Skip to content

Quiet Thursday

rye-dragon-head-beach-16

For me this is a great post after a busy Wednesday. I won’t talk a lot, but I have some photos to show you. These were all done in the last week and put up on my Social Media sites. I’ve been trying to use Instagram more. Apparently one of the ones you should be involved in right now. I got some tips from an unexpected guest last week and I’ve been managing to grow my followers. I still don’t really know what I’m doing, but I get to look at some amazing photography, that can’t be a bad thing.

The first three are from a trip to the coast last Thursday. We went in search of the famous Dragon’s Head at Number 16 beach. We weren’t sure we would find it, but we did. Β The third image is from Shelly Beach near Sorrento. It has lots of piers. I had fun doing lots of long exposures that day. It is also where I was walking around in the water with my new Merrell shoes.

The last image is from a trip into the city last Friday. We went into the foyer of a building and took some photos. We did ask if it was okay. This is one of the photos I took.

I hope you have a lovely quiet day. Not sure I will, have to move on with the magazine, but all good really.

77 Comments
  1. Don’t you ever get tired of reading comments like “beautiful”, “amazing”, gorgeous”? Yeah, me too. I wish people would concentrate on my photography and not on my looks or personality! Oh, and your photos are not bad! πŸ˜‰

    October 29, 2015
    • Haha, the best comment I’ve had in a long time Emilio, thank you.

      October 29, 2015
  2. Heartafire #

    beautiful photos as always!

    October 29, 2015
  3. Fun doing long exposures — must add to my To Play list!!

    October 29, 2015
    • It is, I like getting out and doing them from time to time. Thank you.

      October 29, 2015
  4. Absolutely beautiful photos. The Dragon’s head is stunning!

    October 29, 2015
    • Thank you so much, it is quite a place, I will have to go there again I think.

      October 29, 2015
  5. I hear sometimes how we are trashing our planet and I do realize that we need to be better stewards and take a longer view of things, but when I see photographs of the places you visit, I really appreciate the beauty of our world. Thanks for taking me places I’ll never see otherwise, and thanks for photographing them as beautifully as anyone possibly could.

    October 29, 2015
    • Yes, I feel the same way Joseph about the environment, we should protect it and preserve what we have left. Thank you so much for what you said, that was lovely.

      October 29, 2015
  6. That first shot is fabulous, Leanne. πŸ™‚

    October 29, 2015
  7. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Quiet Thursday
    written by Leanne Cole

    October 29, 2015
  8. All your photos here are great but I had wow-eyes-on-stalks for that first photo. I love the dynamism and drama of it. Superb. Well done!

    October 29, 2015
    • I love that Laura, brilliant, never heard it before. Thank you so much.

      October 29, 2015
  9. MPH #

    fab photos

    October 29, 2015
  10. ulsterphotosimages #

    One word…….brilliant !!

    October 29, 2015
    • Thank you, I like your word.

      October 29, 2015
  11. Wow, simply spectacular!

    October 29, 2015
  12. Gorgeous images Leanne. The interior shot is extremely well done! πŸ™‚

    October 29, 2015
    • Thank you Adrian, I was really happy with that one. πŸ™‚

      October 29, 2015
  13. Love the dragon and especially love the colours in the pier shot just beautiful ….so serene : )) thanks trees

    October 29, 2015
    • Thank you so much Trees, seemed like a good thing to do, to leave it in colour, muted but still colour. πŸ™‚

      October 29, 2015
  14. A great set of images Leanne! But I especially LOVE the shot of the chair! Fantastic!

    October 29, 2015
    • Thanks Robyn, I don’t normally do images like that, but I might have to try some more.

      October 29, 2015
  15. Beautiful photos, Leanne.

    October 29, 2015
  16. These are excellent pictures! I love how the lines in the last one lead the eye to the back of the hall.

    October 29, 2015
    • Thank you, I was trying to get it very symmetrical.

      October 29, 2015
  17. I did have a lovely quiet day, and it was cold and rainy, so it was spent inside! I like the way you captured the motion of the water, making it look milky!

    October 29, 2015
    • That’s lovely to hear Marland, my day was nice too. Thank you, love the way long exposures do that.

      October 29, 2015
  18. mikew66 #

    Very nice images, The Foyer and the chair has a certain appeal and tells a story

    October 29, 2015
    • Thank you Mike, it was something new for me.

      October 29, 2015
  19. The dragon’s head is wonderful.

    October 29, 2015
    • Thank you Tootlepedal, great place, I will have to visit again.

      October 29, 2015
  20. That foyer – what a space! Maybe not that welcoming, but certainly imposing. It made me look carefully at the balance in the space (and your photograph).

    October 29, 2015
    • Oh yes, definitely imposing, I hope that was good. Thank you.

      October 29, 2015
  21. Instagram is a total mystery to me – but glad you’re mastering it!

    October 29, 2015
    • It is still a mystery to me as well, but I am getting better Sheila.

      October 29, 2015
  22. NNNNNNIIIIIIIICCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

    October 29, 2015
  23. Oh I love the Dragon’s Head!! What an extraordinary geological formation it is. Great to see it from two different perspectives too πŸ™‚ I really like how the shapes in the clouds, in the first and the surf, in the second image echo the shaping of the rock itself.

    October 29, 2015
    • It is that Sarah, really amazing, Thank you.

      October 29, 2015
      • I would never know about some of the amazing places in the world without all the photographers I follow on here!

        October 30, 2015
      • I know what you mean Sarah, I feel the same way about many places I have seen as well, it is wonderful in that respect.

        October 30, 2015
  24. All have the appeal of calm and tranquility…

    October 29, 2015
    • Thank you Sally, I like that about them as well.

      October 29, 2015
  25. Stunning capture and have a wonderful day.

    October 29, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, I hope you had a great day too.

      October 29, 2015
  26. Lovely pictures as always! πŸ™‚

    October 29, 2015
  27. The dragon head is amazing. The interior too. Looks like the chair is floating. I’ve been doing some Instagram, but mostly I look. I followed a lot of people you follow and found some great photos that way! Good luck with the magazine. PS I loved your article in the photography mag. I was asked to do some travel photography for my writing club newsletter. A fellow member reminded me that I did them years ago. I was inspired by your article, so I’ll try it.

    October 29, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci. I’m trying to get better at Instagram, I’ve managed to get more followers which is nice. That’s fantastic, I hope you are going to do it.

      October 29, 2015
  28. Love love Shelley beach. Would love some instagram tips πŸ˜ƒ

    October 29, 2015
    • I’m still not sure what I’m doing, but maybe we can skype in a bit and I can give you some tips.
      Thanks Julie.

      October 29, 2015
  29. Wow! Awesome pics!

    October 29, 2015
  30. Leanne, your photos are always inspiring!

    October 30, 2015
    • Thank you, that is a lovely thing to say.

      October 30, 2015
  31. If ever I wrote a a book, the Shelley Beach photograph would make a great cover, I can picture the story:-)

    October 30, 2015
    • thank you, that is lovely to hear.

      October 30, 2015
  32. That empty chair really speaks to me. I have no idea why. I find it to be oddly eerie.

    October 30, 2015
    • I get what you mean though, there is something about it. Thank you.

      October 30, 2015
  33. Dragon’s Head is my favorite! Very nice! πŸ™‚

    October 30, 2015
    • Thank you Tom, a popular choice I think. πŸ™‚

      October 30, 2015
  34. Dreamy and thought-provoking. Tremendous work, Leanne. πŸ™‚

    October 30, 2015
  35. Just gorgeous Leanne! Just love the waterfall

    November 2, 2015

Comments are closed.

