Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs

It is Tuesday again and as I start writing this I see WordPress have changed the editor yet again. Seems we now all have to start learning yet another new system. I am getting a little tired of always finding these little surprises as I go to use the system. It is so time consuming and who has the time to keep learning. I want to learn things about photography, not how to post a blog over and over.

Dynamic Range Magazine

We have had the magazine out for a week now. I wish I could say the Dynamic Range Magazine - Issue 2, Nov 2015 - cover  pageresponse was overwhelming, I wish. It seems this blog is not my audience for it, so I am going to have to start looking elsewhere. I have to learn howย to market it. I am starting conversations with some others now. It seems the main thing I am hearing is that I should be concentrating my efforts where my market it. It is something to consider.

For those of you interested in the magazine, don’t forget you can order it from my website, the link is Products.

Instagram and Facebook for Dynamic Range

patchewollock-mallee-fowls-179There is also an Instagram account now and a Facebook page. We are also going to start doing the Newsletter again. The email will have some extra information that won’t be in the magazine or on this site. It won’t be massive, but will accompany the magazine nicely. The first one will be sent out soon.

1on1 Photography Lessons

I’ve been spending time with another person teaching her how to take photos with her camera. It has been wonderful getting out with people taking photos and seeing the light go off as they work out aspects of their cameras.

WordAds

These are the ads on the bottom of the pages. I’ve been doing them for awhile, but what they pay you is so bad, I am thinking of getting rid of them. They won’t pay you unless you make a $100, but it takes forever to get to that one hundred. I get a few hits with my blog, but I really have no idea how others go. I can’t help thinking the whole thing is a bit of a scam. It think it is time to stop.

Photos

There was something else, but I can’t remember. I will leave it there today. The photos are from Patchewollock up in the Mallee. I love seeing these sculptures of the Mallee Fowl again. I was there about twelve months ago and took these shots then.

45 Comments
  1. Heartafire #

    Wonderful photos and article!

    November 17, 2015
  2. I was thinking that if you offered some previews of the articles in your magazine that might attract a little more attention. I realize that will probably mean more work. I checked your products page yesterday and clicked some of the covers thinking I’d see a page or two but did not.

    November 17, 2015
    • Yes, a lot more work, it is hard to know what to show and what not to show. It is something we have to work out. There is a page that explains what all the articles are. We have been putting some of the photos that are in it on FAcebook, but not a lot with that yet.

      November 17, 2015
      • I will check your Facebook page. Best wishes on your venture!

        November 17, 2015
      • Okay, see what you can find.

        November 17, 2015
  3. I’m starting to think that visiting the Mallee should go on my bucket list. (I’m a birdaholic.) And you always have such intriguing shots of it. Now I’m going to write up a blog too and not looking forward to what you said about the changes….

    November 17, 2015
    • I love it up there, it is a harsh environment, but I think it is wonderful. Oh yes the new editor, well good luck with it. Maybe you will find it better than I did.

      November 17, 2015
      • There were a few surprises (with the editor) – but I was thinking about how you do that grouping of photos and… there it was. So it was a bit of an improvement on that score for me.

        November 17, 2015
      • I am discovering more and more, mostly with images and how to add them. OMG they have made it almost impossible for galleries now. The grouping of photos is much worse, you can’t add photos I don’t think, you can’t decide where they will all go or add captions, making doing MM a nightmare.

        November 17, 2015
      • Yes, I see the issue with not being able to add in the order you like, I think mine went on in date created order. Blissfully for me it didn’t matter.

        November 18, 2015
      • Yes, it made MM hard, but normally not a problem.

        November 18, 2015
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on Parent Rap and commented:
    Tuesdayโ€™s Bits and Bobs written by Leanne Cole

    Dynamic Range is out and it can be purchased easily.

    November 17, 2015
  5. I never noticed the word ads but have read exactly what you said about them.

    November 17, 2015
    • That’s good, other people were complaining about them a while back.Thanks John.

      November 17, 2015
  6. Great post as always.

    What kind of birds are these?

    November 17, 2015
    • Thank you, well they are based on the Mallee Fowl, that’s all I know, sorry.

      November 17, 2015
  7. I love these images, those sculptures are incredible and I really marvel at your POV captured in the photograph you featured. Sorry to hear the magazine isn’t downloading as often as you would like. I know there is so much time and effort put into paragraph and page. I wish you and all involved the best of luck with it. It is a wonderful idea and all good things take time to catch their flow.

    November 17, 2015
    • Thank you Carrie, I have a very wide angle and it can give you some great angles. It is a shame, but I think I just need to work out where I can find my market, it hasn’t been where I thought it would be. thanks again Carrie, I think it is great and I would love to see it improve.

      November 17, 2015
  8. Love the photos Leanne. I am also frustrated with WordPress. Every time they update something I feel like it makes the site worse. My reblog button no longer functions. I have contacted support and the best they can tell me is “Sorry, we are not sure. We are working on it.”

    Fortunately, your wonderful works shines through all the problems.

    November 17, 2015
    • I have to agree, they have made the gallery almost impossible now, you can’t add captions to the photos like you used, I had to revert back to the old editor for the MM post. I had the way they fiddle all the time.
      Thanks Jarrod.

      November 17, 2015
  9. That is a bit disappointing to hear about the magazine. I am sure it was written with a lot of passion and informative views about photography. Hope you are enjoying Instagram. Very nice to see you around there ๐Ÿ˜€

    Lovely photos of the Mallee. Brilliant cloud cover that day ๐Ÿ™‚

    November 17, 2015
    • I am not giving up, I’m sure I can find my audience somewhere. It is very well written and the people who have purchased it have said that they loved how it looked and they really enjoyed reading it. It is fun, Instagram. Thank you Mabel. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 17, 2015
  10. Love the clouds in these shots

    November 17, 2015
    • They were great that took, I made the most of them. Thank you.

      November 17, 2015
  11. Just to say I was going to buy copies of your magazine to try but I notice that I have to set up a paypal account. I have always resisted this idea in the past as most places let me use my debit card directly. This means I am reconsidering the idea at present.

    I’m still using the old editor, I have never gone over to a newer one. I hope they don’t make me.

    Love the bird sculpture photographs!

    November 17, 2015
    • No, you don’t have to set up an account, I posted an image last week showing people where to click if you don’t have a paypal account and don’t want one. I have to say that I don’t understand why PayPal gets such a bad rep, if you are going to buy things on the internet they are the best thing to use, they take care of the buyer and really help to protect them. I’ve heard some amazing stories of people getting their money back because PayPal looked after them when the seller took advantage of them.

      I think I will be going back to the old editor now as well.

      Thanks RJ.

      November 18, 2015
  12. I’ve been attending webinars and courses on marketing and there’s a lot of emphasis on creating e-mail lists of interested people via offering some deal on signing. Some people find paid advertisement very useful but I have no personal experience of it. Best of luck

    November 17, 2015
    • I’ve been reading a lot of the same Olga, so have been thinking about doing more with the newsletter that I started. Not quite sure what I will put in it yet, but working on some ideas. Thanks Olga.

      November 18, 2015
  13. I am loving the magazine and plan to purchase the first edition when I finish this one!

    November 18, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear Susan, thanks for letting us know.

      November 18, 2015
  14. Wonderful post. Love those unique photos. Wished you lived where I live, I would take a lesson from you ๐Ÿ™‚ I love photography. You inspire me through your work. Look forward to seeing more.

    November 18, 2015
    • Thank you Yaz, I get that a lot. That is wonderful to hear.

      November 18, 2015
  15. Gary Light - Photographer #

    Leanne, just a suggestion, but take a look at http://www.patreon.com as a possible funding option for your magazine. Best of luck.

    November 18, 2015
    • That looks like a good site Gary, thanks for letting me know about it, I will have to look into it.

      November 18, 2015
  16. Awesome photos and post, Australia will be in my bucket list as there are lot of sculptures around in different tourists attractions places and national parks. thanks for sharing and have a wonderful Tuesday, Leanne.

    November 18, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan. It is a great place to take photos. You’re very welcome.

      November 18, 2015
  17. well, good luck with this, it’s a good idea, and I love the title

    November 18, 2015
    • Thank you, we are trying everything we can.

      November 18, 2015
  18. I ordered! I did ๐Ÿ™‚ Via PayPal! I have a little program that bypasses the new versions of the software WordPress pushes out and takes me to the old version that worked. If you use windows, I can refer you to it. It is SO much better than their “new, improved” versions. It doesn’t work with the Mac, only windows.

    November 18, 2015
    • Wonderful Marilyn, I hope you are enjoying it. I have Windows, might be worth looking at, others might like it too Marilyn. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 18, 2015
  19. I’m still using the old editor and waiting for the to yank it out of my cold blogging hands!

    November 24, 2015
    • They said they would be getting rid of it any time soon, so I don’t think you need to worry just yet Elen.

      November 24, 2015

Comments are closed.

