Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs

steavensons-falls-marysville-waterfall-morning-073

It has been a crazy week, but also a very satisfying one. I’ve been concentrating on getting the magazine finished and trying to finish articles for Digital Photography School. I got asked to write a post for someone else which was nice.  I was also interviewed, which was fun. So good week really.

Dynamic Range Magazine

Tsteavensons-falls-marysville-macro-morning-076he publishing date we have fixed for this is Novemeber 10th, so next Tuesday. Australian time of course. So I hope you are all ready to purchase the second edition.

I don’t mind saying that I think it is even better than the first one. We are still finding our way with the layout, but it is
looking really nice. It is looking very steavensons-falls-marysville-waterfall-morning-069spacious and the photos look incredible. We are hoping to get the cover page done today so we can start showing you what it is going to look like.

I also need to find out how to market it. It is not something I am very good at. It is one thing to produce it, but how to get word out about it, well that is another thing. I thought this blog would be good for that, but seems most people aren’t interested in the magazine, so I need to find another way of marketing it. If you have some ideas, love to hear them.

Dynamic Range Magazine on Social Media

We started a Facebook for Dynamic Range Magazine and if you are interested in following it, the link is also there.  You can keep up to date with what is happening there. I will get better at doing things on it.

We hare also on Instagram and you can follow us there on this link, DynamicRangeMagazine. We are hoping to encourage women photographers to #dynamicrangemagazine or put @dynamicrangemagazine with the opportunity of being black-spur-rainforest-trees-morning-059featured on the page. It is small now, but we hope it will grow. All I have to do now is work out how to share the photos on the page. I’m sure I will work it out.

Being Interviewed

I was interviewed by Nikon last week about my trip to the US, and my photography in general. I’ve never been interviewed like that before, actually I’ve never been interviewed before, so itblack-spur-rainforest-trees-morning-067 was quite exciting. I couldn’t sleep the night before, I was so worrried I would say something really stupid. I didn’t thank goodness. I think the interview is going to be featured in the Nikon digital magazine. Hopefully they won’t decide that I was too boring.

I am doing a podcast next week. I will give you more details on that then, but thought I would mention that I am being interviewed live about the magazine. Hopefully that will help with getting the word out there about how good it is.

Photos

That has basically been my week so far. Busy as always, but good busy. I have some older photos for you today. They were taken 12 months ago on a trip to Marysville. I haven’t been there in a while, so it’s been nice to look back. I hope you enjoy seeing them again.

41 Comments
  1. Congratulations to you on everything! A truly wonderful week!

    November 3, 2015
    • Thank you Lois. I think it has been too.

      November 3, 2015
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs
    written by Leanne Cole

    November 3, 2015
  3. Leanne, you are doing amazing good work, keep on walking that path, it will take time as you know to get successful. I had ordered the first issue, but somehow in the midths of being busy and going on an overseas trip I must have lost the download. Is there a way to get it back, or let me rephrase that is there a way to subscribe to the magazine and how much is that. It must be all very exciting for you, I totally support you in bringing out and honoring women photographers work.

    November 3, 2015
    • Thank you Cornelia. I will, yes, it always seems to take time, but hopefully heading in the right direction. I will have to look into it Cornelia, I will have to check the records. I haven’t set it up for subscriptions yet, I don’t know how to do that yet, and I wanted to make sure that we could produce it first.
      That’s wonderful to hear, thank you so much for the support.

      November 3, 2015
  4. Congratulations on being interviewed. I am sure you said quite a lot of insightful things about photography and your work. Not everyday you get interviewed by Nikon or get that kind of exposure 😀 Lovely set of photos. I really like the last one. Love the way the light falls over the trees and those shadows. Good luck with the podcast. It shouldn’t be that nerve wracking now 😀

    November 3, 2015
    • Thanks Mabel, I hope I did, I think I talked too much. No not every day, hopefully it will be good exposure, will see. Thank you, I hope so, though it is live, so I better watch my p’s and q’s.

      November 3, 2015
  5. Just my thoughts, I would have loved a print version of the mag instead of digital version, Best Sharon

    Sharon Greenaway

    November 3, 2015
    • You can always print it out Sharon, but with a budget of zero, this is the best we can do. I don’t know how we would have distributed it world wide if it was print. It was just never going to be possible. We would have have needed thousands of dollars to do that. Sorry you don’t like the digital version.

      November 3, 2015
  6. Well done on the interviews. The experience is a good thing to add to your tool kit! Can’t wait to see the 2nd issue of DR finished!

    November 3, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, it is good, though not sure how often I will be interviewed in the future. It is looking amazing, can’t wait for everyone to see it.

      November 3, 2015
  7. I admire what you are trying to do Leanne. Isn’t that one of the wonders of the digital world ~ as you said, doing hard copies of this would be prohibitively expensive. I am sending you a link to a magazine that was established by a guy who, like you, wanted to carry out this project. You may get some marketing ideas from his work, and he seems like a pretty approachable man. You may be able to exchange ideas, etc. Have fun!
    http://thetextileblog.blogspot.com.au/p/inspirational-magazine.html

    November 3, 2015
    • Thank you so much Anne. It would be impossible to do it if we had to print it, we cover our costs, but not much more, hopefully that will change. thank you so much for the link, I will have to study it and, yes, perhaps contact him and ask him some questions.

      November 3, 2015
  8. All your hard work is really starting to pay off Leanne. Well done!

    November 3, 2015
    • I hope so Carol, it would be nice to feel like I was moving forward.

      November 3, 2015
  9. I’m so glad you’re finally getting some of the credit you so richly deserve. I’m very happy for you 😂😂😀

    November 3, 2015
    • Thank you so much Marilyn, I hope so too.

      November 3, 2015
  10. It all sounds very exciting!

    November 3, 2015
    • Yes, slowly things are happening.

      November 3, 2015
  11. poppytump #

    Much more than bits and bobs Leanne 😉 Congratulations … a Nikon interview .. fantastic ! Looking forward to the next edition of DR .
    Enjoy the rest of the week x

    November 3, 2015
    • Yes Perhaps Poppytump, so much happening. Yes, an interview, thank you, it is looking fantastic, I hope everyone else agrees when they see it. 🙂

      November 3, 2015
  12. You boring? Never! Whizzing through to FB and Instagram now ..

    November 3, 2015
    • Haha, you are too kind Julie, really. thank you.

      November 3, 2015
  13. Oh congrats on the Nikon interview 😃

    November 3, 2015
  14. Sounds like it has been pretty exciting!

    Also, the photo of the flower is amazing.

    November 3, 2015
    • It has been a bit, and a bit different which is nice.
      Thank you.

      November 4, 2015
  15. Emma #

    Congratulations! You’re doing amazing work 🙂

    November 4, 2015
    • Thank you Emma, lovely thing for you to say.

      November 4, 2015
  16. Wow, Leanne!! A wonderful week indeed! Congratulations on your interview. How fun is that? And a podcast?? How DO you do it all??? I’ll be sure to follow on Instagram and Facebook. And lovely pictures, as always 🙂

    November 4, 2015
    • Thank you Stacy, it was fun, weird too, I’m usually the one asking the questions. Yep, a podcast, am a bit nervous about that.Thanks, that would be great. 😀

      November 4, 2015
      • You’re gonna rock it, Leanne 🙂

        November 4, 2015
      • I hope so, don’t want to sound like an idiot on air. haha.

        November 5, 2015
      • Nope, that’ll never happen 😃👍🏻

        November 5, 2015
      • Haha, let’s hope. 😉

        November 5, 2015
  17. Beautiful photos.

    The Nikon interview and the podcast is an acknowledgement someone has taken notice of your photowork, and are impressed. My daughters have been interviewed a few times regarding their equestrian pursuits. Though they’ve said they may have talked and laughed too much during the interview, they were quite taken by the finished piece.

    November 4, 2015
    • Thank you David.
      I hope so David, I think I’m still not absolutely comfortable with that sort of thing, I hope I can get used to it. That’s great about your daughters, yes. I’m looking forward to seeing what they say about me. Thanks again.

      November 4, 2015
  18. Sounds like a great week Leanne 🙂
    You rock!!

    November 4, 2015
    • It has been Robyn, very interesting. Thanks.

      November 5, 2015
  19. Congrats, Leanne. I’ll be waiting for the second issue.

    November 7, 2015
    • Thanks Elen, you won’t have to wait long now.

      November 7, 2015

Comments are closed.

