
  28. Grand shots, Leanne. If these are not your favourites, I’mm looking forward to seeing the ones that are.

    October 25, 2015
    • Thank you, I do like them, but I like a lot of them as well, I don’t know what my favourites will be in the end.

      October 26, 2015
  29. Amazing photos. Love them ☺

    October 25, 2015

Comments are closed.

