Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Looking Around the City Again

It is getting to that time of the year where places are limited as to where I can go to take photos. I seem to be going into the city a lot. Sometimes it is just to take photos, while other times it is while I’m teaching. I never tire of it. The other day I found myself teaching again and we were taking photos along the lanes and at the graffiti.

I like the lanes with the graffiti. It is always changing and every time you go there is something new to look at. I heard on the news the other day how the City of Melbourne are saying that taggers are ruining Hosier Lane. I don’t know how they plan on stopping it, but I do hope they do.

I will just leave you with the photos from the earlier part. It is heating up here and could be good to experiment with trying to photograph it, or maybe I can stay indoors and do more writing. I hope you are having a good weekend.

40 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend Wanderings: Looking Around the City Again
    written by Leanne Cole

    December 5, 2015
  2. Very tastefully done this set of shots in the city, Leanne. I really like the last one the best. That Christmas tree does stand out amongst the architecture, good work. Glad to hear you are enjoying the city. I was there today and there were lots of people – and I expect they’d be more in the next few weeks. I was there today at 9pm along Bourke Street and there was still a massive queue along the mall for the Christmas Windows. Stay cool πŸ™‚

    December 5, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, I think the rain really helped that tree stand out, I love how rain does that. I am loving it, it has been great to start realizing the possibilities again. Yes, I expect there will be lots and lots of people around over the next few weeks, might have to think outside the box. You stay cool too.

      December 6, 2015
  3. Superb photos Leanne – it is amazing what you see if you ‘look’ πŸ™‚

    December 5, 2015
    • Thank you James, I couldn’t agree more, it is amazing. πŸ™‚

      December 6, 2015
  4. Good shots.

    December 6, 2015
  5. Thanks for the tour…

    December 6, 2015
  6. Awesomeness

    December 6, 2015
  7. Fantastic discoveries!! πŸ™‚

    December 6, 2015
  8. The graffiti is amazing. So vivid and real works of art. Love your impressions of Melboune. Keep cool.

    December 6, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, the graffiti is incredible, so nice to see it.

      December 6, 2015
  9. Love all the graffiti – but especially Scooby and Scrappy

    December 6, 2015
    • That one is great, I loved it, it is new too, which is nice, photos are popping up everywhere for it. Thanks Nora.

      December 6, 2015
  10. This photos are beautiful… Captures the wanderings of a “wanderer”. But this was definitely not aimless. Perfect.

    December 6, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, it is nice to wander with a plan, but sometimes aimlessly means you come across some lovely places.

      December 6, 2015
  11. Love the typewriter. πŸ™‚

    December 6, 2015
    • I saw it somewhere else as well, must have been a stencil. I like that you get a variety of things. πŸ™‚

      December 7, 2015
  12. A great set of photos, Leanne! The creativity of the street artists is amazing.

    December 7, 2015
    • I think so too Tiny, thank you.

      December 7, 2015
  13. Awesome pics Leanne ..how good is the street art in Melb?

    December 7, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, it is really amazing. πŸ™‚

      December 7, 2015
  14. It’s so strange to think that if I put a pin through the world from here to there, it would come out in your city where spring is turning to summer. I love that typewriter too. I think I have one like it somewhere in the basement.

    December 7, 2015
    • I didn’t realize that Marilyn, so you really are on the other side of the world? It is getting very hot here now and the landscape is very brown. I have my old typewriter too, my daughter took it.Thanks Marilyn.

      December 7, 2015
  15. Interesting – especially since I am a Hosier, and I don’t see that word very often. πŸ™‚

    December 8, 2015
    • Do you mean Hosier as a name, or as a work thing? I’d never really thought about it before.

      December 8, 2015
      • Hoosier is the nickname of people from Indiana. It’s also the name of a type of cabinet invented in IN. So I am a Hoosier. I see that you are spelling it with one o. So my face is completely red all across the Internet. Bad eyes!!!

        December 8, 2015
      • Yeah, I suspect it was once a place where they made hosiery, just a thought. Yes, only one o. It shouldn’t be, I wouldn’t have found out about Hoosiers otherwise.

        December 9, 2015
      • 😍😍😍

        December 9, 2015
  16. Most excellent. I love the typewriter!

    December 8, 2015
    • Thank you Elen, I like that too.

      December 8, 2015
  17. Good work. πŸ™‚

    December 18, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings: Looking Around the CityΒ Again | SEO Orange County - SEO Expert Los Angeles
  2. More from Melbourne on My Wanderings - LEANNE COLE

Comments are closed.

