Skip to content

Bits and Bobs Again

city-melbourne-architecture-sights-508Time to round up my week and what I’ve been doing. It might be what you think. I did manage to get away for a couple of days, and the rest well, more of the usual.

Social Media

I seem to be spending a great deal of time learning more and more about how to use it and planning posts and what I can do. It is hard to weed through all the information, but I think I am getting better at all of it.

I’m starting to realize there is a lot more city-melbourne-architecture-sights-505involved than just posting photos. It seems to be all about planning and working out when you want to post things. It is a lot tougher than I hoped. It is teaching me to be organized, which has to be a good thing.

I do hope that with what I am learning I will be able to market Dynamic Range a lot more effectively and maybe myself.

One on One Photography Lessons

I was talking to someone recently and I realized that I might be too cheap city-melbourne-architecture-sights-509and that could be part of the reason why I’m not getting many people. It is picking up, but I have decided to make some changes.

From now on a One on One Photography session with me is going to be for 3 hours and cost $360. The photo editing sessions are now going to be $900 for 5 sessions with me. It isn’t going to hurt to try it. There seems to be a common thing that if you charge too little then people think you don’t know what you are doing. Time will tell.

If you are interested here are the links

Dynamic Range Magazine

Don’t forget both issues one and two are still available to purchase.

Trips Away

I was finally able to get away this last week up to my mum’s place in the Mallee. It was nice to be back there, though it was hot and I never like city-melbourne-architecture-sights-522that. We went to Swan Hill to take some photos, but you will have to wait until the weekend to find out more about that.

I am finding my focus is changing. I don’t think that is a bad thing, but my reasons for wanting to go to the Mallee and take photos has changed. I do want to keep going up there, but I think what I take photos of could change. I’m excited about it, I hope you are too.

Photos

The photos in the post today were taken 12 months ago and were in a Weekend Wandering post. The images were from a day around the city of Melbourne. I hope you enjoy the look back as much as I do.

As I’ve stated before I’m doing a lot more fine art images over on my other blog, so take a look there as well.

 

 

24 Comments
  1. Yes, planning the runway and being organized is the only way to stay on top of blog rollouts! BTW, I really enjoyed the fountain image used in your feature cover for today’s post. Especially the downward jet sprays and motion blur–it was just right. -Rachael of snapmammas

    December 11, 2015
    • It is, it can be a bit boring, but guess it is something that has to be done. Thank you, I love that fountain, I want to go back sometime with my ND filters, will get there eventually.

      December 11, 2015
  2. This is great, Leanne. I’m excited for you. I will probably need to get serious about social media too, but I’m not putting my time there yet. I have other issues that are bigger and those are what I’m focusing on for the next year. I’m keeping my social media on life support but have made a couple minor changes. I expect I’ll be where you are this time next year, and I plan to hire a professional to help me. At least, I hope I’m where you are next year!

    I’m intrigued by your new Mallee emphasis and off to see your latest fine are images. Good work.

    December 11, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci. It seems to be the thing to do to get yourself out there. If you have other issues, then yes, you must concentrate on them. Haha, I like that, on life support. That would be fantastic to get a professional to do it for you, I would love that, I have to earn some money first, and when I do, I will be doing that.
      Yes, time will tell where my work ends up, but I hope somewhere great. Thanks.

      December 11, 2015
      • The issues I’m working on, if I am successful, will bring some $ to pay for professional promo help. šŸ˜€

        December 12, 2015
      • We must talk.

        December 12, 2015
      • Okay!

        December 12, 2015
  3. I am sure the word will spread Leanne as it is so good to get practical advice.
    Good luck. It lightened my mood when I saw your photos. Where I am grey skies and much rain so not any photography. Away from photography last night I did see Cav and Pag relayed from the Royal Opera Houseto our local cinema – was just great.
    There’s so much to cope with out there I have signed on to twitter but not twittered then there is the electronic check out not to mention the electronic ticket machine for the train journey etc. etc.

    December 11, 2015
    • Thank you Diana, I hope so too, I need to be patient.
      That is wonderful to hear, I will have to show some more summer shots for you. That sounds like a nice night.
      Yeah, I don’t use Twitter much, never know what to say, lol.

      December 12, 2015
  4. Melbourne seems to a city filled with photo-opportunities – morning and afternoon recommended as usual?

    December 11, 2015
    • I think it is RuneE, some amazing stuff and depending on the time of year, all day long. Thanks.

      December 12, 2015
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Bits and Bobs Again
    written by Leanne Cole

    December 11, 2015
  6. You are amazing! Your prices look reasonable and fair to me. Wishing you much success my friend!

    December 11, 2015
    • Thank you Robyn, fingers crossed that it will make a difference, I think they are reasonable too.

      December 12, 2015
  7. The photos were amazing. It is difficult to choose a single spot for photography when there are so much of them. You understand the beauty of architecture well!

    December 11, 2015
    • Thank you Yashi, there is, it is good to be able to take photos all over the place.

      December 12, 2015
  8. Good luck with your lessons. I am finding that social media is so time consuming so have just focused on my blog and Facebook where I belong to a photo group – just one or two photos at a time – so you don’t overload everyone’s feeds

    December 12, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn. It is very time consuming, but apparently necessary. Yes, that is important, not to annoy people too much. It has been good cutting down on the blog here. Finding a balance is important.

      December 12, 2015
  9. You’ll be surprised what people think they ought to pay for lessons, but generally for any kind of service or consultation. If you peg your fees too low, they’ll think you’re not too good or your work is sub-standard (close to rudimentary). But, if you charge higher, they think the opposite. Very counter-intuitive if you ask me.

    December 12, 2015
    • I had a few people tell me I was too low, so I have put them up a bit, so hopefully I will get more clients, you can only hope. I think you are right though, it is a funny line, but it is one on one, so that should mean that they will be more expensive. Time will tell, I keep saying that, thanks David.

      December 12, 2015
  10. Hey Leanne .. So looking forward to talking to you about social media .. It is all about being organised .. Bring it on šŸ˜ƒ

    December 13, 2015
    • I’m looking forward to it as well Julie. It is, apparently, and that is something I’m not good at šŸ˜¦

      December 13, 2015
  11. Yes, I have learned it the hard way, that charging too little people might think you won’t do a great job, I am so with you on that, Leanne.

    December 14, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope it pays off, so to speak, I guess time will tell.

      December 15, 2015

Comments are closed.

