Skip to content

Remembering: George Weaver

This is the first time I have ever done one of these posts. I’ve known other people who were bloggers and they have disappeared, some have died, but this is the first time that someone I felt like I knew had died. She was a friend to me and it with a very heavy heart and eyes filled with tears that I write this post.

jan-4-full-length-bw2

This will always be George to me. I have the memory of her wanting to know how to process a photo of herself with the camera, similar to this one. She couldn’t work out how to do something and wanted to skype with me so I could show her. We skyped a couple of times, it was lovely to talk to her.

She had two blogs, She Kept a Parrot and the Fuzzy Foto. I am going to miss her photos, though, she hasn’t posted anything for quite a while.

She knew she was dying and made an announcement of what was going to happen on her blog. This is what she said:

I have a terminal illness.  I am neither afraid of it nor unhappy about it.

I am seventy-two years old.

I have finished my work here.

I will spend my remaining months doing whatever suits me.

I suspect that is exactly what she did.

So now we say good bye.

george

Good bye George, I know my life was much richer for knowing you.  Thank you for being my friend as well.

 Please forgive me for posting this earlier, but it seemed important to do now rather than later.I have downloaded a heap of photos for you to look at. I will put them into a gallery, but first something that George said about her photos:

Occasionally, someone asks whether I sell photographs.

No, I don’t sell photos.

However, if a photo here makes you smile, please download it.

That will make me smile!

🙂

 I hope you are smiling George.

51 Comments
  1. Sorry about your friend, Leanne. She created wonderful photography. Thank you for sharing this. ❤️

    February 15, 2016
  2. Thank you for sharing George and her photography…a very special lady.

    February 15, 2016
  3. This is a beautiful tribute to a lovely lady, Leanne. Thank you for sharing your friendship with George and her lovely photos. I wish I had known her, too!

    February 15, 2016
  4. I’m very sorry for your loss. These are beautiful images.

    February 15, 2016
  5. Leanne, so sorry for your loss. I know what that feels like. So many of us are still missing our friend Greg Morris. Sending you love and light.

    February 15, 2016
  6. A beautiful post. 😉

    February 15, 2016
  7. . . . ’tis a nice tribute . . .

    February 15, 2016
  8. Wonderful tribute. It made me smile to see her photos, especially the bearded dragon. Thank you. N.

    February 15, 2016
  9. Beautiful memorial Leanne. George made beautiful photographs, love the metallic leave!
    I wish that you and her family and friends will receive all that is needed right now. And as a side note, I’m happy that she fully accepted her death. I’m sure this will ease the pain of those close to her.

    February 15, 2016
  10. Beautiful images! Sad to lose a sister photographer. Rest in peace, George.

    February 15, 2016
  11. A lovely tribute.

    February 15, 2016
  12. Gosh Leanne that’s sad. My Dad isn’t well at the moment….multiple heath conditions, some of them pretty serious and I think it’s only a matter of time before I have to face something similar.

    February 15, 2016
    • Yes, I think it is something that as we get older we have to start preparing ourselves for.

      February 15, 2016
      • Sadly yes it is. Take care.

        February 16, 2016
  13. Your post has deeply touched me. How appropriate to publish it on Valentine’s Day. I have been reading the Bible in Latin for many years. So reading the beautiful lines under the photo was no problem. Give them eternal rest, Lord, and let constant light shine upon them. Let them rest in peace! Amen

    February 15, 2016
  14. I’m so sorry to hear about your friends loss. It doesn’t matter how well we know people. When there’s a connection, that’s a friendship. I lost a Facebook friend of mine unexpectedly four years ago. I was devastated to hear the news. Big hugs to you. P.S. she was a very talented photographer. You can see her love for wildlife through her photographs.

    February 15, 2016
  15. Wow, sorry to hear about your friend’s passing, Leanne. I sometimes feel a little like Calvin:

    February 15, 2016
  16. How beautiful a tribute to a talented photographer for whom you clearly had great affection.

    February 15, 2016
  17. I am so sorry for your loss Leanne! You have written a beautiful tribute to George, I am sure she is smiling at you now. So very lovely. Hugs!

    February 15, 2016
  18. Good bye, George, She Kept a Parrot. I wish you could read this post. So sad, and so nice of you Leanne! There is beauty in kindness too.

    February 15, 2016
  19. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Remembering: George Weaver
    written by Leanne Cole
    This is the first time I have ever done one of these posts. I’ve known other people who were bloggers and they have disappeared, some have died, but this is the first time that someone I felt like I knew had died. She was a friend to me and it with a very heavy heart and eyes filled with tears that I write this post.

    February 15, 2016
  20. Very moving, Leanne. I’m sorry for your loss.

    And I’m sorry I did not not of this Lady whilst she lived. Her photography is very interesting and her words so insightful.

    February 15, 2016
  21. a lovely, deeply moving memorial for your friend; thank you for sharing George’s gifts and story with us. my thoughts and prayers to you and her family.

    February 15, 2016
  22. Nice post, Leanne. Her work is so beautiful.

    February 15, 2016
  23. It hurts losing a friend. Thank you for sharing this wonderful retrospective. I too have lost an online friend, someone I never met, from a country far away, but yet felt very close to, our friendships here are just as real. My friend’s blogs are still up, and even after a year I still go back to reread and reminisce. M best wishes to you and all who were part of your friend’s circles.

    February 15, 2016
  24. A lovely post, Leanne… bittersweet I am sure. An inspiring Self-Portrait to start with, I’m certain we would have been kindred spirits. I am also 72 and think I would have said the same think as she when she made her announcement… and I had a parrot for many years. Interesting photos to look at… a little monochrome madness going on there. She would love your tribute.

    February 15, 2016
  25. What a lovely tribute to your friend.

    February 15, 2016
  26. What a beautiful post about a beautiful woman who touched so many of us with her work, words, and sense of humor. The world was better for her.

    February 15, 2016
  27. Oh Leanne I’m so very sorry. What a beautiful post for your dear friend. Thinking of you ..

    February 15, 2016
  28. A lovely tribute, Leanne. I’ll miss her too.

    February 15, 2016
  29. Thank you for sharing her work. She seemed like an amazing woman 🙂

    February 15, 2016
  30. Thank you for sharing her work. She seemed like an amazing lady 🙂

    February 15, 2016
  31. She was a lovely person, with a wicked sense of humour – I’ll miss her. Nice tribute, Leanne.

    February 15, 2016
  32. Very sad and a touching tribute, Leanne. This is only the second time that I have known for sure that an online acquaintance has died, but it is as poignant as the first time.

    February 16, 2016
  33. My sympathy to you, Leanne.
    She must have been a truly beautiful and peace-filled person.
    A hug to you ~

    February 16, 2016
  34. When I heard today, I couldn’t stop my tears. It is hard to believe this. She was so nice lady, and I loved her photography and stories… And I can see in all wordpress blogs, we all love her… I will her so much. But will be with us her smiling face. Dear Leanne Cole you did a great tribute for her. Thank you, Rest in Peace dear George, Love, nia

    February 16, 2016
    • My reaction was the same as yours Nia, everytime I think about her death the tears come again. This has been one of the hardest posts I’ve ever written.

      February 16, 2016
      • I know dear Leanne, but do you know what I see in all blogs which are the followers of our beautiful friend, Dear George, as if we have met in real life and as if she was someone in our family… How beautiful and nice person I can see once again… everybody loved her so much…. Love, nia

        February 16, 2016
  35. Such a beautiful tribute and such an amazing work. Thanks for sharing with us, Leanne.

    February 16, 2016
  36. Sorry to learn about your friend, Leanne, and yet not. Seeing her work and reading her words are very comforting somehow. Most of us would be very happy to have such a lovely tribute written about us. Kindest regards. xx

    February 16, 2016
  37. What a nice tribute to a friend. It made me wonder how short life is. Hugs to you Leanne.

    February 16, 2016
  38. this breaks my heart! I loved George’s blog and her amazing spirit that couldn’t help but shine through in every post. Lovely tribute.

    February 16, 2016
  39. I didn’t get to know her or her blog but it sounds like her life was very full!! You have given her a wonderful tribute. blessings Leanne.

    February 16, 2016
  40. Leanne I am sorry to read of your friends passing. I am not familiar with her blog and from your post here – well her photographs and words are beautiful – they both go hand in hand. It is obvious that she holds a special place in your heart – your tribute to her – who she is – most heartfelt.

    February 17, 2016
  41. Good post, Leanne. We shall miss her, but we remain warmed by her memory. Adrian

    February 17, 2016
  42. Hello Leanne. Long time no see. A beautiful thing you’re doing here. I’ve been away from photo blogging (again) and am back (again) for a while I guess. See you around.

    February 18, 2016
  43. barbaramarincel #

    Beautiful tribute to your friend! She must have been a terrific person, aside from her incredible talent. Thanks for sharing…so lovely!

    February 18, 2016
  44. Very sad, and distressing for you Leanne. She must have been a special lady, with lovely photographs. It seems she faced the end with acceptance and bravery.

    February 19, 2016
  45. Thank you, much appreciated as I too, followed one of her blogs. A lovely lady.

    February 22, 2016
  46. I know she will be smiling, Leanne, and thanks for writing this. It’s funny how news travels, or doesn’t. Reading this post is the first that I’ve heard that George has died. I would have been travelling back from the Algarve on that sad day. But George was not sad. She was a terrific example and I hope that I can leave this world with such dignity and humour.

    February 24, 2016

Comments are closed.

