Skip to content

Something for Friday

It is another wet day here in Melbourne. A good day to stay home and write. I have more articles to write for Digital Photography School and I’ve been asked to write a post for someone else, which is always nice. I may have mentioned that already.

Speaking of Digital Photography School another one of my articles was published today:

10 Tips for Better Landscape Photography

Please take a look and share it on your social media, that would be great.

It seems we live in a world of share share now. Everyone is sharing on Social Media. It is wonderful looking at amazing photos. I get so many ideas.

Today I have some more photos for you that have been on, you guessed it, my Social Media sites, many Instagram and Flickr. I will write captions for them so you can see where they were. I hope the weather is nice where you are.

35 Comments
  1. Love, love that shot of Southbank reflected in the windows, Leanne. That is the kind of special ‘eye’ it takes to get a different perspective on things we see every day.

    November 6, 2015
    • Thank you Ardysez, I walked out a door I had never walked out before and there it was, I had to take a photo.

      November 6, 2015
  2. Great article Leanne. Some of these tips I have already learned from you and I try to put them into practice. I think my photography has improved and I am very pleased with the photos I took on our last holiday. All thanks to you!

    November 6, 2015
    • Thank you Carol, I’m sure that isn’t all true, but thank you for saying it. I love your photos from your trip.

      November 6, 2015
      • I have definitely been learning lots from your posts.

        November 6, 2015
      • That is good to hear Carol, thank you for letting me know.

        November 6, 2015
  3. Love the pier shot and the colors used…

    November 6, 2015
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on Parent Rap and commented:
    Something for Friday written by Leanne Cole

    November 6, 2015
  5. Love that pier. So calm. I can feel the quiet.

    November 6, 2015
    • Thank you, it was a lovely old pier.

      November 6, 2015
  6. I particularly like the pier exposure. Nice perspective, and the way you have the top of the rail perfectly in line with the horizon. So lovely, and the calming effect is obvious. Thanks for your lovely photos. ~Carol

    November 6, 2015
    • Thank you, seems lots of people like that one, which is great. You’re welcome Carol, great that you like them.

      November 6, 2015
  7. Your 10 tips made me feel so much better … except that I just have not been able to make friends with my tripod. I keep it handy, just in case I have a sudden urge … but so far, my poor pod is alone and neglected in the trunk of the car. It has been in several trunks. I keep it close. Just in case.

    November 6, 2015
    • Haha, you aren’t alone with the trip, there are lots of people that feel exactly the same way. Thanks Marilyn.

      November 6, 2015
  8. poppytump #

    Good tips and reminders together with accompanying photo examples Leanne .
    It’s so true a tripod can be restricting, but for me it really does help with slowing down to check everything is right with camera settings , focus etc before taking pictures . I liked you comment re taking flower/plants giving them space to breathe and see their growing environment .
    It’s Friday … hope you’ve a lovely weekend planned. I’ve just worked out my camera has been gathering dust for 18 days ! Must remedy that 😉

    November 6, 2015
    • Thank you Poppytump, It can be good for that, and I’ve heard others say that, I get a bit frustrated with it, but if you have to use it, well, no choice really, I won’t sacrifice ISO so I can hand hold though. I like space, I think it can be nice.
      Not sure about the weekend yet, hoping to get out and get a sunset, maybe the aurora if the world is nice to me. Sounds like you need to do some dusting and get out and use that camera. 🙂

      November 7, 2015
  9. The 10 tips are very, very helpful. Some of the things I’ve dne sort of automatically, intuitively (such as finding lines with fences, etc.), but I’ve waffled definitely on bringing that second lens out with me..

    November 6, 2015
    • That’s great to hear, yes, not only do you need to bring it with you, but also changing it as well. Good luck with that. Thanks.

      November 7, 2015
  10. Gorgeous shots Leanne. The one of the bridge is fantastic.

    November 6, 2015
    • Thank you, I love that bridge, one of my favourites.

      November 7, 2015
  11. Good article – especially tip #1…not everything happens at eye level,,,

    November 6, 2015
    • So very true, I think lots of people forget that. Thank you Robert.

      November 7, 2015
  12. Love the reflection on the window, it look like a painting and awesome capture, Leanne.

    November 7, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, it was really weird glass, so the reflection was weird.

      November 7, 2015
  13. Super images Leanne .. Congrats on the article in DPS 😄

    November 7, 2015
  14. Gorgeous images Leanne 😀

    November 7, 2015
  15. Great images – esp the reflection – but I love the wharf best!

    November 8, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, very popular one that wharf, so wonky.

      November 8, 2015
  16. beautiful scape to your imagination

    November 8, 2015
  17. Love the lines and texture contrast of the pier photo 🙂

    November 10, 2015
    • That’s lovely, thank you. 🙂

      November 10, 2015

Comments are closed.

