Skip to content

USA Wanderings: An Afternoon in San Francisco

san-francisco-walking-pier-bay-4947

When I was staying with my sister in law she took me into the city of San Francisco. The plan was to see a play, Beach Blanket Babylon. We decided to go in early and explore around the piers on the side of the bay, see the play then maybe dinner afterwards.

san-francisco-walking-pier-bay-4903

It is quite amusing that the play we were going to see also have a Boulevard named after it.

From the carpark we walked down the street and headed to the bayside area.

san-francisco-walking-pier-bay-4918

As we were walking there we could see the fog rolling in. So incredible to see fog rolling in in the middle of the afternoon. The sun was still shining, it wasn’t cold, but there was this fog. I’ve never seen anything like it before.

san-francisco-walking-pier-bay-4927

The area around pier 41, Fisherman’s Wharf and another Aquatic area, can’t remember the name of it now. It had lots of things happening and going on. It was good fun to walk around and just watch the people.

I had my first taste of Clam Chowder there. It was so good.

san-francisco-walking-pier-bay-4936

The streets and how steep they were was something I had to take photos of. It certainly didn’t make you want to walk around much.

san-francisco-walking-pier-bay-4980

A photo of Alcatraz. In the gallery at the end you will see another photo of it, but you can’t see it much because it is covered in fog. It lifted a little and you can see it a bit better.

san-francisco-walking-pier-bay-4998

You can see some great architecture as you wander and I especially liked this one of the house with its own trolley car. Β It was the only one I really wanted to go in.

san-francisco-walking-pier-bay-5000

Look at how steep they are, the road looks like it finishes, but it doesn’t.

It was a great day, and I really enjoyed just walking around and seeing things. We had to get back so we could see the matinee performance of the play. More on that tomorrow.

Here is a gallery of the above images and some more from that afternoon. I hope your weekend is looking great and you are looking forward to getting out and taking some photos.

72 Comments
  1. San Fransisco is a wonderful town and I totally love your pictures πŸ˜€ Have a great weekend!

    October 24, 2015
    • Thank you, I think it is too, would be nice to explore it more one day. You have a good one too.

      October 24, 2015
  2. I’m so glad you were in San Francisco and had good weather. It is quite the city!

    October 24, 2015
    • Yes, I think I was very lucky with the weather, had great weather the whole time I was in California, actually the whole time I was in the US> Thanks Angeline.

      October 24, 2015
  3. I totally agree with you, San Francisco is not a place that inspires walking a lot, just too many steep hills. Your photos give a good overall impression of the city.

    October 24, 2015
    • Thank you Ardysez, it is great, I had to walk up a couple, not good. I wanted an app for my phone that would tell me the flattest way to go. lol

      October 24, 2015
  4. Did you get to see “Beach Blanket Babylon”? It’s some pretty zany fare, we’ve loved it. It’s been playing for decades, but like an ongoing, live version of Saturday Night Live it keeps updating its songs and satire for every new scandal and fad.

    October 24, 2015
    • I did see it, it was great, I loved it. Though there were a few things I didn’t get, but it was good fun. It was all about the election coming up for you guys there.

      October 24, 2015
      • It’s OK, there’s a lot about our upcoming elections that WE don’t get either! I’m glad you enjoyed the show.

        October 25, 2015
      • Haha, I can understand that. I did, I thought it was very funny.

        October 25, 2015
  5. Amy #

    A beautiful gallery, Leanne! I remember the delicious Clam Chowder and crabs πŸ™‚

    October 24, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, how good was it? I loved it, now I can’t get anymore. πŸ™‚

      October 24, 2015
  6. I live just outside San Francisco and when I go to the city I forget the car in the parking garage and walk the whole time I am there. You are right the streets are steep, but try driving on a vertical hill and then park. San Francisco is a city for walking, I can discover so much and I get a great exercise just by being on foot.

    October 24, 2015
    • I don’t think I would make it up many of those hills, but I imagine if you lived there you would get pretty fit pretty quick.

      October 24, 2015
      • Yes, it’s a must Leanne to be fit in San Francisco. In fact the majority of San Franciscans doesn’t even own a car. Parking is very expensive and difficult because of the hills.

        October 25, 2015
      • I don’t know about any of that, I was only there for a couple of days, though parking is expensive here too, we use public transport.

        October 25, 2015
  7. San Francisco is very fascinating. I’ve been there many times, but I feel like I haven’t seen anything yet! I bet you could live a lifetime in that city, and still have new things to discover. I read in a magazine that the inhabitants of the city, is among the healthiest in the world.

    October 24, 2015
    • I think it would be like that for any city Maria, I’ve lived in Melbourne for almost 30 years and I’m still discovering new places, I love that that can happen. That’s interesting, maybe it is all those hills. Thanks Maria.

      October 24, 2015
      • I believe you’re right. Not all cities are as captivating as San Francisco though πŸ™‚

        I think that can have something to do with it πŸ™‚ Have an awesome weekend!

        October 25, 2015
      • No, I guess they can’t all be. though I do think Melbourne is.
        Thanks Maria, I hope you’ve had a great weekend too. πŸ™‚

        October 25, 2015
      • Melbourne is on my list! I haven’t had the privilege to go there yet.
        Thank you πŸ™‚

        October 26, 2015
      • It is a great city, I hope you get to come here one day Maria.

        October 26, 2015
  8. I loved strolling around SF. It’s not easy on the knees and ankles given all the steep hills but the architecture is fascinating and the vistas are marvelous. I love that you’ve captured that about the city in your photographs. I’m also glad you experienced the (in)famous fog. I can’t remember if you made it to Alcatraz. That and Chinatown were the highlights of my brief time in SF. I also had clam chowder and ate it while watching the sun set over the Golden Gate Bridge – while my camera was in the car. Ugh. I’m enjoying learning about and seeing more of your travels.

    October 24, 2015
    • I loved the architecture, actually that whole area is quite beautiful. Yes, the fog, so was I, it was great to actually see it, so weird.I didn’t get to Alcatraz, missed out on tickets by one day. Thanks Laura, it was quite a trip. I’m sure there will still be more.

      October 24, 2015
  9. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    USA Wanderings: An Afternoon in San Francisco
    written by Leanne Cole

    October 24, 2015
  10. We are traveling in Europe this week and next and are having a great time but your photos of my hometown have given me an extreme case of homesickness! I’ll be back in time for the MM clouds theme.

    October 24, 2015
    • That is funny, I mean that from the sense that I live on the other side of the world and I’m making you homesick. That’s good to hear, I hope you are having a great trip and seeing some great things.

      October 24, 2015
  11. Fabulous photos and it so beautiful. It will be add into my bucket list. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful weekend, Leanne.

    October 24, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, that’s great to hear, you have a good weekend too.

      October 24, 2015
  12. Love wandering with you, Leanne

    October 24, 2015
    • That’s so good to hear Ruth, thank you.

      October 24, 2015
  13. Such a great city … πŸ˜€

    October 24, 2015
    • It is Julie, have you been there?

      October 24, 2015
      • Sure have, I lived there years ago at Fishermans wharf πŸ˜„

        October 24, 2015
      • Does it look the same?

        October 24, 2015
  14. It’s a lovely place, I visited quite a while ago, and your photos are great! I particularly like the “moody ” ones of/on the water!

    October 24, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny. I only got to spend two days there, it would have been nice to have some more time, but what I saw was great.

      October 24, 2015
  15. Very familiar site from the eyes of a visitor. Thanks

    October 24, 2015
  16. That last photo perfectly sums up San Francisco for me. Beautiful shot.

    October 24, 2015
    • That’s interesting Lisa, thank you.

      October 24, 2015
  17. The photo impresses me very much. I hope I could also experience the delight that catches you on being there:)

    October 24, 2015
    • I hope you do get to one day Yashi, thank you.

      October 24, 2015
  18. Nice selection of pictures Leanne. Love the house with its own trolley car, I wonder if it still works? The steep streets just look crazy!

    October 24, 2015
    • Thank you Katie, I know how cute is that trolley, I want one. It is crazy, bit scary driving around at times as well.

      October 24, 2015
  19. One of those cities that’s always called to me, Leanne, fog or no fog! Strange stuff, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ Have a good weekend!

    October 24, 2015
    • I can understand that, I would go back in a flash if given a chance. Thanks, and you have a good one too. πŸ™‚

      October 24, 2015
  20. Sue #

    Great selection, looks a most interesting place to explore- and I loved the house with it’s own trolley car!

    October 24, 2015
    • It is, I loved it. I love that house too, I live on a hill I wonder if I could have one here. LOL Thanks Sue.

      October 24, 2015
      • Sue #

        πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

        October 24, 2015
  21. I love the boats. And the house with its own trolley car is cool.

    October 24, 2015
    • I think you made good choices, thank you.

      October 24, 2015
  22. These are all so fabulous Leanne! San Francisco is a great city – I love it there! Your shot of Alcatraz is excellent – especially with the fog. The fog there is so magical and creates such amazing visions where ever it falls. Ah the memories of one of my most favorite cities! Thanks for sharing!

    October 24, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, I love it too. I was so happy that I got the fog, it was pretty amazing to see. You’re welcome.

      October 24, 2015
  23. Very interesting group of photographs, really gives you a feel of the place. Especially the fog and the streets – amazing!

    October 25, 2015
    • Thank you RJ, I thought it was a great place.

      October 25, 2015
  24. You saw a lot. Wonderful. What I loved about SF was that a lot of people walked around with their dogs. They were welcomed almost everywhere…that’s not so in most parts of the country. And, bicyclists abundant πŸ˜€. Love their lifestyle. Great photos.

    October 25, 2015
    • I did, though it was a short visit, I can imagine if you were there for longer you would see lots more. Sounds a lot like Melbourne, we have hills, but not quite as steep. I’m told that the US city most like Melbourne is San Francisco.

      October 25, 2015
  25. Great photos. Good luck with the rugby too.

    October 25, 2015
    • Thanks Raewyn. How are you?

      October 25, 2015
      • I’m good now, thanks. I also have my new camera and love it. Life is good now

        October 26, 2015
      • Oh wow so you are like a new woman, that’s so good to hear Raewyn. That’s great to hear.

        October 26, 2015
  26. love the house with it’s own trolley!! We have that same fog further north- I think it’s part of El Nino. Lovely photos of a city I haven’t seen in awhile!!

    October 25, 2015
    • I want the trolley where I am. The fog is so cool. Thanks Cybele.

      October 25, 2015
  27. Great series of San Francisco! I’m kind of surprised you hadn’t had clam chowder before. I guess I take it for granted. Did you have white or Manhatten (Red)? Both are yummy. Did you try it in a bread bowl? With all the walking you surely would have burned off the calories. I usually get a fresh shrimp cocktail with a hunk of sourdough bread when on the wharf. YUM!

    Was the other place near the wharf you were talking about Pier 39? It’s fun to wander around there. There’s so much going on.

    For years, and years He-Man and I both had manual transmissions so when we went to the city- San Francisco we stayed in the flats because those hills are steep, and scary in a 5 speed when you get stuck at a stop sign behind a car.

    I was in the city this morning photographing the sunrise, and hoping the fog would roll in on the Golden Gate Bridge. It went around it. πŸ™‚ Sunrise was gorgeous though.

    October 25, 2015
    • We don’t have it here, well not like that. I had the white one, that seemed more traditional to me. No, not a break bowl, we just got a cup of it.
      No, it was in the opposite direction Deborah.
      I think manual would be hard, really have to know how to do hand brake starts there.
      Glad the sunrise was good at least, thanks Deborah.

      October 25, 2015
      • Ha! They don’t make cars with hand brakes that you ease out to make steep hills easier to deal with when driving a manual transmission. I don’t think too many even remember them! πŸ™‚

        I hope you get to come back to SF and explore more.

        October 26, 2015
      • Really, we have them here, you have to know how to do a hand brake start here. I got very good doing them here, we have a few steep hills, but not as much as San Francisco.
        I hope so to, it would be great to see it again.

        October 26, 2015
  28. Nice photos and story, Leanne. A house with its own trolley car, wow. I didn’t know about that. I’m glad you liked clam chowder. My parents took me to San Francisco when I was a kid and that’s when I had it first the first time. Love it!

    October 25, 2015
    • We found that house as we were walking around. It is great, I loved it, disappointing that I can’t get it here. Thanks Nicci.

      October 25, 2015
  29. Hope you had a tram ride I walked from Fisherman’s Wharf towards Golden Gate and visited Alcatraz – as you can imagine a stark place
    Like your capture of the place

    October 26, 2015
    • No I didn’t jump on a tram, we have trams here, not exactly the same, but still trams. I wanted to visit Alcatraz, but couldn’t get tickets. Thank you Diana.

      October 26, 2015

Comments are closed.

