Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Street Art in the Lanes

melbourne-lanes-street-art-graffiti-8929

Whenever I meet people to take photos who don’t really know Melbourne or the city, the places they want to see are where all the graffiti or street art is. They are very popular. The place that most people know about is Hosier Lane, but there are lots of other places too. You really just need to look, or know people.

melbourne-lanes-street-art-graffiti-8803

Duckboard Place and AC/DC Lane have some fantastic street art in them as well, so we headed there. It had been raining and the reflections were an added bonus, not to mention how much it brightened up all the artwork.

melbourne-lanes-street-art-graffiti-8885

It is like a U-shape and you walk around it. It doesn’t look like it goes all the way around, but if you don’t go you will miss some great work. I suspect it won’t be so great in times to come as many new restaurants are being planned for there. We all know that means it will change the lanes and the restaurants will push away the reasons the lanes were popular in the first place. The graffiti artists will have to move elsewhere.

melbourne-lanes-street-art-graffiti-8966

Hosier Lane just isn’t the same anymore. It was once a great place to sample what Melbourne had to offer, but with the tagging and such, it isn’t nearly as pretty. You can still see some fun stuff there, but I would go to other lanes for great street art now.

melbourne-lanes-street-art-graffiti-8986

Tools of the trade I suppose. We watched an artist planning and working on his piece. I will have to go back and see what the end result was.

melbourne-lanes-street-art-graffiti-9098

Creative differences. One guy thought the other guy was taking up too much room and left him with almost none. I have to say I agreed, the guy was taking up way too much space.  It was fun to hear them ‘discussing’ it.

I’m going to leave you with a gallery now. I hope you will agree that Melbourne does have some outstanding street art. I hope it is something that won’t disappear from the streets.

61 Comments
  1. Fantastic art, Leanne

    November 1, 2015
    • It is Cornelia, nice to use the camera and share it.

      November 1, 2015
  2. Hope your weekend was great, Leanne!

    November 1, 2015
    • It has been Fabio, thank you. Hope yours has been as well.

      November 1, 2015
  3. Great series, Leanne. When we lived in Australia and visited Melbourne, I took the street art tour and it was fascinating. Took hundreds of shots. Shame about the tagging but our guide, an artist, seemed to accept it as part of the impermanence of street art. But, I agree, it’s sad to see it happen. At least they didn’t tag the Banksies out of respect!

    November 1, 2015
    • I haven’t done a street art tour, though I have seen them. It is easy to take heaps of shots, I did the same. I’m not so sure about it, it is like someone writing their name on another piece of work. I understand the painting over it, and doing something else, but just tagging to ruin someone else’s work is nice. Thanks Jane.

      November 1, 2015
  4. Great collection Leanne. The lanes are really interesting. I like the set of spray paints too.

    November 1, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, they are, I love exploring them.

      November 1, 2015
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Those are different than I have seen – really unique. Very nice!

    November 1, 2015
    • They do some great work here in Melbourne, I have to say, glad you liked it Jackie, thanks.

      November 1, 2015
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend Wanderings: Street Art in the Lanes
    written by Leanne Cole

    November 1, 2015
  7. Enjoyed these – vivid photographs and some talented artists there. AC/DC Lane? That made me smile…Angus not so Young these days!

    November 1, 2015
    • That is fantastic, I’m glad to hear that. Yes, they named a lane after them, I think they are the most successful australian band ever. We are very proud. That’s for sure, but he still wears his school boy outfit. lol. Thanks.

      November 1, 2015
  8. I love the shot of the puddle! What a dream to get to walk in the alleys with walls of art – wonderful! So much talent.

    November 1, 2015
    • The puddle was fun. It is lovely, we are spoiled for it here, we have some amazing street art. Thanks Robyn.

      November 1, 2015
  9. Very cool images, Leanne!

    November 1, 2015
    • Thanks Shawn, though the credit should go to the street artists I think.

      November 1, 2015
  10. I always appreciate street art when it’s well done. In an upcoming post, I will be sharing some murals I found in a small town in North Carolina.

    November 1, 2015
    • I agree, we have some great stuff here, I look forward to seeing it.

      November 1, 2015
  11. lensaddiction #

    It’s a shame the taggers are ruining Hosier Lane, it was fabulous when I was there five years ago. I kept looking and found some other worktucked away down some other lanes but didn’t get the. Names of them

    November 1, 2015
    • It is really, there used to be a guy that oversaw it, but he got offered a job in the US, we need him back. There are lots of places to see it, I think it is one of those things where you have to know where to look. If you come back I will give you some tips.

      November 1, 2015
  12. So cool, beautiful photos!

    November 1, 2015
    • Very cool, happy to see you liked them. thanks.

      November 1, 2015
  13. Great pictures of eye-catching street art! Very interesting to see, and easy to understand why these lanes are popular attractions.

    November 1, 2015
    • Thanks Tiny, easy when the art is so incredibly. They are very popular, though some more so than others, but that is more because of who knows about them.

      November 1, 2015
  14. I enjoy street art. Thanks for showing me some of Melbourne’s.

    November 1, 2015
    • It is great, and that’s wonderful that I could share it with you Sherry, thanks.

      November 1, 2015
  15. This is nothing but cultural vandalism, and for those extolling its virtues ask yourself “would I like this on my house wall?”
    I note that these vandals never spray their own, or their families residencies!

    November 1, 2015
    • Absolutely, if it is good and done well, it is art, I would love it. I would love to build a wall and have an artist do something on it, but don’t think I would be able to afford it.
      They do it in places where it is acceptable, and it does a lot for tourism in Melbourne, it is very popular and people love going to see it. So while you might think it is bad, you attitude is very old hat, and doesn’t help with bringing tourists to Melbourne.

      November 1, 2015
      • I am sorry that you find my attitude “old hat,” its just that I was brought up in an era where we were taught to respect the property of others, not abuse it. I suppose that does rather make me look somewhat old fashioned.
        As an aside, the photographs are excellent.

        November 2, 2015
      • But they aren’t abusing it, they are painting where they are allowed to do it. I don’t like the graffiti on trains and such, and since the city gave them places where they could express themselves it has stopped a lot. It is accepted that people will do it, and if you give them places to do it, then everyone is happy. It is becoming a thing in Melbourne, where is the street art. People want to see it. It is good for business.

        November 2, 2015
  16. Wow amazing. Enjoyed it.

    November 1, 2015
    • Great to hear. Thanks Rupali.

      November 1, 2015
  17. I don’t think there’s been a time when the art I’ve seen in the alleys has been bad.

    With that being said, all the stuff here is excellent.

    It’s a shame that some if it is going to disappear.

    November 1, 2015
    • It is wonderful, I love seeing what people come up with, it is amazing.
      It is, though that is the nature of it, though it usually disappears because someone has painted over it.

      November 2, 2015
  18. Very creative artwork. Murals are big in our area, the more realistic, the better. They are well-planned, not spontaneous like these seem to be. It’s amazing when let go, anybody can paint, that you get such beauty and variety. Great art show, Leanne. 🙂

    November 1, 2015
    • Yes, they are planned, I see the artists when they are painting and they have things they are following. I think these would have been planned Marsha, too detailed. Thanks Marsha, glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      November 2, 2015
  19. I love how the lane changes every time we visit. I’ve been there twice since you took me there and it’s been different each time.

    November 1, 2015
    • That is one of the great things about it, nothing is ever there long. There are so many great lanes, some exploring needs to be done I think. Thanks Carol.

      November 2, 2015
  20. A Nordic Twist #

    Great and interesting series of vivid and colourful images. Thanks for sharing and have a great Sunday!

    November 1, 2015
    • You’re welcome good to hear that you liked them. thanks.

      November 2, 2015
  21. I like the shot with the paint cans!

    Last spring I was in New Mexico and visited with a young man who was a street artist; I asked him if he planned out his work or sketched it up on paper first; he said he “let the paint” tell him what the images needed to be. (He also declined to be photographed…)

    November 2, 2015
    • I couldn’t believe how many there were, they must go through a bit of paint.
      Most of the ones I’ve seen have drawings that they follow. I don’t think there is anything wrong with that, I would want a sketch too. Thanks Melinda.

      November 2, 2015
      • I’d have to have a sketch, too. Probably gridded out so I could get it to scale!

        November 2, 2015
      • I would too, better to know what you are doing too.

        November 2, 2015
  22. Reblogged this on Living and Lovin.

    November 2, 2015
  23. it’s so colourful and great whimsy with some!! I like your perspectives too.

    November 2, 2015
    • thank you Cybele, great thing to photography.

      November 2, 2015
  24. Very interesting and very special for us on the other side of the globe. You have developed it in to a totally independent, yet “regulated” and varied exhibition. That “discussion” between the artists must have been interesting indeed. The photos of them in action make a lot of difference. BTW, do you have to ask them for permission to use their photos, or are the rules for taking photos of people in Australia very liberal?

    November 2, 2015
    • It is a bit like that, I don’t know how regulated it it, but it is certainly becoming acceptable.It was an interesting discussion. The rules in Australia are basically if you are in a public place you have no right to privacy, so you can be photographed or filmed, but I think the images can’t be used for commercial purposes. Thanks.

      November 3, 2015
  25. Great photos. Graffiti art is a very interesting subject! Nice to see the city provided space for it. It is interesting that even when it borders on vandalism, the artists themselves have rules and ethics that they follow.

    November 3, 2015
    • It is good, and it is good for the city too I think. They do, well not all of them, but I think there is a mutual respect there. Thanks Doug.

      November 3, 2015
  26. I like the roses the most.

    Tagging sucks.

    November 3, 2015
    • Interesting Nicci, always good to hear what people like.
      I do too, totally, thanks.

      November 3, 2015
  27. Reblogged this on Aloada Bobbins and commented:
    Leanne is a photographer out in Australia and I love looking at all the images she posts. She runs the weekly Monochrome Madness for photographers to share black and white shots (that I’ve been lucky enough to feature in twice), but her own own photography is amazing. For my final reblog of the weekend, here’s a colourful post showcasing street art in Melbourne.
    *Please visit author’s site to comment!*

    November 9, 2015
  28. OneBusyMama #

    Saw a reblog by Haylee from Aloada Bobbins! Love the post and LOVE the photos!!! 🙂

    November 10, 2015
    • Welcome to my blog, and thank you so much. Melbourne has some great street art.

      November 10, 2015
  29. Lovely post! I just love street art. Thanks for sharing!

    November 11, 2015
    • It is amazing how popular it is, I love it too. Thank you.

      November 11, 2015
  30. Wonderful post of lovely photograph from your beautiful Website Thank you

    November 14, 2015

Comments are closed.

