Skip to content

Happy New Year

That is it, the end of 2015 and now onto 2016. I’ve learned in the 50 years of my life that nothing ever really goes according to plan and there are always massive ups and massive downs, and some in betweens. I used to be called pessimist, someone close used to say to me ‘you are always so negative’ and I would respond that being like that meant you were never disappointed. It would still happen, but in amongst it are some great things and last year had many of those.

lake-charm-back-pier-tree-3-1000x667

I don’t want to dwell on the year that has been, but thought perhaps I could look at the year ahead and what my plans are. I have no New Years Resolutions, but I do have things I want to do and achieve in the next year.

Book on Banyule Flats

The photos are pretty much sorted, just need some editing and then organized into book form. The woman who is now doing the magazine will be doing that as well. Β So it isn’t far away. I’m looking forward to it being finished.

Dynamic Range Magazine

This is where most of my focus is going to be in the year to come. I want to make it as successful as I can. I still think the idea is strong and I know that there are people out there interested in it.

I still can’t believe that I have done this, put together this amazing publication. I have found people to write for it, also people who just think it is a great idea and what to be part of it. I really have to thank all of those who have helped out with it. It is not something I could have done on my own.

22537153137_a1bb2edd0a_b-1000x667

I would also like to thank everyone who has purchased it and helped to make it possible. It has been wonderful to get that support.

The next issue is due out in February. We are trying to get the subscription part working so those of you who want to subscribe for the year can.

Another thing that has come up is putting the magazine on the Google store so if you don’t want to pay with PayPal Β you can purchase it there as well. I’m still looking into that, but it sounds like a good option.

Social Media

Much of my spare time these days is taken up with learning all I can about Social Media and how to use it for marketing. I am fairly certain it is helping me, but I also need to get it working for the Magazine as well. So 2016 is my year to becoming a social media expert, or wannabe, not really sure yet. I guess we will find out in 12 months.

fineart-photo-sweeping-dark-clouds-church-1000x667

Travel

After my trip, after my most amazing trip, to the US last year I have to admit I would like to do some more travelling. No definite plans yet, but I am hoping to get to Tasmania later in the year. I would also like to go to Venice, and now I have to work out how to make that possible. I might have to look into some grants, or maybe try some crowd funding.

I found the trip to the US had an unexpected effect on me and I really like the way my work is going right now. New York had a much bigger influence than I thought it would.

Blogs

I am going to be making changes to the blogs. This one will continue with the 3 to 4 posts a week. They will be the Introductions, Monochrome Madness, the post on what I’m up to and one Weekend Wandering post.

On my other blog, on my website I will be doing more posts on my actual images and why I do them. I may do some tutorials, not absolutely sure yet, but the posts will be more about individual images. I have the sticky post at the top of this and in that I put what the latest posts are over there.

It has been great to see many of you going over there and saying hello.

23888472086_c2c762ea0b_o

My Photos Today

I have a collection of nine photos. On Instagram you can find out your best nine photos for 2015, and it seems the ones in this post were mine.

Happy New Year, and all the best to you for 2016.

188 Comments
  1. Happy New Year.

    January 1, 2016
  2. I wish you a happy year too Leanne… stay healthy, have luck, and keep your cool stuff going!

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Dennis. I will, and you do the same.

      January 1, 2016
  3. All the best for the New Year.

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Victor, I hope you have a good one too.

      January 1, 2016
  4. Great images! Happy New Year 2016!

    January 1, 2016
  5. Lee #

    Happy New Year

    January 1, 2016
  6. Karen #

    These images are really beautiful Leanne, Happy New Year to you.

    January 1, 2016
  7. rosy365 #

    Happy New Year you too

    January 1, 2016
  8. Happy New Year. Great photos. I believe 2016 has all the excitement and joy we want to experience; sort of like beauty in the eyes of the beholder. Best to you!

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Ron. I really hope you are right, I could do with some great years, the last few haven’t been so great.

      January 1, 2016
  9. Thankyou dear Leanne for sharing your amazing beauty this past year …you are so inspiring to me as a writer , your photos evoking emotion for me ….love and peace and dreams that come true in this new year ….megxxx

    January 1, 2016
    • You’re welcome Meg, thank you for saying that. I hope you have been looking at the photos on my other blog then Meg, they are far more arty, well I think they are. I hope that comes true for both of us. Thank you.

      January 1, 2016
  10. Love your work. Have a great year. It sounds exciting.

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you so much, I hope we all do, I could do with a great year.

      January 1, 2016
  11. No matter what happens you will be always ahead of us. Here in BC we are need to wait another 7 hours before 2016 has finally arrived. Happy New Year, Leanne!

    January 1, 2016
    • Hahaha, yes, we are always ahead, well in time. Thank you Peter.

      January 1, 2016
  12. Leanne,
    As usual, wonderful images.
    Happy New Year and my you reach all of your goals – especially travel.
    Tim

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Tim.
      I hope so too, it would be nice to look back on a year and have no regrets. All the best to you too.

      January 1, 2016
  13. Lee #

    Thanks for all the great photos you shared with us in 2015. Happy New Years and trust you will have many more to share in 2016.

    January 1, 2016
    • You’re welcome Lee, thanks for your support. Thank you and I wish the same for you. πŸ˜€

      January 1, 2016
  14. The most impressive photography blog for sure, congratulations on all your achievement and thank you for the most beautiful photos and wishing you a very happy, healthy, peaceful and joyful New Year!

    January 1, 2016
    • I don’t know about that, but thank you for thinking that. Thank you and all the best to you for 2016 as well.

      January 1, 2016
  15. Nice work, Leanne. Happy New Year!

    January 1, 2016
  16. May you be blessed to have a prosperous, healthy and happy new year!

    January 1, 2016
  17. I wish you a HNY but I still hate you because your pics are so good! PS. Hate in a sweet way!!!! πŸ˜‰

    January 1, 2016
    • Hahaha, brilliant, thank you so much, I’m sure yours are very good too. πŸ˜‰

      January 1, 2016
  18. Happy New Year! I hope you accomplish all that you wish to in the new year!

    January 1, 2016
  19. dacsphotography #

    Happy New Year Leanne. Love your photos

    January 1, 2016
  20. Thank you, and best wishes for all your plans to unfold smoothly and successfully in 2016.

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Disperser, and same to you.

      January 1, 2016
  21. Joe #

    I think what you were trying to explain in your first paragraph falls under “O’briens Law”. O’briens law states that Murphy was an optimist Leanne πŸ˜€ I wish you and your family a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year !

    January 1, 2016
    • I don’t think I’ve heard of O’briens Law before, Murphy’s yes, but not the other. Thank you Joe, I hope you have a good one too.

      January 2, 2016
  22. Anne Sandler #

    Happy New Year Leanne. One of my fondest memories of 2015 was having the opportunity of shooting with you.

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Anne, and same to you. It was one of mine too, definitely a highlight.

      January 2, 2016
  23. Happy New Year Leanne. Wishing you a fantastic 2016 xx

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you and all the best to you too.

      January 2, 2016
  24. Wish you a happy and most creative New Year of 2016. Thank you for sharing your amazing beautiful photography work.

    January 1, 2016
    • You’re welcome Cornelia, thank you for all the encouragement.

      January 2, 2016
  25. Tom #

    Happy New Year, keep up the good work.

    January 1, 2016
  26. Happy New Year 2016 πŸ™‚

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Leyla, and to you also. πŸ™‚

      January 2, 2016
  27. Happy new year Leanne. Thanks for your generosity and support. Thanks for being such an encouraging photography buddy. Hope 2016 brings you everything you wish and more.

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Chris, you’re welcome, and I’m looking forward to this year and getting out with my photography buddies.

      January 2, 2016
  28. Happy New Year, Leanne. Hope to see lots more of your work in 2016!

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Emilio. I am sure you will, I’m looking forward to this year. Another year of new possibilities.

      January 2, 2016
  29. Have a Happy, Peaceful and Fruitful New Year in 2016.

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you so much, and I hope you have the same.

      January 2, 2016
  30. Happy New Year, my friend!

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Fabio, and the same to you.

      January 2, 2016
      • Thanks much, Leanne!

        January 2, 2016
  31. Happy New Year to someone I look up to! πŸ™‚

    January 1, 2016
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you mar.

      January 2, 2016
  32. Happy New Year Leanne! Good luck with your all plans for 2016, I’m glad to see Monochrome Madness is still part of them, thanks for the inspiration. Happy to see the magazine is doing well for you, it’s got great content, looking forward to the next issue.

    January 1, 2016
    • Oh yes, I think I have to keep doing Monochrome Madness, there are still some of us who enjoy it. Thanks for what you said about the magazine, it is good to hear. The next one is looking like another great one. Thanks Katie and all the best for 2016.

      January 2, 2016
  33. Happy New Year, Leanne! Have a great 2016!

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you Richard and all the best to you in the year ahead.

      January 2, 2016
  34. Hey lovely Leanne .. Thank you so much for yet another fabulous year of photos, info, introductions, tips, Dynamic magazine, tireless energy .. And support! Go girl .. All the best for 2016!

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you for all your support and friendship Julie, I’ve really appreciated it all. All the best to you for 2016 as well.

      January 2, 2016
  35. These images are beautiful ! Happy New Year to you.

    January 1, 2016
  36. All the very best to you in 2016, Leanne!

    January 1, 2016
  37. Merci beaucoup et Γ  mon tour de vous souhaiter Bonne et heureuse annΓ©e 2016. fΓ©licitation pour les tres belles photos.

    January 1, 2016
  38. Thank you very much and my turn to wish you Happy New Year 2016 congratulation for very nice pictures.

    January 1, 2016
  39. Happy New Year, looks like a busy year ahead. Look forward to seeing your photos in 2016. Good luck and may the path be smooth.

    January 1, 2016
    • Yes, very busy, but hopefully also very rewarding. Thank you so much.

      January 2, 2016
  40. Happy new year, Leanne. I don’t know where you find the time to do so much. Congrats on all of your projects and thank you for sharing so many stunning images. P

    January 1, 2016
    • I don’t know sometimes either. It is getting to a stage where I will have to start being a lot more careful. Thank you so much, good to hear that people enjoy seeing them.

      January 2, 2016
  41. Good Luck with all your projects and a Happy New Year!

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you RJ and all the best to you in the year ahead.

      January 2, 2016
  42. Happy New Year. You did great with pics this year and I hope that you do much better next year. Best of luck! πŸ™‚

    January 1, 2016
    • Thank you, that’s good to hear. Good luck to you in 2016 as well. πŸ™‚

      January 2, 2016
  43. Thank you dear Leanne Cole. Happy New Year, Love, nia

    January 1, 2016
    • You’re welcome Nia and all the best in 2016, thank you.

      January 2, 2016
  44. Happy new year, Leanne!

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Solaner, all the best in 2016.

      January 2, 2016
  45. Happy creative days ahead for you…

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Sally, I’m looking forward to it.

      January 2, 2016
  46. poppytump #

    Happy new year and wishing you all the best with those plans you’re hatching Leanne πŸ™‚
    Lots achieved over the last year to be proud of , and plenty more to come in 2016 I’m sure . Lovely images every one of them x

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Poppytump, interesting year ahead, I hope.
      I think for both of us. Good to achieve good things. Here’s hoping to a good year ahead for both of us. πŸ™‚

      January 2, 2016
  47. Happy New Year Leanne – all the best for 2016 to you and the family!

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Robert, thanks for being part of 2015 with me. All the best for the year ahead for you too.

      January 2, 2016
  48. Continued success and happiness in 2016, Leanne! Love the colour versions of the pier πŸ™‚

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Jo, same to you as well. Thanks, they turned out well. πŸ™‚

      January 2, 2016
  49. Your photos have been amazing and inspiring Leanne. All the best for 2016 and I really look rorward to seeing more of your amazing work.

    January 2, 2016
    • That’s always good to hear Raewyn, thank you, same to you, all the best for the year ahead.

      January 2, 2016
  50. Beautiful images, Leanne! Best wishes for 2016 :-).

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Pam, and all the best for 2016.
      There is a chance I might be back your way later in the year, not sure yet, but trying to convince my husband to go for a trip there.

      January 2, 2016
      • Oh, that would be wonderful! Keep me posted so we can plan a longer visit this time.

        January 2, 2016
      • I will Pam. We will have to keep in touch.

        January 3, 2016
  51. All the best in 2016!

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you and the same to you.

      January 2, 2016
  52. Happy new year! Thanks for sharing your wonderful pictures through the year…they are amazing!

    January 2, 2016
    • You’re very welcome. thank you and the best for the year ahead.

      January 2, 2016
  53. Keep snapping! Happy New Year! πŸ™‚

    January 2, 2016
    • I pretty sure that is something you can guarantee, thanks Tom, and all the best to you. πŸ™‚

      January 2, 2016
  54. a very happy new year’s to you Leanne! gorgeous photographs πŸ™‚ checking out your other blog now !

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Debi, all the best for the year ahead. I’ve been having trouble with my website, hopefully you can get on it soon.

      January 2, 2016
      • thanks Leanne. I’ve been trying … and will keep on til it works πŸ™‚ Hopefully, it sorts itself soon, as you really don’t need a ‘problem so early!!

        January 2, 2016
      • It is working on and off at the moment, I hope you’ve managed to get on there. No I don’t, but not my problem thankfully, apparently someone is attacking the server, all very dramatic.

        January 3, 2016
      • I was able to get on for a short time! then off. what I saw looks very polished and professional. very nice Leanne! I gather it is not WP? and ps, don’t these naughty people have other things to do? πŸ™‚

        January 4, 2016
      • It seems to be up and running again now Debi, thank goodness, at least I haven’t had any problems getting on to it. Thank you, I’ve been trying to make it look that way too, changing things and that sort of thing.
        Oh I agree, apparently they do to hold the server to ransom to extort money from them. They are horrible people.

        January 4, 2016
      • if they spent ALL that effort on a job, just imagine! glad it is smooth sailing now though with your wonderful website – it is really well laid out πŸ™‚

        January 4, 2016
      • I know what you mean, just imagine. Yes, all seems to be okay now. Thank you, I’m still working on some things, but happy with where it is going. πŸ™‚

        January 4, 2016
      • its got to be a bit challenging juggling everything, plus now 2 websites (blog and the website) ! I’d thought about doing that, and quickly changed my mind for now. Haven’t got the hang of WP yet even!

        January 5, 2016
      • It can be, have to pick and choose what I do and where I concentrate my energies, I think I’ve been doing more of it on the website lately, I like where it is going. Yes, WP can take a bit of getting used to, I’ve been using it for over 5 years and things still surprise me.

        January 5, 2016
  55. Happy New Year and good luck with your plans!

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Leya, and all the best for 2016.

      January 2, 2016
  56. Happy New Year to you too, Leanne! And thank you for a year filled with gorgeous fine art photographs!

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Tiny, you’re welcome, thanks for the support.

      January 2, 2016
  57. Happy New Year to you too Leanne….looking forward to seeing more of your great work in 2016!

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Deb. I hope you continue to enjoy it.

      January 2, 2016
  58. Happy New Year! and Best wishes to you in 2016. πŸ™‚

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you, and all the best for the year ahead.

      January 2, 2016
  59. Great images and happy new year to you too. Looking forward to 2016

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Luis, and the best to you for the year ahead.

      January 2, 2016
  60. Leanne, I don’t know how you find the time for everything !
    Happy New Year, or as they say here in Bangkok “Sawadee Pii Mai”

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Mike, I don’t know sometimes, I feel like all I do is work, thankfully I love it. Take care and all the best for 2016.

      January 3, 2016
  61. I’m so excited by all that you are doing! That is interesting that New York had a bigger influence on you than you expected. Our budget’s tight this year so I am planning to get to some national parks and camp or stay in a cabin. I want to go to Yosemite in the winter and go camping at Big Basin National Park in July. So I say this because you seem to have learned the value of travel for capturing images. I can’t wait to see your Tasmania shots. PS While all these photos are fantastic, the church was the one I found most powerful this time.

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Nicci, it has been surprising, especially to me. I didn’t realize how much it would influence me. They sound like good trips and exciting too. Yosemite would be amazing in winter I think. It is interesting to see how travel can help you. Thanks, I’m looking forward to seeing Tassie, I’ve been wanting to go there for a while.

      January 3, 2016
  62. Wishing you much success in your plans for 2016 Leanne, great images featured Best Wishes:)

    January 2, 2016
    • Thank you Ann, and I wish you the same, it is going to be an interesting year I think.

      January 3, 2016
  63. Great work! Very happy to be following you. Happy New Year!

    January 2, 2016
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much and all the best for the year ahead.

      January 3, 2016
  64. A beautiful post summarizing your wonderful year, Leanne! I wish you a very happy, healthy, peaceful, prosperous 2016! XO

    January 3, 2016
    • Thank you Robyn, nice that you were part of it. I wish the same, I hope the following year is full of surprises and wonderful opportunities. XOXOX

      January 3, 2016
  65. Your 2015 was amazing and sounds like 2016 will be fantastic! Happy New Year Leanne! πŸ™‚

    January 3, 2016
    • I hope so Georgia, I’m looking forward to it and excited with where I am going. I hope you have a great 2016 too. πŸ˜€

      January 3, 2016
      • Thanks Leanne … I hope so too and you are an inspiration. Here’s to us! πŸ˜€

        January 3, 2016
      • That is so nice of you to say thank you. πŸ˜€

        January 4, 2016
      • Welcome πŸ™‚

        January 4, 2016
      • πŸ˜€

        January 4, 2016
  66. Happy New Year!!!

    January 3, 2016
    • Thank you and all the best for 2016.

      January 3, 2016
  67. Excellent post.
    A happy new year for you too!

    January 3, 2016
    • Thank you, and the same, all best for the year ahead.

      January 3, 2016
  68. Gorgeous photos, as always! I wish you all the best with your plans and projects and a very Happy New Year! πŸ™‚

    January 3, 2016
    • Thank you so much, and I wish the same, let’s hope 2016 is a great year for all of us. πŸ˜€

      January 3, 2016
  69. makdicowz #

    Happy New Year!

    January 3, 2016
  70. A very Happy New Year to you Leanne and your family! Also a big thanks for your inspiration – I love seeing your blog/images and reading it – as well as participating in your MM post. Thank you and heres to a great 2016!

    January 3, 2016
    • Thank you Debby, and all the best for 2016. that is good to hear, nice to see that people still enjoy the blog. Yes, here’s to 2016, clink.

      January 4, 2016
  71. Awesome photos. Happy 2016!

    January 3, 2016
  72. Wishing you wonderful and ever inspiring 2016! πŸ™‚

    January 4, 2016
    • Thank you so much, and all the best to you in 2016. πŸ™‚

      January 5, 2016
  73. You have some wonderful projects in the works. All the best to you and your loved ones in 2016. Happy travels!

    January 4, 2016
    • Thank you, the big question is going to be how to do them all. All the best to you this year too.

      January 5, 2016
  74. Have good luck in 2016, sure you will be able to achieve lots of things. Have a nice year! Love from Janet & Lenja

    January 5, 2016
  75. Happy New Year and good luck with your web site and magazine which looks fabulous! πŸ™‚

    January 6, 2016
    • Thank you so much. I’m looking forward to the magazine and seeing where it goes this year. All the best to you for 2016 as well. πŸ™‚

      January 6, 2016
  76. Beautiful choices. I especially like the wharf shot-impressionist yet surreal.

    January 6, 2016
    • Thank you, it is always interesting to see which images are the most popular.

      January 6, 2016
  77. If I didn’t say it already (I’m reading backwards through my Reader), Happy New Year. It looks like you’ve got some interesting irons in the fire for 2016. Yay!

    January 6, 2016
    • Thank you Elen, and Happy New Year to you too. Yes, I’m looking forward to seeing what happens. πŸ™‚

      January 6, 2016
  78. Incredible post ~ a beautiful way to bring in the New Year Leanne, these photos are amazing and can see that ’15 treated you very well. The best to you with your writing and photography in the New Year. Cheers to a great 2016.

    January 6, 2016
    • Thank you so much, it was a good year and I am hoping to capitalize on it this year. Hopefully last year was the beginning of good things for this year. All the best to you too for the year ahead.

      January 6, 2016
  79. Happy New Year Leanne! πŸ™‚

    January 6, 2016
    • Thank you Adrian and happy new year to you too. πŸ˜€

      January 6, 2016
  80. Godt nyttΓ₯r!

    January 6, 2016
  81. These are just gorgeous Leanne. Moody, beautiful, magical!! Happy New Year!

    January 7, 2016
    • Thank you Cybele, I liked how Instagram did it, nice to see which images are the most popular. Happy New Year to you too.

      January 8, 2016
  82. I wish you a – slightly delayed – Happy New Year!
    And thank you for the many great contributions here on your blog – so much inspiration to us from you and your own great photo work, your monochrome madness’es, intros exciting photographers and much more.
    I look forward to follow you in 2016!

    January 12, 2016
    • Thank you and same to you, I hope you have a great year.
      Thanks for being along on the journey.

      January 13, 2016

Comments are closed.

