Skip to content

Weekend around Docklands and another catch up

Last weekend I had a lovely time catching up with Ezekiel from Stupidity Hole while he was in Melbourne. We wandered around Docklands and took photos. I showed him how to do long exposures, and all round was a fun evening.

This last week has been busy, but mainly with writing, but let me catch you up.

Dynamic Range Magazine

It is going well and it has been great to see the people who support the magazine. Work has started on the next issue as articles are starting to come in already. It is nice to see one finish and have a break until the work starts for the next one. Not much of a break, but enough to catch up on some other things.

If you haven’t got your issue yet then please press here.

Buy Dynamic Range Magazine

Buy Dynamic Range Magazine

I have to mention as well, as there seems to be some confusion, the magazine is digital. You can only get a digital version.  I know many would prefer that it was in print form, but it is not something that we can afford.

Don’t forget that you can also subscribe, use the button above to take you there as well.

docklands-evening-sunset-buildings-longexposures-6898

The Six Season of My Backyard

The book is really coming along now. All the photos have been pretty much been taken and now I’m trying to get a great image for the front cover. I’m hoping that I will get what I’m after in the next couple of days.

I went down there the other day when it was really hot to take some photos. I am hoping it looks like it was really hot too. Summer is definitely here right now, just as we are about to start Autumn.

docklands-evening-sunset-buildings-longexposures-6960

Learning Long Exposure Photography

I am going to start teaching people how to do long exposure photography. In 2 or 3 hour sessions. It seems to be a popular type of photography now and I think I am pretty much set up to do it. I have two filter holders and enough filters, so it should be good.

I’m going to charge $250 for the two hours and $350 for the three hours. If you are interest send me an email.

Photo of Docklands

As I said in the beginning I spent some time with Ezekiel last weekend and we took photos around Docklands. Some of them are long exposures as we were playing with the filters. There are also some of the sunset.

Have a good weekend.

30 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend around Docklands and another catch up
    written by Leanne Cole
    Last weekend I had a lovely time catching up with Ezekiel from Stupidity Hole while he was in Melbourne. We wandered around Docklands and took photos. I showed him how to do long exposures, and all round was a fun evening.

    This last week has been busy, but mainly with writing, but let me catch you up.

    February 28, 2016
  2. A beautiful set of photos Leanne! Curious about the pilings with the caps. The caps keep the birds off I suppose but what are the pilings for?

    February 28, 2016
    • Thank you John, I hadn’t thought of that for the reason for the caps, good call I suspect. I think it was an pier, all along the area and they have just removed the top and left the pylons, made a feature of them, and it does work, they get photographed a lot.

      February 28, 2016
  3. So excited, I just ordered all the back issues of Dynamic Range Magazine. I can’t wait to see them. I love the sound of your class. Your time exposure pictures have been gorgeous. Fabulous job here, Leanne.

    February 28, 2016
    • Thank you Marsha, I know you will enjoy them, they have lots of great information. Thanks for that, I’m really enjoying the long exposures, I want to get out and do more.

      February 28, 2016
      • I will enjoy them. How do I get them? Are they emailed to me?

        February 28, 2016
      • You should have been sent an email with links in it Marsha. Check your spam folder.

        February 28, 2016
      • Oh, ok. I’ll check. 🙂 Thanks!

        February 28, 2016
      • 😀

        February 28, 2016
      • Got it! And they are lovely! Amazing really. 🙂

        February 29, 2016
      • That’s fantastic Marsha and thanks for the feedback.

        February 29, 2016
      • Got it. I just had to scroll down. Wow! These are fabulous! I scanned through one mag and read a couple of your article. There is a lot here! What a value!

        February 28, 2016
      • Oh good Marsha. This new plugin seems to be working so much better. There is a lot. enjoy.

        February 28, 2016
  4. fabulous shots Leanne, I love the geometric abstractions that are evident in some of these; esp. the building platform at sunset! gorgeous design.
    Your one on one Lesson fees are quite reasonable,
    and seeing how you approach teaching – you share and give way more than is expected!!

    February 28, 2016
    • Thank you Debi, I love those shapes too, I will have to explore them more I think.
      That’s good to hear, I always worry about how much I should charge. What a lovely thing to say, I hope people feel that way after an lesson as well.

      February 28, 2016
      • you are very generous, so they will get way more value!!
        I’m beginners will think it will sound like alot, (mine ALWAYS complain too)
        but if they go already prepared… and organized; they can maximise that lesson immensely. And, I agree. Its a quandary what to charge. When I moved to Perth from Sydney, I had to reset fees.

        February 28, 2016
      • I hope so.
        That is the problem, the money, I guess time will tell.
        I like that idea, I think it is great if they are prepared. Pricing would have to be one of the hardest things I think.

        February 28, 2016
      • yes, yes, and yes!

        February 28, 2016
      • 😦

        February 28, 2016
  5. It was a wonderful experience.

    Also, great shots you’ve got there 🙂

    February 28, 2016
    • I’m so glad you enjoyed, I had a great evening.
      Thank you. 😀

      February 28, 2016
  6. Beautiful images along Docklands, Leanne. Love the orange sunset over the Bolte Bridge. Looks like it was a good day for you 😀 I haven’t been down there for a while. It’s a great spot for taking photos of architecture and the waters.

    So nice to hear the book is coming along. It is exciting and time flies. Looking forward to seeing it published soon 🙂

    February 28, 2016
    • there are down there, I am enjoying exploring it. Thank you Mabel.
      It is exciting and not far away now.

      February 28, 2016
  7. Wow images Leanne .. Love the dusk pics of Bolte bridge

    February 28, 2016
    • thank you Julie, it is a good spot for sunset.

      February 28, 2016
  8. great images, I am looking forward to wandering Melbourne streets and maybe even the docklands with my camera very soon! inspiring work Leanne, thanks for sharing.

    February 29, 2016
    • Thank you Janice, Melbourne is great to wander around, I’m sure you will love. I hope you will make some time to catch up with me too.

      February 29, 2016
  9. Fabulous capture, Leanne.

    March 1, 2016

Comments are closed.

