Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: The Streets of Melbourne

It is a sad world we live in and while I don’t think my views of it should be said here, I did find myself reacting to it. I had planned on doing a post on something else, but as I started to do it I realized that I wanted to show other photos. So I have prepared a heap of photos of people. Not something I normally do. They are people just going about their day, being normal as it were. Good or bad. So I leave you now with a gallery. Take care.

58 Comments
  1. Lee #

    Very peaceful looking photos.

    November 15, 2015
  2. Rich Proctor #

    Wonderfully appropriate.

    November 15, 2015
  3. I think your photos say a lot, Leanne. Most humans are decent and caring, it is only the few that seem to want the rest of us to be as miserable as they are. Lovely photos.

    November 15, 2015
    • thank you Ardysez, I agree, though I think we need to remember also that those few are on both sides of the fence, unfortunately. Thanks again.

      November 15, 2015
  4. I do believe you are rather good at this street photography thing, Leanne!

    November 15, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, I like doing it when I can hide behind a long zoom.

      November 15, 2015
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Every place needs a place to sit – to rest, to instant message and to chat with other human beings. These are lovely!

    November 15, 2015
    • Where most of these photos were taken you see a lot of that Jackie. Thank you.

      November 15, 2015
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend Wanderings: The Streets of Melbourne
    written by Leanne Cole

    November 15, 2015
  7. Interesting Street photos of Melbourne Leanne.

    November 15, 2015
  8. I really like these; all of them.

    November 15, 2015
    • that’s wonderful, thank you.

      November 15, 2015
  9. Thank you Leanne – I think many of us posted along similar lines…

    November 15, 2015
    • You’re welcome, and yes, I think you are right there.

      November 15, 2015
  10. Suzanne #

    Beautiful photos Leanne – they capture something essential about humanity I think – something honest and even noble.

    November 15, 2015
    • Thank you Suzanne, great observation.

      November 15, 2015
  11. Beautiful set, Leanne. It’s the people that make the place. Sad times, indeed.

    November 15, 2015
    • I think so too Jane, thank you.

      November 15, 2015
  12. Perfect Leanne! Because we must go on and not let the monsters that try to change our joy and happiness and freedom and lives win! Big Bear Hugs to you today!

    November 15, 2015
    • Thank you Jodi, I agree totally. hugs back.

      November 15, 2015
  13. If we do nothing but cultivate hatred because of recent event, rather than holding both grief and the beauty of living life, then they win.

    November 15, 2015
    • They do, but we have to have that for everyone I think and remember it is a small minority doing this.

      November 15, 2015
  14. Great street photography collection… People being people

    November 15, 2015
  15. Nice street photography, well done Leanne. πŸ™‚

    November 15, 2015
  16. If only the world were as peaceful as it appears in your photos. Nice job Leanne.

    November 15, 2015
    • Oh yes, it is a shame that we don’t ever seem to be able to get world peace. Thank you Lisa.

      November 15, 2015
  17. I love street photography and yours is wonderful. Black and white is the right form. I feel as if I have visited your city. Thanks.

    November 15, 2015
    • I think so too Marilyn, I think black and white suits it as well. Thank you.

      November 15, 2015
  18. Life on the street – as it should be allowed to be. All over the world.

    November 15, 2015
    • Absolutely, I really do agree with that. Thank you.

      November 15, 2015
  19. Everyone, everywhere should be able to freely go about their day.

    November 15, 2015
    • They certainly no matter where they are in the world. Thanks Gypsy.

      November 15, 2015
  20. Beautiful all of them. A sad mood these days, but your photos are soothing.

    November 15, 2015
  21. Thank you Leanne for this touching post. Yes our normal lives – daily routines – activities – words are just not needed for some moments.

    November 15, 2015
    • I agree Debby, everyone, everywhere in the world should be allowed to live normal lives.

      November 16, 2015
  22. Really enjoyed these Leanne, beautifully observed and one of those many occasions when pictures really are worth a thousand words. Wishing you a peaceful week πŸ™‚

    November 16, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, that’s good to hear. Same Jane. πŸ™‚

      November 16, 2015
  23. Great post. You’re good at street photography! It was a good idea to do this. It has all been so depressing. But I enjoyed viewing and reading this and all the comments. Nice break from news.

    November 16, 2015
    • Thanks Nicci, I don’t know about that, I like the 300mm lens for it though. It has been depressing too when you consider that lots of other attacks have been happening and we hardly heard anything about them.

      November 16, 2015
      • The long lens is great. Your shots are extra good all in one post. They tell a larger story that way.

        Yes, Paris is closer to home for most people on the internet I guess. I’ve been aware of the other bombings. I’ve been very upset what ISIS is doing to the little kids they kidnap. It’s one nightmare after another. Not only the pain and agony in Paris, Beirut, Ankara bother me but what is sure to be the military reaction to the Paris massacre. I’m a little relieved that the leaders at the G20 are approaching it with determination to act within the law. But bombing is already happening in Raqqa. Many must be dying there. I wish so badly it would all stop.

        November 16, 2015
      • Thanks Nicci, interesting observation.

        It is all terrible, I am hoping more people start realizing what is going on. Someone wrote a great poem on the internet, I might have to put it on facebook.

        November 16, 2015
  24. Great photos Leanne and I think, a beautiful tribute to Paris – they were just going about their business just as in your photos.

    November 16, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, hopefully a nice tribute all the places in the world where terrorism happens.

      November 16, 2015
  25. Sandra #

    Perfect Leanne. Not sure why you don’t do more photography with people.

    November 16, 2015
    • Haha, a few have said the same thing, I don’t know, not sure I like doing it, good for something different. Thank you.

      November 16, 2015
  26. love in it, sometimes there are a good moment that we don’t realised.. it’s really great work anyway

    November 16, 2015
  27. amy #

    Thank you for this. Your shots are lovely, peaceful and filled with raw humanity. I needed this today πŸ™‚

    November 19, 2015
    • I’m glad you enjoyed them Amy, thank you. πŸ™‚

      November 19, 2015
  28. Great street photography! I especially like the girl on her MacBook πŸ™‚

    November 19, 2015
    • Thank you, I quite like that one too.

      November 19, 2015

Comments are closed.

