Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Trip to the Zoo

The other day a friend suggested we take a trip to the zoo. They had a special opening for members, well it’s happening every Wednesday this month. We thought it would be good to see the animals early. We didn’t want to see too many, that is one of the wonderful things I love about being a member, you can go anytime you like and just have a quick visit is you want to.

We really only looked at about three or four things, but somethings were surprises. I love the gardens there too and must remember to take my macro lens with me next time. There are some exotic flowers there.

All the images were taken with the Nikon 28-300mm, as I said the other day it really hasn’t been off my camera since I got it. For most things in the zoo it was perfect. I know I keep saying it, but it really is a great lens, and the focal length is brilliant.  I must get some prices, see if I could afford one.

I’m just going to leave you with a few photos now.  I hope your weekend is going well. Mine is a little strange, my eldest daughter has moved out. I am not upset about it, a little worried about her, but I have always thought independence was great for them, so this is real independence. I know she will have a lot of fun.

74 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend Wanderings: Trip to the Zoo
    written by Leanne Cole
    The other day a friend suggested we take a trip to the zoo. They had a special opening for members, well it’s happening every Wednesday this month. We thought it would be good to see the animals early. We didn’t want to see too many, that is one of the wonderful things I love about being a member, you can go anytime you like and just have a quick visit is you want to.

    We really only looked at about three or four things, but somethings were surprises. I love the gardens there too and must remember to take my macro lens with me next time. There are some exotic flowers there.

    January 17, 2016
  2. I loved the trip to the zoo through your eyes! Thank you. As for your daughter, it’s natural to worry, it’s just what loving parents do. Wishing her all the best.

    January 17, 2016
    • Thank you. I think you could be right, she is so excited, so I don’t want to ruin that. She knows home is still here.

      January 17, 2016
      • Home is always wherever you are and it’s great you’re supporting her in spreading her wings.

        January 17, 2016
      • Yes, you have to, don’t you, we aren’t just parents until they are 18.

        January 17, 2016
      • That’s for sure; it’s a lifelong commitment.

        January 17, 2016
      • Though sometimes, only sometimes I wish you could boot them out like they do in the animal world and then they are just gone. lol

        January 17, 2016
      • Bahaha, that I can understand too! My eldest is 23 so I get it, but he’s doing well on his own. Grin

        January 17, 2016
      • Hahaha, I think mine will do well do, as long as she doesn’t annoy her house mate too much.

        January 17, 2016
      • Smiling, here’s hoping for the best!

        January 17, 2016
      • Thank you. 😀

        January 17, 2016
  3. Wonderful photos Leanne and you are right, our kids need to learn independence to be able to manage their own life.

    January 17, 2016
    • Thank you Irene, I believe that very much.

      January 17, 2016
  4. lensaddiction #

    Love how the lemurs have wrapped their tails over themselves 🙂

    January 17, 2016
    • They are very cute the way they do that. Thanks Stacey, I hope you are well. 🙂

      January 17, 2016
      • lensaddiction #

        I am well, recovering from the surgery. I meant to say I have never seen any images that had lemurs doing that with their tail before too

        January 20, 2016
      • Oh okay, the ones at our zoo seem to do it all the time, maybe one started and the rest copied.
        Good to hear you are recovering.

        January 20, 2016
  5. The zoo is always good. I’ll have to make a trip there when we get back!

    January 17, 2016
    • It is and a great place to practice I think. Yes, I’ll come with you. Thanks Chris.

      January 17, 2016
  6. It is useful for your readers to know a rough price for the equipment that you talk about.

    January 17, 2016
    • Yes, it would be, but one of the main problems is that I can give you a price for Australia, but then you would probably be able to get it for a much cheaper price, it is all very hard when you are dealing with different countries. We pay more for everything.

      January 17, 2016
  7. Great images and couldn’t agree more with your choice of zoo lens.

    January 17, 2016
    • Thank you, it was a great for the zoo, I love taking photos there.

      January 17, 2016
  8. AMAZING … LOVE WIZ XX

    January 17, 2016
  9. Those parrots have beautiful feathers.

    January 17, 2016
    • Thank you Tim, they do, the rainbow lorikeets, I get them in my garden at certain times of the year, depends on what is flowering.

      January 17, 2016
      • Oh wow. Here I thought those were from zoos. What a pleasant surprise.

        January 17, 2016
      • No, they are native to this area, I have a tree out the front and when it flowers it is covered in them. They are also very noisy.

        January 17, 2016
      • There were green wild parrots in Turkey and I photographed them. They too were noisy.

        January 17, 2016
      • They sound great Tim, they are very noisy, the sulphur crested cockatoos and terrible.

        January 17, 2016
  10. I use the Nikkor 28-300mm for about 98% of my images on my D800. Superb lens for almost every situation.

    January 17, 2016
    • I think if I owned one, it would be the same for me. It is such a great lens. Thanks Derek.

      January 17, 2016
  11. My friend Lisa has a macaw. They are beautiful creatures

    January 17, 2016
    • I’ve never seen one of those, would love to one day, they are strange looking birds.

      January 17, 2016
      • Macaws are just like parrots… beautiful plumage. 🙂

        January 17, 2016
      • Don’t they have great big beaks as well? 🙂

        January 18, 2016
  12. Amazing photos!

    January 17, 2016
  13. Great images! I think the ring tailed lemur image is my pick of the crop.

    You have a great attitude to your daughter moving out. You’ve done your job as a parent correctly if you’ve raised a child to independence.

    January 17, 2016
    • Thank you Laura. They are pretty cute, the Lemurs.
      Thanks, I think it is what you have to do with your children, they need to be independent. I’m sure she will be fine.

      January 17, 2016
  14. Beautiful Shots..

    January 17, 2016
  15. Lovely set of photographs capturing the colour……………

    January 17, 2016
  16. There is always so much to see at the zoo, great photo opps and yours are fab. You’re very brave about your daughter leaving home, cried my eyes out when mine left for the first time.

    January 17, 2016
    • there is Gypsy. I have to admit I’ve been waiting for it to happen for some time, she has been talking about it for a while, and I really do think it will be good for her. Thanks Gypsy.

      January 17, 2016
  17. Beautiful photos Leanne! It is nice to see the warmth of your summer. It is really a wonderful experience – leaving ones home and venturing out – as your daughter will be doing. How we all can remember our first experiences – leaving home – for that place of our own. Be proud as her parent knowing that with your guidance she will now be independant.

    January 17, 2016
    • Thank you Debby. I think so too, she is going to have a lot of fun I think. Oh yes, I had a great time. It is a good step.

      January 18, 2016
  18. I like the punky looking bird. Is it some kind of a heron? We got to go to Edinburgh zoo a few years ago and managed to snap a shot of a male giant panda. A few seconds later it went back inside, and never came out for the rest of the day.

    January 18, 2016
    • Yes, it is a heron, but I can never remember which ones. YOu were lucky, it is good that you got it. Thanks

      January 18, 2016
  19. We have a zoo in Fresno, which is about 45 minutes away. I haven’t been for years. I should take a peek. It must feel awfully strange without your daughter. You may find yourself being even closer once she moved out. That’s how it was with Vince’s son and me, and my mom and me. She will appreciate you more. I think you never stop worrying, but the good news is that you have set the stage for a great adult relationship. 🙂 Lots of hugs xxx to get you through the weekend into next week. 🙂

    January 18, 2016
    • Maybe you should take a look Marsha, see what you can photograph. No, it isn’t weird, I thought it might be, but she isn’t home much anyway, nice to have her room to fill with the crap. I think that will happen, I think she will miss us, and me, I hope anyway. It is going to be interesting, I think she will have a lot of fun. Thanks Marsha.

      January 18, 2016
      • She will miss you, and will soon be calling you for all kinds of advice. My friend’s daughters are in their thirties and forties. When they first moved out they called at least 3-4 times each during the two hours we played cards together. Now she only gets one phone call from each of them or their kids during the evening’s game. Jason texts his dad every day. I called my mom at least weekly, then daily as her health got bad. You have set the stage to a long lasting relationship. Enjoy the room! 🙂 By the way I am going to try to come to Australia at the end of the year. Of course, I’m going to try to cash in on that rain check for some classes! 🙂

        January 18, 2016
      • I guess time will tell, it is an interesting time, she was over here yesterday to use the iron, haha, she isn’t far away, so I am sure I will see her lots. I moved a long way from my mum and could only see her every now and then, it was hard at first, but you learn to cope. Thanks Marsha.
        Now that would be incredible, we will have so much fun. I might, might be back in the states later in the year too. 🙂

        January 20, 2016
  20. Great photos! Especially love the lorikeets! 🙂

    January 18, 2016
    • Thank you Tom, loud buggers, but very beautiful.

      January 18, 2016
  21. Don’t be worried .. 😄 gosh growing up! She’ll miss you. Lovely images Leanne ..

    January 18, 2016
    • I think they are very independent, so while I worry a little, I also know she will be fine, I’m sure, and we aren’t too far away.

      January 20, 2016
  22. Lovely shots, Leanne! The color and details are marvelous–especially the birds and the flowers. It is strange when your children become independent and leave home. That’s one of the greatest contradictions of motherhood–if you do your job well, your children leave home. 😦 Their independence will give you joy too. I am sure of it!

    January 20, 2016
    • Thank you Patti. It is, but I have been trying to get them ready for this for a long time, I have always told them that I wanted them to move out and not spend their early adulthood at home. Some of my best years were those. She will be fine, I think. She is messy, so hopefully she will start picking up after herself as I won’t be there to yell at her to do it. LOL. I think so too, she knows she can come back if she needs too.

      January 20, 2016
      • Yes, that’s the key too in terms of their security: knowing that the door is always open for them. I’m resigned to the fact that my son is messy. That’s one skill I didn’t manage to teach him!!

        January 21, 2016
      • Me too, didn’t matter how much I tried to get her to do it, cleaning up after herself was not something she thought about doing. They are lucky, home moved out on me, and I had no choice. My mum had to go to another town, I had a job where we were, so I pretty much had to stay there. I’m sure she will be fine, unlike my mother, we can help out financially if needed.

        January 21, 2016
      • It’s wonderful that you can give her a financial safety net. That means so much.

        January 21, 2016
      • Yes, I think she appreciates it. My husband’s view is that while she is working, only part time, but going to uni we should continue supporting her, and when she gets a full time job then it stops.

        January 21, 2016
      • Ummm. Every parent I know is still paying the cell phone bill years after uni!!! 🙂

        January 22, 2016
      • Oh no, they have to be fully independent at some stage right, lol.

        January 22, 2016
      • That’s the ultimate goal… 🙂 But we all have varying definitions of “independence”!!

        January 22, 2016
      • We certainly do, mine isn’t as bad as my parents, that’s for sure. 😉

        January 24, 2016
  23. We have a small zoo in Atlanta. I may have to visit this spring. Thanks for sharing

    January 20, 2016
    • You may, there is always something to take photos of, especially if you get there at feeding times. Thanks Luis.

      January 20, 2016

Comments are closed.

