Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Walking Around the Streets

On Friday I was going out to afternoon tea, but I had to get into the city earlier so I decided to take my camera. It’s nice just wandering around taking photos of nothing much at all. Things do catch your attention.

I also went into a couple of stores. The first one was Gewurzhaus and took photos of some of the great things in there. They sell lots of spices and small containers. A great smelling shop. They are in the Block Arcade across from the Hopetoun Tea Rooms.

The other store was a soap shop called The Australian Natural Soap Company. They had lots of soap, naturally. They were very raw and very textured. I like photographing them.

I did ask if I could take photos. I think it is polite when you go into stores and they usually don’t mind.

I was a bit shocked to see that Christmas decorations are up already. It is all happening too fast.

I’m just going to leave you there today. I have some photos of my wanderings here for you. I also have some other shots that I have worked on that I will put on my other blog. Β  I hope you are having a great weekend and the weather is nice where you are.

 

29 Comments
  1. Love the soap photos, Leanne. I never thought about photographing soap before, now you’ve got me thinking. They look like blocks of cheese πŸ˜€ You are right, the Christmas decorations have gone up in the city. To be honest, they look the same as last year. The tree along Collins Street/City Square was being set up this week, and it looked like I’ve seen it before :/ But I’m sure it will bring cheer to many passing by the city. Hope you are having a good weekend πŸ™‚

    November 21, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, I like photographing the soap, nice textures. I can’t believe Christmas is there already, too early. It is the same Mabel, everything is exactly the same, it is getting boring. I’m sure others will enjoy it. πŸ™‚

      November 22, 2015
  2. mickey2travel #

    It looks like a wonderful day, to me! Thank you for sharing you day with us!

    November 21, 2015
    • You’re welcome, good to hear you enjoyed it as well, thank you.

      November 22, 2015
  3. These are delightful photos!!

    November 21, 2015
  4. Wandering the streets … looks like you got stuck in the sweets shop Leanne πŸ™‚ Delectable.

    November 22, 2015
    • I love the sweets shops, they make great photos too. Thank you Lynne. πŸ™‚

      November 22, 2015
  5. Anne Sandler #

    I wasn’t hungry until I saw your images! I guess it’s time to eat breakfast. Beautiful work Leanne.

    November 22, 2015
    • I hope you had a good breakfast Anne. Thank you.

      November 22, 2015
  6. Gorgeous images Leanne .. Christmas decorations already πŸ˜ƒ

    November 22, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, I know, way too early.

      November 22, 2015
  7. That food looks so good. I love your work on your other blog – you are getting a gothic, distopian feel which I love.

    November 22, 2015
    • It does, I didn’t eat any of it though. Thank you for taking a look Raewyn, I think it is a feel I’ve been doing for a while, but forgot for a while.

      November 22, 2015
  8. I’ve never noticed Gewurzhaus before. I must look more carefully next time we are there.

    November 22, 2015
    • I think it is fairly new Carol, not sure how long it has been there, but not a long time.

      November 22, 2015
  9. Fabulous and beautiful shots and love the photos cakes and workers on the street street. Thanks Leanne.

    November 22, 2015
    • thank you Cattan, I like photographing the cakes. I like the workers too.

      November 22, 2015
  10. Christmas seems to be everywhere, and it starts earlier for each year. Your Christmas looks delicious though, and the way you shoot them I could eat every cake πŸ™‚
    And the I particularly enjoyed the bit of street life.

    November 22, 2015
    • I agree, I was shocked to see it out there already. Haha, the cakes and things are there all year round, so you can enjoy them anytime. I photograph them, but can’t say I’ve tried any. That’s great great, thank you RuneE. πŸ™‚

      November 23, 2015
  11. lovely selection!

    November 23, 2015
  12. This is a very timely post! I will be in Melbourne this weekend and had planned to visit the Hopetoun, inspired by your previous photos of its decadent offerings. Now I think I’ll swing by Gewurzhaus too. πŸ™‚

    November 23, 2015
    • If you plan on going get there early, otherwise you will be waiting for a while outside in the queue. I will have to go one day and try some things there. Yes, the spice shop is really nice. πŸ™‚

      November 23, 2015
      • Oh dear, I was thinking to go early afternoon. Perhaps I’ll just look longingly, and pass on. Thanks for the tip!

        November 23, 2015
      • Especially on the weekends, it gets very busy. You’re welcome.

        November 23, 2015
  13. Oh my those cakes and maroons look divine!!! I hope you did a taste test for us?

    November 27, 2015
    • Sorry, I didn’t, the queue at the cake shop is always too long and I don’t really like macrons.

      November 28, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings: Taking a Peek Around the City - LEANNE COLE

Comments are closed.

