Skip to content

Something for Friday

Since I stopped doing the Up for Discussion posts I’ve been trying to work out what to do for Friday’s. I like the idea of it not being much, so it might change from time to time and perhaps you will never know what will be here. My unpredictable day.

I’ve been out quite a bit taking photos and I do try to take some photos with my phone when I go, but I have to admit I often forget. I have used it a few times in the last week, so I thought I would show you a few of those photos.

Some are from my day down the coast last week. You can see from one what I was walking through with my new Merrell shoes. The others are from the city.

One of them is the old GPO building in the city, or part of it. We walked in there with our cameras and were told that we couldn’t use them to take photos, we said but we don’t want to photograph the clothes, we just want to take photos of the building. He said we couldn’t, but we could take photos with our phones. Seriously H&M, what is the difference?

I really don’t like H&M now, their policy sucks, really. ย I certainly won’t be going in their again until someone else is leasing the building.

I will leave you with the photos. I’m off to take more photos. ย I hope you have a great day.

40 Comments
  1. Interesting post, Leanne. I’m in the process of writing a post that focuses on pictures I’ve taken with my phone. I remember growing up thinking how awesome it would be if you could always have a camera with you that was small and easy to use, one that allowed you to have pictures immediately. Turns out if you wait long enough things happen.

    October 30, 2015
    • That’s true, and they do get better and better, though I still prefer my DSLR, but the phone is fun, and you can do a lot with them which is nice. Thanks Chris.

      October 30, 2015
  2. Policy trumps common sense. Shame on you H&M.

    October 30, 2015
    • Pretty much what I was thinking.

      October 30, 2015
  3. I’ve been asked/told not to take photos in stores and malls before both in the US and Europe. Really? Love the shot of the building on the pier. Cheers!

    October 30, 2015
    • Yes, I’ve had the same thing happen, but when they take up shop in what is or was a public building it is a bit tough, especially when you can’t take photos with a camera, but you can with your phone, that is what got us, what is the difference.

      October 30, 2015
      • Yeah, I’ve seen this also. You can use the phone but not a camera. I’m not sure why…so odd.

        October 30, 2015
      • It is extremely odd, it is still a photo.

        October 30, 2015
  4. I went in there for the first time the other day and was so overwhelmed by all the stuff and noise and lights that I turned around and left. Their photo policy is seriously odd.

    October 30, 2015
    • I think that sounds like a sensible thing to do Anne, I think their policy is seriously odd too, doesn’t make any sense. Thanks

      October 30, 2015
  5. I wonder if they allow phone photos because they know they can’t prevent them from being taken anyway. Also, they would be thinking (naive though this is) that photos with a phone are not ‘professional’ or likely to be used that way. The thing I have noticed is that more and more often Museums are now allowing photos to be taken of exhibitions, as long as you don’t use flashes. The Hermitage Exhibition going on in Melbourne at the moment allowed photography and I was truly shocked. So, for a non-discussion post, Leanne, you have garnered some discussion!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    October 30, 2015
    • Maybe, but you would think they would just accept that people are going to take them and let them use cameras as well. Very naive if they think that way I think as well. Yes, it is nice when you can take photos, and I always respect the no flash rule, people who still do it ruin it for everyone.Thank you Ardysez, I didn’t even think of that. ๐Ÿ™‚

      October 30, 2015
  6. Stunning picture !!!! B&W is so beautiful

    October 30, 2015
    • Thank you, I don’t often do B&W for photos from my phone, but that was fun to do, might have to do more.

      October 30, 2015
      • Yes maybe I also take sometimes in B&W !!!! Not for all the pictures but sometimes streetphotography thats also fun to do !!!!
        Have a nice weekend โ˜บ
        Greetz Nancy

        October 30, 2015
      • I agree, sometimes it is nice to change them.

        October 31, 2015
  7. What a stupid response from H&M. I can’t see the difference.

    October 30, 2015
    • I can’t either Debra, it really doesn’t make sense.

      October 30, 2015
  8. Love your monochrome pier image, Leanne.

    October 30, 2015
  9. Beautiful photo.

    October 30, 2015
  10. Can’t stop phones’ ubiquity; cameras look like cameras looking. I guess.

    October 30, 2015
    • Yeah, but they are still all photos, at the end of the day, it is different to say you can’t take photos period, but then they have trouble with people taking photos with their phones and can’t stop them.

      October 30, 2015
      • Exactly. You can’t stop people from breathing. And phones are basically an eleventh finger now; “cameras” harken back to another world, I think, in both place and timeโ€”and the impulse “to control” still exists..

        October 30, 2015
      • Very true.

        October 31, 2015
  11. Love that dockside shot. Calming perspective and composed just right. Thanks, Leanne. ๐Ÿ™‚

    October 31, 2015
    • Thank you, that’s great to hear. ๐Ÿ™‚

      October 31, 2015
  12. Idiotic photo policy…just because they can…

    October 31, 2015
    • I think you’re right Robert, just because.

      October 31, 2015
  13. Well your phone certainly gives you good clear photographs. The rest of course is down to you and they are all intersting and very good.

    October 31, 2015
    • It does sometimes, depends on the conditions really. Thank you RJ.

      October 31, 2015
  14. The pier, very excellent.

    October 31, 2015
  15. I keep bumping into weird company rules all over the place. I think they make them up as the go along.

    October 31, 2015
    • I think you might be right Marilyn, they often don’t make sense.

      October 31, 2015
  16. Wonderful .. Loving your phone Leanne ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    October 31, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, that’s great to hear.

      November 1, 2015

Comments are closed.

