Skip to content

MM 2-31: Theme Week – Clouds

It is the beginning of the month and it is time for our theme. Lots of great entries again and I’m sure you will enjoy them.

We have to find another theme for next month. It will be the start of December and while that usually means Christmas, I don’t know that we really want a Christmas theme so soon. Maybe we can do a sort of theme, and then each week have a different theme until Christmas.  Not a bad idea, tell me what you think.

For the first week of MM in December we will make the theme bells, or bell. Your interpretation.

banyule-silos-long-exposure-monochrome

A long exposure with the clouds behind the silos. I took this shot quite a while ago and never did anything with them. When I couldn’t find anything for today, I remembered them. So this is my interpretation of clouds.

Don’t forget all the instructions on how to enter your own images are at the bottom of the post.  If you have entered an image then please remember to check your image in the gallery, scroll down and see if anyone has left you any comments.

Don’t forget all the instructions on how to enter your own images are at the bottom of the post.  If you have entered an image then please remember to check your image in the gallery, scroll down and see if anyone has left you any comments.

Monochrome Madness each week and if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be low res, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it’s before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it’s after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.
  • Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it. Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.

47 Comments
  1. Superb as usual!!!

    November 4, 2015
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    MM 2-31: Theme Week – Clouds
    written by Leanne Cole

    November 4, 2015
  3. Amy #

    Ooops… I thought I emailed you last weekend.
    Great cloud collections, Leanne. 🙂

    November 4, 2015
    • I don’t know Amy, I do miss some from time to time. I did try to look, but the problem with the theme one is that I get emails all month long for them.

      November 4, 2015
      • Amy #

        That’s okay, Leanne. Just want to let you know that I did one for the clouds. 🙂 I just forwarded the email to you, maybe you can take a look… Not to worry about it. 🙂

        November 4, 2015
      • No, I think it’s good that you said something. I hate it when I forget people or miss their emails. I will have to be extra careful.

        November 5, 2015
  4. Great to learn about this series. I’ll try and participate asap

    November 4, 2015
  5. What a great collection. So many different cloud formations.

    November 4, 2015
    • It is, there are so many, it is great to see how everyone interpreted the theme.

      November 4, 2015
  6. too many to comment on each- but each one spectacular!!

    November 4, 2015
  7. Reblogged this on DUTCH PHOTOS and commented:
    Like it a lot being part of the Madness!!!
    Thanks Leanne for still allowing me on board 😉

    November 4, 2015
  8. I had forgotten I had sent you a photo Leanne. Thank you including it.

    November 4, 2015
    • It was a while ago, so I understand that. You’re welcome, anytime.

      November 4, 2015
  9. An excellent variety.

    November 4, 2015
  10. Reblogged this on WoollyMuses and commented:
    Leanne Cole’s ‘Monochrome Madness’ plus one of my BWs. Well worth a visit to the LCP Blog.

    November 4, 2015
  11. I have some great cloud pictures. I love your choices. I hope I make the deadline! We’ll see. 🙂

    November 4, 2015
    • Sorry Marsha, once the post is published, that is it. I don’t keep adding photos. There is always next week. 🙂

      November 4, 2015
  12. Fantastic Mono, easily my favourite of photography disciplines. 🙂

    November 4, 2015
    • I think a lot of people feel the same way, glad you like it. 🙂

      November 4, 2015
  13. I’ll say it again. Clouds can really make the difference in a B/W landscape.

    November 4, 2015
    • They certainly can, and I don’t think you can say it too many times.

      November 5, 2015
  14. Thanks for posting this compilation, Leanne. 🙂 I was just mentioning to Cybele Moon how much cloud cover can contribute to a photograph. 🙂

    November 5, 2015
    • You’re welcome, oh yes, I think clouds can make or break a good photo. I love them. I have a massive file with lots and lots of cloud photos, so if I don’t get the ones I want, I add them. 😉

      November 5, 2015
  15. These cloud shots are full of awesome. Congratulations to all!

    November 7, 2015
  16. That is a huge Wow from me!

    November 7, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Monochrome Madness 2-31 | MyBlog - solaner
  2. Clouds | Half a photograph
  3. Sunset Beach | Rainy Day Reflections
  4. Monochrome Madness | The Snow Melts Somewhere
  5. Monochrome Madness 2-31- Rows and flows of Angel’s Hair | the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter
  6. Clouds Clearing… | Bulent Celasun's Blog
  7. The Theme Clouds / Monochrome Madness 2-31 | ArtKorppi
  8. MM 2-31: Theme Week – Clouds | mazeepuran (माझे e-पुराण)
  9. Head In The Clouds | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  10. Eyes in the Sky | The Shady Tree
  11. The Tail End | Eyes to Heart
  12. Clouds seen from a Tank Station | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?
  13. Monochrome Madness 2 31/52 Clouds | Circadianreflections Blog
  14. Monochrome Madness 2-31| Clouds | Drawing with Light

Comments are closed.

