Skip to content

My Gift to You

It is Christmas morning now and as I wait for the family to wake up I thought I would write a quick post to you and present you with my gift for the year. As I have done in the last couple of years, my gift is an image. It was hard working out which one to give away this year, as it is every year. In the end I decided to go with the following one.

yosemite-national-park-reflection-leannecole

It had to be one from my trip overseas to the USA and when I was going through them this one stuck out. It brought back some wonderful memories. Yosemite National Park was one of the absolute highlights of my trip and therefore my year. I would have loved to have spent more time there, but feel so grateful that I got to see it at all.

This is a view of North Dome, if memory serves me right, reflected in the river. There was a fire over the other side of it and you can still see some of the smoke from it.

The photo is a high resolution image so you can right click on it and download it onto your computer and print it out it if you wish. It is for personal use only.

I’ve decided to take a short break from the blog. Just for a week, I feel the need to take some time to reflect on some things. It is only for a week, so I will see you again at the end of next week.

Take care, and be careful out there, Christmas is a busy time on the roads. It is the start of the summer holiday season here. Summer has certainly hit us, with too many hot days already.

Merry Christmas

175 Comments
  1. thank YOU Leanne! merry Christmas πŸ™‚ enjoy your much earned mini break! cheers, Debi

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome, and Merry Christmas to you too. Thank you so much. Talk to you in 2016 πŸ™‚

      December 28, 2015
  2. Hi Leanne. Yosemite is indeed one of the worlds natural wonders. I just told my grandkids that Santa has already stopped by to Australia and it’s Christmas morning there. It made them excited. Please keep up your very good work, and thanks for your kind affirmation of my own work! May we have peace, always… to you and yours… Bruce

    December 25, 2015
    • It certainly is Bruce, I hope I can go back one day and explore it more. Yes, it is hard for people to understand that sometimes. Santa would have got very hot here, we had some very hot days over Christmas and looks like we will be bringing in the new year with more.
      I hope to keep it up Bruce, have you looked at the blog on my website, I’ve been doing more there and more art style things. You’re welcome and what a lovely sentiment, I hope so too. Take care Bruce.

      December 28, 2015
  3. Merry Christmas Leanne and thank you very much for your kind gift πŸ˜€
    Enjoy your time.

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome Irene, and thank you, I hope you had a good Christmas.

      December 28, 2015
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    That is so kind of you, Leanne. Thank you! ❀

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome Jackie, I try to do it every year now. πŸ˜€

      December 28, 2015
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    My Gift to You
    written by Leanne Cole

    December 25, 2015
  6. Thank you and best Holiday and New Year Wishes.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Disperser and same to you, all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  7. -N- #

    Merry Christmas, to you, too, Leanne! Thank you for your wonderful blog – it’s a year-long present.

    December 25, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say, Merry Christmas to you and thank you.

      December 28, 2015
  8. Happy Christmas to you and your family, Leanne

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Sue, and the same to you and your family. all the best in 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  9. Half Dome… I’ve not seen a photo from that side… Fab Photo, Leanne! Merry Christmas… heard it was hot down there… see you when you get back.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Ted, and Merry Christmas to you as well, yes, It’s been hot alright, too hot.

      December 28, 2015
  10. Beautiful! Merry Christmas!

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Nancy, and Merry Christmas to you as well.

      December 28, 2015
  11. Season’s greetings.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Victor and the same to you.

      December 28, 2015
  12. Thank you! It is a beautiful shot. Merry Christmas! Tree

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome. Thank you and Merry Christmas to you too.

      December 28, 2015
  13. Have a merry Christmas! All the best in 2016!

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you, and Merry Christmas to you too, all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  14. Merry Christmas to you Leanne!

    Tamara

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Tamara, I hope you had a nice day and all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  15. Thank you for sharing your photos and talent here on your blog. This is a beautiful gift.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year too. Stay cool my friend this summer season.

    Strange thing is we are supposed to be getting cold here but it’s been humid and rainy. Me thinks some of the holiday songs will need a change in lyrics. lol

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re very welcome.
      Thank you and I wish you the same. Yes, it is turning out to be quite a hot summer this year. Not going to be fun at all.
      I think you could be right about the songs, it is certainly changing.

      December 28, 2015
  16. Merry Christmas Leanne …your beauty has so inspired me with my writing …peace , joy and always love my friend , megxxx

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Meg, and I hope you had a good day and all the best for 2016. That is wonderful to hear.

      December 28, 2015
  17. Thank you and Happy Christmas. Looks a lovely place.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you too, Merry Christmas to you as well. It is, and all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  18. MK #

    A generous gift.
    Hope your Christmas is warm & bright.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you, it was very warm, lol, but lovely. I hope you had a lovely day.

      December 28, 2015
  19. Very kind of you, Leanne. Very best wishes to you and your family for a peaceful Christmas and a wonderful New Year.

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome Ardysez. Thank you and the best to you for 2016, I hope you had a lovely Christmas.

      December 28, 2015
  20. Merry Christmas!

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope you had a lovely day.

      December 28, 2015
  21. Happy Christmas, Leanne! Have a good one!

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Richard, I hope you had a good one, all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  22. Merry Christmas!

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope you had a great day.

      December 28, 2015
  23. Merry Christmas and thanks for the terrific photos, tips and advice!

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome Mike and thank you so much. All the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  24. Thanks Leanne, and wish you have a wonderful Christmas with your family.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  25. Merry Christmas. Thank you for all you do for us aspiring photographers.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you, and all the best to you for 2016. You’re welcome John.

      December 28, 2015
  26. Yosemite is a beautiful place and I work with Yosemite conservancy and we do tours there in winter and late spring in which we time them for hopefully capturing the elusive moon bow. Glad you were able to enjoy a little of its grandeur. Merry Christmas.

    December 25, 2015
    • It is beautiful sue. How wonderful that you can see it all the time. I would love to spend more time there, maybe one day. Thank you Sue, and I hope you had a great day.

      December 28, 2015
  27. Just beautiful Leanne! I’m taking a week or so off too. Enjoy the time with your family πŸ™‚

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Sarah. You enjoy your time off too. πŸ˜€

      December 28, 2015
      • We’ve been focusing on all the kids mostly πŸ™‚ It’s been fun and chaotic!!

        December 28, 2015
      • Sounds like lots of fun. πŸ˜€

        December 29, 2015
      • It was πŸ™‚ Tiring but always worth it!

        December 29, 2015
      • I can imagine. πŸ™‚

        December 29, 2015
      • Hope you’ve had a lovely time with your family Leanne! We’re off to Shropshire today to see my mother-in-law for a few days but more heavy rain is coming through so I may not get much photography done.

        December 29, 2015
      • I did Sarah, my mum was with us and it is always nice to spend time with her. I hope you don’t get too much rain. I’ve been reading about it.

        December 31, 2015
      • Oh that’s really nice πŸ™‚ We’re on the rounds of visiting parents and in-laws! It’s been horrible today, absolutely pouring with rain and blowing a gale too. It’s settled a bit for the night but I know there is more rain expected! The North has been hit hardest. I never thought I’d see York city centre flooded!! We have family friends in Cumbria but they’re ok and have been helping others not so fortunate. We’ve all been seeing the pictures of the fires in Australia 😦 My cousins are all ok thankfully! Extreme weather is just normal now.

        December 31, 2015
      • I have read that you were going to get a lot more rain. It is very dry and hot here. We aren’t near the fires, but they are still bad, and I agree, it is just the way things seem to be now, unfortunately. Stay safe.

        December 31, 2015
      • Yeah, it’s mostly been around Perth I saw. Hope they don’t spread! We’ll be ok. Our area does get floods but not actually in my village.

        December 31, 2015
      • I hope so too Sarah. That’s good to hear, it never floods where I am, possibly because we are on the side of hill. πŸ˜‰

        January 1, 2016
      • Haha, yes there are benefits to being well above sea level πŸ˜‰

        January 1, 2016
      • Yes, a few, actually Melbourne is pretty protected, most natural disasters can’t really get to us. Then again, it can be a pain being so far away from the rest of the world. πŸ™‚

        January 1, 2016
      • It’s a pain for the rest of the world too who long to visit but can’t afford it πŸ˜‰

        January 1, 2016
      • It really is. πŸ™‚

        January 2, 2016
  28. what a wonderful image Leanne! really love the reflection and the overall composition πŸ™‚

    wish you a warm and wonderful Christmas and a bright start to the new year. Keep up the wonderful work you’re doing!!

    much love,
    Pieter

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Pieter.
      I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and all the best to you for 2016. Thank you, I’m sure I will keep shooting.
      πŸ˜€

      December 28, 2015
  29. Merry Christmas to you too, Leanne.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you and all the best to you.

      December 28, 2015
  30. Merry Christmas to you and your family ~ thank you for all that you do to share your passion for photography with us.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you, and you are welcome, all the best to you for the year ahead.

      December 28, 2015
  31. Merry Christmas to you Leanne – Yosemite is ALWAYS an excellent choice πŸ™‚

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Norm, I hope you had a great day. I think so too, an amazing place, all the best for 2016. πŸ™‚

      December 28, 2015
  32. Merry Christmas Leanne and thank you for the beautiful image. Enjoy the pause!

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome Chris, I hope you had a relaxing Christmas day on the boat.

      December 28, 2015
  33. Merry Christmas to you too! Wishing you the best for 2016!

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Cynthia and the same to you, I hope 2016 is a wonderful year for you.

      December 28, 2015
  34. What a gorgeous photo Leanne. Happy Christmas and enjoy your week off.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Carol. I hope you had a Merry Christmas too, all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  35. What a kind and thoughtful gesture. May you and your family have a wonderful Christmas together. Enjoy your break for it is certainly well-deserved.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Shari, we did have a lovely day, I hope you did too, all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  36. Merry Christmas sweetie! I look forward to the New Year of your blog and your wonderful photos

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Lisa, I hope you had a good Christmas. Happy new year to you and all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  37. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year from Bob

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Bob, I hope you had a good Christmas and all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  38. Merry Christmas to you, and thank you for sharing another lovely nature photo! πŸ™‚

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome, I hope you had a good Christmas and all the best for 2016. πŸ™‚

      December 28, 2015
      • Thank you. πŸ™‚ Yes, Christmas turned out better than I expected. This year ended on an awful note for me, so I do hope next year will be much better. Happy New Year to you! πŸ™‚

        December 28, 2015
      • That doesn’t sound good, I hope the new year starts on a great note for you.

        December 28, 2015
      • It was not good. I went to work last week and found myself in the middle of an FBI raid. I later found out that the nonprofit I work for is being investigated and sued for fraud. I quit my job there.

        Thanks for your good wishes. I do hope next year will be better too.

        December 28, 2015
      • That really wasn’t good, sounds like you made the right decision to leave, I hope you can find somewhere else to work, so I really do wish you all the best for next year.

        December 29, 2015
      • Yes, I am glad that I quit. There were other good reasons to leave, and the FBI raid was the last straw. When I picked up my last paycheck, my supervisor told me that the door is open for me to return if I want to, but I am not going to come back. I should work somewhere else where I don’t have to worry about fraud and illegal activities.

        Thanks for your good wishes, and I hope you have a wonderful New Year too. πŸ™‚

        December 29, 2015
      • I’m with you, you wouldn’t want to get caught up in it.
        You’re welcome and same. πŸ™‚

        December 29, 2015
      • I am so glad to hear your perspective. It seemed like many of the people at my workplace did not care what happened. It is time for me to start over and hopefully find better people to work for. Thanks for your concern, and I am glad that you had a wonderful time visiting America this year. πŸ™‚

        December 30, 2015
      • I would be worried that I would end up part of it, and get charged. I am sure you will. I did have a great time, it was actually an amazing trip and has influenced me so much. I might do a blog post on it. Happy New Year.

        December 31, 2015
      • Yes, I have the same concerns too. The people at my workplace seem to be in denial that they are in a big legal mess. They blame the former office manager for all of the illegal activity and seem to think that they will be okay because he is their scapegoat. I am not going to wait around to see if they are right. I feel bad enough that I worked for an organization that could be scamming people.

        I am happy that you had a great trip and took lots of photos along the way. Good luck with your blog and your other creative projects in 2016! πŸ™‚

        December 31, 2015
      • I’m with you, I would be scared that I would get accused.
        Thanks again, and same to you. Good job hunting. πŸ˜€

        January 1, 2016
      • Yes, you are right. They might be looking for other people to blame. I cannot trust them anymore.

        You are welcome, and thank you for the good wishes concerning my job hunt. πŸ™‚

        January 2, 2016
      • You’re very welcome. good luck.

        January 2, 2016
      • Thanks! πŸ™‚

        January 2, 2016
  39. Merry Christmas back at you. Thank you for all the wonderful images throughout the year.

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re very very welcome Mike, thank you.

      December 28, 2015
  40. Thanks Leanne, this is a beautiful image. Trust you have enjoyed Christmas day on the hotter side of Melbourne. Hoping for a bit of a sea breeze down here soon.

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome Denis. I did enjoy it, thank goodness for air conditioning. It has cooled down, but expected to rise again for New Year. All the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  41. Merry Christmas, Leanne.

    December 25, 2015
  42. A very Happy Christmas to you, Leanne.

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you Andy, all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  43. Merry Christmas!

    December 25, 2015
  44. I thought this didn’t look like Australia! Thanks for the California memory! And merry Christmas to you & yours!!!

    December 25, 2015
    • No, you won’t see that here, I don’t think. You’re welcome and I hope you had a good one.

      December 28, 2015
  45. Merry Christmas, Leanne!

    December 25, 2015
    • thank you Graham, I hope you had a great day, all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  46. Thank you for that lovely photograph, Leanne. I put it on my desktop for now. If you ever come to Canada, we can show off some of our spectacular places of nature too.

    Carolyn Β 

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome Carolyn. That would be wonderful, Canada is definitely on the list of places I want to say.

      December 28, 2015
  47. So beautiful. Thank you dear Leanne Cole. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Love, nia

    December 25, 2015
    • You’re welcome Nia, I hope you have a good holiday. All the best.

      December 28, 2015
  48. Merry Christmas to you, too.

    December 25, 2015
  49. Merry Christmas to you Leanne πŸŽ„

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope you had a good Christmas.

      December 28, 2015
  50. Great…Merry Christmas to you too.

    December 25, 2015
  51. poppytump #

    Wishing you a wonderful Christmas and holiday time Leanne . It’s been a fantasic year for you … I guess you’ll be reflecting on many new ideas plans and projects !
    Enjoy your little blogging break πŸ™‚

    December 25, 2015
    • Thanks Poppytump. It hasn’t been bad, certainly seen me going in a different direction. Yes, plans have started for next year and what I want to concentrate on.

      December 28, 2015
  52. Merry Christmas to you as well, Leanne. M πŸ™‚

    December 25, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope you had a good one. πŸ™‚

      December 28, 2015
  53. Thanks for the lovely pictorial gift! Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and your family!

    December 26, 2015
    • You’re welcome Peter. I hope you had a good Christmas and all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  54. Such a beautiful area, I just fell in love with it! Have a nice holidays and also Merry Christmas to you! πŸ™‚

    December 26, 2015
    • That’s great, I loved it too. Thank you, and the same, all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  55. Merry Christmas! πŸ™‚

    December 26, 2015
  56. Merry Christmas Leanne, hope you have a great break and I look forward to what you bring us next year, Karen

    December 26, 2015
    • Thank you Karen, I hope next year will be great for all of us.

      December 28, 2015
  57. Merry seasons greetings to you and yours Leanne…..Welcome weather relief here today…. a beautiful image : )) thank you and all the best for the new year!!

    December 26, 2015
    • Thank you Trees, I hope you had a good day. The same here, though it is expected to heat up for the New Years Eve, you’re welcome and the same, I hope wonderful things happen for you in 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  58. Wow!

    December 26, 2015
  59. Thank you. It is a magnificent image. Hope you Christmas was wonderful and enjoy the rest of the season!

    December 26, 2015
    • Thank you Marilyn, it was good, very relaxing.

      December 28, 2015
  60. love the contrast in this especially in the way I scrolled past it I saw the brightness of the mountains and then got to darker resolution towards the bottom and found that really beautiful!

    December 26, 2015
    • That is wonderful Carly, thank you, I like y our description.

      December 28, 2015
  61. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    December 26, 2015
  62. Well appreciated. Compliment of the season.

    December 26, 2015
    • Thank you and you’re welcome.

      December 28, 2015
  63. poppytump #

    Hope all well down there Leanne whilst parts of our country are suffering with flood devastation I’ve seen on the news about the terrible bushfires :-/ I recalled you’d visited Lorne one of the places mentioned …

    December 26, 2015
    • It is Poppytump, at least where I am. We were going to go down the Great Ocean Road on Boxing Day, but had to rethink because of the fires. We live in a crazy world. Yes, I’ve visited Lorne many times. πŸ™‚

      December 28, 2015
  64. fond memories indeed..enchanting!

    December 27, 2015
  65. merry Christmas πŸ™‚ and have a happy new year …

    December 28, 2015
    • Thank you and the same to you. πŸ™‚

      December 28, 2015
  66. LB #

    Merry Christmas, Leanne! You deserve a break from the blog, and I hope you reflect, enjoy, feel happy, and at peace.
    Best wishes for happy shooting in 2016!
    (I’m so glad you’ve been to Yosemite! I was there when I was a very little girl and have very few memories!)

    December 28, 2015
    • Thanks Laurie, I’ve been hanging with my mum. She went home today, so now some time to do all that.
      Same to you, all the best for 2016. I hope you get to see Yosemite again, an amazing place.

      December 28, 2015
  67. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas, Leanne!

    December 28, 2015
    • I did Robyn, I hope you did too, all the best for 2016.

      December 28, 2015
  68. Thanks for the gift, Leanne. ALL of your beautiful photos are gifts. I wish you and yours a happy, healthy, prosperous 2016!

    December 30, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say John, thank you, I wish you all the best for 2016 as well.

      December 31, 2015
  69. Hope yours was joyful!!

    December 30, 2015
    • It was, very relaxing too.

      December 31, 2015
  70. Happy New Year to you and many successes with your photography.
    At last I was able to send a post – the weather has been so grey and heavy really not for photography – even black and white would struggle.

    December 31, 2015
    • Thank you so much Diana.
      It is terrible when the weather is so horrible. Glad you were able to get out. It is getting too hot here to take photos, unfortunately.

      January 1, 2016

Comments are closed.

