Skip to content

A Thank You to My Sponsors

new-york-city-tourist-7637

For my trip to the USA I was loaned and given many wonderful things. It was fantastic to get so much support. I think it is time to go through what I was given and talk about how I found them.

Private Sponsor

Of course the first person I need to thank is the wonderful person who made the whole trip possible. I know they want to remain anonymous, but I can’t do a post like this and not say thank

henry-cowell-redwoods-santacruz-mountains-4590

Tamron 15-30mm

you with all my heart. I was given such an amazing gift and experience that no words will ever be able to say enough. I hope they felt that I took the most of it and enjoyed the photos that I took a long the way.

Tamron Australia

I have had a lot of support from Tamron over the last year and when I told them about my trip it was no different. I was asked what lenses would I like to borrow and was allowed to use both. I chose the 15-30mm 2.8 lens and the 28-300mm lens.

The 15-30mm is an incredible lens and so good for doing architecture. I know that I would not have been able to get the image of the ‘Freedom Tower’ like this one if I had not had it. The wide new-york-city-tourist-7696angle makes it perfect for architecture. I didn’t use it a lot, but when the situation arose where it would be good I was very happy that I had it with me.

The 28-300mm was my go to lens for the whole trip. If I was heading out the door and only wanted to take the camera with one lens it was the one that was put on the D750. I loved the versatility of it. How I could do a bit of wide angle, but also so I could zoom in. It was with me everywhere. Without a doubt the best focal length lens I had for the trip. Now I’m starting to wonder if I shouldn’t get the lens for myself.

If there was one thing I didn’t like about it, that would have been that you got vignetting at the 300mm end. It wasn’t bad, but noticeable. I just learned to work with it, or crop it out.

So my thanks go to Tamron for allowing me to use their lenses on my trip. It was a great experience and I never felt that I wasn’t covered with the lenses.

Lowepro

I was given a Lowepro Pro Runner II AW 350. When I first got it I thought it was small. How was I going to fit what I needed into it? However once I started packing it I seemed to find space for

sailing-water-san-francisco-bay-3068

Tamron 28-300mm, JOBY GorillaPod

everything, with some left over. I took two camera bodies, 4 lenses, my laptop, and various smaller items with me. It all went in that bag.

I weighed it just before I left and it hit the scales at around 8 kilos. It was heavy, but when I was wearing the bag it didn’t feel like that. It was such a comfortable bag to have on your back, that the weight didn’t seem an issue. It certainly was the right bag for my trip.

Thank you Lowepro for allowing me to use one of your bags for my adventure.

JOBY

I was loaned a gorrillapod from JOBYΒ and I loved the flexibility of it, what I could use it for and where. You really can use them anywhere. I had it wrapped around the top of rail to take photos

sanfrancisco-bridge-usa-1580

Tamron 28-300mm

of a sunset one night. I had the camera on it for the Flatiron building. You can put it anywhere. I started just taking it with me, just in case. It is something that I want to have permanently in my kit now. I can’t believe I have been doing photography for all this time and haven’t had one before.

I also used a UltraFit Sling Strap while I was away. It was fantastic. I’ve never used a strap like this and it was so easy to swing the camera around to take photos. Very simple and I didn’t lose any hair while using it. The current strap on my D800 often pulls my hair out when I’m trying to take photos.

Great products and I want to thank JOBY for making me aware of them and I know I will be looking for future items.

Merrell

My Merrell Moab Hiking shoes were just fantastic. They were great in California and I think they saved my feet in New York. I had an idea that I would be walking a lot in NYC, but I don’t really think I had any clue on how big the city really was. It is so big and you walk a long way all the

sanfrancisco-bridge-usa-2142

Tamron 15-30mm

time. My feet just weren’t used to it, I wasn’t used to it. If I had had any other shoes I know my ankles, knees and my whole legs would have really suffered, so I was so grateful that I had very good hiking shoes for the trip.

I love Merrell shoes now, and have just purchased another pair for summer. I think there will always be Merrells in my wardrobe now. Thank you Merrell for looking after my feet while I was away.

Nikon Australia

The last sponsor I need to thank is Nikon Australia. It was a last minute sponsorship, but we got there. They loaned me the Nikon D750 camera and a 35mm lens.

The D750 was fantastic to have. I really enjoyed how easy it was to adjust to and use. It is a little smaller and lighter than the D800 so it was nice to carry around. I love a camera that feels good in your hand and it certainly was.

There were two things I really liked about it, one was the tilt screen. It was nice to be able to adjust the screen in some situations so you could see what you were getting. Like holding the

new-york-grand-central-station-5605

Nikon 24-70mm

camera up high to take photos of something. It was great for using the camera in positions where you couldn’t see through the viewfinder.

I loved, loved, loved the WiFi on the camera. Being able to connect the camera to my phone so I could use those photos for Social Media was a such an advantage. It took a while to get it to work, I have an android phone, but once it was sorted out, I never had another problem. Most of the photos from New York that I put on Social Media were taken with the D750.

I didn’t use the 35mm lens as much as I thought I would. I liked it, but I think I am a zoom girl. I like lenses that have more choice. I know a prime or fixed lens has superior quality, but in the end I didn’t like that I couldn’t use it for many things. It has a lot more limits.

It was a surprise that Nikon would lend me the camera and I was so grateful to them for it. I really enjoyed using it, so much so that my D800 was used very rarely. It was a great camera, and definitely something to consider if I decide to get another one. Thank you Nikon Australia with letting me borrow the camera.

Finally

As I said, such an amazing experience. It was fantastic to do it with so many people wanting to sponsor me and support me while I was there. Β Fantastic really. All the photos I’ve shown before, they were all taken with the Nikon D750 with the lens at the caption.

68 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    That is a great piece! I for one, am happy you had so many insightful supporters to get you to the U.S. Your images are fabulous. I’m glad you mentioned Merrell Moab Hiking shoes… We always tell people going to New York to wear comfortable shoes; one person insisted on wearing flimsy sandals. It turned out to be one of those ‘I-told-you-so’ moments. In New York, a single city block would make 10 city blocks where I live in Jersey. Going to NY you always need more money and comfortable shoes.

    I really enjoyed this post, Leanne.

    October 16, 2015
    • Thank you Jackie, I was a very lucky girl, that’s for sure. Oh no, you have to have comfortable shoes, I really couldn’t have done it with them. It is one of the things that really surprised me, was how big it actually was. Oh, and it was more expensive, I was surprised about that.
      That is wonderful to hear Jackie.

      October 16, 2015
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    A Thank You to My Sponsors
    written by Leanne Cole

    October 16, 2015
  3. Your trip was amazing! I’ve really enjoyed seeing the places you visited both in my home state CA, and NYC. It’s always a treat to see how others see the places I’ve been to a gazillion times, and I really loved your NYC set. I’ve never been there. There’s always somewhere else I want to go more. πŸ™‚

    I love my Merrill walking shoes. I need a new pair as I’ve worn mine out,but I their new line isn’t as nice looking so I’m hesitating before purchasing another pair. My hiking boots are a different brand that LOVE!

    I’m wondering if you’ll try Nikon’s 28-300mm to see how it compares with the Tamron? Years, and years ago I had the 18-200mm VR, but haven’t had a super zoom since moving to Full Frame back 2010. While on vacation with family I’ve thought it would be nice to have one again though.

    October 16, 2015
    • Thank you Deborah, it has been wonderful to see how many people enjoyed following me and my adventures. I have been quite surprised by how people have loved the NYC ones, I was a bit worried as I haven’t been doing a lot of archtiecture lately, but it seems I should get back to it.
      I love my Merrells as well. they are great shoes. Haha, I hear you on the new line, though I’ve never been too worried about what things look like as long as they are comfortable, well within reason that is.

      I am hoping to try the Nikon 28-300mm, they are a bit busy at the moment with the digital show, but it would be nice to compare them. I really enjoyed the Tamron one while I was away, and loved using it, so I don’t know.

      October 16, 2015
  4. Amazing photos. Looks like you had a great trip!

    October 16, 2015
    • Thank you Jesse, yes, I did, it was incredible.

      October 16, 2015
  5. great photographs! Looks like you have visited the two same cities that I have this year!

    October 16, 2015
    • How amazing, they are great cities, did you love them as well?
      Thank you.

      October 16, 2015
      • I did! I came back from New York a few weeks ago and couldn’t believe how manic it was. I found San Francisco, when I went in spring, a lot more relaxing! But both great cities!

        October 17, 2015
      • I wonder if we were there at the same time. It is rather busy. I loved San Francisco, a more peaceful city I think.

        October 17, 2015
      • We may have been! Made the mistake of going when the Pope visited and then the UN started their session. I agreed, especially at the beautiful Golden Gate Park.

        October 22, 2015
      • I was there then too, but left the day after he arrived, managed to avoid lots of the closures.

        October 24, 2015
  6. Wow, you were so blessed to get much support, that’s fantastic and you derserve it. I love my Nikon 28-300, my favorite I use it all the time.

    October 16, 2015
    • I was Cornelia, thank you, I tried Dan Shehan’s Nikon 28-300mm and it was very nice. Thank you.

      October 16, 2015
  7. love all these photos Leanne, the last image with the bridge I find I really love its design as its so geometric!

    October 16, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, the Brooklyn Bridge is all about geometric shapes, so it I tried to make the most of it.

      October 16, 2015
  8. Wonderful, wonderful photos .. what a super post to thank your sponsors. πŸ˜€

    October 16, 2015
    • Thank you so much Julie, I hope they like it as well. πŸ˜€

      October 16, 2015
  9. Leanne, these photos are incredible, really stunning. I just look through the gallery and rejoice. Well done, and nice job acknowledging your sponsors. I’d like that 15 – 30 mm, let me tell you, and the Nikon D750. I hope Santa Clause is listening. The Freedom Tower shot is phenomenal. Love how you’re able to dish some of these out of your fabulous collection for our viewing pleasure. πŸ™‚

    October 16, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci. I thought it was about time to do something a little more formal. That lens is fantastic and so is the camera. I love both, great to have a wide angle lens. I like the way you put it, dishing them out, still plenty more to dish out. πŸ˜‰

      October 16, 2015
      • Oh, I’m so glad! They are incredible. The one of the boats was a surprise to me. It’s lovely. After I finish today’s post I’m going to look through them again.

        October 17, 2015
      • Haha, yes, still loads more. Thank you, the one with the boats, I got that one the day I went out with my brother in law and we went sailing.

        October 17, 2015
      • Ah. Couldn’t figure that one out. Thanks!

        October 18, 2015
      • Oh yes. πŸ˜€

        October 18, 2015
  10. Sue #

    You certainly had some great sponsors! And made the most of the gear…

    October 16, 2015
    • I really did Sue, I think I was very lucky. Thank you, I think I did too, well I hope I did.

      October 16, 2015
  11. Wonderful post Leanne. Loved your entire romp through the states. Too bad you weren’t able to come through Iowa. I would have enjoyed meeting you.

    All the best,
    Dave

    October 16, 2015
    • thank you Dave, I enjoyed it too. It was a shame I couldn’t go elsewhere, but maybe on another trip.

      October 17, 2015
  12. great sponsors and great selection of gear.
    i can certainly vouch for what you said about the merrell shoes. i bought a pair of their ‘barefeet’ running shoes a while back as they were on sale, and i have not looked back since, truly fantastic shoes. good to know you are back on your feet again. have a good weekend.
    regards, ken

    October 16, 2015
    • Thank you Ken, I was very lucky to have got loaned some great gear.
      Merrells are the best I think. I didn’t know they did those, I’ve heard they are really good. Thanks Ken, you have a good one too.

      October 17, 2015
  13. Awesome photos and great sponsors

    October 17, 2015
    • Thank you and yes, they were great.

      October 17, 2015
  14. Amy #

    Thank you so much for the reviews of the equipment, Leanne! Glad to know that the 28-300mm was your go to lens for the whole trip and the bag; will look in the Joby. πŸ™‚ Fabulous images. Glad you had such a great time traveling NYC!

    October 17, 2015
    • You’re welcome Amy, it seemed a good thing to do. It was a great lens, the perfect travelling lens I thought. Joby products are fun too. I did, it was fantastic. Thanks Amy.

      October 17, 2015
  15. Lucky you! It was a wonderful trip and I enjoyed following along. Your photos are exquisite. Thanks for sharing them all, or all that you have πŸ™‚

    October 17, 2015
    • Most definitely lucky me, that is wonderful to hear, glad you enjoyed it. Thank you, and you’re welcome, oh, I still have lots more to show. πŸ™‚

      October 17, 2015
  16. Very interesting. I have been wondering about getting a gorillapod as a lightweight tripod I could carry easily. You’ve definitely made me think more about it.

    October 17, 2015
    • I loved the gorillapod and I’m looking forward to trying it out on the rocks at the beach, I like that you can probably use it where you can’t use a tripod. Should be interesting. That’s great RJ, just keep watching, I will report when I use it again.

      October 17, 2015
      • Did you have the magnetic feet? I was looking at the choice in John Lewis.

        October 17, 2015
      • I don’t think so, mine has rubber feet, good for grip.

        October 17, 2015
  17. Glad you enjoyed your trip over here. great shots!.

    October 17, 2015
    • I did, a great deal, a wonderful experience. Thank you.

      October 17, 2015
  18. I was very interested in this post as I am in the middle of deciding what camera or lenses I will take on my trip to California on Tuesday. It is for a wedding but we have time to do some sightseeing. So I was debating with the limited bags I can take, what to carry. You did more wider angle stuff than 300mm I think so of my lenses probably the go to will be the 24-105mm and maybe my 70-300 zoom for the second one. Hoping to get to San Francisco, see seals and do some seascapes!! Or maybe, since I like goat milk, go see the Meyenberg’s 35,000 goats and forget the winery!! πŸ™‚

    October 17, 2015
    • Oh I wouldn’t say I did more wider stuff Judy, I really liked that I could zoom in on things and it was great for places where I couldn’t get close to things, I liked having the flexibility. It sounds like your choice of lenses is a good range anyway. YOu will get a lot with those I wanted 15 all the way through to 300mm. San Francisco was lovely, I’m sure you will love it too. I don’t know about the goats. πŸ™‚ Thanks Judy.

      October 17, 2015
  19. I’ve had many pairs of Merrells and hooray for Tamron, I love my 18-200 lens!

    October 17, 2015
    • I have a few pairs now, they are such great shoes. I’ve heard that is a good lens, very nice. Thanks Gyspy.

      October 17, 2015
  20. Fantastic post, Leanne! I loved seeing more of your images from your travels, and smiled extra big at the ones you took on our outings together (and you sneaky one – I see you managed to get me in Grand Central Station – LOL)! I especially love the photo of the fog-shrouded Golden Gate! Oh, how I would have loved to have gotten a shot like that when I was there. And the reflection of Freedom Tower – just beautiful!

    I’m off to NYC tomorrow just for the day – I’ll be thinking of you ❀

    October 17, 2015
    • Thank you Stacy, oh no, I didn’t even realize, I should look at my photos more closely. lol. I was so happy when I say that the bridge had fog on it, though I think what we really got was low clouds. Still really cool.
      I love that you are going for the day, I look forward to seeing what you get. I’ll be thinking of you too.

      October 17, 2015
      • Hahaha, no worries. I love it :). I’ll give your regards to NYC! I’m on the bus now, just getting on the highway … πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ˜ƒ

        October 17, 2015
      • Thank you, that would be nice, do you think NYC will remember me? Have a great day. πŸ˜€

        October 17, 2015
      • Yup, how could it not πŸ™‚ You too!

        October 17, 2015
      • πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        October 17, 2015
  21. great work.love the reflective stuff

    October 17, 2015
    • That’s great, thank you Martin.

      October 17, 2015
  22. Love your photos and this post, Leanne. How wonderful to be appreciated and show yours.

    October 18, 2015
    • Thank you beeblu, I thought it was a good way to say thanks.

      October 19, 2015
  23. Wonderful and beautiful shots Leanne! You really captured so many iconic landmarks just beautifully! It is evident that it was a great trip!

    October 18, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, I tried to get as many as I could, time was against me though in a place with so many.

      October 19, 2015
  24. Am a huge fan of your work Leanne. Your photographs are beautifully and your work is very inspiring. Thanks and keep clicking!!

    October 20, 2015
    • Thank you, what a wonderful thing to read, great to get that sort of feedback. I think you can count on that.

      October 20, 2015
  25. Great plugging. Excellent sponsors. Good for you!

    October 26, 2015
    • Thank you, thought they deserved it.

      October 26, 2015

Comments are closed.

