Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Riverside Park in New York

When I was in the USA, over two months ago now, I took so many photos. I’ve tried to show you a selection of all the places I went to, and I can’t believe there are still photos to show. Today I have some photos that I took the day I spent with Robert in Riverside Park in New York.

Riverside Park is between the Hudson River and the Upper West Side. It was a great park to wander around. I think it is quieter too and seemed to have more locals in it. I didn’t get the whole tourist vibe while there. It was really nice.

We had planned on going to Central Park but since I went there the day before we decided to walk to the river. We also passed some amazing homes, brownstones, I believe they are called. I was also fascinated with the fire escapes. We don’t have them here, so I enjoyed seeing them as well.

I will leave you with a gallery now. I will put captions under some of them if they need some explaining. I hope your weekend is going well. I’ve been working on photos for my book. I think I needed to start. I am so happy with how the images are looking.

 

 

 

 

50 Comments
  1. You make New York look very niceπŸ˜€

    November 29, 2015
  2. Oh, to be able to afford to live in those beautiful brownstones…!

    November 29, 2015
    • In Melbourne it is terrace houses that everyone wants to live in, they are beautiful. Thanks

      November 29, 2015
  3. Les #

    Very nice images that you took while in NYC. I have been in NYC on 2 occasions, and like most others, find it a very interesting City. It takes us, by Tour Bus, about 3 hrs. to get there from where we live. The price is $72.00 round trip, but it’s worth it. With the horrible traffic that’s in and around the City, I don’t want any part of driving up there myself. The traffic would make me nut’s! It seems that I never get just to walk around and take Images, because there is so much to see and do. We well return to NYC in the future sometime.

    November 29, 2015
    • Thank you Les. Lucky you can get there so easily. It costs me about $1500 to fly there, haha. It would be worth it if I had the money, haha. I hope you do. I will have to settle for Melbourne I think.

      November 29, 2015
  4. Excellent photos Leanne πŸ™‚

    November 29, 2015
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    USA Wanderings: Riverside Park in New York
    written by Leanne Cole

    November 29, 2015
  6. Lovely photos.

    November 29, 2015
  7. As a child I would create a house on the fire escape to play!

    November 29, 2015
  8. Beautiful as always Leanne. πŸ™‚

    November 29, 2015
  9. I particularly like the steal girders of the freeway. I must go there sometime. What part of town was it?

    November 29, 2015
    • They were very cool. You know where Riverside Park is, right Sherry, I think those things were around 68th street, but don’t know for sure.

      November 29, 2015
  10. Isn’t it lovely to find something that the locals know about? Those brownstones though, I am sure I have seen them in lots of movies and TV show πŸ˜‰ They are still beautiful buildings.

    November 29, 2015
    • Oh yes, makes you feel like one. Yes they are in movies of New York all the time, they are fantastic, I love them. Thanks Anne.

      November 29, 2015
  11. I’ve never been to that park. It looks to be very interesting. I do love that NYC has all these little bolt holes from urban life tucked between the buildings and bridges.

    November 29, 2015
    • You should go, take the boys, they would love it, so many playing areas. It is quite amazing. Let me know if you ever go. Thanks Laura.

      November 29, 2015
  12. I enjoyed these – really liked how you photographed the outdoor spaces, very exciting and energetic, and the brownstones are so familiar from seeing them in movies. Lovely buildings.

    November 29, 2015
    • That’s wonderful. Thank you, that’s nice to read.

      November 29, 2015
  13. Your New York photos are awesome! I want to travel there someday! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    November 29, 2015
    • Thank you Lisa, I hope you get to, I never thought I would ever go, I am still amazed that I did.

      November 29, 2015
  14. TPJ #

    Nice to see my old neighborhood through the eyes of another photographer. Thanks, very nice.

    November 29, 2015
    • Thank you, glad you liked what I did.

      November 29, 2015
  15. Leanne, these photos bring back lovely memories for me. I used to live in Brooklyn, and occasionally, would take some tours with friends, in the City. Those brownstones are fabulous, and you captured their beauty so well. I was always intrigued at the different styles of stairways many of them had.

    November 29, 2015
    • What a wonderful story, it is a lovely city really. thank you so much, glad you liked them. Oh yes, they are each very unique.

      November 29, 2015
  16. Of course the photos are cool, but I also like the way you describe them Leanne!

    November 29, 2015
    • That’s nice to hear Gypsy, thank you.

      November 30, 2015
  17. Superb photos of NYC!

    November 30, 2015
  18. I can only imagine e how many photos you took! πŸ˜ƒ.lovely collection

    November 30, 2015
    • Yeah, a few, lol, thanks Julie.

      November 30, 2015
  19. A fun day with a fun person. Thanks for the images, it brought back all the great things we did.

    November 30, 2015
    • Thank you Robert, it was a fun day, I really enjoyed it, one of my favourites from New York.

      December 1, 2015
  20. I remember it well. My first boyfriend had an apartment near there and we used to walk along the river. Nice memories πŸ™‚

    November 30, 2015
    • Oh nice Marilyn, it is a lovely area, I would like to spend more time there. Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

      December 1, 2015
  21. I tell people about the lack of fire escapes in your country and they find it difficult to believe. Glad that you enjoyed such a simple thing to shoot.

    December 1, 2015
    • I don’t know why we don’t have them, possibly because the buildings that need them are not that old and the internal staircases are protected from fire I think. It is just a guess. It was fun. Thanks Robert.

      December 1, 2015
  22. Leanne! I’m really sorry I missed you! That’s my neighborhood! I’m glad you had time to visit.

    December 9, 2015
    • Oh wow, you are so lucky to live around there, I loved that part, definitely one of my favourites. Yes, it was a shame, but you never know I might just go back one day.

      December 9, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Riverside Park in New York - LEANNE COLE

Comments are closed.

