Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Busy Times Ahead

It seems that I have definitely got back into the swing of things. I’ve been out taking photos, I’ve been busy writing and I’ve been working on the magazine. It is all good, but I do have to remind myself from time to time that it is okay to take a day off.

Digital Photography School

I have had another article published here. This one is about planning and doing research before collins-street-architecture-buildings-melbourne-110you hit a big town or city. It is to help people who can get a little intimidated or overwhelmed when they go somewhere to take photos, like New York. They are tips that helped me, that’s for sure.

Tips for Pre-Planning City Photography When Travelling

It would help a lot too if you could share it on your social media, especially if you like it. ย Thanks.

Dynamic Range Magazine

The magazine is getting a new look or face lift. We have picked the front cover image and nearly collins-street-architecture-buildings-melbourne-111all the articles are finished. So now it is time to put it all together for you, or those of you who want to see it.

It seems the magazine has a bit of a travel theme this time round. It wasn’t something we expected, but we have quite a few articles on different parts of the world, which is really nice.

We have to work on some other things, like our writing guidelines. I guess until we actually do things we don’t know what will work and what won’t. A lot of trial and error. Still I think the next issue is going to be just as gorgeous as the previous one.

One On One Photography Lessons

My 1 on 1’s have been picking up a bit. One of the nice side effects from writing for Digital Photography School and seems to be where many of my new clients are coming from. It is nice. I collins-street-architecture-buildings-melbourne-114love the challenge of doing them and the possibility of meeting new friends. I know one recent client is becoming a friend and she will continue to go out with me after her class. I like that. I think it is wonderful to develop a great group of people that I know and trust to go out and take photos with.

Merrell Shoes

Recently I told you I purchased some new Merrell Shoes, the Maipo Waterpro Shoes. ย OMG they are amazing. I wore them down the coast the other day to take some photos and while the tide was out there was still water on the rocks and I just collins-street-architecture-buildings-melbourne-116sloshed around in it. They were exactly what I had been looking for. I think they will be on my feet every time I go to take photos along the coast this summer. Nice not to have to worry about feet or shoes getting wet.

Twelve Months Ago

The photos today were on my blog twelve months ago. I was trying to get Social Snappers going and we had a day in the city taking photos along Collins Street, one of my favourite streets in the city. I hope you enjoy looking back as well.

25 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Tuesdayโ€™s Bits and Bobs: Busy Times Ahead
    written by Leanne Cole

    October 27, 2015
  2. What is the magazine you speak of ?

    October 27, 2015
    • The Dynamic Range magazine that we started to help promote women’s photography.

      October 27, 2015
  3. Great pictures! All the best to you for all your work.

    October 27, 2015
  4. Love the shots from last year, Leanne. The city certainly has quite a number of cool doors. Love the way you angled the shots. Congrats on the second edition of the magazine. Sounds like a lot of hard work but once again, it is coming along again ๐Ÿ˜€ Also, great buy on those shoes and glad they are a comfortable fit. Nothing like a good pair of walking shoes for photography ๐Ÿ™‚

    October 27, 2015
    • It does, I didn’t realize I had photographed so many. Thank you, we are getting really excited about it coming out, shouldn’t be long now. That’s what I think, they are great, I love that you can walk in water with them. Thanks Mabel. ๐Ÿ™‚

      October 27, 2015
  5. Loved the imposing doors – and reading about and seeing your evident fondness for your city.

    October 27, 2015
    • Thank you, I am very fond of my city, I love it here.

      October 27, 2015
  6. Hi Leanne .. I have this thing about doors. I just love the pic you have chosen for the next DR mag. I wish I lived in Aussie – I would be having lessons all the time and catching up for a yak afterwards ๐Ÿ˜€

    October 27, 2015
    • Hello Julie, yes, doors can be so cool. Thank you Julie, it would be nice to just catch up all the time, I think. ๐Ÿ˜€

      October 27, 2015
  7. Love these pictures. The architecture is so beautiful.

    October 27, 2015
    • Thank you Melbourne does have some nice ones.

      October 28, 2015
  8. Cool face in the final shot!

    October 27, 2015
  9. I knew you’d get back into your life if you just gave it some time…and yes, it is OK to just take some time for yourself.

    October 28, 2015
    • Yes, I think I knew I would too Robert, it is certainly nice to have it back. thank you.

      October 28, 2015
  10. A feast of architecture. Stunning!

    October 28, 2015
  11. Gorgeous photos. Off to read your article and tweet it.

    October 28, 2015
    • Thank you and thank you Nicci, I hope you enjoyed it.

      October 28, 2015
  12. beautiful buildings and doors. love all the textures, geometric shapes and the lovely depth ๐Ÿ™‚

    October 28, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, something about old buildings that are so good for that. ๐Ÿ™‚

      October 28, 2015
      • you’re welcome. your photo of the woman sitting (B/W) is fab ๐Ÿ™‚

        October 28, 2015
      • Thank you Debi. ๐Ÿ™‚

        October 29, 2015

Comments are closed.

