Skip to content

Quiet Thursday

It is time for a bit quiet, well for today anyway. I am just going to show you three photos.

This is from the same series as my MM photo yesterday. It is the main area at the Grand Central Station or terminal. I had originally done it for MM, but then put it all over my social media sites so I decided to do another one for it, but I still wanted you to see it.

Yesterday I was in the city taking some photos with a friend and we were wondering around the lanes looking at some of the graffiti and this is one of things I found. Such a great pig. I can’t help staring at it.

Another photo from yesterday. I don’t normally do street photography, but once I put the Tamron 28-300mm on, I couldn’t help myself. I was snapping people all over the place. I like the story in this image, or rather I think there is a story there. What do you think?

I’m off out taking photos again today, down the coast. It should be fun I think. I’m looking forward to doing some long exposures with my filters. It seems like forever since I took any. I hope you have an interesting day ahead.

70 Comments
  1. Love the graffiti wall πŸ™‚ A favourite subject of mine.

    October 22, 2015
    • Melbourne has great graffiti and not in the usual places, which is great to discover.

      October 23, 2015
      • That’s the appeal. They show up where you least expect them.

        October 23, 2015
      • They do, you really have to look out for it.

        October 24, 2015
  2. Lots of stories, he looks like he’s just had bad news.

    October 22, 2015
    • Yes, I think that is the popular one Gypsy.

      October 23, 2015
  3. I love these… You do well with street photography!

    October 22, 2015
    • Thank you, I was surprised that I actually managed to get anything.

      October 23, 2015
  4. interesting and different pictures I like both b & w photos lot.

    October 22, 2015
  5. Love those light rays, Leanne πŸ˜‰ And so much fun to see a “street” shot in here! Great moment πŸ™‚

    October 22, 2015
    • thanks Stacy πŸ˜‰ oh yes, very different for me.

      October 23, 2015
      • It’s always fun to shake things up πŸ™‚

        October 24, 2015
      • I have to thank the person I was with who wanted to do some, so I had a go. πŸ˜€

        October 24, 2015
      • πŸ˜ƒπŸ‘πŸ»

        October 25, 2015
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    New York’s graffiti is amazing.

    October 22, 2015
    • I didn’t see much of it in New YOrk, this was from Melbourne Jackie, still amazing though.

      October 23, 2015
  7. The image of the pig draws its ‘attracting’ features from the details that seem to be revealed with each new look. There is quite an artist behind that pig. Thanks for sharing, Leanne!

    October 22, 2015
    • I agree Peter, it is very intricate. Great to see you like it.

      October 23, 2015
  8. That last image is so emotional Leanne. They are all good and that light in the Grand Central Station is stunning

    October 22, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, that last image was a great catch, I have to admit I was looking at him when I took it and didn’t really notice her until I got home.

      October 23, 2015
  9. Great pig indeed…Yes, there is a story in each image…it is up to the photographer to walk the fine line between “telling” and keeping the story options open for the viewer to fill in their own narrative…

    October 22, 2015
    • I like that Robert, I think the same, I like that people are trying to interpret the image, but many think the same too. Thanks.

      October 23, 2015
  10. Your photos of Grand Central Terminal have all been superb, almost magical. You certainly capture the architectural majesty of the place. I think you should keep going with street photography as that shot is great. There’s so much implied narrative in it. I love, love, love that pig graffiti. I would have that on my wall.

    October 22, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, it was such an amazing building. I don’t know, I might do a bit more, but I always get distracted by the people. The pig is amazing. I would too.

      October 23, 2015
  11. I love checking out the graffiti in the lanes in Melbourne too. I haven’t seen this giant piggy before. He is very impressive!

    October 22, 2015
    • He is down behind a couple of other lanes, great pig, I think Hosier used to be good, but lots of others are far better now.

      October 23, 2015
  12. He’s either tired or she is reading him some very bad news.

    October 22, 2015
    • Yes, I think many have thought the same Edith, I guess we will never know.

      October 23, 2015
  13. I like the ray of light in the terminal building. What a pig! And that couple at the table. Great shots.

    October 22, 2015
  14. Great photos Leanne – Enjoy your day today πŸ˜ƒ

    October 22, 2015
    • Thanks Robyn, I hope you enjoyed yours as well.

      October 23, 2015
  15. Some of the graffiti artists I have seen are really talented. And that last photo really does have a story. I think she told him it’s over. Either that, or she told him she was pregnant! πŸ™‚

    October 22, 2015
    • I agree, we have some really good ones here too. I wonder, I don’t know, guess we never will, hhaha love the second one.

      October 23, 2015
  16. Lee #

    Like your Graffiti “Pig” πŸ™‚

    October 22, 2015
    • That’s great Lee, such a great pig.

      October 23, 2015
  17. All three beautiful images. And that pig! Great light in the street photo.

    October 22, 2015
    • Thank you ardysez, I need to look for more graffiti I think.

      October 23, 2015
  18. equinoxio21 #

    Like all three. (I have a personal thing for Grand Central, arriving there everyday from upstate NY, looking for a job in the Big apple) The pig is great. I don’t why the young man is sleeping in front of a cute young lady. What a waste. Or maybe she just broke up and he’s crying. πŸ™‚

    October 22, 2015
    • That’s great, I love that station too, such an amazing building. I love the graffiti around Melbourne, and I have no idea what was happening, she was drinking coffee so maybe they were both tired. Thanks.

      October 24, 2015
  19. There are as many stories as there are viewers

    October 22, 2015
  20. Lovely pictures and that pig also tells some story. I liked your concept of Quiet Thursday!

    October 22, 2015
    • Thank you, I like it too, a quiet day for me. πŸ™‚

      October 24, 2015
  21. Like the Graf.

    October 22, 2015
    • That’s great, I like it too.

      October 24, 2015
  22. Grand Central Station is grand in every sense. The pig is quite unique with a lot going on:). Love your posts.

    October 22, 2015
    • I think so too Yaz, it is incredible. That pig is amazing. Thanks Yaz.

      October 24, 2015
  23. Oh, yes definitely there is a story there, well captured.

    October 22, 2015
    • Thank you Cornelia, I wonder what the story is.

      October 24, 2015
  24. I’m not sure it is a good news story…or the boy is very tired – perhaps another coffee would help?

    October 22, 2015
    • I agree, I know what you mean, thank you.

      October 24, 2015
  25. He is sleeping or distressed; I’m not sure. I do like how the light seems to be focused on him. Thumbs up.

    October 22, 2015
    • I don’t know either Eric, I guess we never will. Thanks Eric.

      October 24, 2015
  26. The mural so crazy and cool! Great capture! πŸ™‚

    October 23, 2015
    • It is, it is so amazing, a great piece of art on the walls in the lanes. πŸ™‚

      October 24, 2015
  27. Here on this quiet Thursday I’ve been enjoying your many great posts from the last weeks….
    I couldn’t really believe, when I discovered, that we have been travelling in New York almost at the same time! It seem like you also had a great trip?!
    I was in New York – and in Pensylvania, travelling up along Hudson River through Catskill Mountains and finally ending up in Niagara Falls – 14 wonderful days. I came back a little more than a week ago….
    It was so nice to see all your photos from New York – I’m just beginning getting through my almost 2000 photos now, so it will take some time before I will post photos from my trip……… When you have to go to work and suddenly again is sitting in the middle of all the challenges of everyday life – it can be hard to get energy for photo work, so I enjoy your photos so far instead πŸ™‚

    October 23, 2015
    • That’s wonderful Truels, thank you.
      Really, we could have met, how much fun would that have been.
      It sounds like you saw a lot while you were there. I didn’t see anything outside of New York, but I saw a lot more in California.
      I so know what you mean, I was feeling exactly the same way, but am feeling better now. It is a funny feeling. I am sure you have got lots and lots of great photos. πŸ™‚

      October 24, 2015
      • I am sure there will be photos for some posts about North-Eastern US. After I’ve done some hard work in dark and cold winter-evenings………

        October 26, 2015
      • Sounds great Truels. Look forward to seeing them.

        October 26, 2015
  28. Sensational! Love the pig .. .but that last image – well you could write a book about that! Brilliant …

    October 23, 2015
    • Thank you Julie. We might have to try some street photography the next time you are in town.

      October 24, 2015
  29. He has had a hard days night

    October 23, 2015
    • Yes, maybe, he seems out of it.

      October 24, 2015
  30. amy #

    I really like these! You have such a good eye!

    October 31, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. QuietΒ Thursday | thehipsavvy

Comments are closed.

