Skip to content

Just a Couple of Bits and Bobs

It is a very hot Friday here in Melbourne. We are on day 2 of a 4 day heatwave. It is currently 39°C and tomorrow is predicted to be 41°C, with Sunday hot too, but a cool change to come as well. We are always on very high alert when it gets like this, it can often mean lots of fires. We don’t want that.

It has been a slow week and I have to confess I haven’t been doing a lot. A couple of things to report.

My Camera

My camera has been sent away to be repaired. I feel so lost without it. They melbourne-christmas-festival-2014-106told me it would only be a few days, but I’m starting to get worried now. I don’t think I will have it for the weekend. It hope to get back before Christmas.

Tamron Lenses

It is time for the loan lenses to be returned to Tamron Australia. I am really going to miss the 28-300mm lens. I have used it so much and it became my go to lens. I might have to look into getting one of my own.

I would like to thank Tamron Australia for loaning me the lenses for my trip.

Photographers.com.au

Some of you may remember this site. I used to write for it a couple of years melbourne-christmas-festival-2014-108ago. The site fell silent for a while, but it is under new management, so to speak. I’ve been asked to write for the blog on it again and I agreed.

My first article, Finding a Photographer, was published the other day. The link is there if you want to take a look. Funny doing an article on portrait photography.

Christmas

It is almost here, a week away. I’m planning on taking things easy, at least while it is hot. Things will get very busy, very quickly afterwards. Especially with another edition of the magazine melbourne-christmas-festival-2014-101to get out.

Apparently they are predicting a white Christmas here, a white hot Christmas. So guess we will be doing a lot of melting this summer.

I have Christmas photos for you. I like the way they show how Christmas is here, it is hot, and horrible at times.

 

79 Comments
  1. Beautiful photos Leanne and good article 😀

    December 18, 2015
    • Thank you Irene, and thanks for taking a look. 😀

      December 18, 2015
      • I don’t know why, but long time ago since I last saw your blog in my Reader.

        December 18, 2015
      • It seems to happen from time to time where people just get left off the list, I am wondering if it happened when I changed my theme last time, I have had quite a few people tell me that they have stopped getting notices. or are no longer subscribed.

        December 19, 2015
      • Just checked, still subscribed. Annoying when I like to visit your blog Leanne.

        December 19, 2015
      • That is very strange, I am posting less, so maybe that has something to do with it. Who knows, WordPress is a creature I think many of us find confusing.

        December 20, 2015
  2. Sorry to hear about your camera. What happened?
    The heat up north is getting to us too – so sticky, especially when strong wind make the sailing south a struggle!

    December 18, 2015
    • Something has gone wrong with the 10 point socket where I connect my remote shutter release and I can’t connect it to the camera. Hopefully it will be an easy fix.
      that’s not good to hear, we are in for northerlies tomorrow so I hope you get some too. happy sailing.

      December 18, 2015
  3. The decorations above Bourke Street look pretty good here.

    December 18, 2015
    • They are, they light up at night too which is nice.

      December 18, 2015
  4. lensaddiction #

    I’m picking my camera up tomorrow, took three weeks and thats a good turnaround for Canon – used to be double that. Also collect my new lens tomorrow as well – the replacement for my broken 17-55 – Exciting stuff!

    I know what you mean about feeling lost without it, even tho I have been recovering from surgery and not been able to use it (or the fact I have a backup body thats perfectly capable) I have had an empty space in my soul while it has not been available.

    Guess that makes us true photographers 🙂

    December 18, 2015
    • Wow three weeks, not sure I could stand that. Is this your new one Stacey? Nice, new lenses are always exciting. I haven’t had a new lens for a while now.

      It is like that, I do feel lost, I keep thinking about places I want to go and then realize I can’t go anywhere without the camera. So sad. It is times like this that I wish I could afford a second D800. One day maybe.
      You could be right thanks Stacey. I hope you are recovering well. 🙂

      December 19, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        Yes three weeks, its a new lens replaced by the insurance company as it was the same price to repair my damaged one as get a new one – but its the same model of lens I had previously 17-55 F2.8. Its my everyday lens and is very adaptable.

        Yes I thought long and hard about keeping my old 7D rather than trading it in, but at the time I was lucky enough to get some gift vouchers that made the cost of the new camera affordable without needing to trade it in, so I kept the spare body as insurance.

        I recovering well, still have to remind myself not to do too much, friends have been generous with their time in driving me about to run errands and carrying things like groceries and books for me.

        December 19, 2015
      • Insurance can be good, so far I haven’t had to test me. Sounds like a good lens. Good focal length.

        I kept my old one too, but I’m not sure about going out and using it again, I might have to.

        That’s good to hear, and great that you are getting heaps of help. Friends can be good that way.

        December 20, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        I was certainly glad I have the insurance, thats for real. Yes it is a good useful lens and good quality too.

        December 20, 2015
      • I bet, I’m glad I’ve got mine too. It is good when you find a lens you love.

        December 20, 2015
  5. We’re in Warrandyte and I’m not looking forward to tomorrow at all. The heat and the worry sap my energy so I can relate. Hope you get your camera back for Christmas. 🙂

    December 18, 2015
    • Oh no, I hope you all stay safe, Warrandyte is a beautiful place and I wouldn’t like to see anything happen there. We are near the green belt on the Yarra river near Heidelberg and we always worry as well. Stay safe and cool acflory, and thank you, I hope so too.

      December 19, 2015
      • Thanks, Leanne. You stay safe as well. I know that stretch of the Yarra and it can be treacherous as well.

        December 19, 2015
      • Thanks, we have been lucky so far, and it has always been safe.

        December 19, 2015
  6. From these images, we could feel the festive mood 🙂

    Hope you get your camera repaired in time and thank you so much for sharing, Leanne 🙂

    December 18, 2015
    • That’s great, it is a nice time of the year. 🙂 I love the concentration of family, and it being about families.
      I do too, I feel so lost without it. Thanks Sreejith.

      December 19, 2015
  7. Hope you’re managing to cope in the heat. Merry Christmas to you, Leanne! Hope 2016 is kind 🙂

    December 18, 2015
    • We are Jo, I’ve learned how to keep the house as cool as possible, but thank goodness for Air Conditioning. Thank you and Merry Christmas to you too, and good luck in 2016, I hope it’s a good one for you. 😀

      December 19, 2015
  8. I am every bit the summer person, but really, I do think it’s getting way too hot. It was really hot in the city yesterday, and everyone in my office went next door to the IGA to get ice-creams to cool off. Really, when it gets this hot, the air outside can get so dry and suffocating. Best to take it easy and not do much in this kind of weather.

    Hope you get your camera back soon, and that’s in good hands. Very nice to hear you are writing for other blogs. Good way to get your name and art out there. Stay cool 🙂

    December 18, 2015
    • I’m not, I dread summer every year, give me winter anytime. It is way too hot too soon, we shouldn’t be getting this until January or February. Makes me very nervous for those two months. It is suffocating, and very dry. The wind doesn’t help. I agree, I’m staying indoors and staying as still as possible, good day to do nothing.

      I hope so too, I feel so lost without it. Nikon have it, so I assume they know what they are doing with it. It is nice, I don’t know how this one will go, but time will tell. Thank you Mabel, take care and keep cool too. 🙂

      December 19, 2015
  9. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Just a Couple of Bits and Bobs
    written by Leanne Cole

    December 18, 2015
  10. Hi Leanne I was in town yesterday and the city was jumping. So many performers and so many people around. I saw a chinese dance troup, a didgeridoo player, an old style crooner and more. Even with the heat there was such a wonderful atmosphere. I love your pics – I posted some on instagram annewarrenart.

    December 18, 2015
    • I thought the city might be, I want to go in and get some photos, but will have to wait until my camera is back. I saw your shots Anne, they were great. Thank you.

      December 19, 2015
  11. What happened to your camera? One of my cameras are down, but I have my full frame. The shutter button went out. I wish I could just order the part and be done with it. I hope you get yours back in time if not rent one.

    December 18, 2015
    • The 10 pin socket for my remote shutter release has bent or something, I can’t connect the remote to it. Very frustrating, hopefully not a major fix. It is my full frame unfortunately. Oh yes, wouldn’t that be nice. I hope so too, they said they could do it quickly, but we will see. Thanks Sonya.

      December 19, 2015
  12. We won’t be having a white Christmas in Iowa this year. It has been so mild our grass is still green and some tress think it’s spring and are budding out.

    Tamara

    December 18, 2015
    • Apparently we are going to have one, but a hot white christmas, that’s not good either. It is weird how mother nature can get confused too. I hope you get a lovely surprise Tamara.

      December 19, 2015
  13. Lovely photos! No camera at Christmas?!?! I’ve been fighting a winter bug the last four weeks and haven’t much felt like getting out and about but just itching to take some photos! Christmas décor and knick-knacks and same old, same old shots out the big window only go so far!!

    December 19, 2015
    • There is still time Julie for it to get back, but I am starting to get worried. Couriers are very busy right now as well. Oh no, I hope the bug goes, it is a terrible time to be sick. That is so true, I have some big plans this summer, but I need a camera to do them. Let’s hope we will both be out taking photos soon. Thanks Julie.

      December 19, 2015
      • Indeed. Happy Holidays!!

        December 19, 2015
      • Merry Christmas to you Julie. 😀

        December 19, 2015
  14. Hot. But still Christmassy photos! I hope your camera will be back soon though. Happy Holidays!

    December 19, 2015
    • Thank you Leya, fingers crossed it will be. Merry Christmas to you too.

      December 19, 2015
  15. I hope you get your camera back soon!

    December 19, 2015
  16. I hope the camera gets back soon.

    December 19, 2015
    • Thanks tootlepedal, I hope so too.

      December 19, 2015
  17. Love the festive photos. A shame it is so hot. I don’t think I could cope with those sort of temperatures. Sorry about your camera too. I hope you get it back beofre Christmas.

    December 19, 2015
    • Thanks RJ, it is a shame, but to be expected here I guess. I think we can predict that we are about to have our hottest December on record. It is hard, but most places are air conditioned now, that helps. I am hoping so too, fingers crossed.

      December 19, 2015
  18. Sorry to hear about your camera – hope you get it back very soon! Great shots and I am guessing that Santa is a tad warm with his Santa suit on.

    December 19, 2015
    • I am hoping the same Debby, so weird not to have it.Oh yes, Santa gets very hot here, I’ve seen some great photos of Santa in summer gear, lol. thanks Debby.

      December 19, 2015
  19. Poor you and (Southern Hemisphere) Santa…

    December 19, 2015
    • Oh yes, poor me, haha, really is sad for Santa, that northern hemisphere winter gear he keeps wearing.

      December 19, 2015
  20. WE are also expecting a heatwave next week too. Not as hot as you but up to 35 degrees in places. So far we have been cool this week. Keep cool

    December 19, 2015
    • 35 if bad too Raewyn, I hope you can keep cool, I’m over the heat already. Thanks.

      December 19, 2015
  21. Gosh I hope you get your camera back soon. How nice to have the loan of the lens .. Didn’t realise it had been so hot in Melb .. Yikes hope Christmas won’t be too hot! 😄

    December 19, 2015
    • Same Julie, and it was nice to borrow them. Oh yes, just started, looks like it is going to be ongoing with just a day or two break then hot again. I think summer has arrived. Apparently it is expected to be around 34 for christmas, so yes, hot. I will have to cool off with a glass of Toi Toi sauv blanc

      December 19, 2015
  22. \Thank you for the Christmas scenes – we are supposed to be in winter but 13 degress C !!!

    December 19, 2015
    • That’s the temps we get in our winter Diana, that is a cold day to us. I hope you get some very cold weather soon. Thanks.

      December 19, 2015
  23. I hope santa has a lens in his sack 😉

    December 19, 2015
    • Oh I wish, if he does I’m fairly sure it isn’t for me. 🙂

      December 19, 2015
      • Ho ho ho … merry christmas anyway 🙂

        December 20, 2015
      • Merry Christmas to you too Jeni.

        December 20, 2015
  24. Condolences on your camera. I hope you are rejoined before the holiday. I have to admit, I’m very glad we don’t have hot weather for Christmas. It’s such a wintery holiday. Poor Santa, in all that clothing in 40 degrees temps! Yikes!

    December 19, 2015
    • Thank you Marilyn, I hope so too. It is a wintery holiday to you Marilyn, but it is a summer one for us, it is what we are used to. Santa goes surfing on Christmas day here, lol. Thanks.

      December 20, 2015
  25. Great portrait article Leanne and I hope you soon get your camera back!

    December 20, 2015
    • Thank you Gypsy, thanks for taking a look as well. I hope so too, fingers crossed.

      December 20, 2015
  26. Solve your heat problem by placing a minus sign in front of your forecasted temperature. For example, your +39°C becomes -39°C in which unbearably hot becomes downright frigid. 🙂

    A very nice Christmas series.

    December 20, 2015
    • LOL, brilliant David, if only it was that easy to fix. Thank you. 😀

      December 20, 2015
  27. Aw, Santa looks hot! I hope your camera comes home soon. I hope you can get that lens too. 🙂

    December 21, 2015
    • He probably was, I don’t know why someone doesn’t come up with a summer santa outfit. I would like it, but I don’t see it happening anytime soon.

      December 21, 2015
      • LOL

        December 21, 2015
  28. Great article, nice Xmas photo’s 🙂

    December 21, 2015
  29. I do not hope that you will get very hot warm Christmas!
    A pity that we can not share some of your warm temperatures down there with our dark and cold winter …….
    However, it does not appear that we will have a white Christmas this year 😦
    Merry Christmas to you, Leanne.

    December 22, 2015
    • I feel the same Truels, but looks like we will get it anyway.
      Oh yes, I wish we could share it, we have already had way too many hot days.
      That is sad that you won’t get a white Christmas, I hope that changes, I couldn’t imagine a snow with Christmas, but I’ve heard it is very magical.
      Thank you so much Truels, and Merry Christmas to you too.

      December 22, 2015
  30. That is hot, Leanne!

    December 22, 2015
    • Yes, and I’m sure there will be a lot more yet, it is coming too soon.

      December 22, 2015
  31. I had a 28-300mm lens (Sigma). It too was the lens most commonly on the camera on long days out. Not spectacularly sharp at the extremes but such a versatile lens.

    December 25, 2015
    • I can understand that, I loved it. I have been loaned the Nikon 28-300mm lens and I’m looking forward to trying it out as well. I know what you mean, I loved that it covered so much.

      December 28, 2015

Comments are closed.

