Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Walking Around the Financial District in New York

When I spent the day with Stacy and Robert we covered so much of New York. We walked so far. It was fantastic. I think it was the day I realized that New York really was huge. I had heard it was, but I think until you actually go there and try to get around you don’t really understand. I imagine London would be the same too.

We walked over 8 miles that day, or 13 kilometres. It was a massive day, my feet were killing me at the end of it, but it was also worth it. I really enjoyed it and will always remember it as one of my favourites.

I am just going to leave you with a gallery now. I will put captions under the photos so you know where they are, if I know. I did get a bit lost really, but I had people who knew where to go, so that was good. These photos are from when we got off the train at the new Fulton Station, and until we got to the Brooklyn Bridge.

It is Saturday here now, I’m planning on having a quiet weekend. I was out most of yesterday taking more photos around Aireys Inlet. It has been strange since I got back, the place I keep itching to take photos of is the city. I think New York helped me to find architecture again. Take care and enjoy your weekend too. Β Remember if you like the post, please share it.

38 Comments
  1. I really enjoyed these; particularly the subway and old building – they are quite striking! I was born in London and enjoyed living there when I was younger and straight out of school, but I couldn’t live there now. There are days when I find Calgary, a much smaller city, too big ( but easy to get out from and into the mountains!)

    November 14, 2015
    • Thank you, I know what you mean, Melbourne is a city, but you can find your way around easily and where I live is like being in the country, so the best of both worlds.

      November 14, 2015
  2. A very interesting perspective of the financial district, Leanne. Also, am enjoying the new issue of Dynamic Range, and especially like the cover redesign emphasising ‘Dynamic’ instead of ‘Range’. I haven’t read it all yet, but congratulations.

    November 14, 2015
    • Thank you Ardysez. that is wonderful to hear, and I agree, part of the reason we wanted to redo the logo, so there would be more emphasis on that.

      November 14, 2015
  3. These are fantastic Leanne. I enjoyed looking at them.

    November 14, 2015
  4. A great set of images, Leanne! I always enjoy seeing how other photographer capture NYC. There is always a unique eye into the city when others’ perspectives are presented. Have a fabulous weekend!

    November 14, 2015
    • Thanks Robyn, I know what you mean, I love seeing what others do here in Melbourne. Thanks, you have a good one too.

      November 14, 2015
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    USA Wanderings: Walking Around the Financial District in New York
    written by Leanne Cole

    November 14, 2015
  6. Excellent work. I know the area well.

    November 14, 2015
    • Thank you Sherry, I bet you’ve been there taking photos.

      November 14, 2015
  7. Love the photographs. But now and then my socio-political side rises up and I have to look at such beautiful structures as built on the suffering and blood of the toiling worker. Sorry to be such a downer in this sense, it is just where my mind is at.

    November 14, 2015
    • Thank you, I think you should think about the buildings as to who built them and as memorials to them. Though I don’t know that all the buildings there were built with slave labour. It certainly didn’t happen here.

      November 14, 2015
  8. You youngsters nearly killed me it was so much fun! kind of missing the heat now…

    November 14, 2015
    • Haha, nearly killed me too Robert, I really hope we can do it again one day. We will have lots of heat soon, so come on over.

      November 14, 2015
      • I knew my longing for hot weather would be falling on deaf ears with you heading into summer πŸ™‚

        November 14, 2015
      • I will swap Robert, I will have the cold weather and you can have our hot weather. I really don’t like summer, too hot. πŸ™‚

        November 15, 2015
  9. Visiting New York is always a foot killer!!! Love your impressions, as I took very similar images a few years ago being there for a week, oh was I in heaven, besides that my feel suffered from plantar fasciitis , oh hell of pain, but I made it through on my soaring feet.

    November 14, 2015
    • Oh yes, it really is Cornelia.Thank you. I think you just have to push yourself, don’t you.

      November 14, 2015
  10. Anne Sandler #

    Beautiful images Leanne. The subway sure has changed since I rode it the last time!

    November 14, 2015
    • Thank you Anne. Haha, that is a new station, so very different I imagine.

      November 14, 2015
  11. Fabulous photos,where did you stay in New York? We are going to be there in Febuary next year.any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
    Keep up the great work,cheers PHIL .

    November 14, 2015
    • Thank you Phil, we stayed in a private home or apartment. I didn’t book it, or organize it. Sorry can’t help anymore.

      November 14, 2015
  12. These are so great. I’m really glad you are excited about architecture again, but I love your outdoors scenes. I miss the fine arts ones too. I know they are a lot of work. I commented on a few of these, but I love them all. πŸ™‚

    November 14, 2015
    • Thanks Nicci, I really am, I am actually really excited about some new things and can’t wait to start working on them. I miss them too, finding the time to do them has been hard. I noticed, thanks again. πŸ™‚

      November 14, 2015
  13. poppytump #

    How did you fit so much in Leanne ! Super pictures , lots to admire with the different angles shapes and sheer scale – it was worth those dead feet at the end of the day πŸ™‚

    November 14, 2015
    • We walked a lot Poppytump, haha. Thank you. It was really, we packed so much into one day, it was fantastic. It was good when we could do that. πŸ™‚

      November 15, 2015
  14. This is a great series of shots Leanne! I love them all! Glad you explored the Wall Street area. New York has lots of nooks and crannies as many other big (large) cities and they are always fun to explore. Thanks for sharing these – wonderful thoughts and memories for myself.

    November 15, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, it was on the list, though I didn’t get to see the bull. I agree, it is great to go looking for them and seeing what you can find. You’re welcome, thank you for looking.

      November 15, 2015
  15. I like how you always stop for some sweeties!! Great images!

    November 15, 2015
  16. Sandra #

    Loved the photo’s Leanne. Makes me want to go back to New York, and it explore it again. It has been 15 years since I was there.

    November 16, 2015
    • Thank you Sandra, should see if we can do it together.

      November 16, 2015
  17. amy #

    The Trinity Church looks so much like the Canterbury Cathedral from your shot! I imagine they’re probably very similar, then… I will get to New York one day and see for myself! Great work, as always!

    November 19, 2015
    • Yes, I think you could be right there, I hope you do, quite an amazing city. Thanks.

      November 19, 2015
  18. Fulton Subway Station makes my eyes go funny just looking at the great architectural patterns!

    November 19, 2015
    • I know what you mean, it is quite amazing. Thanks.

      November 19, 2015

Comments are closed.

