Skip to content

MM 2-29: Monochrome Madness

Sometimes the week just rushes by and I think at the start that I will be on top of it, but then things start to pile up and then I realize it is time again for Monochrome Madness. So to start I need to apologize because I haven’t responded to your emails. I think I need an assistant.

The next theme of clouds will be the week after next. Looks like we already have heaps of entries, which is great to see. I have to find an image yet, but if I don’t take one I know I have lots in the archives that I can find and use.

Shall we take a look at this weeks MM?

new-york-grandcentral-sunbeams-monochrome

I’ve been playing around with Photoshop again. Here is another image from the Grand Central Station or Terminal. I showed you a similar image to this last week. It was such a lovely empty space, I just want to keep working on images from it.

Don’t forget all the instructions on how to enter your own images are at the bottom of the post.  If you have entered an image then please remember to check your image in the gallery, scroll down and see if anyone has left you any comments.

Don’t forget all the instructions on how to enter your own images are at the bottom of the post.  If you have entered an image then please remember to check your image in the gallery, scroll down and see if anyone has left you any comments.

Monochrome Madness each week and if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be low res, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it’s before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it’s after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.
  • Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it. Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.

69 Comments
  1. Extraordinary! 💚

    October 21, 2015
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    MM 2-29: Monochrome Madness
    written by Leanne Cole

    October 21, 2015
  3. Wow, this is just getting better and better. Amazing images .. beautiful and interesting. Your image is so amazing … how the light comes through the windows and play with the room. Excellent job all of you.

    October 21, 2015
    • I have to agree Viveka, the images coming in are wonderful, shows so much talent out there. Thank you, I had fun playing with that.

      October 21, 2015
  4. The Grand Central Station looks quite magic, wonderful image!

    October 21, 2015
    • I think it is Dina, such an incredible building, thank you.

      October 21, 2015
  5. Love your image this week, Leanne. The light is amazing. And all of the images are interesting and beautiful.

    October 21, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, it was fun playing with that image. I agree, they are.

      October 21, 2015
  6. Wow, what amazing light in that space.

    October 21, 2015
  7. Wow, MM time again…and I’m just a viewer…time flies for sure.

    October 21, 2015
    • It is, and yes, it certainly does, too quickly I think sometimes.

      October 21, 2015
  8. OMG a great photo Leanne, how did you get that without the maddening crowd.. i just LOVE the rays of sunlight shining through the windows… it has so much feeling in this photo. FANTASTIC!

    October 21, 2015
    • Thank you Karen. The area was blocked off, so no one was allowed to go there, just perfect for me.

      October 21, 2015
      • It was meant for you 😊

        October 21, 2015
      • Yep, it was I think lol

        October 21, 2015
  9. Another beautiful photo Leanne. It works very well as a monochrome image. The other photo that stands out as an excellent monochrome image is #25 Eyes to Heart. Lovely series as always.

    October 21, 2015
    • Thank you ardysez, it did work well in monochrome. That is great to hear, glad you like it.

      October 21, 2015
  10. Your photo is stunning in color, Leanne, but I absolutely LOVE it in black and white!! That you not only found a spot devoid of people, but captured that gorgeous sunlit streaming through the windows – wow, wow, wow! Where in the world was this in Grand Central???

    October 21, 2015
    • It did work rather well in monochrome, might have to do some more I think. I think it was lucky that the area was roped off. I think this area was just before you exited, it was on the main level. Thanks again Stacy.

      October 21, 2015
  11. I love the light in the Station, and the fact that you found a beautiful space with no people is amazing.
    It’s one of the places that is on my bucket list should I ever get to NYC. He-Man was there when he was in college, and it’s one of the places we’re considering going to to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary next Spring.

    You’re NYC series is putting it in the top 2 spots for our trip!

    October 21, 2015
    • I was so happy to find a place devoid of people, it was a very hard thing to do in New York Deborah.
      Oh yes, definitely a place to have on your list, and the Public Library, both gorgeous buildings. I hope you go, I’m sure you will love it.
      Thank you, glad you like it and that is wonderful to hear.

      October 21, 2015
  12. web #

    beautiful

    October 21, 2015
    • That’s wonderful to hear.

      October 21, 2015
  13. Love your image, Leanne. So atmospheric …

    October 21, 2015
  14. Magic MM …

    October 22, 2015
  15. Such a great variety of wonderful monochrome images. Really love yours Leanne – the sunbeams are gorgeous in that wonderful space.

    October 22, 2015
    • Thank you Robyn, it was nice. Glad you enjoyed the others.

      October 23, 2015
  16. always fabulous with so many styles!!

    October 22, 2015
    • Thanks Cybele, I do like trying things.

      October 24, 2015
  17. Thank you for liking “Fountain.” Wow, I like your Grand Central Station photo! 🙂 The light coming through the windows is a beautiful sight. There are some nice landscape and flower photos in this gallery too.

    Like you, I am feeling a bit out of the swing of things because I took some time off from blogging. I am trying to catch up with bloggers I have not talked to for awhile, but it has been a slow process because I am still busy doing other things. I hope you enjoy the rest of your week. 🙂

    October 22, 2015
    • You’re welcome. Thank you, I love that light. There are, it is great to see lots of photos like this together.
      I’m so worried that if I took time off from blogging that I would stop altogether. I can imagine how much work it would be, I’m sure you will get back into the swing of it all. Thanks, and you have a good one too. 😀

      October 24, 2015
      • You are welcome too. 🙂 I have missed taking a good long look at the MM photos and the photos in your other posts.

        I also sometimes worry that I will stop blogging completely if I am gone too long. It is a struggle to find some balance and not overwhelm myself with too many things to do.

        October 25, 2015
      • I hope you enjoy getting back into now and looking at what there is each week.
        I know what you mean, I guess it will happen eventually, but I’m not ready to give it up just yet. I think you have to do what you can.

        October 25, 2015
      • Yes, I am looking forward to doing that. 🙂
        I agree. I would like to keep my blog going for as long as I can too. 🙂

        October 26, 2015
      • That’s great to hear, it is good to keep it going. More MM this Wednesday. 🙂

        October 26, 2015
      • 🙂

        October 31, 2015
  18. Beautiful picture ..

    October 24, 2015
  19. Enjoyed the black and white images, especially love your Leanne of th light rays … beautiful!

    October 25, 2015
    • That’s wonderful Ann, thank you, great place to take photos.

      October 25, 2015
  20. beautiful images…i always enjoy looking at your work.

    October 25, 2015
    • That’s great to hear Stephen.

      October 25, 2015
  21. I’ve been away from blogging for about 10 months now, and you have no idea how glad I am to see that monochrome madness has soldiered on! I’ll try to submit some in the coming weeks 😀

    October 25, 2015
    • That sounds great David, I hope you are back now, nice to see people come back to it. I hope all is well.

      October 25, 2015
  22. Number 5 looks like Whitby in the UK! That’s near to home for me.

    October 28, 2015
    • does it, I’m sure the photographer will like that.

      October 29, 2015
      • The whale bone arches are quite famous in Whitby!

        October 29, 2015
      • Now I seem to know something about that, it is a place I would really like to visit one day.

        October 30, 2015
      • You’d get some awesome shots. I have some old black and white film shots I took when I was younger. It’s a very old and amospheric place 🙂

        October 30, 2015
      • Thank you, if you put them up on your blog let me know. 🙂

        October 30, 2015
      • I will. It might be a while as they are in a box in the UK 🙂

        October 31, 2015
      • I’m sure I will still be here. 🙂

        October 31, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Monochrome Madness 2-29 | MyBlog - solaner
  2. Conflicting Interests (MM-2 29) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?
  3. Monochrome Madness 2-29 | Drawing with Light
  4. Back To Basics | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  5. Summer Flowers / Monochrome Madness 2-29 | ArtKorppi
  6. Monochrome Madness 2 29/52 Peek-a-Boo! | Circadianreflections Blog
  7. Century Barn | Eyes to Heart
  8. More Halloween Hop and Tahoe photos | Nicci Carrera

Comments are closed.

