Skip to content

Something for Friday

Some decisions have been made recently and one of them is to do my posts on two blogs. This one and the one on my website. I would like the one on my website toย become my main blog, and in time I hope everyone will find their way there.

Some other changes are going to happen as well. I plan on cutting down on how often I blog. I think I will go to four times a week, and see how that goes. I need to find some time to do some other things, which I am excited about. My posts on Friday are going to combine my Bits and Bobs post as well as looking at images I have put up on Social Media.

Social Media seems to be a very important aspect for any photographer these days. With that in mind I’ve been trying to use it a lot more and putting more photos on certain platforms. I have been building up Instagram and trying to put one or two photos up there each day. It has been good going through all my older images and seeing what I can put up. I have also worked on some new images. I really like how my Instagram account is looking. I hope you enjoy the new and old photos.

There have been some people who have asked that I show some images of what the inside of the magazine looks like. Here are four samples of pages that can be found in the latest edition. If you haven’t got your copy yet then here is the link.

Dynamic Range Magazine.

 

76 Comments
  1. It’s good to see you on Instagram more these days Leanne. Sometimes I find using Instagram much simpler, faster and I dare say a bit more enjoyable than WordPress…

    November 20, 2015
    • Thanks John, I am enjoying being there more, it is a lot of fun. I agree, it is easier to use and you don’t have to worry about how you sound. LOL

      November 20, 2015
      • There are no costs either, sans the cameras and apps. I just paid up for another year, it isn’t cheap and I see the way WP does this has changed. I seem to be grandfathered in as far as choices.

        November 20, 2015
      • Well at least no costs right now, though I have heard that Instagram is going to go the same as FB and if you want more coverage you will have to pay for it.I hope not, though paying for WP does nothing, you don’t really get that many benefits from it.

        November 20, 2015
      • I like the CSS upgrade and the no Ads upgrade. i just purchased more space too.Where did you hear this about Instagram? Are they going to ruin it!

        If they turn it into FB, I am done with it. I strongly dislike FB…

        November 20, 2015
      • I spend a lot on my wordpress site, and you really don’t get much more for it. which is a shame. They really like to control it so much. A person in digital marketing told me, I don’t know how true it is, but I imagine they want to make money from it, it is owned by FB afterall.

        November 21, 2015
      • FB, ggrrrr. I so hope FB doesn’t ruin instagram.

        November 21, 2015
      • I hope the same John.

        November 22, 2015
  2. Social media can be quite exhausting…much like quicksand, you are in it and over your head before you know it…to back off is a good thing.

    November 20, 2015
    • It can be Robert, but seems to be where you need to market yourself, so I am finding, hopefully it works for me. Thanks Robert.

      November 20, 2015
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Something for Friday written by Leanne Cole

    Please take a look at the Dynamic Range Magazine. There are links to buy the magazine.

    November 20, 2015
  4. Lovely pictures as always. Share your Instagram handle I would love to follow ๐Ÿ™‚ All the best!!

    November 20, 2015
  5. I have loved seeing your photos on Facebook.

    November 20, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, it has been nice sharing them around every where.

      November 20, 2015
  6. My own experiences with blogging tells me that you are absolutely right about the frustration of maintaining a daily post. There is more to life than spending an excessive amount of time and energy before a computer screen. Ever since I reduced the number of posts to 3 times a week, I feel more creative and much happier. I also have more time reading more thoroughly your posts on photography.

    November 20, 2015
    • The good thing about doing a daily post is that you keep posting, but the down side is that you have less time for other things. That’s great Peter that you have found it beneficial, I really hope I do too. I would like to have some more time for some other things. Thanks

      November 20, 2015
  7. I too am on Instagram & would love to follow you. Please let me know your account. I am earthproject101. Thanks, see you on Instagram ๐Ÿ˜€

    November 20, 2015
    • My account is leannecolephotography, though there is also a link in the side panel with my latest image there as well.

      November 20, 2015
  8. I remember a while ago (a few years?) and how you questioned your way forward. It is really nice to look in from time to time and see all that you are doing.

    November 20, 2015
    • I think I am still questioning that Robert. Thank you.

      November 20, 2015
  9. Good luck with the social media. The magazine looks very well presented.

    November 20, 2015
    • Thank you, we think so too.

      November 21, 2015
  10. Cool! and I have on Instagram and would love to follow you. Awesome shots and wish you have a good Friday, Leanne.

    November 20, 2015
    • I thought we already followed one another on instagram, or maybe not I’m leannecolephotography on there as well.Thank you Cattan, my Friday is done, but it was very nice.

      November 21, 2015
      • Yea, I have follow you the instagram now, and have a wonderful weekend., Leanna.

        November 22, 2015
      • What is your instagram name Cattan, so I can make sure I’m following too?

        November 22, 2015
  11. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on instagram Leanne. I’ll have a sticky beak over there and see what they do!

    November 20, 2015
    • You’re welcome Debi, it is quite a place, and I am loving it. Nice to just show photos. Okay, if you have any questions, let me know, I will see if I can answer them.

      November 21, 2015
      • that would be grand! thank you Leanne! I appreciate that ๐Ÿ™‚ Debi

        November 23, 2015
      • No problem Debi. ๐Ÿ™‚

        November 23, 2015
  12. I have been struggling with the same issues. Given what WordPress is doing with their interface, they may have made the decision for me. I will find your other site. I need a new platform too.

    November 20, 2015
    • I don’t know, I’m told it is because they are always trying to improve things, but I wish they wouldn’t release things with so many bugs in them. I also wonder if the people working on these things are bloggers themselves, so do they understand what we want or need. Did you find the other site Marilyn, here is my web address, http://leannecole.com.au/

      November 21, 2015
  13. The Magazine looks beautiful Leanne well done!

    November 20, 2015
    • Thank you Gypsy, we did so much work on it and we are so proud of how it looks.

      November 21, 2015
  14. I agree about the social media stuff and even though, I’m still an amateur, I really want to start building up a following so that should I ever decide to go down another route, I can. I’m going to hop over to your website now ๐Ÿ™‚ But do like WordPress for reminding me to keep coming back ๐Ÿ™‚

    November 20, 2015
    • I think I left Instagram too late, but oh well, I am building it up now, which has been fun, and plus I love looking at photos, so never a problem. On sites like my blog you can sign up and get an email notification for everytime a post is done. Thanks.

      November 21, 2015
  15. I cannot imagine how you are able to post everyday – even with scheduling. Your comments about social media are spot on and it seems the way to go for exposure (no pun intended). I have been thinking about instagram – and it seems you have convinced me! Thank you!

    November 21, 2015
    • Haha, it does Debby, I think with posting each day, I got into a rhythm and went with it, it was just something I did every day. It is nice not doing it so much now. Take a look Debby, my instagram is leannecolephotography if you go on let me know. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 21, 2015
  16. You have so many beautiful photos, Leanne, and obviously a very busy life. I’ll try to have a proper catch up on the other blog when I get back from the Algarve. Thanks for your visits. ๐Ÿ™‚

    November 21, 2015
    • You’re welcome Jo, have a good trip, thank you Jo. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 21, 2015
  17. As necessary as social media has become, I do find it exhausting and taking up far too much time. How else though do we keep up with folks whose work we enjoy?

    November 21, 2015
    • It seems to be about finding some sort of balance I think. I know I am spending too much time on Instagram right now, but I am trying to build up a following, I will back off eventually. Thanks Lulu

      November 21, 2015
  18. I’m trying to find my way too, Leanne. Good luck.

    November 21, 2015
    • There are so many things to do and try, and I think I am trying them all. LOL
      Thank you.

      November 21, 2015
      • It’s great, Leanne. Keep at it. I need to figure out how to follow your blog from your website. I’ve been thinking of converting my website and blog to a single WordPress.org site, but I don’t want to lose my followers. So I’m watching how this works. It’s good to read the comments on your blog too. It seems like I might not want to rush to start paying WordPress. ๐Ÿ™‚

        November 21, 2015
      • Thank you Nicci. there is a follow thing next to the blog post I think. It is nice to have it in one place so I will see how I go in the end with it all. I know what you mean about losing followers, so it will be interesting to see how I go. It is a different thing altogether when you start paying them money, you don’t get a lot for it. ๐Ÿ™‚

        November 22, 2015
      • I’ll find that follow button. Yes I’m tempted to leave my website/blog combo alone for now. I do need to shrink the size of my images a lot because I’ve seen how slow my blog and site load on mobile.

        November 23, 2015
      • There is a thing at the top of the blog on the website that says something about subscribing and you put in your email address. Yes, the smaller you can make your photos the better, I think under 200KB is the best. YOu do that with the quality setting when you are resizing the images, make 50% or something like that. I don’t know how this is going to go with the website, but it seems like a good thing to do, so will continue it for now. Thanks Nicci.

        November 23, 2015
      • Oh okay follow by email, easy. I might consolidate onto WordPress.org. I do like the themes, and the feature of having the frequent blogging taking place there increasing the activity of my website. I guess what I’ll try first is upgrading within wordpress.com. Add a static page. Then I could keep my followers.

        November 23, 2015
      • Yes, you can only follow it via email, it is a wordpress site, but it isn’t run by wordpress, I run it. I pay to host it and such. We should talk, I will send you an email.

        November 23, 2015
  19. Hi, Leanne! I’ve commented many times before that I simply don’t know how you accomplish all that you do. I struggle to keep up (and haven’t been doing at all well with that lately) and don’t have anything close to the projects and outlets you do. I’m glad you’re trying to find a new and better balance for yourself. As for Instagram, I started and then just haven’t kept up. Same with my FB page (though the payment plan behind that one is the reason why). I also find I don’t have enough different photos to post to the different outlets and so I’m repeating myself.

    Anyway, I loved the photos you included with this post – every single one!

    November 21, 2015
    • It feels nice not to have to worry about it so much now. I am enjoying Instagram which is nice. What do you mean about the payment plan for FB? I have been going through all my old photos, which has been nice to see them all again.
      Thank you Stacy, like I said, I am enjoying going through my old photos, it is nice.

      November 22, 2015
  20. Amazing click

    November 21, 2015
  21. lmarea3070 #

    So what will be your big project for 2016? Continuing your magazine? Do you have editors? Do you do everything?

    November 22, 2015
    • Yes, I think so Lisa, I love the magazine and would love to see it get bigger and bigger. Yes, we have editors, and I think so for the time being. My big thing is marketing it and working out how. Thank you.

      November 22, 2015
  22. absolutely breathtaking shots- those long exposures are like visits to a place where a moment hovers against moving time. Love!!!!
    I hear you Leanne, I am slowed almost to a halt- so glad I sent you a couple of MM’s in advance. Sometimes we need to step away from that pressure of blogging lol!

    November 23, 2015
    • I love your description Cybele, just beautiful. thank you.
      We do, I have to target my market, I’m told, and that means spending more time elsewhere, so slowing down here is giving me the time to do that, which is nice.

      November 23, 2015
  23. The Activist #

    I’ve about 4/5 blogs if you including an archive one I have and I tend to post on anything I feel like on the one which is like a diary lifestyle blog and then separate posts which I feel fit as well on some of the other (photographic,Green,Political and music)

    November 24, 2015
    • Wow, how do you do it, I find having two hard. It is better if I can get them to work together, relate to one another.

      November 24, 2015
      • The Activist #

        I just blog about anything in daily life…whether it be news,green issues,politics,naturism or photography… I suppose we all like our say on most things lol….then I kind of reblog on the other sites with minor adjustments. I don’t always do it all at the same time but as up to now I’ve not had a job for a while it keeps me active and its a way to let of steam

        November 24, 2015
      • That would make it easier then, the reblogging. that is what was recommended that I do, but I’m not so sure about it. If it works for you then that is great.

        November 25, 2015
  24. Leanne this collection is nothing short of ‘wow’. I need to yak with you about instagram ๐Ÿ˜€ and I must get a copy of that mag, it looks amazing.

    November 24, 2015
    • Thank you Julie. Anytime, we can skype about it if you like. I am learning more and more about it. It is amazing, well I think so. lol ๐Ÿ˜€

      November 24, 2015
  25. These are some excellent shots. I was caught by the good use of darkness and low light in all of them, especially the purple flower.

    November 25, 2015
    • That is wonderful, good to hear you liked them.

      November 25, 2015
  26. I love the photograph of the rose!

    November 27, 2015
    • Thank you, I like that one as well.

      November 28, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Something forย Friday | thewritealice

Comments are closed.

