Skip to content

Latest News and Photos from Melbourne

It seemed to go down well last week combining the Bits and Bobs post with the Weekend Wandering one. It seems that time is becoming something that we are all struggling with and with so many places to go and see work it almost seems selfish to post too often. I am also enjoying have more time to work on my photos and promote myself on other platforms.

Dynamic Range Magazine

I have to start with this, only a week to go and it looks like we are all set to publish issue 3 next Sunday. It was a hard one to get together, but we got there. It looks fantastic and, if I say so myself, the best one yet. We are so excited about what is in it. There really is something for nearly everyone. I like it having lots of variety. I have part of the cover for you.

940848_1121074811244171_4751407430313680515_n

It looks great, and we are so lucky to be able to showcase some of Julia Anna Gospodarou’s work and I was also very privileged to interview her.

With only one week to go don’t forget that subscriptions are now available. You can subscribe and get the 4 issues over the year for $25. If you are interested in just getting a link sent to you to download the magazine, then click the following link.

btn_subscribeCC_LG

Subscribe to Dynamic Range Magazine for one year. Price: $25

The magazine is still available to buy individually and it will be for sale next Sunday for $7.

Book on Banyule Flats

It is getting to crunch time and I’m feeling very pressured to get the book done now. It is great that it is finally coming together, but it also means that I have a lot to do. 

We are now at the stage of meeting with the Wurundjeri Elders to get some stories that melbourne-architecture-shops-wide-angle-5617will go with quite a number of the photos. That is almost the final stage and then it is finalizing the layout and sending it to the printers. I am looking forward to the finished product, but I am also looking forward to it being finished. It will give me some breathing space which is something that I could do with.

One on One Photography and Editing Classes

I’ve been getting quite a few more inquiries about these, especially since I’ve bee doing far more architectural photography. There seems to be many people who like that work from me and want me to show them how. It is very interesting.

If you are interested in learning from me, go to my website and find out how to buy classes.

Photos

I was in town the other day with a client and we were taking photos around the city. I was teaching her about ISO and that meant going inside and outside many places around the city. I used my 14-24mm wide angle lens to see what I could get. So I have some of the photos for you.

42 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Santa's Reindeer.

    January 31, 2016
  2. My favorite is the upward shot of the dome. Then the second one of the whole room. The copper colors correspond nicely with the blue hues on the windows. The last one of the shopping center reminds me of Titanic. Great photographs, Leanne 🙂

    January 31, 2016
    • It is quite a room Sonia, I love going in there, though they are a bit funny about people taking photos. Thank you.

      January 31, 2016
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Latest News and Photos from Melbourne
    written by Leanne Cole
    It seemed to go down well last week combining the Bits and Bobs post with the Weekend Wandering one. It seems that time is becoming something that we are all struggling with and with so many places to go and see work it almost seems selfish to post too often. I am also enjoying have more time to work on my photos and promote myself on other platforms.

    Dynamic Range Magazine

    I have to start with this, only a week to go and it looks like we are all set to publish issue 3 next Sunday. It was a hard one to get together, but we got there. It looks fantastic and, if I say so myself, the best one yet. We are so excited about what is in it. There really is something for nearly everyone. I like it having lots of variety. I have part of the cover for you.

    January 31, 2016
  4. Love that cover shot!

    January 31, 2016
    • Me too, I wish it was mine.

      January 31, 2016
  5. Wonderful photos, Leanne!
    (Will the Subscribe link for ordering Dynamic Range take me to the subscription for online viewing for a year at $25? I’ll try the subscribe button and see!)

    January 31, 2016
    • Thank you Mary, as far as I can tell it does, that is what I was hoping it would do.

      January 31, 2016
  6. I’m a big fan of the work of Julia Anna Gospodaru; her work is amazing. I will probably be asking for copy of your magazine!

    January 31, 2016
    • I am too, the magazine will be available for sale in a week.

      January 31, 2016
  7. wonderful photos Leanne, delightful!

    January 31, 2016
  8. I’m looking forward to the next magazine Leanne. The first two had so much interesting reading in them.

    January 31, 2016
    • That’s great Carol, I have to say it is looking so good and I’m really excited for people to see it. That’s so good to hear, and great to know that you enjoyed it. Thanks

      January 31, 2016
  9. Beautiful photos, Leanne. I especially enjoyed the ones of Myer with all the reflections. Did you get their permission to photograph or was it a shoot for them? It is difficult to photograph commercial surroundings. Very pleased to read of your progress with Dynamic Range and the book of Banyule Flats. It’s inspiring to see you achieving these goals.

    January 31, 2016
    • Thank you Ardysez, no, I didn’t get permission, but we certainly didn’t hide the cameras, I think they just accept people taking photos, has to be good for them too, right? I like doing them too, they can very interesting. Thanks, it is all happening now.

      January 31, 2016
  10. I loved that building, great shots.. if only I’d had my tripod I could have spent hours there, it is unique 🙂

    January 31, 2016
    • It is pretty good, though you aren’t allowed to use a tripod, I had mine with me and I was told not to use it, I couldn’t even have it on the ground with the legs spread out, too strict. Thanks Karen.

      January 31, 2016
  11. Wonderful photos. Thank you for sharing. Melbourne is such a great city.

    January 31, 2016
    • Thank you Mark, it is a great city, I love it.

      January 31, 2016
  12. So good to hear the magazine and book are coming along. Big achievements and all the best. I’m sure everything will come together. Lovely shots around the city. Really like the ones you took in the Emporium – looking very classy and modern 🙂

    January 31, 2016
  13. Gorgeous photos Leanne. We are planning a trip to Melbourne this Christmas (I have never been there). Looking at these I can’t wait! Thanks for sharing them 🙂

    January 31, 2016
    • You are in for a treat Suzanne, Melbourne is a wonderful city, I hope it won’t be too hot for you. You’re welcome and thank you.

      February 1, 2016
  14. Hi Leanne. Your wide-angle shots are terrific. I especially like the shots of the dome. I bought a 17 to 70 mm Sigma lens not too long ago, but I was thinking of getting a super wide lens. Still debating.

    January 31, 2016
    • Thanks Patti, the 14mm is great, though 17 isn’t much bigger, then again, I’m also using a full frame camera. It is a big decision, I don’t use it a lot, it can be too wide and cause a lot of distortion.

      February 1, 2016
      • Yes, full frame would make a difference. I have a cropped sensor (Canon 70D).

        February 1, 2016
      • For wide angle it does make a difference, but for zooming in it can be a pain.

        February 2, 2016
      • I debated over whether I was going to buy full frame or cropped. Tough decision given that I’d need all new lenses. Sigh. It’s a wonderful but expensive creative passion. 🙂

        February 2, 2016
      • It is a big decision, when I first bought the full frame I already had quite a few lenses. I knew at some stage I would go that way so I prepared. I was glad I did.It certainly is. 😀

        February 2, 2016
  15. çara #

    Reblogged this on Inner.

    February 1, 2016
  16. Wow, you are really busy! I’m proud of you and can’t wait to see all your projects. 🙂

    February 1, 2016
    • Yes, it is a very busy time right now, but hopefully I will get some breathing space soon. Thanks Marsha. 🙂

      February 1, 2016
  17. Hey Leanne … the cover shot is amazing.

    February 1, 2016
    • Thank you Julie, I think so to, an incredible photo.

      February 1, 2016
  18. Reblogged this on Veronica The Pajama Thief and commented:
    Amazing photography! Australia is definitely on our bucket list!

    February 1, 2016
  19. Amazing! Great talent you have!

    February 1, 2016

Comments are closed.

