Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bit and Bobs: Getting in the Swing of it

melbourne-sunset-night-river-buildings-122

This last week has been very busy and it looks like the following week is going to be even busier. That’s not a bad thing, but it is always a little crazy when it is like that. I will be going out to take photos on a couple of those occasions, so that will be relaxing.

Dynamic Range Magazine

All the articles are nearly finalized and it is about time to start putting it together. I have a new person doing that with me and we don’t know a lot, but I know with determination we will get melbourne-sunset-night-river-buildings-105there. We hope to have the front cover for you to see soon. Β It is going to be another great edition.

We are also working on a new logo, which a dear friend is doing for me. So far I love what she has done.

Subscribing

I’ve had a few people ask me about subscribing to the magazine. I’m not offering that as yet. I wanted to make sure that I could do the publication and get it out to people. I know the first few are always going to be the hardest. I do hope that early next year we can offer that service for melbourne-sunset-night-river-buildings-118those that want to do it. I will have to figure out how to get it to work.

Book on Banyule Flats

I’m still working on that. It is a major project and I don’t think I was quite prepared for it. I have been rethinking some things about it, but nothing major. I want the book to be special, so I really need to research how I go about doing it.

Feeling Down After the Trip

I think I am finally starting to feel a lot better and life is getting very busy again. I do want to do a more in depth post about the trip, I know I keep saying that, but it will take me a bit of time tomelbourne-sunset-night-river-buildings-120 do it and there hasn’t been a lot of that. I will try and see if I can get it done this week. I think it will be good for me as well.

Digital Show

Last weekend they had the Digital Show here in Melbourne. Lots of the big companies in the photography industry were there and I went in. It was great to put some faces to the names of people that I have been dealing with at Nikon, melbourne-sunset-night-river-buildings-121Tamron, Lowepro and Joby. I’m looking forward to working with them in the future as well.

Photos

Today’s photos were taken last year at this time. They are from a later afternoon spent in the city and then into the evening. I love night shots of Melbourne and I knew you wouldn’t mind if I showed them again. It is lovely to revisit my old photos.

Here is a gallery with some of them. I hope you are busy too.

36 Comments
  1. Melbourne is sparkling. You have captured her beautifully!

    October 20, 2015
    • Thank you Jeni, it is great to photograph it.

      October 20, 2015
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Tuesday’s Bit and Bobs: Getting in the Swing of it
    written by Leanne Cole

    October 20, 2015
  3. Wow amazing photos

    October 20, 2015
  4. I really liked the creepy feel of the second photo(alley shot), I dont think I want to go there at night. Also loved the bridge photos with the skyscrapers of course! πŸ˜€

    October 20, 2015
    • It is actually a really popular place and is usually full of people, though at night you can’t walk through it and nothing is open. Thanks Anders.

      October 20, 2015
  5. Lovely photos of Melbourne, Leanne. So beautiful during blue hour. Great timing on capturing the Crown fireballs. Good to hear that you are going out soon to take photos. Not that cold anymore but hopefully it won’t get overly blazing hot either. Good luck with the Banyule Flats book. Sounds like it’s progressing and hopefully it gets finished soon πŸ™‚

    October 20, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, old ones now. I am looking forward to getting out some more. I really hate the heat. It is progressing, we are getting there. πŸ™‚

      October 20, 2015
  6. Sue #

    All the best with your Banyule Flats book, Leanne…and with beating the post-travel downs

    October 20, 2015
    • Thank you Sue, it is passing.

      October 20, 2015
  7. dreamymichaela #

    Hello, Leanne! Your night-time views of Melbourne are magical! With the lights and shimmery reflections of the water. Thanks for sharing those “re-visited” photos. Since such things can be timeless, one can always pull them out again. Funny that you posted archived photos, as that’s what I just did for my most recent post on ziplining. πŸ™‚

    October 20, 2015
    • That is such a great way of looking at it. It is nice to look back too, see what you done in the past, don’t you think? Thank you Michaela.

      October 20, 2015
      • dreamymichaela #

        Yes, exactly! You’re welcome, Leanne. Always a pleasure. πŸ™‚

        October 22, 2015
      • πŸ˜€

        October 23, 2015
  8. gorgeous πŸ™‚

    October 20, 2015
  9. Beautiful photos of Melbourne Leanne πŸ™‚ The street scene looks more like Hong Kong than Australia πŸ™‚ I really like the night photo (121) of the river scene, it’s stunning!!

    October 21, 2015
    • Thank you, really, that’s interesting, I’ve never been to Hong Kong, so I know it can’t be from there. It is a little laneway here, very cute, if that is the right word. Thanks, that’s good to hear. πŸ™‚

      October 21, 2015
  10. Some lovely nocturnal shot there, Leanne!

    October 21, 2015
    • Thank you Graham, great time to take photos.

      October 21, 2015
  11. Busy to the extreme…getting a stockpile of shots taken before winter sets in.

    October 21, 2015
    • That’t good to hear Robert, I keep forgetting that winter where you are is harder and that you can’t always get out to take photos. It doesn’t get that cold here, well, not compared to where you are, so we can still always get out. It is summer that is hard here.

      October 21, 2015
  12. I know the magazine will be a smashing success! Best of luck putting things together. Beautiful night photos!!

    October 21, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, we think it will be too, this next issue looks like it will be just as good if not better. Thank you.

      October 21, 2015
  13. amy #

    I love the night shots!! So many colors, and the reflections..

    October 21, 2015
    • That is one of the things I love about night photography, and you end up with things that you don’t see, amazing. Thanks Amy.

      October 21, 2015
  14. Wow, the night shots are amazing, so sharp and full of colours.

    October 21, 2015
    • Thank you, love the night shots too, great time to take photos.

      October 21, 2015
  15. Hey Leanne . Wonderful images .. Melbourne pops in your photos! You are such a busy person πŸ˜€

    October 21, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, you know how much we love Melbourne, was out and about there again today.

      October 21, 2015
  16. Your night time shots are breathtaking, Leanne. Best of luck with all the work you’ve got on your plate – luckily, much of it sounds really wonderful and creative and like just the thing for you! πŸ™‚

    October 22, 2015
    • Thank you Reggie, it will get done, but perhaps not as quickly as I would like. I hope so, I think the magazine is coming together really well, but I think we lack marketing skills, so that will be the next thing. πŸ™‚

      October 23, 2015

Comments are closed.

