Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Early Morning Around the City of Melbourne

melbourne-early-morning-architecture-8640

Since my return a couple of things have happened, one is summer has come very early here and it looks like the snakes are awake, so I don’t want to be going anywhere where there might be any. ย I have to work out what to do for the next 6 months basically.

The other thing has been how surprised I’ve been to see what people have thought of my architecture shots from New York. I used to do it a lot, but have moved away from it in the last year or two and now I’m starting to wonder if I should be getting back to it.

So the plan for this summer is to do more coastal work. Go to the beaches and such and see what I can do. The other plan is to explore more architecture around the city and maybe in some country towns as well. I love what some of those towns have. So with that in mind the other morning I caught the train into the city and met up with a friend on the steps of Parliament House.

melbourne-early-morning-architecture-8619

The plan had been to see if we could get a sunrise there, but the sunrise was a bit pitiful, so we had to be happy with just taking photos. It was nice to be able to take photos of this building with no one else around. Such a grand building, shame it is for politicians.

melbourne-early-morning-architecture-8615

This was actually the first image I took. It is the top of Bourke Street and Parliament House is behind me. The city was starting to wake up.

My friend had to go to a meeting so I wondered around on my own.

melbourne-early-morning-architecture-8665

This image was taken a couple of minutes after my MM image on Wednesday. It is a different spot but if you look closely you can see there were lots of people around. The Formatt Hitech filter I used really helped to get rid of all those people in the other image. I am going to have to do more.

melbourne-early-morning-architecture-8708

I couldn’t pass up the cakes in the Hopetoun Tea Rooms window. Not too many, but again, one of the lovely things about early morning is that there are hordes of people around. Melbourne is becoming a very busy city. I think with our dollar doing so badly it is becoming a cheap place to visit.

melbourne-early-morning-architecture-8741

I finished off at the Melbourne Town Hall. Another great building, oh and yes, another built for politicians, but at a lower level. It is rather stunning, and a great example of what Melbourne did during the gold rush.

It was nice to just wander around and I think the comments from the last couple of days have been enough to help me get out of the funk I’ve been in in the last couple of weeks. I’m getting excited about things again. I also went into the Digital Show yesterday and met many of the people that helped me with my gear for my trip. It was lovely to talk to them and see them face to face. I got to see lots of new products as well, which was really nice.

I have some more photos for you now, as I usually do. I hope your weekend is wonderful and you get lots of photography done. All the images were taken with the D800 and the 24-70mm lens.

67 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Leanne, you made me laugh.

    “Such a grand building, shame it is for politicians.”

    We feel the same here in the U.S. as well.

    October 17, 2015
    • Haha, they are unbelievable, their comfort always comes before everyone else’s. The problem with letting people have public money, or ours.

      October 17, 2015
  2. “shame it is for politicians”. Can’t agree more, apparently you also have grand housing for the ignorant who believe they know what is best. Indeed your architecture photos are excellent!! Yours is easily the best photo site I visit on a regular schedule, Leanne.

    October 17, 2015
    • Thanks John, I guess it is what happens when you let people control public money. Nice to see people are enjoying my architectural shots. What a great thing to say, thank you so much for that.

      October 17, 2015
  3. A nice reminder of Melbourne, thanks Leanne. We have just been there but for only a day and a half to recover from jet lag or I would have tried to meet you for coffee. Loved Hopetoun Tea Rooms, too, but we resisted the many temptations except to photograph!

    October 17, 2015
    • I know that feeling ardysez, I completely understand the problem with jetlag. I have never had any of the treats in the tea rooms, I really want to try one so those raspberry tarts, one day. Thank you.

      October 17, 2015
  4. nice pictures

    October 17, 2015
  5. A great set of images, Leanne!!!

    October 17, 2015
    • Thank you Robyn, a bit strange photographing Melbourne again.

      October 17, 2015
  6. The Parliament building is wonderful…pity about the inhabitants! We have a federal election here, after what seems to be the longest campaign ever, things might change. The Ottawa Parliament buildings are also beautiful. Politicians have never been shy about spending on their surroundings…
    Looking forward to more architecture shots!

    October 17, 2015
    • Yes, a great pity. That is so true, they do like to build gorgeous buildings for themselves, shame about the rest of us. I hope the election goes the way you want.
      I hope a lot more, thank you.

      October 17, 2015
  7. The NYC architecture shots were fabulous. Don’t give up on this genre.

    October 17, 2015
    • Thank you, I am thinking I need to explore it more.

      October 17, 2015
  8. Your architectural photos are always stunning, Leanne! Loved the N.Y. shots too. And Melbourne looks like a very beautiful city to visit…sometime in the future. Have a great rest of the weekend.

    October 17, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, it is a great city, thanks to the gold rush we have some gorgeous buildings here. I hope you do get to visit, Melbourne is quite a city. thanks and you have a good one too.

      October 17, 2015
  9. Lovely architectural shots – Melbourne is a real gold -mine for architecture – especially with so much Victorian/Edwardian stuff around. They didn’t stint on the decoration then. Town Hall particularly nice. Perhaps B&W comes into its own with most architecture? Des.

    October 17, 2015
    • Thank you, and yes, thanks to gold it has those buildings. They certainly did, they did some amazing things, I love the details as well. Maybe, but I also love the colour of the stone as well. Who knows Des.

      October 17, 2015
  10. Beautiful photo. The columns look massive in a small capture!

    October 17, 2015
    • They are massive really, love columns in front of buildings. Thank you Yaz.

      October 17, 2015
  11. I do love your buildings, Leanne! So I’m excited to see more. But I love all your subjects, so feed your artistic soul. That one with the blurred train is really cool. The parliament building and town hall are my favorites. Sorry about all the tourists hitting Melbourne.

    Isn’t it an amazing feeling to be in the city before other people are out and about? The light, the quiet, then the gradual increase in activity.

    October 17, 2015
    • I will do that Nicci, it is great to get back to doing architecture, nice to see that people enjoy it as well. Haha, love the blurry tram too. Not much we can do, have to believe it is good for the city, so will put up with it, I just have to get in there early.
      Oh yes, I love that, you watch the city waking up. Should have done more in New York. Thanks Nicci.

      October 17, 2015
  12. Ironic that many of the beautiful buildlings are for the use of politicians. At least we can appreciate them for their history and architectural design. Love the angles you used, Leanne.

    October 17, 2015
    • It is isn’t it, that’s what happens when you let people be in charge of public money, they spend it on themselves. That’s true, thank you, that’s good to hear.

      October 17, 2015
      • So very true. I was just at a school reunion and I saw that the principal had spent up on her new office, lining it with expensive furnishing! Whilst the kids had crappy old desks….

        October 18, 2015
      • It is crappy when that happens, our schools are most public, so they can’t do that, they would get into trouble, but who is going to tell off the politicians.

        October 19, 2015
      • Unfortunately this was a public school where the P& C clearly did not veto the decision. The State Education department in Queensland has given so much autonomy to State School Principal, including the right to hire and fire etc. But you are right about telling off the politicians. We don’t always have a voice to do that.

        October 19, 2015
      • I thought it must have been. No, choice there, that’s for sure.

        October 19, 2015
  13. Your posts always make me want to go out and explore the world! Thanks for sharing

    October 17, 2015
    • That is great to hear Sophie, I will have to do more, I hope you are doing it. You’re welcome and thank you.

      October 17, 2015
  14. Gorgeous photos as usual Leanne. ๐Ÿ™‚

    October 17, 2015
    • Thank you Suz, I hope all is well with you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      October 17, 2015
  15. What a great city!

    October 17, 2015
    • Oh, I think so too Gypsy, my city, I love it.

      October 17, 2015
  16. Sue #

    Love the rush of green of the tram in the Bourke Street image, Leanne, and the cakes look most enticing!

    October 17, 2015
    • Thank you Sue, the trams are such a big part of Melbourne. I am sure those cakes are, I will have to try them one day.

      October 17, 2015
  17. Love the shots of the cakes in the window. Inviting me in. Have a wonderful weekend, too. Love the 24/70. My go-to lens, when you can take only one.

    October 17, 2015
    • Thank you Ruth, great window to photograph. It is a great lens, I love it too. Though after using the 28-300mm, mmm, I’m undecided now. You have a good one too.

      October 17, 2015
  18. Great set of pictures; looks an interesting place to visit if it wasn’t so far away. Even just for the cake shop!

    October 17, 2015
    • It is a great place, but you are right, we are a long way away from most of the world. You never know, I got to go to the US, so you may get to come here one day.

      October 17, 2015
  19. Wonderful photos. I couldn’t take my eyes off the Parliament House (with columns) its such an outstanding photo. Usually, as you know, I like landscapes. But – this is magic.

    October 17, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, our parliament house is quite amazing, and very impressive. Glad you enjoyed seeing the photos of it.

      October 17, 2015
  20. This is my first time visiting. Your photos are wonderful. My favorites are of the food (maybe I’m hungry?) but I love the feel of the light in them. The other fav is the one where you captured lines from the lights of cars or train. The others are also very good, these are just caught my fancy. I’m still a very elementary photographer with quite basic equipment, so I appreciate your blog.

    October 17, 2015
    • Welcome to my blog. Thank you for saying that. I love photographing the cakes in that shop, they feature here quite a bit. Oh yes, the tram going by, great effect. We all start somewhere, same place really. It is a great thing to be doing, hope you continue to enjoy it like I do. Good luck.

      October 18, 2015
  21. I do enjoy looking at the photos you take of architecture Leanne – it allows me to see things I haven’t seen before.

    October 18, 2015
    • that’s so good to hear Colline, seems I should get back to it. Thank you, I will have to see if I can do more for you.

      October 18, 2015
  22. Fantastic! You are so clever!

    October 18, 2015
    • I don’t know about that, but I had fun, thanks Julie.

      October 18, 2015
  23. I esp love the motion shot!!! and I’m always up for cakes and tarts at the tea room!

    October 18, 2015
    • I loved the motion shot too, trams are very good for getting them. Oh yes, the cakes and tarts again, lol, thanks Cybele.

      October 19, 2015
  24. in567 #

    Wow, those desserts look crazy delicious.

    October 18, 2015
    • People line up to try them, so I think they must be, mind you, I’ve never tried them, must one day. Thanks.

      October 19, 2015
  25. It’s great I love it please check my bloghttps://alwaysdifferent.wordpress.com/ ๐Ÿ˜€

    October 20, 2015
  26. amy #

    Oh, that tea room window!! And the Parliament House hallway with the columns… You’ve got such a great eye for details!!

    October 21, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say Amy, thank you so much, it is great when you have good things to photograph.

      October 21, 2015
  27. The raspberry tarts look yummy x

    October 21, 2015
    • Thanks, I’m sure it is too.

      October 23, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings: Early Morning Around the City ofย Melbourne | mike

Comments are closed.

