Skip to content

MM 2-39: Monochrome Madness

Welcome back to Monochrome Madness for 2016. It is nice to see that some of you have remembered to send in your images for this week. It is a small group, but lovely all the same. I am still thinking about a theme for next month, will let you know when I come up with it.

highways-california-sierra-summer-hot-monochrome

My image this week taken while I was in the US. If you want to see the colour version and learn about it then please go to the blog on my website.

Don’t forget all the instructions on how to enter your own images are at the bottom of the post.  If you have entered an image then please remember to check your image in the gallery, scroll down and see if anyone has left you any comments.

Don’t forget all the instructions on how to enter your own images are at the bottom of the post.  If you have entered an image then please remember to check your image in the gallery, scroll down and see if anyone has left you any comments.

Monochrome Madness each week and if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be low res, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it’s before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it’s after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.
  • Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it. Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.

47 Comments
  1. Superb set of images! Have a fabulous day!

    January 6, 2016
    • That’s good to hear Robyn, thanks and you too.

      January 6, 2016
  2. Reblogged this on DUTCH PHOTOS – Nico van der Hout.

    January 6, 2016
  3. Good to see the classic Monochrome Madness has life to it in 2016.

    January 6, 2016
    • Yes, not quite as much, but I don’t mind.

      January 6, 2016
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    MM 2-39: Monochrome Madness
    written by Leanne Cole
    Welcome back to Monochrome Madness for 2016. It is nice to see that some of you have remembered to send in your images for this week. It is a small group, but lovely all the same. I am still thinking about a theme for next month, will let you know when I come up with it.

    January 6, 2016
  5. Lots of lovely landscape photographs this week!

    January 6, 2016
    • There are, funny how that can happen.

      January 6, 2016
  6. These are beautiful

    January 6, 2016
  7. That highway is a familiar sight for sure. Did you know that the water supply for San Francisco comes from Yosemite?

    So what is this months theme?

    January 6, 2016
    • Thanks Ted, I loved driving on it, very different to our roads in many ways. I think I did know that actually. I remember hearing something about it while I was there.
      Not sure about the theme, I’ve had one suggestion and we might go with that, I will announce it next week, but it won’t be until February. It is holiday time here, this is our summer holidays.

      January 6, 2016
      • Have a nice holiday! I’ll think of something about where I live to share.

        January 7, 2016
      • Thank you, that sounds like a great idea.

        January 8, 2016
  8. I had to check your blog to see if those fields had a light dusting of snow!

    January 6, 2016
    • I know what you mean, I was surprised when I converted it how it looked like snow.

      January 6, 2016
  9. I really liked your American image at the top of the post.

    January 6, 2016
  10. Thisi s the first time I’ve seen monchrome Madness and I must say the photos this week are amazing. I’ll see what i can do for submitting an image next week. 🙂

    January 6, 2016
    • They are amazing each week, well I think so 🙂 That sounds great, nice to get more people participating. I look forward to your email. 🙂

      January 6, 2016
  11. these are all outstanding, great photographs!

    January 6, 2016
    • That’s great to hear Debi, a good start to the year.

      January 6, 2016
  12. oh I thought I had missed it!! But you had one from me!! Great gallery again Leanne. Sorry, I ‘m just trying to catch up with all that is happening ( I might be moving!).

    January 7, 2016
    • Yes, I had this one, but no others, so if you want one for the next one you will have to send me one Cybele.

      January 8, 2016
  13. Nice collection of monochrome images. I will try my best to send my share for next week.
    Wish you a fantastic 2016.

    January 7, 2016
    • They are, and that would be great Rupali.
      Thank you and all the best to you too.

      January 8, 2016
  14. A wonderful collection Leanne … love yours!

    January 7, 2016
  15. Another great set of images. Leanne, I like Highways even more in B&W. The patchwork, foreshortened and graphic, is fabulous… and a nice detail with the slippy road truck sign 🙂

    January 7, 2016
    • They are Jeni. thank you, yes, some of that was luck, I have to admit, I was surprised how well the image came out considering it what shot through the windscreen from the back seat. 🙂

      January 8, 2016
  16. Some superb images. have enjoyed viewing them.

    January 7, 2016
    • That is great to hear Mitch.

      January 8, 2016

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. MM 2-39: Monochrome Madness | DUTCH PHOTOS – Nico van der Hout
  2. Monochrome Madness 2-39 | MyBlog - solaner
  3. Meadow / MM 2-39 | ArtKorppi
  4. Shine a Light | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  5. Diprotodon | Stupidity Hole
  6. Diprotodon | Stupidity Hole
  7. We are so Small | The Shady Tree
  8. Monochrome Madness 2-39 | Drawing with Light
  9. Monochrome Madness (Year 2: 27-39) | Rainbow Junkie
  10. My Blogging Adventure of 2015 (plus Monochrome Madness 2-39) | the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter
  11. Stalled | Rainy Day Reflections

Comments are closed.

