Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Monterey Bay Aquarium

usa-monterey-bay-aquarium-4243

What do you do when you only have a few hours left in one place or with some people? Go to Monterey and see how much you can see.

Before going to my sister in laws in the afternoon to stay my friend and I decided that we would get up fairly early and go down to Monterey and maybe go to the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

I’ve heard so much about this aquarium since my husband had visited it on his trip there ten years ago. If I could find the time to go I really wanted to see if it was a possibility. I thought the time had run out and then my friend said, let’s just go. So we did.

I have already shown ย you the jellyfish photos I took there, but I thought today I could show you what else I saw. There is something very calming about watching fish swim around, or the sea otters, I think that is what they were. I love the glass dome that had waves going over it. It was all great.

It wasn’t easy to photograph and the photos aren’t great, but hopefully they will give you an idea of what was there. If you are ever in Monterey you should see if you can get to the Aquarium it is amazing. Maybe you have already been and can tell us about your adventure there.

Here is a gallery with some of the images I took at the Monterey Bay Aquarium. ย Have a good weekend.

36 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    USA Wanderings: Monterey Bay Aquarium
    written by Leanne Cole

    October 31, 2015
  2. I think they are gorgeous photos, Leanne!

    October 31, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, it is a great place for photos.

      October 31, 2015
  3. We have wonderful memories of the Monterey Aquarium! The surrounding stores are also fun and we love to take a window seat at the El Torito Restaurant just down the block. Sometimes we’ve seen sea otters playing or dolphin swimming around.

    October 31, 2015
    • That’s wonderful to hear Jan, I didn’t see much of the stores, I just had to see the aquarium and go. I was amazed at see the sea lions everywhere, that was very cool. Thanks.

      October 31, 2015
  4. Thank you for these photos, I visited USA with my family 20 years ago and the visit to the Monterey Aquarium was a highlight for us all.

    October 31, 2015
    • You’re welcome Trish, I wonder how much it has changed since you went. It is a great place, I’m glad I listened to my husband and went. Thanks.

      October 31, 2015
  5. You are right. It is not easy to photograph, but you did a great job. I love the picture that looks like broken glass. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you got to see the Acquarium. It is lovely. ๐Ÿ™‚

    October 31, 2015
    • Thank you Marsha, I think that one is water goes over the outside of the glass, like you are inside a wave, it was a really cool effect. ๐Ÿ™‚

      October 31, 2015
  6. Nice! I would like to go to a big seaworld again, I was at one of the seaworlds long time ago. I do not know if this one is bigger or smaller though :-). Really like the photographs y

    October 31, 2015
    • I don’t know either, but it is a really good one. Thank you Anders, you might have to find another one to go to. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 1, 2015
      • Is it closing?

        November 2, 2015
      • No, no, sorry, I meant you might have to find an aquarium to go to.

        November 3, 2015
  7. You are amazing .. There will only be one Leanne Cole!

    October 31, 2015
    • Haha, I don’t know if that’s true, but thank you for thinking it might be.

      November 1, 2015
  8. Wonderful, I love aquariums!

    October 31, 2015
    • Thanks Gypsy, I love them too, this is a good one.

      November 1, 2015
  9. poppytump #

    Fish always look so ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Lol … everyone should visit an aquarium and see an underwater world close up .. this one looks rather special I have to say Leanne . Gorgeous teal blues and greens and silvery shoals .

    October 31, 2015
    • They do don’t they, I hope they aren’t unhappy there though. I think it is Poppytump, my husband was right to rave about it. Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 1, 2015
  10. I think the photos turned out quite well.

    A solid selection of photos as well.

    October 31, 2015
    • Yeah, they are okay, but when you look really close, not so good, but thank you.

      November 1, 2015
  11. Great shots! I love public aquariums (and the ones in our home)! ๐Ÿ™‚

    November 1, 2015
    • Thanks Tom, I love them too, I think they are great for education. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 1, 2015
  12. I love aquariums and this post has made me determined to visit one as soon as possible.

    November 1, 2015
    • That is great, I hope you enjoy it. Thanks.

      November 1, 2015
  13. I sometimes think our visitors get better pictures than we who always live here. You see things with new eyes ๐Ÿ™‚

    November 1, 2015
    • I don’t know about that Marilyn, you can keep going back, I have to get it all in one visit and it isn’t possible. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 1, 2015
  14. Great photos. My daughter and I went to our aquarium here and her cell phone took better photos than I did. The lighting was very, very poor

    November 1, 2015
    • that can happen, I’ve taken my macro to our and it was terrible, the lighting often is and the reflections can be a nightmare.
      Thanks Raewyn.

      November 1, 2015
  15. I loved your aquarium photos Leanne. Great work.

    November 1, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. USA Wanderings: Monterey Bayย Aquarium | bookswrittenbyyashi

Comments are closed.

