Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: St Paul’s Beach

On Friday I spent a wonderful day with a friend and we went down to Sorrento to take some photos on the back beaches. It was probably a mistake going there as it is the busiest time of the year there for holiday makers. We weren’t quite expecting it to be as busy as it was.

We went to a few different places, but I think the best photos I got were from the last place, St Paul’s Beach.

sorrento-back-beach-stpauls-sunset-4015

The rocks are a great colour. I had my Merrell shoes so I was in the water taking photos. The tide was still out quite a bit so the water wasn’t too deep.

Nikon have loaned me the 28-300mm lens and I’ve been playing with it. I do think that I like the length of this lens. I like how versatile it is. I used it for the whole day and didn’t once think about changing it. I could zoom right in or right out. Brilliant really.

We were there for the sunset.

sorrento-back-beach-stpauls-sunset-4206

This is the best sunset shot I got. It wasn’t great for that. Actually, as my usual luck would have it really. One day I will get an amazing sunset, one day.

There were some teenagers on the beach taking photos as well and when it was clear that there wouldn’t be a sunset they started playing around with steel wool. I asked them if I could take photos as well.

sorrento-back-beach-stpauls-sunset-4268

I’ve never photographed this before, so it was fun to do. I didn’t take a lot. I said good bye and left them to it, but also thanked them for letting me take some photos.

It was a great day and we discovered a new area that will need exploring. I took over 800 photos, so many to play with. I will leave you with a gallery now from this area.

55 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend Wanderings: St Paul’s Beach
    written by Leanne Cole
    On Friday I spent a wonderful day with a friend and we went down to Sorrento to take some photos on the back beaches. It was probably a mistake going there as it is the busiest time of the year there for holiday makers. We weren’t quite expecting it to be as busy as it was.

    We went to a few different places, but I think the best photos I got were from the last place, St Paul’s Beach.

    January 10, 2016
  2. Certainly these are such wonderful photographs, I have been enjoying long while with them. Congratulations, and you’re very lucky to visit such amazing places…

    January 10, 2016
    • Thank you. That is great, I am very lucky, there are so many great places to visit not far from where I live.

      January 11, 2016
  3. It looks like you had a great day, and with over 800 images you will be spending quite a bit of time in front of the computer!

    January 10, 2016
    • I don’t know if that many of them will be great images, but it was a fantastic day. Thank you Janice.

      January 11, 2016
  4. what a beautiful place and you’ve captured it so well!

    January 10, 2016
  5. Not too far from here… beautiful shots, I never was there, unfortunately.
    It is amazing how you may get lovely ideas from reading posts!!!
    Thank you for sharing
    :-)claudine

    January 10, 2016
    • so true Claudine, you do get lovely ideas and inspiration. I love that about the internet. Thank you.

      January 11, 2016
  6. I was looking forward to catching up with you! These photos are wonderful.

    January 10, 2016
    • I hope you weren’t disappointed Diana, thank you.

      January 11, 2016
      • No I never am – always look forward to your blogs

        January 11, 2016
      • Thank you Diana, I hope you have been looking at the posts on my website too, I like what I’ve been putting up there.

        January 13, 2016
      • No I have’t but will do

        January 14, 2016
      • 😀

        January 15, 2016
  7. Nice series Leanne. That last one with the steel wool is amazing!

    January 10, 2016
    • Thank you Chris, we should try doing some of this, get Wade to spin it while we photograph it???

      January 11, 2016
  8. leecleland #

    Looking forward to seeing more of this area, Leanne it looks wonderful in your images. The steelwool spinning is fantastic I love how the sparks are irregular coming off the circle.

    January 10, 2016
    • Thank you Lee, it is a great spot, I’ve been there many times, but these are by far my favourite shots of the area. The steel wool was fun, I would love to try it again.

      January 11, 2016
  9. clomazing #

    Such beautiful photos!

    January 10, 2016
  10. Stunning photos, as always Leanne. Have a wonderful 2016!

    January 10, 2016
  11. Stunning images, Leanne!

    January 10, 2016
  12. What wonderful studies of blues and golds in all of these images. The steel wool thing would be fascinating to see. I love how your photo of it turned out.

    January 10, 2016
    • Thank you Laura, the orange/gold colour of the rocks was beautiful.

      January 11, 2016
  13. A gorgeous and diverse set of images, Leanne. Happy New Year!

    January 10, 2016
    • Thank you Jane and Happy New Year to you too.

      January 11, 2016
  14. I wish I could find a lens like that for my Olympus. The ones they make are both expensive and slow. But one of these days! I think the sunset is beautiful, actually. Not the traditional sunset sky … but unique.

    January 10, 2016
    • Oh I think this lens is a big expensive too Marilyn, but not slow. Thank you, the sunsets are pretty typical for here.

      January 11, 2016
  15. Nice location Leanne … Would be good to do some long exp at sunrise with those rocks.

    January 10, 2016
    • Yes, I might have to try it Wes, when you get here let me know and we will do some. Thanks.

      January 11, 2016
  16. Very nice pictures. Esp. when looked at, while freezing ones butt off in Berlin 🙂

    January 10, 2016
    • I know that feeling, I love seeing the images of the cold when we are meeting. Thanks 😉

      January 11, 2016
  17. Oh I love the rock formations you’ve captured!

    January 10, 2016
    • I love how the water does that to rocks, really amazing. Thanks Gypsy.

      January 11, 2016
  18. Great work with what looks like a nice lens.

    January 10, 2016
  19. Gorgeous shots, Leanne. You’ve given me another spot to visit when we return to Australia. 🙂

    January 11, 2016
    • Thank you Patti, all along that part of the coast is amazing, very wild. 😀

      January 11, 2016
  20. There are some lovely photos in your collection.

    January 12, 2016
  21. Me and my partner have been meaning to play around with some steel wool photographs. They always look super cool!

    January 12, 2016
    • YOu should, it was fun, I would like to try it again. Thanks.

      January 13, 2016
  22. Great shots.
    Can I saw my favourite of these would be all of them?

    I’m saying that.

    Quick Q: How far is it from Melbourne?

    January 12, 2016
    • Thank you.
      It is about an hour and a half from where I am, so probably the same from the city.

      January 13, 2016
  23. Very beautiful photos!

    January 13, 2016
  24. Beautiful images, wonderful place. I was actually thinking about getting a versatile lens to use on my family hikes and am considering 28-300 mm. It is funny that I stumbled upon your amazing post.

    January 13, 2016
    • Thank you Marta. I think it is a great lens. I have also used the Tamron one as well, they are both great.

      January 13, 2016
  25. amy #

    WOW. These are stunning! I like the steel wool one, too. I just got a telephoto lens but it’s not my favorite, since I’m always having to switch out for closer shots. I will have to start saving for the one you mentioned…

    January 15, 2016
    • Thank you Amy. The steel wool was very cool. I really like the 28-300mm, I will have to save up for it as well.

      January 15, 2016

Comments are closed.

